Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on careers in dentistry. It discusses the following types of oral health professionals: allied dental educator, dental assistant, dental laboratory technician, dental hygienist, and dentist. For each, a description of what the oral health professional does and their average salary is presented.

Contact: Realityworks, 2709 Mondovi Road, Eau Claire, WI 54701, Telephone: (800) 830-1416 Secondary Telephone: (715) 830-2040 Web Site: https://www.realityworks.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Careers, Dental assistants, Dental hygienists, Dentistry, Dentists, Dentists, Health educators, Laboratories, Medical technicians, Oral health, Salaries

Annotation: This curriculum is designed for front line health workers (FLHWs) (e.g., community health workers, health educators, case managers, care coordinators, public health workers, peer health promoters) who provide oral health outreach, advocacy, patient education, care coordination, health care navigation, and social support for the communities they serve. The curriculum consists of four modules; the first is an introduction, and the remaining three focus on the oral health of children, women (including pregnant women), and adults. A facilitator handbook and resources for FLHWs are also included.

Contact: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 540, Leawood, KS 66211, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-7928 Fax: (913) 906-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.stfm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Community health services, Community health workers, Community outreach, Curricula, Health educators, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service coordination

Annotation: This training curriculum describes tools for planning and evaluating community health intervention strategies. Topics include what evidence is and where to find evidence-based strategies; and how to select, adapt, and evaluate interventions. Contents include seven modules, along with case studies and exercises. A facilitator's guide and support materials for planning and delivering a training workshop are also included.

Contact: Cancer Prevention and Control Research Network Coordinating Center, c/o University of North Carolina, 200 North Greensboro Street, Carboro, NC 27510, Telephone: (919) 966-8013 Fax: (919) 843-3418 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://cpcrn.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community programs, Curriculum, Health educators, Needs assessment, Program evaluation, Program planning, Public health education, Resources for professionals, Training

Annotation: This annotated instructor's version of a college textbook presents research-based information on early brain development, emergent curricula, and early childhood programming in developmentally appropriate practice. The book includes a built-in instructor's manual as well as notes in the margins about class discussion, activities, assignments, films, and lectures. Each chapter also includes answers to five key questions that appear in the corresponding student textbook. Ideas for major projects or assignment are provided. The book is divided into six main parts, each of which focuses on a different aspect of early childhood education: the what, who, why, where, how (curriculum) and how (guidance) of early childhood education. Also included are an epilogue, references, a glossary, name and subject indexes, and a preface.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7668-3451-4.

Keywords: Curricula, Early childhood education, Early childhood educators, Families, Parents, Programs, Research Early childhood development, Textbooks

Annotation: This document for public health professionals describes ways to communicate and work with educators to address public health problems. Topics include pitfalls to avoid and recommendations for developing school health programs, policies, and practices that can support access to health services and establish good health behaviors in school-age children.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Communication, Educators, Health behavior, Health education, Health policy, Prevention programs, Public health, School age children, School health services

Annotation: This publication reviews health education theories and definitions, identifies the components of evidence-based health education, and outlines the abilities necessary to engage in effective practice. Topics include the relationship between health education, health promotion, and health literacy; health behavior theories, models, and frameworks; health education planning, implementation, and evaluation; health educator core competencies; and code of ethics for the health education profession.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-92-9021-828-9.

• PDF

Keywords: Competence, Health behavior, Health education, Health educators, Health literacy, Health promotion, Models, Professional ethics, Program evaluation, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Theories

Annotation: This video for trainers, administrators, and educators in early childhood programs in Hawaii is designed to increase awareness and understanding of positive attachment and social connections in the context of postpartum depression.

Contact: Same Small Boat Productions, 1050 Bishop Street, Suite 436, Honolulu, HI 96813, Telephone: (808) 384-2902 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://samesmallboat.com Available from the website.

• Link
• Video Script

Keywords: Attachment behavior, DVDs, Early childhood educators, Emotional development, Hawaii, Health promotion, Infant health, Parenting, Postpartum depression, Psychosocial development, State programs, Training, Training, Vulnerability

Annotation: This curriculum comprises an instructor's manual and a participant's manual on understanding, preventing, recognizing, and managing infectious diseases in early education and child care settings. The curriculum is designed as an educational tool for early childhood educators and child care workers with all levels of understanding about infectious diseases. Each manual is divided into three modules and includes PowerPoint presentations, video clips, activities, forms, and pre- and post-tests, and other resources. Tips for presenting and instructions for downloading and saving files for presenting without internet access are available from the website.

Contact: Healthy Child Care America, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5409 Fax: (847) 228-7320 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthychildcare.org Available from the website.

• Instructor's Manual
• Participant's Manual

Keywords: Child care workers, Child health, Curricula, Disease prevention, Early childhood educators, Infectious diseases, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This curriculum provides information about medication administration for early education and child care professionals. Contents include an instructor's manual and a participant's manual. The curriculum is divided into 5 modules and includes presentations, video clips, activities, forms, and pre- and post-tests. Topics include forms of medication; preparation and medication storage; how to administer oral medication, topical medication, eye drops, and ear drops; documentation; and problem solving, The curriculum is estimated to take 4 hours to present, however, it can be adapted to meet time constraints and learner and instructor needs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care centers, Child care workers, Child safety, Curricula, Early childhood educators, Medications

Annotation: This training manual, designed for pediatric residents and other graduate students in helping professions, promotes the attitudes, skills, and knowledge required for providing family-centered services, specifically through interprofessional collaboration. The purpose of the training is to make participants aware of the positive value of family-centered, collaborative care and of professionals' role in providing such care. The concepts contained in the manual derive from two major schools of thought with regard to serving families: (1) family-centered care is the most effective care because families have opportunities to participate in decisions about their child's health care and education and (2) interprofessional collaboration recognizes that professionals interdependently—rather than independently—meet the multiple priorities and diverse needs of families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Hawaii Medical Association, Health and Education Collaboration Project, 1360 South Beretania Street, Second Floor, Honolulu, HI 96814, Telephone: (808) 536-7702 Contact Phone: (808) 536-7702 Ext. 2224 Fax: (808) 528-2376 E-mail: [email protected] Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Curricula, Early childhood educators, Families, Family centered services, Graduate education, Hawaii, Interdisciplinary collaboration, Internship and residency, Manuals, Nurses, Pediatricians, Personnel, Professional education, Service delivery, Social workers, Special education, Students, Teachers, Training

Annotation: This training manual, designed for pediatric residents and other graduate students in helping professions, promotes the attitudes, skills, and knowledge required for providing family-centered services, specifically through interprofessional collaboration. The purpose of the training is to make participants aware of the positive value of family-centered, collaborative care and of professionals' role in providing such care. The concepts contained in the manual derive from two major schools of thought with regard to serving families: (1) family-centered care is the most effective care because families have opportunities to participate in decisions about their child's health care and education and (2) interprofessional collaboration recognizes that professionals interdependently—rather than independently—meet the multiple priorities and diverse needs of families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Hawaii Medical Association, Health and Education Collaboration Project, 1360 South Beretania Street, Second Floor, Honolulu, HI 96814, Telephone: (808) 536-7702 Fax: (808) 528-2376 E-mail: [email protected] Out of print.

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Curricula, Early childhood educators, Families, Family centered services, Graduate education, Hawaii, Interdisciplinary collaboration, Internship and residency, Manuals, Nurses, Pediatricians, Personnel, Professional education, Service delivery, Social workers, Special education, Students, Teachers, Training

Annotation: This book presents an overview of many international programs undertaken to improve the life of children, particularly from birth to eight years of age. Part 1 focuses on describing the theory behind early childhood education and includes sections on the case for early intervention, approaches to the development of young children, and paying for child development programs. Part 2 discusses the practice of early childhood education and includes sections on educating parents, training caregivers, delivering services to children, reforming formal education systems to include preschoolers, and educating throughout the mass media. Case studies presented are from from Israel, Turkey, Mexico, Trinidad and Tobago, the former East Bloc, Kenya, United States, India, Kazakstan, Guyana, Philippines, Chile, El Salvador, Venezuela, Bolivia, and Nigeria. Boxes and tables illustrate cases and highlight information throughout the book. A bibliography completes the book.

Contact: World Bank, 1818 H Street, N. W., Washington, DC 20433, Telephone: (202) 477-1000 Fax: (202) 477-6391 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.worldbank.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-8213-3547-2.

• PDF

Keywords: Caregivers, Case studies, Child health, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Early childhood educators, Early intervention, Financing, International health, Mass media, Parents, Program descriptions, Reform, Service delivery

Annotation: This manual is the training book used by community health advocates at the South East Asian Regional Community Health project. The advocates provide outreach services to Asian Americans living in Columbus, Detroit, and Toledo, Ohio. The manual provides a cultural overview of the health beliefs, attitudes, and behaviors common in South East Asia; and it reviews procedures for developing outreach services. The manual contains training modules on cultural heritage, learning to live in the United States, health and illness, an overview of the health care system, using health services, making appointments and payments, preventive health practices, women's health issues, and raising healthy children. The manual provides a resource list and an extensive bibliography organized by categories. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Asian Americans, Attitudes, Behavior, Child health services, Children, Cultural beliefs, Health educators, Maternal health services, Mothers, Ohio, Outreach, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This report discusses the findings of a health and safety needs consulting survey conducted as part of a broad two-county initiative in Arizona to identify curriculum and training needs for child care staff. The analysis of survey results, conducted in 1989, contributed to the report's recommendations for the public health community, including: the establishment of baseline data regarding health and safety risks in local child care programs; the development of resources and trainers to upgrade the knowledge and skills of child care staff and reduce identified health and safety risks; the provision of health and safety consultation services to early childhood programs; networking with other agencies who enter child care programs for regulatory or consultation purposes; and participation in public advisory boards and/or legislative committees having to do with child care policy and programs.

Contact: Pima County Health Department, 3950 S. Country Club Road, Suite 100, Tucson, AZ 85714, Telephone: (520) 243-7770 Web Site: http://www.pimahealth.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Arizona, Child care, Child care centers, Child care workers, Early childhood educators, Health and safety, Needs assessment, Surveys, Training

Annotation: This report presents data collected in December 1987 and January 1988 through a telephone survey of state certification officials and early childhood specialists and from a review of documents provided by state certification offices and other information. It discusses the patterns of certification found and the implications of recent changes. Overall, teacher certification is found to be in a state of rapid change.

Contact: National Association for the Education of Young Children, 1313 L Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 232-8777 Secondary Telephone: (800) 424-2460 Fax: (202) 328-1846 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.naeyc.org $5.00 plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Certification, Early childhood educators, State government

Annotation: The purpose of this volume is to give early childhood educators a source of information about contemporary research on children's play. Many of the chapters review studies of the development of play, stressing the intricate competencies that emerge as new play forms develop. Each author comments on the implications of the material covered for teachers. The concluding two chapters review the literature on factors in the preschool environment, indoors and outdoors, that govern the amount and quality of play.

Contact: National Association for the Education of Young Children, 1313 L Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 232-8777 Secondary Telephone: (800) 424-2460 Fax: (202) 328-1846 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.naeyc.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Children, Early childhood educators, Literature reviews, Play