Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 6 (6 total).

Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health. 2022. Perinatal mental health conditions patient safety bundle. Washington, DC: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health,

Annotation: This patient safety bundle provides actionable steps that can be adapted to a variety of health care facilities and resource levels to improve the quality of care and outcomes for patients with perinatal mental health conditions. It provides broad direction for incorporating perinatal mood and anxiety disorder screening, intervention, referral, and follow-up into maternity care practice across health care settings. Components include implementation details and resources, a data collection plan, an evidence-informed "change package," and learning modules.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

Keywords: Data collection, Evidence-based medicine, Health care quality indicators, Health metrics, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Measures, Mental health, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Prevention, Protocols, Quality improvement, Resources for professionals, Safety

Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health. 2021. Postpartum discharge transition patient safety bundle. Washington, DC: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health,

Annotation: The Postpartum Discharge Patient Safety Bundle was revised in 2021 to incorporate respectful concepts and data collection tools. The bundle provides actionable steps that can be adapted to a variety of facilities and resource levels to improve quality of care and outcomes during a critical period in which patients are at risk for maternal morbidity and mortality. It emphasizes the importance of establishing systems for scheduling timely postpartum visits, screening for risk factors, providing standardized discharge education about warning signs including mental health concerns, and ensuring patients receive a comprehensive discharge summary. It also highlights the importance of coordinated clinical pathways between inpatient and outpatient settings, trauma-informed care, and addressing biases that affect quality of care. Bundle components include implementation details and resources, a data collection plan, an evidence-informed "change package," and learning modules.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Data collection, Evidence-based medicine, Health care quality indicators, Health metrics, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Measures, Postpartum care, Prevention, Protocols, Quality improvement, Resources for professionals, Safety

Filenno KM, Hampton P, Poulsen MK. 2011. Challenges in the implementation of evidence-based mental health practices for birth-to-five year olds and their families. Sacramento, CA: California Center for Infant-Family and Early Childhood Mental Health, 24 pp. (Issue brief on National Think Tank on Evidence-Based Practices in Early Childhood)

Schorr L, Farrow F. 2011. Expanding the evidence universe: Doing better by knowing more. Washington, D.C.: Center for the Study of Social Policy , 49 pp.

Annotation: This paper provides recommendations related to expanding the knowledge base necessary to improve outcomes for children, families and communities. Written for discussion during the Harold Richman Public Policy Symposium, the authors propose a five-part set of concrete actions that the philanthropic, public, nonprofit, academic, business, and entrepreneurial sectors can take to build a wider and deeper evidence base.

Contact: Center for the Study of Social Policy, 1575 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 371-1565 Fax: (202) 371-1472 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cssp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Communities, Evidence-based medicine, Families, Research

Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy. 2009. Early childhood home visitation program models: An objective summary of the evidence about which are effective. Washington, DC: Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy, 8 pp.

Annotation: This paper summarizes the findings from rigorous evaluations of six U.S. home visitation program models: Hawaii Healthy Start, Healthy Families New York, Home Instruction Program for Preschool Youngsters (HIPPY), Nurse Family partnership, Parents as Teachers, and Parent-Child Home Program. The paper includes brief descriptions of each of the home visitation programs and a summary of program evaluation studies and findings based on randomized trials.

Contact: Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy, 1725 I Street, NW, Suite 300, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 349-1130 Fax: Web Site: http://coalition4evidence.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Evidence-based medicine, Home visiting, Model programs, Program evaluation, Research reviews

Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy. 2009. Early childhood home visitation: Effectiveness of a national initiative depends critically on adherence to rigorous evidence about "what works'. Washington, DC: Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy, 15 pp.

Annotation: This paper updates the Coalition for Evidence-based Policy's earlier evaluation summaries of widely-implemented U.S. home visitation program models. The updated paper provides brief program descriptions and summaries of evaluative studies for each of the following programs: Hawaii Healthy Start, Healthy Families New York, Healthy Families Alaska, Healthy Families San Diego, Home Instruction Program for Preschool Youngsters (HIPPY), Nurse Family Partnership, Parents as Teachers, and Parent-Child Home Program. Also included are the following three Illustrative examples of promising program models in early-childhood home visitation and related areas: (1) Early Start (a New Zealand-based home visitation program); (2) Recovery Coaches for Substance-abusing Parentings; and (3) Triple P (Positive Parenting Program). Suggestions are provided for policy makers who are considering launching a national initiative to fund home visiting programs based on rigorous evidence of what works.

Contact: Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy, 1725 I Street, NW, Suite 300, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 349-1130 Fax: Web Site: http://coalition4evidence.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Evidence-based medicine, Home visiting, Model programs, Program evaluation, Research reviews
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.