Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These toolkits for consumers and employers provide information to address the challenges of low income wage earners returning to work while continuing to breastfeed. Contents include five individual toolkits. A toolkit for mothers provides information on how to talk with supervisors, coworkers, and child care providers and how to store and handle breast milk, as well as checklists, tips, sample schedules, and food ideas. A toolkit for family members explains the role grandparents and partners play while dispelling myths that can be held by others, and how to give support and care for a breastfed infant. Additional toolkits are designed to help employers comply with state and federal laws; offer guidance for mothers and employers on interpreting the laws and resources; and provide sample letters and policies.

Contact: New York State Department of Health, Corning Tower, Empire State Plaza, Albany, NY 12237, Telephone: (866) 881-2809 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.health.ny.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Employer initiatives, Legislation, Low income groups, New York, State programs, Supported employment, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This resource provides businesses with cost-effective tips and solutions for any industry setting to support women who are breastfeeding. Users can search by industry or by solutions to find creative options for space and time, as well as options for supporting women in large companies and small businesses. Topics include room amenities, breast pumps, options for handling expressed milk, education and professional support, promoting services to employees, and privacy. Videos are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Business, Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Multimedia, Parent support programs, Policy development, Working mothers

Annotation: This report summarizes discussion from a National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation meeting held in May 2010 to develop an agenda to guide the future research needed to encourage and help employers and other program adopters to implement evidence-based wellness programs. The report addresses research that is still needed, ways to improve program evaluations and develop a more robust and accessible body of evidence, and opportunities to move the agenda forward. What is meant by employee wellness programs and what is already known about them is also discussed.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Employee assistance programs, Employer initiatives, Health, Program evaluation, Programs, Research

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of private dental insurance coverage, who has coverage and how they obtain it, and the possible impact of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act on employer-sponsored dental benefits. Topics addressed include employer insurance purchasing patterns, state exchanges, and coverage for children and families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Children, Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Federal legislation, Financing, Health insurance, Oral health, Public policy, State initiatives

Annotation: This fact sheet describes why and how the National Business Group on Health developed the Health Disparities Cost Impact Tool that allows employers to evaluate the economic impact of health disparities based on their specific demographic profile. It explains the purpose of the tool, the development process behind it, the methodology used, and the data elements contained within the online evaluation instrument. Included are tables that list and describe the individual data elements contained in the input and output fields and an explanation of the applied comparative estimates based on nationalized employer-sponsored health plan data from the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS).

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Cost effectiveness, Costs, Employer initiatives, Heath status disparities

Annotation: This toolkit, which provides information about childhood obesity, begins with a series of obesity-related statements that are identified as either true or false, with an explanation of the evidence for the statement. It then offers information about how employers can engage stakeholders through benefits design or the use of incentives to effect behavior change, thus helping to prevent childhood obesity. Weight-management programs with supporting evidence, as well as employee education, are also discussed, and detailed information for families about childhood obesity is presented. The document concludes with a section about community and philanthropic efforts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

• Full Document
• Individual Chapters

Keywords: Behavior, Child health, Communities, Consumer education, Employer initiatives, Families, Financing, Health insurance, Nutrition, Obesity, Parents, Physical activity, Prevention, Treatment

Annotation: This paper summarizes research findings on preterm births and early elective inductions in the United States, providing statistics on changes in the rate of preterm births and the health of babies born prior to 37 weeks. The paper also discusses the higher medical costs associated with late preterm births and offers guidelines to help employers reduce preterm births and the associated costs. Included are recommendations on elective deliveries provided by the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), along with additional resources for both employers and employees. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Educational materials, Employer initiatives, Guidelines, Health care costs, Premature infants, Premature labor, Preterm birth, Prevention programs, Statistics

Annotation: This presentation discusses the business case for investing in maternal, child, and adolescent health (MCAH) and describes a model for improving MCAH through employer-sponsored benefits and health promotion programs. Contents include a description of a resource guide on MCAH plan design, education, and communication and related resources.

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Business, Child heath, Employer initiatives, Maternal health, Models, Program improvement, Public private partnerships, State programs, Work family issues

Annotation: This issue brief explores key causes of health disparities in the United States and its work force, makes a case for why it is important for employers to address disparities in health and health care, and presents steps employers can take to address health disparities. Examples of racial and ethnic health disparities are provided.

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Employer initiatives, Ethnic factors, Health, Income factors, Low income groups, Prevention, Racial factors, Treatment

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on primary care for children and the medical home. The brief discusses the employers' role in improving the quality of children's health care and expanding access to it, current problems in health care for children, the importance of primary care, and potential models for improvement and employer strategies. A case study about a medical home project with the goal of managing Medicaid patients in rural areas by linking small practices with a local hospital and other safety net providers is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Children with special health care needs, Employer initiatives, Medical home, Pediatrics, Primary care, Screening, Service coordination

Annotation: This guide examines the employer's role in behavioral health care, a continuum of health services for individuals at risk or, or having, mental, behavioral, or addictive disorders. It examines major trends in the epidemiology, treatment, and cost of behavioral healthcare in the United State, discusses the state of employer-sponsored behavioral health services, and makes recommendations to improve the design, delivery, and purchase of employer-sponsored behavioral healthcare services. It also provides an overview of the President's New Freedom Commission on Mental Health.

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Behavior disorders, Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Health care programs, Health insurance programs, Mental disorders, Mental health, Strategic plans, Substance abuse

Annotation: This report examines trends in labor force involvement, household structure, and some activities that may complicate the efforts of parents with young children to balance work and family life. It considers whether employer policies mitigate or exacerbate these difficulties and provides comparisons between U.S. policies and those of other industrialized countries, and it speculates on some possible sources and effects of the differences. Additional topics include changes in labor supply, time investments, employer benefits, family leave policies, maternal employment and child care. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures grouped together at the end of the report. The report also includes a reference list.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Administrative policy, Child care, Employer benefits, Employer initiatives, Families, Family economics, Family leave, Family support, Work family issues, Working mothers, Working parents, Young children

Annotation: This book reviews national health achievements and examines the vulnerabilities that undercut health potential. The concept of health as a public good is discussed, as is the fundamental duty of government to promote and protect pubic health. Chapter topics include assuring America's health; understanding population health and its determinants; the governmental public health infrastructure; a description of the public health community; the health care delivery system; and the roles of employers and business, media, and academia. The report also describes major trends that are likely to influence the nation's health in the coming decades. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the book.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-08704-X.

• Link

Keywords: Communities, Community programs, Employer initiatives, Health care delivery, National programs, Oral health, Professional education, Professional training, Public health, Public health agencies, Public health infrastructure, Public private partnerships, Trends

Annotation: This report begins with a brief review of the existing literature on defined contribution (i.e., a set amount of money that employers provide toward an employee's health coverage). It then presents a typology of various defined contribution models, focusing on the commonalities and differences among them and how they affect the decisions that employees, consumers, and health plans must make. It also considers the implications of defined contribution models on tax policy, risk segmentation, and risk adjustment. The report is divided into the following sections: foreword; introduction; barriers to widespread adoption of defined contribution; actors in health coverage and the roles they play; defined contribution typology; implications of each model; and references. The report was produced for the Robert Woods Johnson Foundation's Changes in Health Care Financing and Organization (HCFO) program.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Health care financing, Health insurance, Models

Annotation: This guide for journalists and policymakers is designed to give up-to-date information and resources about how American families care for their young children. The guide includes fact sheets on: (1) the changing demographics and caregiving needs of the American workforce; (2) the importance of high-quality care for young children; (3) existing government and private sector support for families; and (4) promising strategies for improving parental leave and child care. The guide also includes contact information for experts in child care and early childhood development, and a list of helpful organizations and Web sites. Statistical data are presented in chart and table formats throughout the publication.

Contact: David and Lucile Packard Foundation, 343 Second Street, Los Altos, CA 94022, Telephone: (650) 948-7658 E-mail: https://www.packard.org/contact-us Web Site: https://www.packard.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Early childhood development, Employer initiatives, Family leave, Federal initiatives, Infant care, Military, Model programs, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Statistical data, Toddlers, Working mothers, Working parents, Young children

Annotation: This issue of "The Future of Children" focuses on the daily care of the nation's youngest children -- those between birth and age three. The articles discuss the developmental needs of infants and toddlers, review the findings of recent child care studies, examine public opinion surveys, summarize the ways in which employers and governments try to help parents with infants to manage employment and caregiving, and describe recent innovations that seek to improve the care that these most vulnerable children receive. Case studies provide information on family and medical leave, child care within the family, military child care, Early Head Start for Low-Income Families, the Starting Points initiative, and a program in California.

Contact: David and Lucile Packard Foundation, 343 Second Street, Los Altos, CA 94022, Telephone: (650) 948-7658 E-mail: https://www.packard.org/contact-us Web Site: https://www.packard.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infants, California, Case studies, Child care, Child care services, Child development, Early Head Start, Employer initiatives, Family leave, Federal initiatives, International programs, Military, Program descriptions, Public opinion, Public private partnerships, State programs, Surveys, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: This report focuses on identifying critical questions related to the expansion of health insurance coverage for uninsured working families and their children in California. It also presents and analyzes available survey data in order to answer these questions. Topics include family income and program eligibility, a review of employer-based coverage, characteristics of the uninsured, wage levels and family income, and key considerations for policy design. Endnotes conclude the report.

Contact: California HealthCare Foundation, 1438 Webster Street, Suite 400, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 238-1040 Fax: (510) 238-1388 Web Site: http://www.chcf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Employer initiatives, Expanded eligibility, Health insurance, Low income groups, State initiatives, Working parents

Annotation: This report provides employee benefits managers and purchasers with guidance on how to purchase mental health insurance benefits that promote cost-effectiveness, access to treatment, and high-quality care. Sections include: mental disorders in the workplace: prevalence, impact and treatment; typical benefits packages for mental health treatment; improving mental health insurance benefit design; and mental health benefits packages that incorporate the design recommendations. The appendices provide information on a case study and advisors and consultants to the report. Tables throughout the report illustrate a variety of benefit package features.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: DHHS SMA 03-3542.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Cost effectiveness, Costs, Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Health insurance, Health maintenance organizations, Mental health, Mental health services, Preferred provider organizations, Private sector

Annotation: This issue brief updates and expands on the information in Washington Business Group on Health's 1996 publication Business, Babies, and the Bottom Line.

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Child health, Corporate programs, Cost effectiveness, Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Infant health, MCH programs, Maternal health, Prenatal care, Worksite health promotion

Annotation: This document is the proceedings of the maternal and child health forum held by the Washington Business Group on Health in 2000. It includes background material, summaries from regional discussion groups on maternal and child health care delivery, and general discussion outcomes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Employer initiatives, Federal MCH programs, Health care delivery, Local MCH programs, Public health, Workplace health promotion