Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This study sought to document, evaluate, and disseminate information about two community-based projects designed as models of collaborative interagency service provision for children and families. The project developed a set of recommendations for collaborative efforts, addressing procedure as well as policy and organization. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152890.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Community-Based Health Care, Family centered, Fragmentation of Services, Health Professionals, Interagency cooperation, community based care

Annotation: Project Copernicus, a dual-State initiative for Maryland and Virginia, developed, demonstrated, and evaluated training programs in family-centered service coordination with target groups of professional service providers and parents in urban, rural, and suburban areas of Maryland and Virginia. Project Copernicus demonstrated how to provide family-centered care for families with children with special health needs by assisting both parents and professional service providers to develop and use family-centered service coordination activities (case management). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121859.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, CSHCN, Case Management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coordination of Health Care, Disabled, Education of Health Professionals, Families, Family-Centered Health Care, Fragmentation of Services, Parent Education, Parents, programs

Annotation: The project's goals were to: (1) Develop and implement structures and processes in defined community areas to plan and implement a family-centered, community-based health care delivery system for children; (2) develop data system capacity and function statewide to ensure family-centered, community-based primary care services for children; and (3) share experiences in family-centered, community-based system change in the area of primary health care for children with other State, regional, and national maternal and child health providers. At the State level, strategies were directed toward developing a system of children's primary health care delivery that was family centered and community based. At the local level, child health steering committees in established projects were to continue to plan and implement child health system changes in their service areas. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Child Mortality, Community Based Health Services, Databases, Family Centered Health Care, Information Systems, Primary Care, Standards of Care, State Programs

Annotation: This document encourages families to partner with health professionals on getting preventive health services and to take a lead role in promoting health at home and where they live, work, and play. Topics include how information sharing between families and health professionals can promote child health, the Affordable Care Act's preventive health services for children, the Bright Futures initiative, and tips for a healthy lifestyle. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, IMPACT, 3701 San Mateo Boulevard, N.E., Suite 103, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.fv-impact.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bright Futures, Child health, Children, Families, Family centered care, Health care reform, Health promotion, Parent professional relations, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Special health care needs

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of research-based practices and policies that state leaders can use to support meaningful family engagement in children's early learning, which ultimately improves child and family outcomes. The document provides links to Federal statutes and policies that require family engagement, evidence-based strategies for promoting family engagement, barriers to fostering family engagement, and problem-solving methods to overcome barriers. In addition, the brief provides examples of successful programs from different states.

Contact: SRI International, 333 Ravenswood Avenue, Menlo Park, CA 94025-3493, Telephone: (650) 859-2000 Web Site: https://www.sri.com

• PDF

Keywords: Early childhood education, Family centered services, Family health, Family support programs

Annotation: This report provides practical recommendations for providers, payers, and policy makers to consider in adopting approaches to transform child health care delivery. The report is a product of the Accelerating Child Health Transformation initiative, which works to identify, test, and disseminate a comprehensive and adaptable set of blueprints that can be used to transform child health care services to lead to improved child and family well-being, as well as racial equity. The Center for Health Care Strategies identified three key strategies that are integral to child health care transformation: adopting anti-racist practices and policies to advance health equity; co-creating equitable partnerships with patients, families, and providers; and identifying family strengths and addressing health-related social needs to promote resilience.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Family centered services, Family health, Family support programs, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Policy development

Annotation: This FES toolkit is designed to inspire and support child- and family-serving organizations working to engage families and family-led organizations in systems-level initiatives. It is designed to work with the Family Engagement in Systems Assessment (FESAT) tool to be used to assess and improve family engagement. It provides strategies in the domains of commitment, transpoarency, representation, and impact. Related documents include the Family Engagement in Systems Assessment Tool (FESAT), a user's guide, and a score sheet.

Contact: Family Voices, P.O. Box 37188, Albuquerque, NM 87176, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.familyvoices.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Families, Family centered care, Family centered services, Manuals, Parent participation

Annotation: This article discusses the origins and history of patient- and family-centered care; provides as overview of several existing frameworks for patient-centeredness; and highlights several strategies for promoting coproduction in Hospital Medicine, organized around 4 key tenets (cocommissioning, codesign, c-delivery, and coassessment).

Contact: Elsevier, Health Sciences Division, 1600 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Suite 1800, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2822, Telephone: (215) 239-3900 Fax: (215) 239-3990 Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Family centered care, Hospital services, Patient care

Annotation: This guide defines educational equity and describes actions state education chiefs can take to create a more equitable education system in their state. Topics include setting and communicating an equity vision and measurable targets; focusing on the state education agency; creating accountability for equity; engaging local education agencies and providing tailored differentiated support; allocating resources to achieve fiscal equity; investing in the youngest learners; monitoring equitable implementation of standards and assessments; focusing on teachers and leaders; focusing on conditions of learning (school culture, climate, and social-emotional development); and ensuring families have access to high-quality educational options that align to community needs.

Contact: Council of Chief State School Officers, One Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20001-1431, Telephone: (202) 336-7000 Fax: (202) 408-8072 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ccsso.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Accountability, Assessments, Communication, Educational change, Equal opportunities, Family centered services, Leadership, Learning, Measures, Policy development, Program development, Public education, Resource allocation, Schools, Standards, State education agencies, Students, Teachers, Teaching

Annotation: These resources provide information to help parents of infants ask their pediatrician about how they can partner to ensure that the infant’s mouth is healthy. The resources discuss how to care for an infant’s teeth before they erupt. The resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ilikemyteeth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Family centered care, Health literacy, Infants, Multimedia, Oral health, Parent professional relations, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report provides a snapshot of Title V Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) programs across the United States. Contents include background and history of CYSHCN programs, recent changes affecting CYSHCN programs, and methods and results from an electronic survey of Title V CYSHCN directors to assess key characteristics of each state's CYSHCN program. Topics include program structure and strengths, roles in systems of care, CYSHCN program partnerships, financing of care for CYSHCN populations and emerging issues for CYSHCN programs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Consultation, Cultural competency, Data, Family centered care, Financing, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health insurance, Leadership, Medicaid managed care, Models, Networking, Pediatric care, Policy development, Program coordination, Program development, Public health infrastructure, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Role, Standards, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This document is designed to help schools and other nonprofit organizations evaluate their parent engagement efforts and chart a path toward deeper partnerships with parents and other caregivers. Contents include an assessment and planning tool with instructions on how to use it and how to assess its results. Topics include building a culture of respect, inclusion, and equity; coaching parents; forming partnerships with parents; and partnering with others to serve the whole family. Examples of real-world strategies and programs are also included.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Competence, Culturally competent services, Equal opportunities, Family centered services, Leadership, Nonprofit organizations, Parents, Planning, Schools

Annotation: This flip book for health professionals to share with parents covers the basics of good oral health in infants and young children. Each page is double-sided and designed as a teaching tool. The patient-facing pages feature simple text (in English and in Spanish) and pictures and illustrations to educate families. On the back of the intended to complement the materials that home visitors use with families and can be incorporated into topics that home visitors address with families. Topics include the importance of primary teeth, brushing and flossing, eating healthy foods, drinking water, and visiting the dentist. Setting and reaching oral health goals and addressing oral health problems or emergencies are also discussed.

Contact: TeethFirst!, Rhode Island KIDS COUNT, One Union Station, Providence, RI 02903, Telephone: (401) 351-9400 Fax: (401) 351-1758 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.teethfirstri.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease prevention, Family centered care, Health education, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Patient education materials, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet for Title V programs, clinicians, and family leaders provides information about the potential effect of Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) managed care on children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) and their families. Topics include requirements for managed care organizations in CHIP and opportunities to mitigate potential unintended negative consequences of Medicaid managed care for CYSHCN and their families. Promising practices and strategies from states are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Contract services, Enrollment, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Medicaid managed care, Medical home, Model programs, Primary care, Service delivery systems, Special health care needs, State MCH programs, Youth

Annotation: This list is intended to spur conversations between oral health professionals and their patients about how to choose the most appropriate care based on a patient’s specific situation. Contents include information about when procedures may be appropriate, as well as the methodology used to develop the list. Topics include the benefit of fluoride-containing toothpaste for infants and children, applying dental sealants to minimize the need for restorative care later, informed consent best practice, managing temporomandibular joint disorders, and criteria for replacing restorations.

Contact: ABIM Foundation, 510 Walnut Street, Suite 1700, Philadelphia, PA 19106, Web Site: http://www.abimfoundation.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Communication, Decision making, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Family centered care, Fluorides, Infants, Informed consent, Oral health, Preventive health services

Annotation: This document outlines a vision for what the federal government can do to improve the lives of children. Contents include a child health policy agenda followed by specific recommendations for each of the relevant federal agencies and departments. Recommendations for administrative and congressional actions and funding priorities are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Family centered care, Federal agencies, Financing, Health insurance, Health services, Legislation, Pediatric care, Policy development, Strategic plans

Annotation: This report describes medical home and dental home models of care, Affordable Care Act–related health care system changes, and options for integrating oral health care and other health care. Topics include medical-dental integration approaches, features of highly integrated systems, integrating oral health into medical and health home models, integrating oral health into training programs, advantages and barriers to integration, and future directions for the patient-centered dental home.

Contact: University of Iowa, Center for Social Science Innovation, 605 E. Jefferson Street, Social Sciences Research Building, Iowa City, IA 52242, Telephone: (319) 335-6800 Fax: (319) 335-6801 Web Site: https://cssi.research.uiowa.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Family centered services, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health insurance, Medical home, Model programs, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Patient care, Service coordination, Service delivery systems, Service integration

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find care, services, and support and websites about kids and teens with special health care needs. Resources about communicating online are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Bibliographies, Children with special health care needs, Electronic publications, Families, Family centered services

Annotation: This resource describes a tool to help pediatricians and other health professionals improve family-centeredness of their care. The quality measurement questionnaire comprises 24 validated questions on topics such as decision-making interactions, family support, community services, and cultural competence. The resource includes information about using the Family-Centered Care Assessment (FCCA) for families, health care providers, and researchers; a FCCA fact sheet and project timeline; and links to a self-assessment tool and user guide for families and providers. Additional resources on family-centered care are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Family / Professional Partnerships, Family Voices, 3701 San Mateo Boulevard, N.W., Suite 103, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: https://familyvoices.org/lfpp/f2fs/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Assessment, Cultural competence, Decision making, Family centered care, Family support services, Measures, Pediatric care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Special health care needs

Annotation: This tip sheet provides an overview of key issues and tips for supporting siblings when a brother or sister is receiving residential interventions for behavioral and/or emotional challenges. Contents include background on why it is important to support siblings and strategies for families and other caregivers.

Contact: Building Bridges Initiative, U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Administration, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.buildingbridges4youth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior problems, Family centered services, Family support programs, Mental health, Residential care, Siblings