Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 9 (9 total).

Deinard A, Modem S, Shaw D, Vega J. 2010. Pediatric oral health: Smiles for tomorrow–An atlas of common dental pathology for primary care medical professionals (upd. ed.). Minneapolis, MN: Regents of the University of Minnesota, 65 pp.

American Dental Association Council on Access, Prevention and Interprofessional Relations. 2009–2016. Symposium on early childhood caries in American Indian children and Alaska native children. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, multiple items.

Annotation: These symposium series proceedings discuss the state of the science of dental caries in the primary teeth of American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) children, identify aspects that are insufficiently understood, and make recommendations on how to fill those gaps. Topics include outcomes of academic research relevant to the ongoing work of programs and models and outcomes of innovative clinical practice projects. Each report concludes with a discussion of issues that need to be addressed to improve the oral health status of AI/AN children.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Alaska natives, American Indians, Conference proceedings, Early childhood caries, Etiology, Health disparities, Health status, Intervention, Measures, Models, Oral health, Prevalence, Strategic plans, Young children

Glock M, Horowitz AM. 2001. Diagnosis and management of dental caries: January 1980 through December 2000. Bethesda, MD: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Library of Medicine, (Current bibliographies in medicine, CBM no. 2001-1)

Annotation: This bibliography was prepared in support of the National Institutes of Health Consensus Development Conference on Diagnosis and Management of Dental Caries Throughout Life, held on March 26–28, 2001, in Bethesda, Maryland. The bibliography consists primarily of citations for journal articles written in English and published between 1980 and 2000; some other types of publications such as conference papers have been included, as well as some foreign-language articles. Sections are presented in three main categories: diagnosis, indicators of risk and other etiologic factors, and prevention and treatment of dental caries. Section 1 includes clinical and radiographic diagnosis and diagnosis of root and secondary caries. Section 2 discusses indicators such as sociological and behavior determinants, nutrition and diet, cariogenic infection, inherited risks, and other risks. Topics in section 3 include fluoride, sealants, plaque, antimicrobial agents, salivary enhancers, sweeteners, behavior modification, and methods of prevention and treatment.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adults, Bibliographies, Children, Dental caries, Diagnosis, Etiology, Infants, Oral health

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. 2001. Targeting sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS): A strategic plan. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 39 pp. (From cells to selves)

Annotation: This report describes a SIDS strategic plan aimed at improving maternal and infant health and at providing researchers with the knowledge and resources needed to illuminate the etiology of SIDS, and, ultimately, eliminate infant death from SIDS. The plan is divided into four sections: (1) etiology and pathogenesis; (2) prognostics and diagnostics; (3) preventive strategies; and (4) health disparities. Each section contains a statement of the problem, background information, and specific recommendations designed to address gaps in the current state of knowledge or intervention activities and to correct deficiencies in the basic scientific infrastructure. The appendix concludes the report with a roster of advisor members of the SIDS strategic plan working group.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Information Resource Center, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (866) 760-5947 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov

Keywords: Early intervention, Etiology, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep position, Strategic plans

U.S. Center for Mental Health Services and National Institute of Mental Health. 1999. Mental health: A report of the Surgeon General. Rockville, MD: U.S. Center for Mental Health Services; Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Mental Health, 458 pp., exec. summ. (21 pp.).

Annotation: This report is a summary of an extensive review of more than 3,000 research articles and other materials in the field of mental health. Chapter 1 is an overview of the themes in the report and includes copies of the conclusions from the chapters that follow. Chapter 2 is titled the Fundamentals of Mental Health and Mental Illness. It discusses the structure of the brain, the etiology and epidemiology of mental illness, physical and psychological development, risk factors and prevention, mental health services, and cultural diversity as a factor in treatment and response. Chapter 3 is about children and mental health. It examines normal development, risk factors and prevention, mental disorders in children, and health service delivery. Chapter 4 discusses adults and mental health, and chapter 5 focuses on older adults. The topic of Chapter 6 is organizing and financing mental health services. Chapter 7 deals with ethical, legal, and policy issues in the confidentiality of mental health information. Chapter 8 proposes broad courses of action to remove barriers that prevent people from obtaining mental health treatment.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-1605-9001-9.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Attitudes, Children, Confidentiality, Cultural diversity, Epidemiology, Ethics, Etiology, Health care financing, Legal issues, Mental disorders, Mental health, Mental health services, Models, Older adults, Physical development, Prevention, Psychological development, Public opinion, Reports, Risk factors, Service delivery

Goodyer IM, ed. 1995. The depressed child and adolescent: Development and clinical perspectives. Port Chester, NY: Cambridge University Press, 354 pp. (Cambridge monographs in child and adolescent psychiatry)

Annotation: This book, aimed at clinical psychologists and psychiatrists, discusses the etiology, diagnosis, and treatment of depression in children and adolescents. Chapters mention etiology, such as the effects of emotional development in infancy, life events and genetics; physiology; diagnosis; treatment, including psychopharmacology and psychotherapy; and suicidal behavior and its prevention. The final chapter covers research into the affected child's subsequent development.

Contact: Cambridge University Press, 32 Avenue of the Americas, New York, NY 10013-2473, Telephone: 212-924-3900 Secondary Telephone: (914) 937-9600 Fax: 212-691-3239 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cambridge.org/us/ Document Number: ISBN 0-521-43326-6.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Child development, Depression, Drug therapy, Etiology, Incidence, Psychiatry, Psychological characteristics, Psychological development, Psychotherapy, Suicide

Elliott D, Huizinga D, Menard S. 1989. Multiple problem youth: Delinquency, substance use, and mental health problems. New York, NY: Springer-Verlag, 266 pp. (Research in criminology)

Annotation: This book addresses the major epidemiological and etiological issues raised at a conference on juvenile offenders with serious drug, alcohol, and mental health problems. The April 1984 conference was developed by the Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health Administration and the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention. Using data from the National Youth Survey, it provides estimates of the joint distribution of these problem behaviors in the adolescent population, their demographic correlates, the developmental patterns in the onset of these behaviors, the extent to which one problem may be predictive of another, and the extent to which these different problems may have common underlying causes. Methodological, theoretical, and policy implications are presented.

Keywords: Adolescents, Conferences, Epidemiology, Etiology, Juvenile delinquents, Mental health, Substance abuse

Beckwith JB. 1975. The sudden infant death syndrome. Rockville, MD: U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Office for Maternal and Child Health, 34 pp.

Annotation: The goal of this paper is to present a general review of the problem of SIDS including data from 500 consecutive cases personally studied by the author. The author discusses the definition and terminology of SIDS, its history, epidemiology, pathologic findings, theories of causation, "near misses", synthesis of epidemiologic and pathologic findings, and counseling. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Counseling, Epidemiology, Etiology, History, Pathology, SIDS

Segal J, ed. 1971. The mental health of the child: Program reports of the National Institute of Mental Health. Rockville, MD: National Institute of Mental Health, Office of Program Planning and Evaluation; Washington, DC: for sale by U.S. Government Printing Office, 588 pp. (Public Health Service publication, no.: 2168)

Annotation: This volume is intended to display the range of the current and past efforts in the child mental health field by the National Institute of Mental Health. The report is intended to stimulate the work of research personnel and provide information of value to clinicians and others who deal directly with the child. The area of prevention is the focus of the first section of this volume. The second section is concerned with a variety of circumstances that can affect a child's mental health and relates not only to the etiology of behavior problems, but to their prevention as well. The third section presents projects concerned both with improving the diagnosis and treatment of disturbed children and adolescents, and with increasing understanding of some of the conditions leading to disturbed behavior. The final section includes reports of some of the Institute's research endeavors in child mental health endeavoring to understand both normal and abnormal development and behavior.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Child behavior, Child mental health, Diagnosis, Etiology, National Institute of Mental Health, Prevention, Research, Therapeutics
   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.