Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide for oral health professionals provides information about identifying and supporting patients who have experienced or are experiencing intimate partner violence (IPV), human trafficking (HT), or exploitation (E). The goal of the guide is to help oral health professionals understand why dental appointments are a trigger for some patients, identify protocols for implementing IPV, HT, and E responses, and make these patients' appointment as successful as possible. Topics include what to do before the dental appointment and how to conduct the appointment. A companion brochure for consumers is also available.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Professional Brochure
• Consumer And Professional Brochures

Keywords: Domestic violence, Emotional abuse, Health care utilization, Oral health, Partner abuse

Annotation: This table provides examples of the relationship between oral health and mental health problems and substance use. It addresses the relationship between oral health and mental health problems (i.e., anxiety, bipolar and obsessive-compulsive disorder, depression, eating disorders, issues related to trauma). It also addresses the relationship between oral health and use of substances such as cannabis, cocaine, methamphetamine, and opioids, as well as the relationship between oral health and substance-use-disorder treatment medications. The impact of oral health problems on mental health problems and substance use is also examined.

Contact: National Council for Mental Wellbeing, 1400 K Strteet, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 684-7457 Web Site: http://thenationalcouncil.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anxiety, Bipolar disorder, Compulsive behavior, Depression, Eating disorders, Emotional trauma, Mental health, Oral health, Substance abuse

Annotation: This CDC fact sheet uses statistics and color graphs to describe the various types of child abuse and neglect, how big the problem is, what the consequences are, and how they can be prevented. It contains references information on how to contact the CDC for more information.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse childhood experiences, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Emotional abuse, Physical abuse

Annotation: This fact sheet defines teen dating violence, how pervasive the problem is, the consequences of this kind of violence, and how it can be prevented. Along with statistics on the issue, the brochure also has charts, references, a link to the "Dating Matters" website, as well as a reference to the CDC website on violence prevention.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Dating violence, Emotional abuse, Interpersonal violence, Physical violence, Sexual violence, Stalking, Statistics, Violence prevention

Annotation: This report from the Injury Center of the CDC provides an in-depth look at ACEs (Adverse Childhood Experiences). It enumerates some of the occurances that can be considered ACEs (such as abuse and neglect), the possible long-term effects (including mental health challenges, chronic diseases, and the loss of opportunities), and six strategies that can prevent ACEs (strengthening economic supports for families, interventions, etc.). The report also enumerates the Injury Center's four strategic goals and the objectives that will help them attain those goals. References point the reader to futher reading.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse childhood experiences, Child abuse prevention, Emotional trauma, Stress, Toxic stress, Violence prevention

Annotation: This continuing-education course for oral health professionals provides information about child abuse and neglect and outlines responsibilities for recognizing, reporting, treating, and preventing child abuse and neglect. Topics include defining the problem, the dentist's role in intervention, presenting problems that suggest child maltreatment, assessment and documentation, reporting, treatment for orofacial or dental trauma, and what oral health professionals can do to reduce child maltreatment.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Online Course

Keywords: Assessment, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Continuing education, Dental care, Emotional abuse, Intervention, Maltreated children, Oral health, Physical abuse, Prevention services, Resources for professionals, Responsibility, Trauma

Annotation: This textbook covers a range of topics associated with child abuse and neglect. It provides an overview on the problem, considers the rights and responsibilities of parents and children, and reviews the effects of abuse and neglect on the development of children. Individual chapters cover physical, emotional, and sexual abuse, and neglect. Other chapters examine ways to prevent or intervene in abusive situations through the judicial system and consider treatment methodologies including the use of foster care. The book also includes a chapter on adults who were abused as children but who had not reported the fact.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Children', Emotional abuse, Families, Family characteristics, Foster care, Incest, Intervention, Legal issues, Parent rights, Parenting, Physical abuse, Prevention, Sexual abuse, Social work, s rights

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find hotlines and web sites about domestic violence, including rape, abuse, incest, teen dating, legal counsel, and services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Battered women, Bibliographies, Child abuse, Domestic violence, Electronic publications, Emotional abuse, Family relations, Family violence, Hotlines, Parent child relations, Physical abuse, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This toolkit offers resources to help health care professionals and others identify and support clients facing intimate partner violence. Contents include strategies for preparing a health care practice to start screening; screening and intervention approaches and tools; resources tailored to pediatric, adolescent, or reproductive health care settings; strategies and resources for domestic and sexual violence advocates; and promising practices from the field.

Contact: Futures Without Violence, 100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio, San Francisco, CA 94129-1718, Telephone: (415) 678-5500 Fax: (415) 529-2930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://futureswithoutviolence.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Domestic violence, Emotional abuse, Family violence, Intervention, Physical abuse, Resources for professionals, Screening, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This report describes the evolution, structure, and accomplishments of state epidemiological outcomes workgroups (SEOWs) as a key component of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's support of states as they address problems related to substance abuse and mental, emotional, and behavioral disorders. The report highlights SEOW successes and offers guidance for providing data to support prevention decision-making in the future at the state and community levels. Throughout the report, quotes from SEOW members illustrate the value of SEOWs to prevention programming in states and communities throughout the United States.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: SAMHSA Pub. No. (SMA) 12-4724.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior disorders, Community programs, Emotional instability, Mental disorders, Mental health, Prevention, State programs, Statistical data, Substance abuse

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for health professionals about screening and counseling for interpersonal and domestic violence under the Affordable Care Act. The fact sheet answers questions about new preventive services guidelines, why screening for interpersonal and domestic violence matters, how health professionals can get started with screening, what health professionals should do if a person discloses abuse, and how health professionals can learn more about responding to domestic violence.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Domestic violence, Emotional abuse, Guidelines, Health services, Interpersonal violence, Legislation, Physical abuse, Prevention, Screening, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This policy brief presents findings on the linkages between intimate partner violence (IPV), emotional health, and substance use among adults ages 18-65 in California. Topics include psychological distress among IPV victims, violence-related substance abuse, and mental health and substance abuse services needs among IPV victims.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Domestic violence, Emotional trauma, Interpersonal violence, Mental health, Mental health services, Public policy, State surveys, Substance abuse, Substance abuse treatment services, Women', s health

Annotation: This working paper focuses on how early exposure to circumstances that produce persistent fear and chronic anxiety can have lifelong consequences by disrupting the architecture of the brain and on how to implement interventions to prevent and treat the harmful effects of exposure to extreme, fear-eliciting circumstances. The paper discusses what science tells us, correcting popular misrepresentations of science, the science-policy gap, and policy implications.

Contact: National Scientific Council on the Developing Child, Harvard University, 50 Church Street, Fourth Floor, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (617) 496-0578 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.developingchild.net Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anxiety, Behavior disorders, Behavior problems, Child abuse, Child maltreatment, Early childhood development, Emotional development, Intervention, Mental disorders, Mental health, Prevention, Public policy, Research, Treatment, Young children

Annotation: This report is intended to give local stakeholders the information and tools necessary to develop and use indicators for social-emotional development. The report includes (1) definitions of key concepts related to establishing indicators; (2) seven recommended indicators for social-emotional development; (3) a framework to determine local priorities and get started with indicator adoption, (4) resources for finding data at the community level for each indicator, and (5) how to interpret and use data collected for each of the suggested indicators. Examples of successful use of these indicators in states and local communities are provided.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior problems, Child abuse, Child development, Child health, Communities, Community programs, Depression, Emotional development, Mental disorders, Social indicators, Statistical data, Young children

Annotation: This paper builds on efforts by the National Technical Assistance Center for Mental Health Planning, the National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors, and others to increase appreciation of the relevance of trauma in understanding children and planning to meet their needs. The paper focuses primarily on child maltreatment and on children in institutional settings such as juvenile detention facilities. It is organized into two main parts. Part 1 discusses the challenges of childhood trauma, and part 2 addresses meeting the challenge of trauma-informed care. A discussion, a conclusion, and suggested readings are also included.

Contact: National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors, 66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 302, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 739-9333 Fax: (703) 548-9517 Web Site: http://www.nasmhpd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child health, Emotional trauma, Health care, Maltreated children, Mental health, Residential care, Therapeutics

Annotation: This paper focuses on key findings from the Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACE) Study, a decade-long, ongoing study designed to examine the childhood origins of many health and social problems. The paper describes the study design and discusses the interrelatedness of ACEs. Types of ACEs discussed include abuse, neglect, household dysfunction, and battered mother. The relationship of ACE scores to alcohol consumption, risk factors for HIV and AIDS, smoking and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease; depression and suicide attempts; worker performance; and health care costs. Implications are discussed. References are included. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the paper.The paper includes one appendix: a detailed list of health and social problems shown to have a graded relationship with ACE scores.

Contact: National Association for Children of Alcoholics, 11426 Rockville Pike, Suite 301, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (301) 468-0985 Secondary Telephone: (888) 554-COAS Fax: (301) 468-0987 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nacoa.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Child abuse, Child health, Child neglect, Children, Costs, Domestic violence, Drug abuse, Emotional abuse, HIV, Health, High risk children, High risk families, Lung diseases, Physical abuse, Smoking: Depression, Substance abuse, Suicide

Annotation: This annual report synthesizes information provided by state child protective service agencies to the federally mandated National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System (NCANDS). It reviews the background of the data collection process; analyzes the national child abuse and neglect data for the year being covered; considers the detailed case data component of NCANDS with examples of some of the types of analyses that can be made of the data; and discusses future directions. Data gathered include: age, sex, race or ethnic group of victims, types of abuse, case dispositions and descriptive information on perpetrators. Appendices contain listings for state advisory group representatives, summary data component tables, and state responses to the summary data component and state comments. This report was previously published under the title: "National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System Working Paper 1: 1990 Summary Data Component, " and "National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System Working Paper 2: 1991 Summary Data Component."

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Crime, Data collection, Demographics, Emotional abuse, Federal programs, National data, Sexual assault, State data reports, State surveys, Statistics

Annotation: This report represents one component of the Health Care Reform Tracking Project -- a 5-year project designed to track and analyze the impact of public sector managed care reforms on children and adolescents with emotional and substance abuse problems and their families. The report focuses on surveys of all the states. The report, which includes an executive summary, also contains information about state managed care initiatives, populations covered by managed care reform, managed care entities, service coverage and capacity, special provisions for youth with serious and complex behavioral health needs, financing and risk, clinical decision-making and management mechanisms, access, service coordination, early identification and intervention, cultural competence, family involvement, providers, accountability, the State Children's Health Insurance Program, and Concluding Observations. Two appendices provide the survey instrument and a list of technical assistance materials. Data are presented in tables throughout the report. The report also includes a child welfare special analysis.

Contact: National Technical Assistance Center for Children's Mental Health, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, 3300 Whitehaven Street, NW, Suite 3300, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchdtacenter.georgetown.edu/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Accountability, Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, Affective disorders, Child behavior, Child welfare, Children, Culturally competent services, Early intervention, Emotional instability, Ethics, Families, Financing, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Managed care, State health insurance programs, State initiatives, Substance abuse, Surveys

Annotation: This draft manuscript was presented in part at the meeting "Shaping the Future of Children's Health" held in San Juan, Puerto Rico, February 12-16, 2004. It summarizes research into the consequences of child trauma and its contribution to public health problems worldwide. Topics include the prevalence of traumatized children, consequences of trauma, a definition of trauma, how trauma hurts children, protective factors and resiliency, trauma as a risk factor, assessment and evaluation strategies and issues, universal vs. targeted screening for children, ethical issues in the assessment of traumatized children, and therapeutic responses to positive screens. Findings are discussed with examples given of models and programs, as well as discussion and summary conclusions. References conclude the manuscript.

Contact: Every Child Matters Education Fund, 1023 15th Street, NW, Suite 401 , Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 223-8177 Fax: (202) 223-8499 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.everychildmatters.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child health, Child mental health, Children, Emotional trauma, Ethics, Grief, Health screening, Physical abuse, Posttraumatic stress disorder, Public health, Research, Risk assessment, Stress, Trauma

Annotation: This tool kit is a summary of lessons learned about the utility and feasibility of measures of family and child outcomes that were used in the Starting Early Starting Smart (SESS) multi-site study. SESS targets families with very young children who were at risk for delayed social-emotional, language, and physical development owing to to risk factors such as caregiver substance abuse, immigrant status, or poverty. The tool kit seeks to (1) introduce the SESS program and the process of designing the instrument package, (2) identify categories of criteria for assessing the usefulness and feasibility of instruments in field evaluation and program monitoring settings, (3) identify and summarize the measures that were applied in the SESS study, and (4) summarize the experience of program providers and researchers with each instrument. The summary provides assessment and recommendations with respect to pragmatic criteria of usefulness and feasibility as well as traditional scientific criteria. Measures covered child and adult behavioral health, language development, parenting, and home environment.

Contact: National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information, Telephone: (800) 729-6686 Secondary Telephone: (800) 487-4889 Web Site: http://ncadi.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Caregivers, Community programs, Early childhood development, Emotional development, Families, Federal programs, High risk children, Immigrants, Language, Measures, Poverty, Research, Screening, Social skills, Substance abuse, Tests, Young children