Search Results: MCHLine

Contact: Oregon Safe Kids, 800 NE Oregon St., Suite 772, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-1001 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/ph/safekids/index.shtml Price unknown.

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children, First aid

Annotation: These protocols for emergency medical technicians and hospital personnel in North Carolina provide guidelines for triage, transport, and treatment of children who have suffered traumatic injuries or have life threatening conditions. The protocols are grouped in two sections; the first contains prehospital paramedic protocols; and the second contains hospital treatment protocols. The first section also includes guidelines for transport. The individual protocols are presented as flow-charts with the critical procedures indicated for each step in caring for the child. Conditions include: multiple trauma, head trauma, newborn resuscitation, poisoning, and seizures, among others. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Carolinas Medical Center, Department of Emergency Medicine, 1000 Blythe Boulevard , Charlotte, NC 28203, Telephone: (704) 355-3658 Fax: (704) 355-7047 E-mail: [email protected] Price unknown.

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children, Emergency medical technicians, Hospital emergency services, Hospital personnel, Injuries, North Carolina, Protocols, Resources for professionals, Therapeutics

Annotation: This thesaurus has 244 terms, which are displayed alphabetically in hierarchies showing term relationships and scope notes and in subject groupings under the Emergency Medical Services for Children(EMSC) Library Catalog Headings. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children, Thesauri

Annotation: The overall goal of the this project was to demonstrate effective models for the necessary components of an emergency medical services for children (EMSC) system and the integration of those components into currently operating adult-oriented systems. The project has outlined the six major components of an EMSC system: (l) System description, (2) prevention, (3) education, (4) standards of care, (5) quality assurance, and (6) research and development. The project comprised seven subprojects whose activities included educating the public, the prehospital care provider, and the rural physician about the assessment and management of pediatric emergencies; comparing the efficacy of ground versus air transport; defining the degree of psychological impairment caused by head injury; identifying the rehabilitation facilities available locally, regionally, and nationally; and increasing compliance with safety belt/child restraint legislation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103332.

Keywords: Cost-Benefit Analysis, Data Collection, Emergency Medical Services, Emergency medical technicians, Facilities For, First Aid, Head Injuries, Health Professionals, Paramedics, Rehabilitation, Seat Belts/Restraints for Children

Annotation: The overall goal of the Arizona EMSC project was to reduce childhood mortality and morbidity by (1) providing broad-based training and education in pediatric emergency care to medical personnel involved in the prehospital and early hospital emergency medical care, and (2) helping establish childhood injury prevention programs throughout the State. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121909.

Keywords: Bicycle Helmets, Bicycle Safety, Car seats, Drowning, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Injury Prevention, Pediatric Advanced Life Support Programs, Professional Education in EMSC, Seat Belts

Annotation: The primary purpose and goal of this project was the validation of scales for measuring cognitive and physical or general adaptive morbidity, the Pediatric Cerebral Performance Category Scale (PCPC) and Pediatric Overall provides the means of evaluation needed to reach the EMSC goal to evaluate emergency medical care of children as outlined in the EMSC 5 year plan. A secondary purpose of the study was to obtain supplemental data on the nature and severity of adverse outcomes of psychosocial adjustment for children and families with a broad range of cognitive and functional outcomes following childhood emergencies. This study and other work by the investigator will facilitate the identification of the population of children and families at high risk for emergencies in order to guide the development of a suitable intervention in a future phase of study. A cohort of 200 PICU discharges were accumulated consecutively over a 22 month enrollment period to a maximum of 25 patients in each of the eight cells of the study. The patients were then followed up with the Vineland Adaptive Behavior Scale and a battery of psychological tests. We find that the POPC and PCPC scales differentiate well between children of varying cognitive and general adaptive functional abilities as measured by the StanfordBinet, Bayley, and Vineland instruments. They should provide a useful tool for future studies which require outcome assessment. Maternal assessments may not be suitable substitutes for clinician assessments as mothers tend to rate children lower (less morbidity) than the nurse rater. Additional outcome analyses are still in progress. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB98-128317.

Keywords: Emergency Medical Services for Children, Emotional Health, Mental Health, Morbidity, Research

Annotation: This project sought to reduce the number and the impact of childhood injuries, especially those due to fire and violence. Two broad objectiveswere written for year 3 activities, involving methods of training emergency providers (training objective), and public/student education, smoke detector battery distribution, and school injury reporting (injury prevention objective). Materials developed include a 1993 injury prevention calendar, a statewide curriculum for pediatric emergencies, and data reports on prehospital and inpatient studies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121917.

Keywords: Emergency Medical Services for Children, Emergency Medical Technicians, Injury Prevention, Professional Education in EMSC, School Age Children

Annotation: This project had two components: Part 1, based in the Department of Health's Office of Emergency Medical Services, coordinated project efforts and served as a focus for emergency medical services for children (EMSC) in the State, including children with special health needs and minority children and their families. Part 2 involved the State's emergency medical services (EMS) community in three subcontracts that addressed (1) training for emergency medical technicians, paramedics, physicians, and nurses; (2) pediatric trauma issues; and (3) pediatric illness issues. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB98-155708.

Keywords: Databases, Education, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Injury Prevention, Preventive Health Care, Professional Education in EMSC

Annotation: The mortality, morbidity, and economic burden associated with childhood trauma and illness represent a serious public health problem in New Mexico. This is particularly true for rural and minority families. The long term goals of this project were to reduce the frequency and seriousness of negative outcomes for children and families who have suffered an emergency and to promote preventive activities directed at reducing injuries that generate pediatric emergencies. The project demonstrated progress in reaching these long term goals through: (1) increased childhood injury prevention programs statewide including promoting EMTs to be prevention advocates in their communities; (2) improved clinical care in the pediatric emergency medical system which includes prehospital and hospital care providers; (3) improved data collection and analysis for pediatric injury and illness; and (4) coalition building. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB98-155716.

Keywords: American Indians, Bilingual Services, Chronic Illnesses and Disabilities, Data Collection, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Emergency Medical Technicians, Injury Prevention, Rural Population

Annotation: The goals of this regional pediatric data surveillance system were to: (1) Convert a regional manual data collection system (developed with a previous EMSC grant) to a computerized one using existing data bases at each hospital and modern computer technology; (2) expedite centralized data acquisition via diskettes/modems; (3) expand the data set to include data about prehospital and inpatient utilization and outcomes; (4) enhance the accuracy of the data by using ICD-9 coding for final diagnoses; and (5) provide the data to area hospitals and health agencies for local and regional improvements in care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121925.

Keywords: Clinical coding, Computers, Data, Data Collection, Emergency Medical Services for Children

Annotation: The project's major goal was to prevent childhood emergencies and to improve emergency medical services for children in Ohio by building local support and developing effective local emergency medical systems with linkage to referral centers. Specific project goals included establishing local emergency medical service (EMS) advisory councils; developing train-the-trainer programs for local emergency department personnel; developing networks linking local EMS systems with local emergency department personnel and pediatric medical consultants, and linking demonstration areas with regional children's hospitals and pediatric medical centers; and developing public information and education programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-124176.

Keywords: Data Collection, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Emergency Room Personnel, Rural Population

Annotation: The State of Oklahoma has a limited and fragmented EMS system that has not adequately addressed the needs of its pediatric population. To decrease the negative outcomes of pediatric emergency care, this project: (1) Established a prehospital- and hospital-based data collection system to provide definition of emergency medical services for children (EMSC) and identify negative outcome factors; (2) developed and assisted a statewide consortium in support of EMSC issues; (3) provided pediatric prehospital and hospital care training to emergency medical technicians, nurses, and physicians; and (4) worked with Native Americas and Hispanic populations to prevent child abuse and related injuries. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child Abuse, Data Collection, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Emergency Medical Technicians, Pediatric Advanced Life Support Programs, Professional Education in EMSC, Shaken Infant Syndrome

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to enhance existing capabilities in emergency medical services for children (EMSC) to reduce mortality and morbidity from injuries and critical illnesses among infants and children. This scope of the project was regional, in collaboration with Idaho, Oregon, and Washington EMSC projects. In addition, specific funding targeted project activities to enhance EMSC capabilities in Wyoming, Montana, and Utah. The four major goals of the Utah EMSC program were to: (1) Develop a comprehensive intermountain pediatric emergency medical services (EMS) data base; (2) reduce the morbidity and mortality of Native American children living in the region; (3) educate emergency care providers in the region about the capability, availability, and response times of existing intermountain regional air transport systems; and (4) establish consistent regional protocols and educational programs for EMS systems throughout the intermountain region. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121883.

Keywords: American Indians, Burns, Data Collection, Data bases, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Poisons, Rural Population

Annotation: This training course is intended for pediatric nurses. This document contains information about advanced pediatric life support; topics include the difference between pediatric and adult patients; seizure management; triage; practice cases; and stabilization and transfer. Handouts and a course evaluation form are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Southern Region Emergency Medical Services Council, 6130 Tuttle Place, Anchorage, AK 99507, Telephone: (907) 562-6499 Fax: (907) 562-9893 Web Site: http://www.sremsc.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children, Pediatric nursing, Training

Annotation: This report describes what is known about the availability of trauma centers for children and the outcomes for children treated at different types of facilities. The report also examines how, if at all, federal agencies are involved in supporting pediatric trauma care and how these activities are coordinated. Topics include the location of high-level pediatric trauma centers, the percentage of children who live within 30 miles of a high-level pediatric trauma center, and how well such centers work to lower mortality. Additional topics include federal interagency coordination to support hospital-based pediatric trauma care activities and training and resources available to physicians and nurses for pediatric trauma care. Examples are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-17-334.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Access to health care, Emergency medical services for children, Federal agencies, Health care delivery, Injuries, Interagency cooperation, Outcome and process assessment, Pediatric care, Pediatric hospitals, Training, Trauma care, Trauma centers, Work force

Annotation: This resource is designed to assist states and communities in developing a coordinated response to the immediate and long term needs of infants and children affected by Zika virus (ZIKV), and their families. Contents include an overview of ZIKV, infection, and outcomes; systems of care as a public health approach for comprehensive care for infants and children exposed to ZIKV; and an overview of federal and state programs serving children affected by ZIKV. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Child health, Community coordination, Comprehensive health care, Emergency medical services for children, Federal programs, Health care systems, Infant health, Infection control, Neonatal screening, Policy development, Population surveillance, Program coordination, Program planning, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Service coordination, Service integration, Special health care needs, State programs, Systems development, Virus diseases, Work force

Annotation: This website is a compendium of resources related to medical and public health issues of children in disasters and emergencies. Contents include links to journal articles and other documents and materials that may be useful in preparedness, mitigation, response and recovery activities. Resources are national or international in scope. Topics include natural disasters; chemical and biological agents, radiologicals and nuclear, and explosives (CBRNE); psychological and behavioral health; and special topics such as children with disabilities, school and care providers, hospital preparedness, resilience, and pandemics.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Communicable diseases, Databases, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, Emergency medical services for children, Hospitals, International health, Mental health, Resilience, Resources for professionals, Schools, Special health care needs

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the history of the Emergency Medical Services (EMS) for Children -- the national initiative designed to reduce childhood death and disability due to severe illness or injury. The fact sheet describes the legislation behind the EMS program and the larger emergency system of which it is a part, dating back to the Korean and Vietnam Wars. A timeline dating from 1966 through 2014 lists the events leading up the EMS for Children program that have evolved over time. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children, Federal initiatives, History

Annotation: This primer describes a structured system of care to ensure that all seriously ill and injured children receive the care they need, regardless of the local availability of health care resources. Topics include its evolution, components, and models, as well as unique considerations for systems development. Contents include general information about regionalization and pediatric specialty care; hospital regulations, mandates, and standards; and a summary, footnotes, and glossary. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children, Health care systems, Regional planning, Regional programs, Systems development

Annotation: This toolbox provides information about what coalitions are and their role for Emergency Medical Services for Children projects. The toolbox provides links to resources for health professionals, database searches, example practices, and resources for families and caregivers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Coalitions, Collaboration, Emergency medical services for children, Health services, Resource materials