Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This activity booklet is designed to help children between the ages of nine and twelve learn about healthy vision. It includes a variety of games and activities to help children learn about eye disease, eye safety, and first aid for eye injuries.

Contact: National Eye Institute, , 31 Center Drive, MSC 2510, Bethesda, MD 20892-2510, Telephone: (301) 496-5248 Fax: (301) 402-1065 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nei.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Educational materials, Eye care, Learning activities, Materials for children, Vision

Annotation: This activity booklet is designed to help children between the ages of six and eight learn about healthy vision. It includes a variety of games and activities to help children learn about eye disease, eye safety, and first aid for eye injuries.

Contact: National Eye Institute, , 31 Center Drive, MSC 2510, Bethesda, MD 20892-2510, Telephone: (301) 496-5248 Fax: (301) 402-1065 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nei.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Educational materials, Eye care, Learning activities, Materials for children, Vision

Annotation: This report proposes a population-centered framework to guide action and coordination among stakeholders to improve eye and vision health and health equity in the United States. The report also introduces a model for action that highlights different levels of prevention activities across a range of stakeholders and provides specific examples of how population health strategies can be translated into cohesive areas for action at federal, state, and local levels. Topics include the epidemiology of vision loss and impairment; the impact of vision loss; surveillance and research; the role of public health and partnerships to promote eye and vision health in communities; access to clinical vision services (work force and coverage); a high quality clinical eye and vision service delivery system; and improving diagnosis, rehabilitation, and accessibility.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Community action, Eye care, Health care reform, Health disparities, Health insurance, Models, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Prevention services, Program coordination, Public health infrastructure, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Research, Service delivery systems, Vision, Vision disorders, Work force

Annotation: This fact sheet highlights children's eye-related issues including factors that further impact members of various ethnic groups. Topics include the difference between vision screening and eye examinations; risk factors; eyewear solutions; eye health among ethnic groups (African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanics, and Whites); signs of vision problems in children; healthy eye tips for children; and where to find eye care. Tips for parents and recommendations for primary care health professionals are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Ethnic groups, Eye care, Eye diseases, Health promotion, Minority groups, Primary care, Risk factors, Screening

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for parents and professionals on vision screening and healthy development in children. Topics include the importance of the medical home, signs of a vision problem, how parents can be active participants in their child's health, sources of financial help, and organizational resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Children's Vision and Eye Health, Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nationalcenter.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Eye care, Eye diseases, Health promotion, Medical home, Screening

Annotation: This online resource provides information for parents and caregivers about eye safety for children and adolescents. Topics include eye protection during sports, suitable protective eye wear, using age appropriate toys, safety around pets, and tips on first aid in emergencies.

Contact: American Academy of Ophthalmology, 655 Beach Street, San Francisco, CA 94109, Telephone: (415) 561-8500 Fax: (415) 561-8533 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aao.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Child safety, Children, Eye care, Eye injuries, First aid, Injury prevention

Annotation: This web page, which is part of a website about vision in general, provides information about eye health in sports and recreation. Topics include high-risk sports (baseball, basketball, and racquet sports), other risky leisure activities (such as home repairs, yardwork, cleaning, and cooking), and diagnosis of concussion in athletes. The site also offers options for finding an eye doctor by location and for asking an eye doctor questions.

Contact: American Academy of Ophthalmology, 655 Beach Street, San Francisco, CA 94109, Telephone: (415) 561-8500 Fax: (415) 561-8533 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aao.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Baseball, Basketball, Eye care, Eye injuries, Physical activity, Prevention, Prevention, Sports injuries

Annotation: This online video discusses pink eye, a common childhood eye infection that can be highly contagious. Topics include how to prevent the spread of pink eye and what symptoms to look for to know an eye examination is needed to diagnose a possible eye infection.

Contact: American Academy of Ophthalmology, 655 Beach Street, San Francisco, CA 94109, Telephone: (415) 561-8500 Fax: (415) 561-8533 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aao.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Children, Eye care, Eye diseases, Infections, Vision

Annotation: This report presents a platform for children's vision and eye health. The report discusses the importance of professional eye health care and emphasizes the role of vision screening in eye care. Also addressed are the importance of ensuring that children are prepared to enter school unhampered by undetected vision problems; eye safety at home, at school, and at play; and advances in pediatric vision research. The report also acknowledges the importance of public awareness and understanding of children's vision and eye health.

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Eye care, Eye diseases, Eye injuries, Prevention, Research, Treatment, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision screening, Vision tests

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the proper types of eye protection to use for preventing eye injuries while playing sports. Type of eye protection and the types of eye injuries that can be prevented are discussed for each of the following sports: (1) baseball, (2) basketball, (3) soccer, (4) football, and (5) hockey. A phone number for more information is included.

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Eye care, Eye injuries, Prevention, Safety, Safety equipment, Sports, Sports injuries

Annotation: This guideline describes appropriate examination procedures for evaluation of the eye health and vision status of infants and children to reduce the risk of vision loss and facilitate normal visual development. The guideline contains recommendations for timely diagnosis, intervention, and, when necessary, consultation or referral for treatment by another health professional. Topics include the epidemiology of eye and vision disorders in children, the pediatric eye and vision examination, examination of infants and toddlers, examination of preschool children, examination of school-age children, and management of children.

Contact: American Optometric Association, 243 North Lindbergh Boulevard, First Floor , St. Louis, MO 63141, Telephone: (314) 991-4100 Secondary Telephone: (800) 365-2219 Fax: (314) 991-4101 Web Site: http://www.aoanet.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Diagnosis, Eye care, Eye diseases, Infant health, Intervention, Prevention, Treatment, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision screening, Vision tests, Young children

Annotation: This book presents information from the Nurses' Health Study on a woman's probability of developing specific diseases and suggests how that probability may change with certain alterations in diet, weight control, physical activity, and other lifestyle changes. Part one discusses the Nurses' Health Study and what observations have been made by researchers and what they mean to the study of women's health issues. Part two provides information and suggestions on lowering the risk of diseases. Topics covered include coronary heart disease, different types of cancers, stroke, diabetes, osteoporosis, asthma, arthritis, age-related eye disease, and Alzheimer's disease. The third part provides information on changing behaviors including physical activity, weight control, smoking, nutrients, foods, alcohol, vitamins and minerals, postmenopausal hormones, birth control, and pain relievers. The appendices give information on types of epidemiological studies; being an informed consumer of health information; and a section on tables on weight and nutrition. The book concludes with a glossary, selected readings, and an index.

Contact: Simon and Schuster, 1230 Avenue of the Americas , New York, NY 10020, Telephone: (212) 698-7000 Web Site: http://www.simonsays.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-684-85519-4.

Keywords: Alcohols, Alzheimers disease, Analgesic drugs, Antiinflammatory drugs, Arthritis, Asthma, Breast cancer, Cancer, Colon cancer, Coronary care, Diabetes mellitus, Disease prevention, Eye diseases, Family planning, Food, Hormone replacement therapy, Life cycle, Lung cancer, Menopause, Minerals, Nutrition, Osteoporosis, Ovarian cancer, Physical activity, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Reproductive health, Research programs, Skin cancers, Smoking, Strokes, Vitamins, Weight management, Women', Women', s health, s health promotion