Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report of the New England Regional Genetics Group includes a review of their administration/organization and the projects they have administered. Reports are submitted for the following completed projects: External Quality Control of Pregnancy AFP; New England Regional Myelodysplasia Nurse Clinicians; Development of a Cytogenetic Quality Assurance Program; Prevalence of Common Birth Defects in New England; Evaluation of Satellite/Regional Clinics; Fragile-X Syndrome Project; New England Regional Speakers' Bureau; Genetics Digest; and Teratogen Exposure Registry and Surveillance. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: NERGG, Inc., P.O. Box 920288, Needham, MA 02492, Telephone: (781) 444-0126 Fax: (781) 444-0127 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nergg.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: New England, Regional genetics networks

Annotation: This initiative provides resources that can help prenatal care health professionals, primary care health professionals, and oral health professionals improve infants’ and young children’s oral health by integrating preventive oral health care into primary care well-child visits. The initiative is located in New England (Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Maine, Rhode Island, and Vermont). Information for parents and other caregivers about promoting oral health and obtaining oral health care is also included, along with information for community organizations.

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, New England, Oral health, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public private partnerships, Regional programs, Reimbursement, Risk assessment, Service integration, State initiatives, Training, Young children

Annotation: This document summarizes efforts to reduce health disparities in New England by Culture Insight, an operating program of the Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Foundation. The report describes how this program provides cultural competency and medical interpreter training, as well as consulting and organizational development services to health and human service professionals and their organizations in efforts to reduce health disparities throughout Maine, New Hampshire, and Massachusetts, The report describes how the foundation uses the Cultural Insight model to combat unrecognized biases and prejudices, minority patients' attitudes and beliefs, and organizational obstacles. It further explains why this model works, discusses the range of services and reach of the program, and describes the lessons learned.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community programs, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Model programs, New England, Program improvement

Annotation: This working paper revisits findings from the 1997 King's Fund Inquiry on Mental Health and examines the extent to which primary care mental health services have developed in line with recommendations made at that time. The main focus is on general practice-based services for people with common mental health problems and the role of primary care trusts in developing them. The paper describes the postal questionnaire and the telephone survey that were undertaken, and describes conclusions and recommendations for next steps.

Contact: King's Fund, 11-13 Cavendish Square, London, England W1G 0AN, Telephone: 020 7307-2400 Fax: 020 7307-2801 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.kingsfund.org.uk Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: England, Health services, International health, Mental disorders, Mental health, Primary care

Annotation: This final report describes a quality improvement model for health plans including methods for identifying children with special health care needs (CSHCN) and strategies for collaborating with families, providers, and Title V programs in six New England states. The tools and resources developed for health plans include a set of measures for assessing health plan capacity and performance for CSHCN, and a range of strategies and best practices for improving the quality of managed care for this population. Report sections include goals and objectives; project methodology, evaluation, and results/outcomes (positive and negative); a list of publications/products; dissemination/utilization of results, a discussion of future plans and follow-up; and support and resources needed to replicate the project. Appendices include the toolkit, a list of leadership team participants, printed presentation slides, and the agenda from the November 1, 2002 leadership team meeting. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered services, Final reports, Health care delivery, Health care systems, MCH research, Managed care, Needs assessment, New England, Quality assurance, Title V programs

Annotation: This guide answers questions about how New England Head Start programs are implementing strategies to support the emotional wellness of participants in the program. The goal of the guide is to help guide Head Start and other early childhood programs as they refine their practices and systems in the area of mental health. The guide discusses the social and emotional screening tools that programs are using to identify children with mental health problems and presents ideas for for infusing social and emotional health into classroom curricula. It also discusses how programs create positive working environments for staff and provide support during crises. In addition, it offers ideas for supporting families, making them feel welcome in the program, and linking them to other community resources. Next steps, a conclusion, and a bibliography are included. Appendices provide a list of focus group questions and information about additional resources available from the Head Start Publication Center and elsewhere.

Contact: Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 969-7100 Fax: (617) 969-5979 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.edc.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child mental health, Community based services, Early childhood education, Emotional development, Families, Family support, Head Start, Mental disorders, New England, Screening

Annotation: This report is about the mental and emotional well-being of children and young people in England, and makes the case that mental health, in its broadest sense, is a subject which needs wider recognition and more attention. The report includes sections about children's mental health, early intervention, mental health services for children and young people, and a look to the future.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Early intervention, England, International health, Mental health services, Youth, Youth development

Annotation: These proceedings stem from a meeting held May 18-20, 1994 which was designed to allow members of the International Collaborative Effort to improve comparability and quality of injury data. Sections address levels and trends in injury mortality and morbidity in selected participating countries, sources of injury related data and special methodological problems, current problems in producing comparable international mortality and morbidity statistics, data needs, linkage issues and coding issues.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Contact Phone: (301) 436-7039 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS (PHS) 95-1252.

• PDF

Keywords: Australia, Canada, Clinical coding, Denmark, England, France, Injury surveillance systems, International classification of diseases, International data, Israel, Morbidity, Mortality, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Scotland, Statistical reference sources, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad, United States

Annotation: This information packet describes the Model School Health Information System Project to develop a national prototype health information system for standardizing the collection and reporting of health status indicator data on children and adolescents. The project is a collaborative effort of the Massachusetts Department of Public Health, the Massachusetts Health Research Institute, and departments of health and human services and education in the New England states. The packet contains: 1) a brochure describing the project, 2) the latest data set, 3) transparency masters providing an overview of the project, 4) a confidentiality and data security report, and 5) a school health software report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Data collection, Information systems, New England, School health

Annotation: This paper provides an analysis of well child care programs operating in other countries. The paper describes the methodology which included a literature review and direct interviews with knowledgeable individuals in Canada, Denmark, the Netherlands, Sweden, England, and the United States. The paper provides an overview of each of the following topics: the number of recommended visits; physical examinations; height and weight monitoring; and screening for vision, hearing screening, and developmental disabilities, and other conditions. The paper discusses the findings, and presents information about well child recommendations in each country in tables in the appendix. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: George Washington University, Center for Health Policy Research, 2021 K Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Contact Phone: (202) 530-2300 Fax: (202) 994-4040 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/projects/center-health-policy-research Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Canada, Child health, Denmark, England, Health promotion, Health supervision, International perspectives, Literature reviews, Netherlands, Policy development, Sweden, United States, Well child care

Annotation: This report to the New England Governors Conference was developed following meetings of representatives of state health departments, federal health agencies, and other health professionals to review and evaluate the health status of the region's children. The contributing Circle of Experts make 15 recommendations which they view as a regional policy agenda for maternal and child health in the 1990s.

Contact: Erna Yaffe Foundation, Providence, RI 02903, Contact Phone: (401 ) 351-5130 Price unknown.

Keywords: Child health services, New England

Annotation: This report describes services to special needs children in England, the Netherlands, and Norway, including medical-health services, family support services, and financing. A general description of each country, its health status, and its health system is included.

Keywords: England, Family centered, community based care, Netherlands, Norway

Annotation: This book is a collection of chapters by individual authors that are based on cross-cultural studies of gay, bisexual, and lesbian adolescents. The author s contribute to an overall study of the identities, situations, and relationships of homosexual adolescents in different societies. A background is provided in chapters that examine emerging identities of the adolescents, the formation of their homosexual identities, consider the ethnographic profiles, parental influences on self-esteem. Other chapters focus on growing up lesbian, issues related to male prostitution and homosexuality, and gays and AIDS. Specific chapters examine trends in England, Mexico, Brazil, France, Sweden, Finland, Ireland, and Australia. Possible future research topics are also discussed. The book was also released as a special issue of the "Journal of Homosexuality, " volume 17, numbers 1-4, 1989.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Australia, Brazil, Cultural factors, Demographics, England, Finland, France, Gay youth, Ireland, Lesbians, Mexico, Psychosocial development, Sexual behavior, Sexual development, Sociocultural factors, Sweden, United States

Annotation: This account of the closed world of neonatal intensive care focuses on the social context for medical decision making in the sensitive area of newborn life, showing how the precipitation of neonatal care has become what they term a mixed blessing. Their work is based on research in neonatal intensive care units in fifteen leading U.S. hospitals including one year in a level III unit and research from England, the Netherlands, and Brazil. The book explores the diverse experiences and perspectives of physicians, nurses, social workers, and parents, and is amplified with first-hand observations by participants.

Contact: Oxford University Press, 198 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (800) 451-7556 Secondary Telephone: (212)726-6000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.oup.com/us Available in libraries.

Keywords: Brazil, Decision making, England, Infant death, Mental health professionals, Neonatal intensive care, Netherlands, Newborn infants, Nurses, Parents, Physicians, Social factors, Social workers, United States

Annotation: These proceedings are from a conference whose purpose was to promote better communication, regional cooperation and improved social work practice in maternal and child health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Conference proceedings, Maternal health, Networking, New England, Social work

Annotation: This history views poor relief policies and practices from the medieval period through the 1920's. It discusses the English heritage, almshouses, outdoor relief, scientific charity, reform and reaction, and current public assistance. The book includes tables and ends with a bibliography.

Keywords: Demography, England, History, Poverty, Public assistance