Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (145 total).

American Academy of Pediatrics. n.d.. Mom! Dad! Ask the doctor about my emotional development, too!. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 12 items.

Annotation: These advertising materials promote the importance of mental health as part of a health supervision visit. They are designed to be displayed on a bulletin board or used as a table top display in a pediatric practice. One version focuses on young children and the other on teenagers. Both versions are available in English and Spanish. Other versions are provided for use on Facebook pages or in parent newsletters.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Child mental health, Emotional development, Health supervision, Pediatric care, Public awareness materials, Social interaction

American Academy of Pediatrics. n.d.. Tips to promote social-emotional health among young children. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 4 pp.

Annotation: This tip sheet provides advice to help promote the social and emotional health of young children. It includes separate tips for parents, pediatricians, and early education and child care providers. Links to additional resources produced by the American Academy of Pediatrics are also provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child mental health, Emotional development, Health supervision, Social interaction, Young children

American Academy of Pediatrics. n.d.. Tips to promote social-emotional health among teens. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 4 pp.

Annotation: This tip sheet provides advice to help promote social and emotional health among adolescents. It includes separate tips for teenagers, parents, schools, and pediatricians. Links to additional resources produced by the American Academy of Pediatrics are also provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent mental health, Emotional development, Health supervision, Social interaction

Pediatrics Supporting Parents Learning Community. 2020. Core practices, strategies, and resources for supporting social emotional development in pediatric care. Boston, MA: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 26 pp.

Annotation: This packet provides the best strategies for participating practices so pediatric providers across the country can benefit from their learning from a quality improvement framework with 18 pediatric primary care practices to test and refine strategies to improve their effectiveness in fostering patients’ social and emotional development from birth to age 3. These core practices and strategies serve as a roadmap for the participating pediatric providers and includes additional resources developed as part of this initiative or identified as useful. The document summaries strategies for each core element and lists additional resources. Sample forms are included.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Emotional development, Model programs, Parent professional relations, Pediatric care, Pediatrics, Quality improvement, Social development, Young children

Johnson K, Willis D, Doyle S. 2020. Guide to leveraging opportunities between Title V and Medicaid for promoting social-emotional development. Washington, DC: Center for the Study of Social Policy and Johnson Group Consulting, 100 pp. (matrix 21 pp.).

Annotation: This guide is designed to support state-level planning, action, and innovation aligned with the goals of the Pediatrics Supporting Parents initiative, using a framework that stretches from promotion to screening to prevention to early intervention and treatment. It covers the essential power of Title V and Medicaid partnership, promoting social-emotional development in pediatric primary care, state opportunities for using Title V and Medicaid/EPSDT to promote social-emotional development and mental health, learning from current state actions, and family engagement. It is accompanied by a matrix that provides charts of specific actions that Title V and Medicaid programs can take to achieve these goals.

Contact: Center for the Study of Social Policy, 1575 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 371-1565 Fax: (202) 371-1472 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cssp.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Child development, Child health, EPSDT, Emotional development, Medicaid, Primary care, Social factors, Title V programs

Hagan JF Jr. 2019. Making Bright Futures work: How evidence, the periodicity schedule, and the Bright Futures guidelines impact practice. Itasca, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 1 video (58 min.).

Annotation: This webinar reviews new clinical content in the Bright Futures Guidelines and the associated Periodicity Schedule, and discusses how to use evidence to decide on content for your practice's health supervision visits and how to identify strategies, tools, and resources to maximize efficiency for health promotion and preventive services.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Evidence based medicine, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Videos, Weight management

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2018. Bright Futures tool and resource kit (2nd ed.). Itasca, IL: Amercan Academy of Pediatrics,

Annotation: This companion to the most current edition of the Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children and Adolescents, the national standard for well-child care provides updated forms and materials relate to preventive health supervision and health screening for infants, children, and adolescents. These include pre-visit questionnaires, visit documentation forms, parent and patient handouts, supplemental education handouts, and medical screening reference tables.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Professional resources, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Hagan JF, Shaw JS, Duncan PM, eds. 2017. Bright Futures: Guidelines for health supervision of infants, children, and adolescents–Pocket guide (4th ed.). Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 123 pp.

Annotation: These guidelines provide background information and recommendations for promoting the healthy development of infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21, as well as standards for health supervision visits. Topics include lifelong health for families and communities, family support, health for children and adolescents with special health care needs, development, mental health, weight, nutrition, physical activity, oral health, use of social media, and safety and injury prevention. A companion pocket guide is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-082-4.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Wilson-Simmons R, Jiang Y, Aratani Y. 2017. Strong at the broken places: The resiliency of low-income parents. New York, NY: National Center for Children in Poverty, Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, 18 pp.

Annotation: This report examines factors that promote or hinder children's healthy development, drawing on recent studies to illustrate the importance of parent resiliency in the development of social-emotional competence among children from families with low incomes. The report concludes with program and policy recommendations that have proven effective in promoting the development of protective factors, reducing vulnerabilities, and cultivating resiliency among parents with low incomes and, consequently, their children.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Children, Competence, Coping, Emotional development, Low income groups, Mental health, Parenting skills, Parents, Policy development, Program development, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Resilience, Vulnerability

National Center on Early Childhood Development, Teaching, and Learning. 2017. Framework for effective practice: Supporting school readiness for all children. Seattle, WA: National Center on Early Childhood Development, Teaching, and Learning, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document describes a framework to support school readiness for all children. The framework comprises elements that foster children's learning and development, including teacher-child interactions that are emotionally and instructionally supportive and a well-organized classroom that maximizes learning opportunities; evidence-based curriculum and teaching strategies linked with ongoing assessment of child progress; and highly individualized teaching and learning practices that are required for some skills or for some children to access, participate, and thrive in the preschool classroom.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Development, Teaching, and Learning, Telephone: (844) 261-3752 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/hslc/tta-system/teaching Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Assessment, Child development, Curriculum development, Emotional development, Learning, Quality assurance, School readiness, Spanish language materials, Teaching, Young children

McLanahan S, Currie JM, Haskins R, Kearney M, Rouse CE, Sawhill I, eds. 2017. Social and emotional learning. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University, Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs; Washington, DC: Brookings Institution, 2 items. (The future of children; v. 27, no. 1, Spring 2017)

Annotation: This issue of Future of Children examines the state of the science on social and emotional learning (SEL) intervention and assessment, and related policy issues in education. The eight articles describe how to support SEL in schools and explore how SEL in schools might impact policy questions in education. Topics include SEL as a public health approach to education; SEL interventions in early childhood; promoting social and emotional competencies in elementary school; SEL programs for adolescents; SEL-focused after-school programs; SEL and equity in school discipline; SEL and teachers; and social-emotional assessment, performance, and standards.

Contact: Future of Children, Princeton School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, 267 Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://futureofchildren.princeton.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescents, After school programs, Assessment, Child development, Competency based education, Discipline, Elementary schools, Emotional development, Intervention, Learning, Policy analysis, Psychosocial development, Standards, Teaching, Young children

Hagan JF, Shaw JS, Duncan PM, eds. 2017. Bright Futures: Guidelines for health supervision of infants, children and adolescents (4th ed.). Itasca, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics,

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge.

Ebook

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

U.S. Office of Head Start. 2016. Head Start approach to school readiness: Overview. Washington, DC: U.S. Office of Head Start, 1 v.

Annotation: This resource defines school readiness and provides frameworks for understanding school readiness, and outlines goals and core strategies to promote school readiness in Head Start programs. Additional contents include frequently asked questions applicable to agencies serving preschoolers and/or infants and toddlers and those serving infants and toddlers only. Information about ways programs can establish goals for school readiness and take steps to achieve them are also available.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Community programs, Emotional development, Families, Head Start, Infant health, Infants, Language development, Learning, Parent participation, Psychosocial development, School readiness, Young children

Minnesota Department of Health, Child and Teen Checkups and Minnesota Department of Education, Early Learning Services. 2016. Sharing child information to coordinate early childhood special education (ECSE) referrals: Guidance for clinics and schools. St. Paul, MN: Minnesota Department of Health, Child and Teen Checkups; Roseville, MN: Minnesota Department of Education, Early Learning Services, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document provides guidance for clinics and schools on the roles and responsibilities of medical providers and educational professionals in identifying and treating developmental and social-emotional concerns in young children from birth to age 5. Topics include communicating with families; referring for educational and medical evaluation; sharing evaluation results, including information about confidentiality and consent; and shared care planning. A link to a map of trained mental health professionals and a graphic showing a communication feedback loop are included.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Child and Teen Checkups Program, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882, Telephone: (651) 201-3760 Web Site: https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/childrenyouth/ctc/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Clinics, Communication, Confidentiality, Early childhood, Early intervention, Emotional development, Family support, Legal issues, Mental health, Parent consent, Planning, Psychosocial development, Referrals, Role, School districts, Schools, Screening, Young children

Keystone Center. 2015. State policies that support the intersection between health and early learning. Leawood, KH: Alliance for Early Success, 11 pp.

Annotation: This paper presents recommendations for improving state policies for children starting at birth and continuing through age eight. The contents are organized around the following three themes: recognizing a broader definition of health to better address the needs of children, supporting families and caregivers to increase children's success, and improving measures and outcomes to ensure children are on a path to success. Topics include prevention, increasing access to coverage, coordinating and streamlining screening and treatment, addressing mental and emotional needs of families and caregivers, using a continuous improvement model to improve outcomes for children, and leveraging data to promote health equity.

Contact: Alliance for Early Success, P.O. Box 6756, Leawood, KS 66206, Telephone: (913) 642-3490 Web Site: http://earlysuccess.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Early childhood development, Emotional development, Family support, Health policy, Learning, Measures, Mental health, Outcome and process assessment, Policy development, Research, State initiatives, Young children

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2014-. Early Brain and Child Development (EBCD) education and training modules. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, multiple items.

Annotation: These five modules and accompanying guides for primary care health professionals provide information and resources on early brain development, toxic stress, adverse childhood experiences, supporting parents and cultivating community relationships, and advocacy. Each module includes a PowerPoint presentation with presenter notes and a guide with tips for presenting the content. Each module also contains activities, video clips, prompting questions, and case studies to encourage active participation.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Brain, Cognitive development, Early childhood development, Emotional development, Mental health, Parent support services, Primary care, Psychological development, Relationships, Stress, Training, Vulnerability

Lorenzo SB. 2014. Emotional, behavioral, and mental health challenges in kids and teens: Family resource brief (2nd ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find mental health care, services, and support and websites about emotional, behavioral, and mental health challenges in kids and teens. A separate section presents websites about babies and young kids. Another lists websites for teens. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Affective disorders, Behavior development, Behavior disorders, Bibliographies, Children, Electronic publications, Emotional development, Family support services, Mental health, Psychological needs, Social behavior

Lorenzo SB. 2014. Social and emotional development in kids and teens: Family resource brief (2nd ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find care, services, and support and websites about promoting healthy social and emotional development. Separate sections present websites about babies and young kids and school-age kids and teens. Another section lists websites for teens. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bibliographies, Child development, Children, Developmental stages, Electronic publications, Emotional development, Families, Infants, Parenting, Psychosocial development

Fox L, Veguilla M, Perez Binder D. 2014. Data decision-making and program-wide implementation of the Pyramid Model. Tampa, FL: Technical Assistance Center on Social Emotional Intervention for Young Children, 33 pp. (Roadmap to effective intervention practices; no. 7)

Annotation: This document provides guidance for programs on collecting and using data when implementing the Pyramid Model, a framework for promoting the social and emotional competence of all young children including children who have persistent challenging behavior. Contents include a list of tools that can be used to ensure implementation and intervention fidelity and to determine the supports needed by professionals, children, and families. The document briefly describes each tool and provides the measurement form or information for accessing the tool.

Contact: Technical Assistance Center on Social Emotional Intervention for Young Children, Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute, University of South Florida, 13301 North Bruce B. Downs Boulevard, MHC2-1134, Tampa, FL 33612-3807, Telephone: (813) 974-9803 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.challengingbehavior.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Competence, Data analysis, Data collection, Decision making, Early intervention, Emotional development, Measures, Psychosocial development, Social behavior, Young children

Dunlap G, Smith BJ, Fox L, Blase K. 2014. Roadmap to statewide implementation of the Pyramid Model. Tampa, FL: Technical Assistance Center on Social Emotional Intervention for Young Children, 10 pp. (Roadmap to effective intervention practices; no. 6)

Annotation: This document provides a guide and suggested resources for statewide implementation of the Pyramid Model for Promoting Social Emotional Competence in Infants and Young Children. The document outlines key components of the model in the context of implementation stages (planning and installation, implementation, and scale-up and sustainability). Components include the state leadership team, master cadre for professional development, demonstration sites, behavior specialists, data and evaluation systems, and state benchmarks of quality. The document also describes measures and evaluation procedures that are tailored to the model. An accompanying document provides descriptions of the tools and how to use them.

Contact: Technical Assistance Center on Social Emotional Intervention for Young Children, Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute, University of South Florida, 13301 North Bruce B. Downs Boulevard, MHC2-1134, Tampa, FL 33612-3807, Telephone: (813) 974-9803 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.challengingbehavior.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Competence, Early intervention, Emotional development, Model programs, Psychosocial development, Service delivery systems, Social behavior, Statewide planning, Systems development, Young children