Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report describes a project to build a dental clinic and provide comprehensive oral health services to students attending a combined elementary and middle school (kindergarten through eighth grade) in Lemon Grove, CA. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Appendices include an announcement about the clinic opening, sample forms in English and Spanish, a needs-assessment cover letter and survey, a program brochure, and a memorandum of under- standing between the university and the school district. The process, outcome, and impact indicators/minimal data set is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Elementary schools, Facility design and construction, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Middle schools, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Rural population, School based clinics, Service integration, Spanish language materials, Systems development

Annotation: This report for policy makers, agency officials, non-governmental organizations and associations, and others who work to promote quality child care and advance children's health provides information about laws, regulations, and programs to address indoor environmental contaminants in child care facilities. Contents include an overview of how policies address indoor environmental quality issues in licensed child care facilities and, for each issue, examples of policy strategies for states to consider including notable non-regulatory initiatives that are being implemented by state agencies. Topics include carbon monoxide alarms; mold and dampness; building ventilation and temperature; pesticides, lead-based paint; asbestos; other chemical exposures (cleaning, renovation, and consumer products); facility site/location; and state non-regulatory activities (education, assistance and incentives to advance best practices). The appendix provides information about where to find state statutes and regulations online.

Contact: Environmental Law Institute, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 939-3800 Web Site: http://www.eli.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care centers, Child health, Environmental exposure, Facility design and construction, Hazardous materials, Health education, Model programs, Policy development, Regulations, State initiatives, State legislation

Annotation: These guidelines are designed to assist school administrators and others in protecting and improving indoor air quality (IAQ) in schools during building upgrades, particularly energy efficiency upgrades and building renovation activities. Contents include fundamental principles of IAQ, the business case for integrating energy efficiency and IAQ, and assessment protocols and recommended actions. Topics include project planning and integrated design; moisture and mold; hazardous materials; indoor and outdoor contaminants and sources; heating, ventilation, and air conditioning; and safety. The appendices contain information about project planning and developing a project team, communication and education, and worker protection. A master verification checklist is also included.

Contact: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Ariel Rios Building, 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20460, Telephone: (202) 272-0167 Web Site: http://www2.epa.gov/children Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Air pollution, Assessment, Environmental exposure, Facility design and construction, Planning, Protocols, Safety, School age children, Schools

Annotation: This guide addresses the need for drinking water in schools and outlines steps for providing adequate numbers of drinking fountains and tap water dispensers in school buildings. The content is organized to mirror typical school organizational structure, providing information about policy and oversight for state and tribal agencies and information focused on implementation and maintenance for schools. Topics include access to free and safe drinking water within a convenient distance of any location on school grounds; factors that impact whether water is safe to drink and appealing to students, teachers, and staff; and campaigns and policies designed to increase student water consumption.

Contact: Harvard University, T.H. Chan School of Public Health, 677 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 495-1000 Web Site: https://www.hsph.harvard.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Facility design and construction, Fluid intake, Nutrition, Oral health, Policy development, Public health infrastructure, Safety, School age children, Schools, Water

Annotation: This document examines the potential of school architecture and design to promote healthy eating and physical activity behaviors. It describes a mixed-methods evaluation research design that included data collection from students and staff in schools before and after the intervention. Topics include organizational change, children's attitudes toward school, conception of new space, and need for social intervention.

• PDF

Keywords: Attitudes, Case studies, Collaboration, Facility design and construction, Feasibility studies, Health promotion, Multidisciplinary teams, Obesity, Organizational change, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Public private partnerships, School age children, Schools, Social factors, Students

Annotation: This document begins by defining family centered care and discussing its benefits. It goes on to explain the components of a family centered hospital care program: committed hospital leadership, personnel policies and practices, supportive architecture and design, professional communication with families, family-to-family support and networking, linking families with community resources, educating family-centered professionals, research design, and family involvement in hospital decisions. The concluding chapters offer practical tips for hospital personnel starting a family centered care program and strategies for family involvement in the process. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Institute for Patient and Family-Centered Care, 7900 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 405, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 652-0281, ext. 16 Contact Phone: (301) 320-2686 Fax: (301) 652-0186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familycenteredcare.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-9642014-0-2.

Keywords: Child health services, Collaboration, Community programs, Ethics, Facility design and construction, Family centered care, Family support services, Health personnel, Hospital services, Parent participation, Parents, Policy development, Professional education, Program development, Research design

Annotation: This book examines the business community's responsibility to provide child care for its employees and considers ways that that responsibility can be met. It provides an overview of the implications to the business, reviews various child care choices, and considers the following topics: legal issues, finances, designing child care facilities, and management. One chapter contains advice for small businesses. Appendices provide information on liability insurance carriers, current licensing offices, resources for playground equipment, and a list of resource organizations, among other types of information.

Keywords: Child care, Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Facility design and construction, Financing, Legal issues, Management, Small businesses

Annotation: This investigation of lead in American child care facilities and schools was requested by the Subcommittee on Health and the Environment, Committee on Energy and Commerce, House of Representatives. There were two purposes of the survey: 1) inspect federal, state, and local programs and activities which address lead hazards in child care facilities and schools, and 2) access existing information on the extent and treatment of lead hazards in these facilities and schools. Three federal agencies that are primarily responsible for addressing lead hazards were examined. These agencies are the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC); the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); and the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Child care licensing agencies, education agencies, and school districts in several states were also reviewed.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/RCED-93-197.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care centers, Facility design and construction, Injury prevention, Lead poisoning, Schools, Screening, Statistics, Surveys

Annotation: The proceedings of the National Institute of Building Sciences' tenth annual meeting held in Washington, D.C. November 16-18, 1988 discuss the causes and effects of various pollutants and environmental hazards in buildings, solutions, and plans for action. The meeting discussed polluted air in buildings, earthquake damage, radon, lead poisoning, and asbestos. The volume is illustrated with black and white photographs, charts, graphs, and maps and ends with a list of speaker biographies.

Contact: National Institute of Building Sciences, 1090 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005-4905, Telephone: (202) 289-7800 Fax: (202)289-1092 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nibs.org/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Building codes, Conference proceedings, Environmental exposure, Environmental pollution, Facility design and construction, Health, Housing, Lead poisoning, Radon

Annotation: This volume contains two separate works on health care facilities for children. The first work, the Design Guidelines is by A. R. Olds, is a manual on the psychological and developmental factors that are significant in the design of health care facilities for children. It reviews factors such as general design issues, external design, public spaces, patient living spaces, and medical spaces. Each factor is broken down into further topics; the manual outlines the major design objectives, provides a discussion, and suggests various approaches for each topic. The second work, the Literature Outline by P. A. Daniel, is a topical review of the interdisciplinary literature which pertains to the design of children's health facilities. The methodology and organization is explained. The review covers the same factors and topics included in the companion work; and bibliographic references to the source literature are provided.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Child health, Facility design and construction, Health facilities, Manuals

Annotation: This study provides guidance on determining the size of the nursery, basic recommendations, rooming in, full-term nurseries, cohort nurseries, premature nurseries, observation nurseries, and nurses' stations. Suggested floor plans are included. Accessory rooms not shown in the plans, but discussed, are the formula room, nurses' locker room, demonstration room, and storage room. Finishes, air conditioning and ventilation, and electrical service are also discussed.

• Link

Keywords: Facility design and construction, Hospital nurseries, Hospital units

Annotation: These public health service regulations describe hospital construction and facilities requirements, including general standards for construction and equipment, the distribution of hospital beds, and methods of administration across states. Included are definitions of key terms and the specific requirements based on type of hospital. Regulations for hospital nursery departments and pediatric services are included.

Contact: Google Books, Web Site: http://www.books.google.com

• Link

Keywords: Facility design and construction, Health facilities, Hospital units, Hospitals, Legislation, Regulations

Annotation: This paper is part of a report read at the Second American Congress on Obstetrics and Gynecology (Section on Hospital Administration) in 1942. It highlights the importance of hospital care for newborn infants, particularly those who are premature, and outlines a method to determine the number of rooms, size of rooms, and cribs/bassinets needed to meet the needs of small, medium, and large hospitals. Written by architects, the paper also describes the accessory units (milk rooms, supply and utility rooms, demonstration rooms, etc); the square footage needed per infant and room unit, and the most effective room layouts to accommodate cribs, waste containers, changing tables, and other infant care essentials. Illustrated diagrams are included.

Contact: Google Books, Web Site: http://www.books.google.com

• Link

Keywords: Architecture , Facility design and construction, Hospital nurseries, Hospital units, Hospitals, Newborn infants, Premature infants