Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 7 (7 total).

Yuwiler J, Ray LU. n.d.. E-code categories for injury = E-codes for injury. San Diego, CA: San Diego State University, Children's Safety Network Injury Data Technical Assistance Center, 8 pp.

Annotation: This paper discusses the use of E Codes to classify the external cause of injuries, and explains how using these codes contributes to developing better injury prevention programs. The paper includes a classified listing of E Codes grouped according to common causes of injury, as well as instructions on the use of the codes. This paper is based on the ninth revised edition of "International Classification of Diseases." [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Injury Prevention Policy and Practice, San Diego State University, 6475 Alvarado Road, Suite 105, San Diego, CA 92120, Telephone: (619) 594-3691 Fax: (619) 594-1995 E-mail: kmjones@projects.sdu.edu Web Site: http://www.cippp.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: External cause of injury codes, Injuries, Injury prevention, Intentional injuries, Population surveillance, Unintentional injuries

Carney C, McGehe D, Harland K, Weiss M, Raby M. 2015. Using naturalistic driving data to assess the prevalence of environmental factors and driver behaviors in teen driver crashes. Washington, DC: AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, 69 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to examine naturalistic data from crashes that involved adolescent drivers. Topics include characteristics of drivers and passengers, roadway and environment, crashes, vehicle-to-vehicle crashes, and single-vehicle crashes; and driver and passenger behaviors. Contents include a detailed description of the study methodology and the coding sheet with variable definitions.

Contact: AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, 607 14th Street, N.W., Suite 201, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5944 Fax: (202) 638-5943 E-mail: info@aaafoundation.org Web Site: http://www.aaafoundation.org/home/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior, Data analysis, Environment, External cause of injury codes, Motor vehicle crashes, Research methodology, Risk factors, Risk taking, Safety, Transportation injuries, Unintentional injuries

1994. E code training manual. (Draft). Center for Health Policy Studies, 2 v.

Annotation: This manual was developed as a model resource for use in training hospital personnel and health information management students regarding revisions to the ICD-9-CM Supplementary Classification of External Causes of Injury and Poisoning. The revisions to the tabular list and index are in the process of being field tested. Volume I contains an overview, the process for assigning E Codes, E Code categories, practice exercises and an answer key. Volume II includes E Coding guidelines and proposed revisions to the tabular list and alphabetic index, and contains a table of drugs and chemicals.

Keywords: External cause of injury codes, Training

Yuwiler J, Ray LU. 1994. Fatal injury matrix for intentional and unintentional childhood injury. San Diego, CA: San Diego State University, Children's Safety Network Injury Data Technical Assistance Center, 57 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides background and instruction for using the accompanying matrix software disk, designed for use by public health agencies to calculate their fatal injury rate and costs. Chapters cover the need for injury data as well as methods for determining the extent of the fatal injury problem, structuring the fatality matrix, gathering matrix data, and interpreting the matrix. Sample pages present the various spreadsheets for the matrix. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Injury Prevention Policy and Practice, San Diego State University, 6475 Alvarado Road, Suite 105, San Diego, CA 92120, Telephone: (619) 594-3691 Fax: (619) 594-1995 E-mail: kmjones@projects.sdu.edu Web Site: http://www.cippp.org/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Costs, Data, External cause of injury codes, Mortality

Christoffel KK, Scheidt PC, Agran PF, Kraus JF, McLoughlin E, Paulson JA. 1992. Standard definitions for childhood injury research. [Bethesda, MD]: National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 31 pp.

Annotation: This report outlines classifications and definitions of variables used in childhood injury research as developed at a conference held March 20-21, 1989 by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD). The report is intended as a tool for those involved with injury control efforts of various types. The broad areas addressed are grouped by demographic descriptors (age, race/ethnicity, region, socioeconomic status) and by the leading causes of child hood injury morbidity and mortality (motor vehicles, burns, drowning, falls, head/spine injury and violence). Each injury outline lists the range of factors potentially relevant to E-codes. Appendices list E-code groupings, references and conference participants.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Document Number: NIH 92-1586.

Keywords: Burns, Children, Correlates of injury, Data collection, Data sources, Demographics, Drowning, External cause of injury codes, Falls, Head injuries, Injury prevention, International classification of diseases, Morbidity, Mortality, Motor vehicles, Population surveillance, Public health agencies, Research, Spinal cord injuries, Unintentional injuries, Violence

Pope AM, Tarlov AR, eds. 1991. Disability in America: Toward a national agenda for prevention—Full report, summary and recommendations. Washington, DC: National Academy Press, 376 pp., summ. (52 pp.).

Annotation: This book provides a follow-up to the Institute of Medicine's report "Injury in America" released in 1985. It describes a comprehensive approach to disability prevention. Included are developmental disability, disabilities caused by injury, chronic disease and aging, and secondary conditions arising from primary disabling conditions. It presents a five-prong strategy (organization and coordination within and between the public and private sectors, surveillance, research, access to medical care, and education) for reducing the incidence and prevalence of disability as well as its personal, social, and economic consequences. The summary provides an overview of the full report.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-04378-6 .

Keywords: Age, Consumer education, Costs, Disabilities, Emergency medical services, Epidemiology, External cause of injury codes, Head injuries, Integration, Mental disorders, Older adults, Physical disabilities, Planning, Policy statements, Population surveillance, Population surveillance, Prevention, Rehabilitation, Research, Secondary disabilities, Special health care needs, Spinal cord injuries, Training

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Division of Family Health Services, Statewide Comprehensive Injury Prevention Program. 1987. Injuries in Massachusetts: A status report. Boston, MA: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 94 pp.

Annotation: This document presents a picture of injuries in the State of Massachusetts in a five-year period. The surveillance and research produced a look at how injuries occur and to whom, the number and rate of injuries at the local level and made recommendations on injury prevention programming for Massachusetts. Injury pictures produced profiles on age, sex, cause of injury, potential years of life lost and a breakdown of injuries by locality. Specific interventions and recommendations were included in the conclusion. A summary report is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Injury Prevention and Control Program, 250 Washington Street, Fourth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5557 Contact Phone: (617) 727-1246 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Data, Emergency room data, External cause of injury codes, Hospital discharge data, Injury prevention, Intervention, Mortality, Needs assessment, Population surveillance, Research, Residential injuries, State plans, Transportation injuries

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.