Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (27 total).

Clark M, Millette M. 2023. State opportunities to leverage Medicaid and CHIP coverage to improve maternal health and eliminate racial inequities. Washington, DC: Georgetown University Health Policy Institute, Center for Children and Families,

Annotation: This issue brief highlights state Medicaid and Children's Health insurance Program (CHIP) eligibility options, including (1) expanding income eligibility, (2) extending the duration of postpartum Medicaid coverage to 12 months following the end of pregnancy, and (3) removing immigration-related barriers to health coverage. It describes how states can leverage their federal coverage options to broaden access to care during the perinatal period and draw down ederal matching funds.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

Keywords: Access to care, Children', Eligibility, Expanded eligibility , Mediciaid, s Health Insurance Program

Prenatal-to-Three Impact Center, Vanderbilt Universit. 2022. State options and actions to extend postpartum Medicaid coverage . Nashville, TN: Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Vanderbilt University , 8 pp.

Annotation: This research brief describes state options and actions that can be taken to extend Medicaid-related pregnancy coverage beyond 60 days postpartum. Included are examples of state legislation and federally-approved waiver requests.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Nashville, TN 37203, E-mail: https://pn3policy.org/contact/ Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

Keywords: , Access to health care, Barriers, Expanded eligibility, Medicaid, Model legislation, Postpartum care, State legislation

Whitener K, Alker j. 2020. Covering all children . Washington, DC: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy, 12 pp.

Annotation: This brief focuses on the remaining uninsured children in the U.S. and makes recommendations for policy changes to reach them as well as to simplify and improve children’s coverage overall. The menu of potential strategies includes (1) creating a national continuum of children's coverage; (2) strengthening Medicaid and the CHIP (Children's Health Insurance Program); (3) reducing gaps in children's coverage; and (4) improving affordability in the marketplace. Interim steps to improve coverage at both the federal and state level are also described.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

Keywords: Child health, Expanded eligibility, Health insurance, Policy development, Uninsured persons

McCoy C, Chaudhry A. 2015. Who will be covered for what in 2015 and beyond: An overview of insurance affordability programs for maternal and child health populations existing prior to or expanded under the Affordable Care Act . Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 6 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief is designed to assist state maternal and child health (MCH) programs in understanding insurance affordability programs not including employee-sponsored coverage. Contents include an overview of federal benefit and coverage requirements under the Affordable Care Act. Topics include federal minimum eligibility levels by income including identified and potential gaps in eligibility for MCH populations both with and without Medicaid expansion and projected minimum or essential health insurance benefits for MCH populations including children and youth with special health care needs for each of the following coverage options: Medicaid, Children's Health Insurance Plan (CHIP), insurance purchased through the health insurance marketplace (exchange), and safety net services for those remaining uninsured.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Medicaid, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health insurance, Eligibility, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State health insurance programs

Kagan C, Lewandowski K. 2014. The ACA and former foster youth: Opportunities and challenges for states. Boston, MA: Community Catalyst, 9 pp.

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2013. The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act: Summary of key maternal and child health related highlights with updates on status of implementation. Wahsington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 13 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides a summary of the maternal and child health (MCH) related highlights and funding announcements of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) and related implementation of the law in states. Topics include descriptions of individual provisions in these categories: prevention and public health, coverage and benefits, access to health care services, workforce, other key MCH investments, and healthcare quality.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Expanded eligibility, Federal health insurance programs, Financing, Health care reform, Home visiting, MCH services, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, State health insurance programs, Work force

Dolatshahi J, Hess C, Hee J. 2013. Health care reform and children: Planning and design considerations for policymakers. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 38 pp.

Annotation: This report highlights potential challenges and issues that policymakers and stakeholders may consider to help ensure that health care reform works for children and adolescents. The report provides a brief overview of coverage options available and describes some of the major implications of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act related to outreach, eligibility and enrollment, coverage, and access.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Eligibility, Enrollment, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health insurance, Legislation, Outreach, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Public policy

Golden O, Emam D. 2013. How health care reform can help children and families in the child welfare system: Options for action. Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 31 pp. (Low-income working families, paper 25)

Annotation: This paper considers the implications of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act on child welfare families, specifically on youth aging out of foster care, parents and guardians of children in (or at risk of entering) the child welfare system, and children already involved in the system. It also offers potential strategies for action by state and federal child welfare and health officials, philanthropic funders, and outside expert to enhance coverage and improve care.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child welfare, Children, Expanded eligibility, Federal initiatives, Foster care, Foster parents, Health care reform, Health insurance, Low income groups, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State initiatives

Stephens J, Artiga S. 2013. Key lessons from Medicaid and CHIP for outreach and enrollment under the Affordable Care Act: Getting into gear for 2014. Washington, DC: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 16 pp. (Issue brief: Getting into gear for 2014)

Annotation: This brief identifies key lessons learned through previous Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program(CHIP) experiences to help inform outreach and enrollment under the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA). Topics include the importance of Medicaid as an option for access to health care services, have both broad and targeted outreach messages for Medicaid or CHIP eligible families, provide accessible and family-friendly enrollment policies and procedures, make one-on-one enrollment assistance available, and facilitate renewals to promote stability of coverage.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Children', Enrollment, Enrollment, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Outreach, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, s Health Insurance Program

Rosenbaum S. 2013. Principles to consider for the implementation of a community health needs assessment process. Washington, DC: George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services, Department of Health Policy, 8 pp.

Annotation: This document identifies seven guiding principles to consider during the implementation of community health needs assessments applicable to not-for-profit hospitals that seek federal tax-exempt status under the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA). These principles address the importance of collaboration, community engagement, transparency, quality data, health disparities, evidence-based interventions, and evaluation to support all phases of community health improvement. The principles offer a pathway for hospitals, public health entities, and other interested parties to work collaboratively to address the health needs of their communities.

Contact: George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, Department of Health Policy, 950 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Sixth Floor, Washington, DC 20052, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/departments/health-policy Available from the website.

Keywords: Community coordination, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health reform, Needs assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Program improvement, Public health, Public hospitals

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Office of the Associate Director for Policy. 2013. Resources for implementing the community health needs assessment process. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Office of the Associate Director for Policy, 8 pp.

Annotation: This web page provides resources to help hospitals, public health agencies, and other stakeholders conduct community health needs assessments and develop community health improvement plans related to the revised community benefit obligations for public hospitals under the Affordable Care Act (ACA). It provides information related to the Community Health Needs Assessment (CHNA), including logic models, best practices, and Internal Revenue Service coding. Principles to consider to help guide the CHNA process, planning resources, and data tools are also provided.

Keywords: Community coordination, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health reform, Needs assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Program improvement, Public health, Public hospitals

Trust for America's Health. 2013. The truth about the Prevention and Public Health Fund. Washington, DC: Trust for America's Health, 9 pp.

Annotation: This report outlines facts about the Prevention and Public Health Fund, which provides mandatory allocations through the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) to improve health and prevent chronic illnesses by expanding preventive care and supporting proven community-based programs that reduce obesity, tobacco use, and other preventable conditions. It discusses Community Transformation Grants (CTGs) requirements to reduce death and disability due to heart disease and stroke, and efforts to coordinate health care and provide support outside the doctor's office and in communities.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community health services, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health insurance, Obesity, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Prevention services, Tobacco use

Hagan E. 2013. How the Affordable Care Act makes health coverage more affordable. Washington, DC: Families USA, 4 pp. (Fact sheet)

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the ways that the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act makes health insurance coverage more affordable for consumers through fairer premiums for people with pre-existing conditions, women, and older people, income-based subsidies, and new, affordable coverage options for young adults.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Expanded eligibility, Federal health insurance programs, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Women, Young adults

Mathematica Policy Research, Urban Institute, Health Management Associates. 2013. CHIPRA mandated evaluation of express lane eligibility: Final findings. Princeton, NJ: Mathematica Policy Research, 174 pp.

Annotation: This final report to Congress provides results of an examination of the Children's Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009 (CHIPRA) provision for express lane eligibility (ELE). It describes how ELE was implemented in eight states, its impact on enrollment, trends in enrollment and renewal, services used for ELE children compared to children enrolled through the traditional processes, key cross-state lessons learned, and other enrollment and renewal simplifications adopted in other states.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children', Eligibility, Eligibility, Eligibility determination, Expanded eligibility, Legislation, Medicaid, Program evaluation, s Health Insurance Program

National Prevention, Health Promotion and Public Health Council. 2012. National Prevention Council action plan: Implementing the national prevention strategy. Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, 85 pp.

Annotation: This action plan builds on the vision, goals, recommendations, and actions of the National Prevention Strategy (released in 2011 by the National Prevention, Health Promotion, and Public Health Council) which aims to increase the number of Americans who are healthy at every stage of life. The plan includes commitments from all of the 17 federal departments and agencies on the council to increase tobacco free environments; increase access to healthy, affordable foods; and identify additional opportunities to consider health and prevention by their agencies in such areas as preventing drug abuse and excessive alcohol use, active living, injury and violence free living, reproductive and sexual health, and mental and emotional well-being. In addition, the action plan highlights more than 200 specific prevention and wellness actions that federal agencies are already taking or plan to take to implement the National Prevention Strategy.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease prevention, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health promotion, National initiatives, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Strategic plans

Hoag S, Orzol S, Colby M, Swinburn A, Blavin F, Kenney GM, Huntress M. 2012. CHIPRA mandated evaluation of express lane eligibility: First year findings-Final report. Princeton, NJ: Mathematica Policy Research, 88 pp.

Annotation: This report is the first of two reports that will fulfill a mandate for a comprehensive, independent, and rigorous evaluation of Express Lane Eligibility (ELE). ELE is a policy whereby a state's Medicaid and/or Children's Health Insurance Program can rely on another agency's eligibility findings to qualify children for public health coverage, despite their different methods of assessing income or determining eligibility. The report (1) describes exisiting ELE programs, including the costs and new enrollment trends associated with ELE implementation, (2) estimates the impact of ELE adoption on total enrollment, and (3) previews the issue that will be examined through future evaluation activities and presented in the final evaluation report, due to Congress in September 2013.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children', Eligibility, Eligibility, Eligibility determination, Expanded eligibility, Legislation, Medicaid, Program evaluation, s Health Insurance Program

The Arc of the United States. 2012. The Affordable Care Act: What disability advocates need to know. Washington, DC: The Arc of the United States, 15 pp. (National Policy Matters)

Annotation: This paper outlines the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) to help the disability community to better understand the law and the many benefits it can provide to people with disabilities and help to move states forward with implementation. Topics include how the PPACA expands health insurance coverage in both the private and public sectors, expands essential benefits, impacts Medicaid, expands long-term services and support, and emphasizes prevention. It also discusses provisions important to people with intellectual and/or developmental disabilities.

Contact: Arc of the United States, 1660 L Street, N.W., Suite 301, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (800) 433-5255 Secondary Telephone: (202) 534-3700 Fax: (202) 783-8250 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thearc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Disabilities, Disability benefits, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health insurance, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Tebb K, Brindis C, Giordano A, Combelick S, Bausch S, Diaz A. 2012. A shifting health landscape for adolescents and young adults: Planning for the implementation of federal health care reform in New York. San Francisco, CA: University of California, San Francisco, Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, 39 pp. (Health policy case study)

Annotation: This report aims to help readers better understand the extent to which planning efforts in New York State are considering and responding to the critical health needs of adolescents and young adults as the New York pursues implementation of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA). Topics include: health benefit exchanges; Medicaid expansion; the basic health plan; the catastrophic coverage option; enrollment and health care access; and special issues for adolescents and young adults.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, 513 Parnassus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94143-0410, Telephone: (415) 476-5255 Web Site: http://healthpolicy.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Case studies, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health insurance, New York, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Young adults

Somers SA, Mahadevan R. 2010. Health literacy implications of the Affordable Care Act. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 31 pp.

Annotation: This report identifies provisions in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) that directly and/or indirectly address health literacy, to inform efforts to implement related enrollment, care delivery, and public health strategies that support and respond to health literacy levels in the expansion population.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Enrollment, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health care services, Health insurance, Health literacy, Heath care delivery, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Neuschler E, Curtis R. 2001. Expanding Healthy Families to cover parents: Issues and analyses related to employer coverage. Oakland, CA: California HealthCare Foundation, 38 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on identifying critical questions related to the expansion of health insurance coverage for uninsured working families and their children in California. It also presents and analyzes available survey data in order to answer these questions. Topics include family income and program eligibility, a review of employer-based coverage, characteristics of the uninsured, wage levels and family income, and key considerations for policy design. Endnotes conclude the report.

Contact: California HealthCare Foundation, 1438 Webster Street, Suite 400, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 238-1040 Fax: (510) 238-1388 Web Site: http://www.chcf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Employer initiatives, Expanded eligibility, Health insurance, Low income groups, State initiatives, Working parents
    Next Page »

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.