Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (85 total).

University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute. n.d.. What works for health: Policies and programs to improve Wisconsin's health. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute,

Annotation: This resource provides communities with information to help select and implement evidence-informed policies, programs, and system changes that will improve the variety of factors that affect health. Its database of strategies covers aspects of health behaviors, clinical care, social and economic factors, and the physical environment. Evidence ratings are included.

Contact: University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute, School of Medicine and Public Health, Department of Population Health Sciences, 610 Walnut Street, 575 WARF, Madison, WI 53726, Telephone: (608) 263-6294 Fax: (608) 262-6404 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://uwphi.pophealth.wisc.edu Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Evidence-based practice, Health, State programs

United Methodist Health Ministry Fund. 2022. High 5 for mom and baby. Hutchinson, KS: United Methodist Health Ministry Fund, multiple items.

Annotation: This resource provides information on the importance of breastfeeding and the role of hospitals in breastfeeding success. It describes a program to encourage adoption of five evidence based maternity care practices that have been found to increase breastfeeding rates. Contents include current breastfeeding rates in Kansas, participating hospitals, endorsements, a hospital application agreement and form, and program logos and branding materials.

Contact: United Methodist Health Ministry Fund, P.O. Box 1384, 100 East First, Hutchinson, KS 67504-1384, Telephone: (800) 369-7191 Secondary Telephone: (316) 662-8586 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthfund.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Evidence based medicine, Health promotion, Hospital accreditation, Infant health, Kansas, Maternal health, Model programs, State programs

Lustig A, Cabrera, M. 2021. Leveraging evidence-based policies to improve health, control costs, and create health equity: A report of the Promoting Health and Cost Control in States Initiative . Washington, DC: Trust for America's Health, 104 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on highlighting evidence-based policies that can be implemented to address the root causes of disease. The report identifies and reviews five policy areas: access to healthcare, economic mobility, affordable housing, safe and healthy learning environments for children, and health-promoting excise taxes. Based on an extensive review of the evidence, the report recommends federal and state-level policies to improve health outcomes, advance health equity, and reduce healthcare spending. The report concludes that America's chronic disease and health disparities crisis require policy interventions targeting structural racism and the social determinants of health.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Government financing, Health care disparities, Health policy, Health status disparities, Model programs, Policy analysis, Policy development, Taxes

Rural Health Information Hub. 2021. Rural maternal health toolkit. Grand Forks, ND: Rural Health Information Hub, multiple items.

Annotation: This toolkit compiles evidence-based and promising models and resources to support rural communities implementing maternal health programs across the United States. The modules in the toolkit contain resources and information focused on developing, implementing, evaluating, and sustaining rural programs to address the factors that affect and influence maternal health, such as health status, health behaviors, access to health care and social services, and quality of health care.

Contact: Rural Health Information Hub, School of Medicine and Health Sciences, 501 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Room 4520, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (800) 270-1898 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ruralhealthinfo.org

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Evidence based medicine, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Maternal health, Model programs, Rural health, Rural populations, Women

Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs. 2020-. MCH best: bank of evidence-linked strategies and tools. Washington, DC: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, multiple items.

Annotation: The database aggregates sample evidence-based/informed strategies that can be used as-is or adapted to develop Evidence-based or informed Strategy Measures (ESMs) for each of the MCH National Performance Measures (NPMs). The strategies are listed by National Performance Measure, from NPM 1-Well Woman VIsit throught NPM 15-Continuous and Adequate Insurance. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Model programs

Schmidt A, McManus P. 2020. Summary of factors influencing well-care performance in top-performing state Medicaid programs. Washington, DC: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health; San Francisco, CA: Adolescent and Young Adult National Resource Center, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes factors influencing adolescent well-care performance in six top-performing state Medicaid programs. State Medicaid officials from the states with the highest adolescent well-care visit performance – RI, CT, TX, NY, NH, and MA – were interviewed to understand the factors contributing to their success.

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Evaluation, Evidence based medicine, Health supervision, Medicaid, State programs, Well child care

Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs. 2020. ESM development guide: Evidence-based or informed strategy measures. Washington, DC: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 26 pp.

Annotation: This resource guide provides a summary of evidence-based/informed strategy measures (ESMs) as part of the 2018/2020 MCH Block Grant submission as seen through the results-based accountability (RBA) framework. It provides tools to help state Title V agencies ensure their programs have the greatest potential to be effective for the families they serve. For each of the 15 National Performance Measures (NPMs) the document provides evidence strategies and examples of field-generated measures currently used by states. It also provides resources for a structured planning process and finding, implementing, and measuring evidence-based/informed programs. Social determinants of health and health equity tools are included, and information on requesting technical assistance.

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Evidence based practice, Maternal health, Measures, Model programs, Program planning, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Barraza L, Lebedevitch C, Stuebe A. 2020. The role of law and policy in assisting families to reach Healthy People's maternal, infant, and child health breastfeeding goals in the United States. Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 102 pp.

Annotation: This report reviews federal and state laws and policies that can enable women to initiate and sustain breastfeeding successfully through the first year of the infant's life. It reviews the effect of health care delivery, insurance coverage, paid parental leave, workplace and child care policies, and legal protections for breastfeeding in public spaces. It also considers integration of breastfeeding into existing public health and assistance programs. The report concludes with a review of emerging trends and research needs informing future efforts to enable breastfeeding, thereby improving health across 2 generations.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Evidence based practice, Federal legislation, Federal programs, Research, State legislation, State programs

Child Welfare Information Gateway. 2020. Primary prevention: Themes from fiscal year 2018 grantee site visits. Washington, DC: Child Welfare Information Gateway, 10 pp. (Children's Bureau grantee synthesis)

Annotation: This Grantee Lessons Learned brief highlights common themes and unique examples gathered by grantees during Children's Bureau-led site visits to other jurisdictions with promising approaches to community-based primary prevention.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child welfare, Evidence based programs, Maltreated children, Model programs, Primary prevention

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2020. Identifying evidence-based and evidence-informed nutrition interventions to advance maternal health in Title V Maternal and Child Health Services block grant programs. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 5 pp.

Annotation: This maternal and child health nutrition program brief reviews opportunities to identify appropriate maternal health-related evidence-based and -informed nutrition interventions to advance Title V MCH Services Block Grant Programs’ national performance measures (NPMs) using online databases.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Evidence based programs, Maternal health, Maternal nutrition, Title V programs

Le LT, Watson K, Mayer R, Pickett O, Wasman W, Hewett-Beah R, Perry DF, Richards J. 2020. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 7.1 Injury hospitalization ages 0 through 9 evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 259 pp. (brief 9 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for infants and children from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Hospitalizaton, Injury prevention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Le LT, Watson K, Mayer R, Pickett O, Wasman W, Hewett-Beah R, Perry DF, Richards J. 2020. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 7.2 Injury hospitalization ages 10 through 19 evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 369 pp. (brief 10 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for children and adolescents ages 10 through 19 from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Le LT, Brady R, Sun BD, Perry DF, Richards J. 2020. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 14.1 smoking in pregnancy evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 108 pp. (brief 8 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to support smoking cessation in pregnancy. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Pregnant women, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking during pregnancy, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. 2020. Treatment for suicidal ideation, self-harm, and suicide attempts among youth. Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 53 pp. (Evidence-based resource guide series)

Annotation: This guide discusses the prevalence of suicide among youth, effective treatment programs, implementation considerations and strategies, and examples of the successful use of programs in clinical and community-based settings.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: PEP20-06-01-002 .

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Evidence based practice, Prevention programs, Suicide

Le L, Brady R, Hanssen P, Perry DF, Richards J. 2019. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 11 medical home evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 104 pp. (brief, 5 pp. ). (Strengthen the evidence base for maternal and child health programs)

Annotation: This report reviews evidence-informed and evidence-based strategies that Maternal and Child Health (MCH)Block Grant programs can implement to address National Performance Measure 11: Medical Home. It gives background information on pediatric medical homes; describes the national performance measure; discusses the approach used for the evidence review analysis; summarizes strategies identified in the evidence review; and discusses implications of the research. IT also discusses how the MCH Evidence Center can help state Title V programs implement interventions selected from this review. The brief summarizes the report.

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Child health, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Medical home, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Le LT, Watson K, Mayer R, Pickett O, Perry DF, Richards J. 2019. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 14.2 smoking in the household evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 139 pp. (brief 8 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to decrease the percentage of children, ages 0 through 17, who live in households where someone smokes. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Measures, Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Literature reviews, Model programs, Passive smoking, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center. 2018. Strengthen the evidence base for maternal and child health programs: NPM 4: Breastfeeding [NPM 4 brief]. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief identifies evidence-informed strategies for state Title V programs to consider to increase the percent of infants who are ever breastfed and the percent of infants brastfed exclusively through 6 months of age. Contents include information about the evidence continuum and the approach to the review, including examples of each type of intervention and its evidence rating; key findings; and implications. The full review is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc

Keywords: Block grants, Breastfeeding, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Garcia S, Payne E, Strobino D, Minkovitz C, Gross S. 2018. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 4 breastfeeding evidence review. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 69 pp. (brief 4 pp.).

Annotation: This document identifies evidence-informed strategies that state Title V programs might consider implementing to increase the percent of infants ever breastfed and the percent of infants breastfed exclusively through 6 months. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc

Keywords: Block grants, Breastfeeding, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center. 2018. Strengthen the evidence base for maternal and child health programs: NPM 6: Developmental screening [NPM 6 brief]. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief identifies evidence-informed strategies for state Title V programs to consider to increase the percent of children ages 9-71 months receiving a developmental screening using a parent-completed screening tool.. Contents include information about the evidence continuum and the approach to the review, including examples of each type of intervention and its evidence rating; key findings; and implications. The full review is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Developmental screening, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Young children

Garcia S, Brown E, Strobino D, Minkovitz C. 2018. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 6 developmental screening evidence review. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 48 pp. (brief 4 pp.).

Annotation: This document identifies evidence-informed strategies that state Title V programs might consider implementing to increase the percent of children, ages 9 through 71 months, receiving a developmental screening using a parent-completed screening tool. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.