Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brochure provides simple steps that families can take to make their environment healthier. Topics include label reading, noise, carbon monoxide alarms, child safety, job hazards, allergies, water pollution, lead, radon, overheating, ozone, handwashing, healthy eating, tobacco products, and sun exposure.

Contact: National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, P.O. Box 12233, MD K3-16, Research Triangle Park, NC 27709-2233, Telephone: (919) 541-3345 Fax: (919) 541-4395 E-mail: webcenter@niehs Web Site: http://www.niehs.nih.gov/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Allergies, Chemicals, Child health, Environment, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Families, Lead poisoning, Radon, Safety, Sun exposure, Water pollution

Annotation: This website provides guidance on preventing exposure to secondhand smoke in the home. It emphasizes that there is no safe level of secondhand smoke exposure and offers practical tips for protecting oneself and family members. The site covers strategies for maintaining a smoke-free home environment, addressing misconceptions about ventilation, and extending protection to areas outside the home such as daycares and workplaces. It also discusses the risks associated with e-cigarettes and provides resources for smoking cessation, including phone numbers, smartphone apps, and websites. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Environmental exposure, Passive smoking, Prevention , Smoking cessation

Annotation: This website describes steps parents can take to prevent secondhand smoke exposure in the home and provides links to quite lines in multiple languages, smartphone applications, and websites containing additional information and resources.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Environmental exposure, Parent participation, Passive smoking, Prevention, Smoking cessation

Annotation: [This website highlights the importance of smokefree environments; explains what child health clinicians can do to help; and provides links to fact sheets, presentations, and additional implementation tools.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Environmental exposure, Passive smoking, Smoking

Annotation: This research brief reports the prevalence of self-reported secondhand smoke (SHS) exposure in homes and vehicles among US middle and high school students in 2019 and changes in SHS over time. The data is from the National Youth Tobacco Survey (2011-2019).

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Data, Environmental exposure , High school students, Middle school students, National surveys, Passive smoking, Research, Smoking, Statistics, Youth

Annotation: This chart is designed to help pregnant women and parents choose which fish to eat, and how often to eat them, based on their mercury levels. Contents include best choices (lowest levels of mercury), good choices, and choices to avoid (highest mercury levels) and the number of servings per day. A description of serving sizes for adults and young children (ages 4 to 7) is included.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20993, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-3100 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Children, Consumer education materials, Decision making, Environmental exposures, Environmental pollution, Nutrition, Parents, Pregnant women, Reproductive hazards

Annotation: This book, designed to be used by practicing pediatricians, offers information on the role of the environment in the illnesses of childhood and adolescence. The book is organized into five sections. Section 1 offers background information including developmental toxicity, breastfeeding, how to take an environmental history, and how to do a home inventory of environmental hazards. Sections 2 and 3 focus on chemical and physical hazards and on specific environments such as child care settings, preconceptual and prenatal exposures, schools, waste sites, and workplaces. Section 4 addresses a variety of environmental situations including arts and crafts, asthma, cancer, chemical-biological terrorism, environmental disparities, multiple chemical sensitivities, antibiotics in animal agriculture, and environmental threats in developing countries. Section 5 provides information on communicating about environmental hazards. Boxes, figures, and tables present statistical and other information throughout the book. Also included are six appendices, including the American Academy of Pediatrics' (AAP's) policy statements and technical reports, resources for environmental health, curricula for environmental education in schools, chairs of the AAP committee on environmental health, AAP patient education materials, and more. The book concludes with an index.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-218-7.

• 4th Edition
• 3rd Edition

Keywords: Adolescent health, Asthma, Chemicals, Child health, Environment, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental influences, Environmental pollution, Hazards, Pediatricians, Reference materials

Annotation: This report describes trends in tobacco use and the toll of tobacco use on the health and well-being of Alaska citizens. Contents include key indicators from state data sources and trends measured from the baseline year of 1996. Topics include cigarette consumption; tobacco-related deaths and economic costs; smoking and smokeless tobacco use among adults; cigarette smoking, cigar use, and smokeless tobacco use among children and adolescents; tobacco use during pregnancy; and secondhand smoke. Information about the Alaska Tobacco Prevention and Control Program, trend tables, and data sources are also included.

Contact: Alaska Department of Health and Social Services, 350 Main Street, Room 404, P.O. Box 110601, Juneau, AK 99811-0601, Telephone: (907) 465-3030 Fax: (907) 465-3068 Web Site: http://dhss.alaska.gov/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Alaska, Children, Data, Environmental exposure, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking, State programs, Tobacco use, Trends

Annotation: This paper summarizes epidemiology reports and other evidence of drinking fountain-related health issues to reveal the extent of the problem and explores changes needed to improve the quality and use of this hydration option. Topics include a brief history of water fountains, evidence of contamination at water fountains such as microbial and heavy metal contamination, the Safe Drinking Water Act and national drinking water standards, and guidelines for cleaning and maintaining drinking water fountains. The paper concludes with a discussion of efforts needed to expand the science and practice of ensuring that drinking fountains remain clean, safe, and accessible.

Contact: Pacific Institute, 654 13th Street, Preservation Park, Oakland, CA Telephone: (510) 251-1600 Fax: (510) 251-2203 Web Site: http://www.pacinst.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-893790-77-3.

• Link

Keywords: Community base services, Environmental exposure, Federal legislation, Guidelines, Policy development, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Safety, Standards, Water, Water pollution

Annotation: This toolkit provides resources on indoor environmental quality and children's health and ways to improve the school environment. Contents include a sample op-ed, information on buying healthy products, an indoor air quality and pest management checklist, a green cleaning checklist, a guide for parents on lead in school drinking water, and a guide on disinfecting wipes. Additional contents include research, federal resources, a position statement, and policy recommendations.

Contact: Healthy Schools Network, 773 Madison Avenue, Albany, NY 12208, Telephone: (518) 462-0632 Fax: (518) 462-0433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyschools.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community action, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Hazards, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Safety, School age children, School health, Schools

Annotation: This report for educators and community leaders provides information about ways to limit children's exposure to lead in drinking water in schools and early childhood education facilities. Contents include information about the danger of lead in drinking water, how federal regulation has reduced exposure to lead in drinking water, deciding if a lead testing program is necessary, getting school buy-in for a program, involving external and community partners, preparing and taking lead samples, choosing remediation options, and communicating with the public. Recommendations are also included.

Contact: WKKF, One Michigan Avenue, East, Battle Creek, MI 49017-4012, Telephone: (269) 968-1611 Fax: (269) 968-0413 Web Site: http://www.wkkf.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Name And Email Address

Keywords: Child care centers, Communication, Community action, Environmental exposure, Lead, Lead poisoning, Lead poisoning prevention programs, Lead poisoning screening, Regulations, School health programs, Schools, Testing, Water

Annotation: This report features published media reports from states on school environmental conditions. Contents include data on key characteristics of schools, staff, and poverty levels; structural support mechanisms that exist for schools at the state level; and programs available in some states to address identified external impacts on children such as food allergies, hazardous cleaning products, indoor air quality, and lead and asbestos contamination. Information from interviews with state and county environmental health directors about children and learning environments are also included.

Contact: Healthy Schools Network, 773 Madison Avenue, Albany, NY 12208, Telephone: (518) 462-0632 Fax: (518) 462-0433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyschools.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Environmental exposure, Facilities, Financing, Mass media, Policy analysis, Public health services, Public schools, Risk factors, Safety, School age children, School health, State programs

Annotation: This statement supports a safe sleep environment that can reduce the risk of all sleep-related infant deaths. Contents include the recommendations and strength of evidence for each recommendation. An accompanying technical report that discusses the rationale for the recommendations is also available.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Policy Statement
• Technical Report

Keywords: Environmental exposure, Health policy, Infant death, Primary prevention, SIDS: Sleep position

Annotation: This brief explores state-based efforts to collect and use social determinants of health (SDOH) data including what data health plans and providers are required to collect. Topics include early state efforts to define SDOH and collect information; state efforts to select SDOH measures; using SDOH data at the patient and population level; challenges to collecting, sharing, and using SDOH information; and considerations for advancing SDOH measurement approaches.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Accountability, Data collection, Data linkage, Environmental exposure, Environmental influences, Financing, Health behavior, Low income groups, Measures, Medicaid, Model programs, Outcome and process assessment, Policy development, Reimbursement, Risk assessment, Risk factors, Service delivery systems, Social conditions, Socioeconomic factors, State programs

Annotation: This report summarizes a conference held on June 6–7, 2016, in Washington, DC, to advance research, policies, and programs to reduce children's risk for environmental exposures in child care facilities and P–12 schools. Topics include opportunities for public health agencies to protect children from environmental threats in schools, state and local agency experiences in promoting healthy schools and healthy children, the Environmental Protection Agency's role in protecting children's health in child care and school settings, prevention and intervention pilots, advancing children's rights, and establishing a national children's environmental health commission.

Contact: Healthy Schools Network, 773 Madison Avenue, Albany, NY 12208, Telephone: (518) 462-0632 Fax: (518) 462-0433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyschools.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Abstract

Keywords: Child care centers, Child safety, Children, Collaboration, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Hazardous materials, Injury prevention, Intervention, Policy development, Preschool children, Program development, Research, Responsibility, Risk factors, Role, School age children, Schools, Systems development

Annotation: This report provides an ongoing assessment of the exposure of the U.S. population to environmental chemicals using biomonitoring for the civilian, non-institutionalized population. Data is provided for 148 chemicals, grouped into the following categories: metals, cotinine, several pesticides subcategories, phthalates, polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs), polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs), phytoestrogens, and herbicides. Additional topics include public health uses of the report and interpreting data. A separate executive summary is also available. Updated tables were published in 2015, and the fourth report in 2009. Previous editions are also available.

Contact: National Center for Environmental Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta , GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nceh Available from the website. Document Number: NCEH Pub. No. 05-0570, NCEH Pub. No. 02-0716 .

• Link

Keywords: Chemicals, Data, Environmental exposure, National surveys, Research

Annotation: This report for policy makers, agency officials, non-governmental organizations and associations, and others who work to promote quality child care and advance children's health provides information about laws, regulations, and programs to address indoor environmental contaminants in child care facilities. Contents include an overview of how policies address indoor environmental quality issues in licensed child care facilities and, for each issue, examples of policy strategies for states to consider including notable non-regulatory initiatives that are being implemented by state agencies. Topics include carbon monoxide alarms; mold and dampness; building ventilation and temperature; pesticides, lead-based paint; asbestos; other chemical exposures (cleaning, renovation, and consumer products); facility site/location; and state non-regulatory activities (education, assistance and incentives to advance best practices). The appendix provides information about where to find state statutes and regulations online.

Contact: Environmental Law Institute, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 939-3800 Web Site: http://www.eli.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care centers, Child health, Environmental exposure, Facility design and construction, Hazardous materials, Health education, Model programs, Policy development, Regulations, State initiatives, State legislation

Annotation: These guidelines are designed to assist school administrators and others in protecting and improving indoor air quality (IAQ) in schools during building upgrades, particularly energy efficiency upgrades and building renovation activities. Contents include fundamental principles of IAQ, the business case for integrating energy efficiency and IAQ, and assessment protocols and recommended actions. Topics include project planning and integrated design; moisture and mold; hazardous materials; indoor and outdoor contaminants and sources; heating, ventilation, and air conditioning; and safety. The appendices contain information about project planning and developing a project team, communication and education, and worker protection. A master verification checklist is also included.

Contact: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Ariel Rios Building, 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20460, Telephone: (202) 272-0167 Web Site: http://www2.epa.gov/children Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Air pollution, Assessment, Environmental exposure, Facility design and construction, Planning, Protocols, Safety, School age children, Schools

Annotation: This report summarizes a national facilitated workshop held on November 9–11, 2015, in Washington, DC, to develop research and policy recommendations for addressing environmental health hazards commonly found in the nation's PK–12 schools and child care facilities. Contents include the problem statement, identifying environmental health exposures in or near schools and child care facilities, and the needs and perspectives of state and county health departments. Topics include expanding or enhancing federal and state standards and guidelines and enforcement of environmental health in schools and child care facilities; developing prevention, intervention, and tracking programs; and developing training, education, and guidance for parents and guardians and for health care and public health professionals.

Contact: Healthy Schools Network, 773 Madison Avenue, Albany, NY 12208, Telephone: (518) 462-0632 Fax: (518) 462-0433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyschools.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Overview

Keywords: Child care centers, Collaboration, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Hazardous materials, Injury prevention, Law enforcement, Policy development, Preschool children, Research, Risk factors, Safety, School age children, Schools

Annotation: This paper provides a framework for understanding how disparities in health outcomes are produced and how health equity can be achieved, particularly by addressing the determinants of health. The paper lays out the determinants of health (structural drivers; social-cultural, physical-built, and economic environment; and health care services) that must be improved to achieve health equity and describes the methods and criteria for identifying health equity metrics. Finally, the paper delineates a set of metrics that could reflect progress toward achieving health equity.

Contact: Prevention Institute, 221 Oak Street, Oakland, CA 94607, Telephone: (510) 444-7738 Fax: (510) 663-1280 E-mail: prevent@#preventioninstitute.org Web Site: http://www.preventioninstitute.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Behavior, Environmental exposure, Environmental influences, Equal opportunities, Health disparities, Measures, Models, Social conditions, Socioeconomic factors