Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper reports a survey to make the Mount Zion Hospital and Medical Center, Comprehensive Child Care Project Staff knowledgeable and able to support all expressions of concern with substantive information. The survey among a sample of project families attempted to delineate the family's housing situation in regard to space, safety and sanitation; the nutritional status in regard to availability of food, shopping practices and dietary intake; and the children's educational placement and experiences in school and the parents' perception of the schools. The survey is also designed to document the adequacy and effectiveness of existing social services and agencies in the community to deal with these problems. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Educational factors, Federal MCH programs, Housing, Nutritional status, Program evaluation, Social services, Surveys, Title V programs

Annotation: This book presents the Voices Reading program, which combines systematic, comprehensive literacy instruction with character development. The program uses multicultural trade books as its basis and leveled books to match individual needs. The program addresses six themes: identity awareness, perspective taking, conflict resolution, social awareness, love and friendship, and freedom and democracy. In addition to explaining these themes, the book presents program components and a literacy overview, addresses the achievement gap, and discusses research and methods and scope and sequence.

Contact: Zaner-Bloser, 1201 Dublin Road, Columbus, OH 43215-3018, Telephone: (800) 421-3018 Secondary Telephone: (614) 486-0221 Web Site: http://zaner-bloser.com

Keywords: Character, Child development, Cultural competence, Educational attainment, Literacy education, Programs, Reading, Research

Annotation: This lunch box provides parents with information about oral health and healthy eating choices and practices. The lunch box is illustrated with drawings that promote good oral health and good nutrition and contains a “Dental Care in a Carrot” case made to include a toothbrush, toothpaste, dental floss, and a rinse cup. Ordering information; downloadable files, including a description of the program, a 5-day lesson guide for teachers, and an outline of the lessons; a video about the program; and other supplemental materials are available on the website. The lunch box is also available in Braille.

Contact: Children's Oral Health Institute, 9199 Reisterstown Road, Suige 203A, Owings Mills, MD 21117, Telephone: (866) 508-7400 Fax: (410) 356-8574 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mycohi.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Educational materials, Health literacy, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs

Annotation: This guide is a model used by New York University (NYU) College of Dentistry and NYU College of Nursing for the NYU Pediatric Oral Health Interprofessional Clerkship. For this program, NYU dental students and pediatric nurse practitioner or family nurse practitioner students collaborate to develop a management plan to meet the oral health needs of children in the Bellevue Pediatric Dental Clinic through oral health screening, education, and referral. The guide includes information on interprofessional collaborative practice competencies, a student assignment example, education resources, and discussion topics.

Contact: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 433 First Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 998-5300 Web Site: https://nursing.nyu.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Educational programs, Health education, Infant health, Nursing, Oral health, Referrals, Screening, Students

Annotation: This guide is a model used by New York University (NYU) College of Dentistry and NYU College of Nursing for the NYU Prenatal Oral Health Interprofessional Experience. For this program, NYU dental students and nurse midwifery or family nurse practitioner students collaborate to develop a management plan to meet the oral health needs of pregnant women in the Bellevue Pediatric Dental Clinic through oral health screening, education, and referral. The guide includes information about interprofessional collaborative practice competencies, a student assignment example, education resources, and suggestions to facilitate student discussion.

Contact: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 433 First Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 998-5300 Web Site: https://nursing.nyu.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Educational programs, Health education, Nursing, Oral health, Pregnant women, Referrals, Screening, Students

Annotation: This guide provides information on New York University’s (NYU’s) College of Teaching Oral Systemic Health (TOSH) Experience, an interprofessional program that brings together students across health professions. The program is conducted with NYU dental students and nurse midwifery, nurse practitioner, medical, and pharmacy students. Topics include the TOSH protocol, a TOSH flowchart, the time required to complete program activities, a script for a patient visit, a student assignment, student instructions, patient instructions, and sample forms.

Contact: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 433 First Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 998-5300 Web Site: https://nursing.nyu.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Educational programs, Forms, Medical students, Nursing, Oral health, Pharmacy schools, Students

Annotation: This study involved 27 hospitals in Connecticut that provided information/instruction to improve safe sleeping environments for newborns to their patients, as required by state legislation passed in 2015. Although the materials provided by 26/27 (96%) of hospitals was consistent with the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Guidelines, the rates of positional asphyxia did not decrease after legislation was passed.

Contact: Springer Publishing Company, 11 West 42nd Street, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10036, Telephone: (877) 687-7476 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.springerpub.com/

• Link

Keywords: Asphyxia, Connecticut, Educational materials for parents, Hospital programs, SIDS, Safe sleep, State legislation, Suffocation

Annotation: This health education program guide is designed to help teachers integrate oral health into an existing curriculum for students in grades 2–3. The program uses a standards-based approach to cover core learning objectives that can be adapted to classroom needs. The guide contains developmentally appropriate lesson plans designed to challenge children to take responsibility for their own oral health. Ideas for getting parents and other family members involved with the topic of oral health are included throughout the guide. Additional program components include a video featuring two cartoon dentists who have mentored a group of children to become Tooth Defender "superheroes;" a storybook; a poster; and a parent take-home.

Contact: Colgate Bright Smiles, Bright Futures™, 300 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: (800) 468-6502 Secondary Telephone: (212) 310-2000 Web Site: https://www.colgate.com/en-us/mission/oral-health-commitment/bsbf Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Educational materials, Elementary schools, Oral health, School health education, School health programs

Annotation: This report describes prenatal Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) receipt in the United States in 2016 by state and by maternal age, race and Hispanic origin, and education. For each topic, key points are provided, and bar graphs illustrate statistical information.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Educational factors, Hispanic Americans, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition programs, Pregnant women, Prenatal nutrition, Racial factors, Statistical data, WIC program

Annotation: This guide from the "Safe Routes to School" Partnership encourages schools to incorporate bicycle education and safety into their physical education programs, thereby combining the goals of increasing physical activity and encouraging students to bike safely to school. The guide provides links to resources on bicycle education and suggestions on how to start such a program in local schools.

Contact: Safe Routes Partnership , 12587 Fair Lakes Circle #251, Fairfax, VA 22033, Web Site: https://www.saferoutespartnership.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Bicycles, Educational objectives, Physical activity, Physical education, Physical fitness, Physical fitness programs

Annotation: The Safe Routes to School National Partnership created this brochure to inform schools how to host a bicycle skills clinic (also called a "Bike Rodeo") on their playground. The skills clinic will encourage children and their families to use bicycles safely and more often. It includes tips on planning the event, and links to other resources on bike rodeos.

Contact: Safe Routes Partnership , 12587 Fair Lakes Circle #251, Fairfax, VA 22033, Web Site: https://www.saferoutespartnership.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Bicycles, Educational objectives, Physical activity, Physical education, Physical fitness, Physical fitness programs

Annotation: These resources provide evidence-based recommendations and findings about what works to promote health equity in the community. Topics include education programs and policies, culturally competent health care, and housing programs and policies. Presentation and promotional materials are included.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural competence, Early childhood education, Low income groups, After school programs, Child development centers, Community based programs, Community development, Community health centers, Consumer education materials, Culturally competent services, Education, Educational attainment, Equal opportunities, Financial support, Health care delivery, Health education, Health promotion, Housing, Kindergarten, Patient education materials, Public policy, Recruitment, Research, Retention, School based clinics, Training, Translation, Work force

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers presents information on school-based dental sealant programs (SBSPs). Topics include what dental sealants are, what SBSPs are, evidence showing that the SBSPs work, and recommendations for SBSPs. Links to resources such as national reports, fact sheets, best practices, and research papers are included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Oral health, School age children, School health programs

Annotation: This tip sheet is designed to assist state and local justice and education agency administrators in creating strong working relationships that make high-quality education programs within juvenile justice settings possible. Topics include the importance of working together, the biggest challenges to good relationships, and working together toward a meaningful and sustainable partnership.

Contact: National Evaluation and Technical Assistance Center for the Education of Children and Youth Who Are Neglected, Delinquent, or At-Risk, American Institutes of Research, Washington, DC Web Site: http://www.neglected-delinquent.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Criminal justice system, Educational programs, Juvenile justice, Local government, Public private partnerships, Relationships, Resources for professionals, State departments of education, Sustainability

Annotation: This report examines, from multiple perspectives, integrated student supports (ISS) as a strategy to address disparities in educational attainment and achievement. The report defines ISS as a school-based approach to promoting students' academic achievement and educational attainment by coordinating a seamless system of wraparound supports at multiple levels that target students academic and non-academic barriers to learning. Topics include models developed by practitioners in communities, research on child development, research on education, as well as evaluation studies. The report triangulates these knowledge bases to assess where the ISS field is and the evidence base that underlies the approach. Next steps and implications for research and evaluation are included.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, After school programs, Barriers, Community role, Education, Educational attainment, Integrated services, Learning, School health education, School health programs, School health services, School role, School safety

Annotation: This report documents the need for dual-generation strategies for families with low income and education levels to assure strong educational outcomes and upward economic mobility. The report describes the following three components of a comprehensive dual-generation strategy: high-quality early childhood education (pre-kindergarten through third grade); sectoral job training leading to a certificate, credential, or degree for high-wage/high-demand jobs; and wrap-around family and peer support services. Additional topics include results of an analysis of 13 economic, education, and health indicators, which highlight disparities in the well-being experienced by children with four different levels of mother's education. Opportunities for federal, state, and local governments are included.

Contact: Foundation for Child Development, 295 Madison Avenue, 40th Floor, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 867-5777 Fax: (212) 867-5844 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fcd-us.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Child health, Early childhood education, Educational attainment, Family support services, Government role, Intergenerational programs, Low income groups, Mothers, Statistical data, Vocational education, Work force

Annotation: This curriculum is a self-care and recovery educational program for state, county, and local behavioral health delivery systems; for-profit and not-for-profit organizations; volunteer groups; support groups; peer support groups; and peer-run programs. Its purpose is to implement educational programs in self-help concepts, skills, and strategies for adults with mental health issues and/or for adults with mental health issues who also may have substance use issues. The goal of the project is to promote wellness, stability, recovery, and life transformation. Contents include information about program administration, curriculum implementation, facilitator training, and descriptions of sessions.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Curricula, Educational programs, Health behavior, Health education, Mental health, Peer education, Peer support programs, Self care, Substance use behavior, Training

Annotation: This resource outlines a plan for improving access to comprehensive, coordinated health care and related services for children, youth, and adults with autism spectrum disorder and related developmental disabilities in Georgia. The plan addresses the following ten areas of activity: early identification and screening; referral and diagnosis; medical, behavioral health, and dental services; family support; early intervention and preschool services; elementary and secondary education; community services and supports; transition from youth to adult systems; adult services and supports; and emergency preparedness and first responders. For each area, the report provides a definition, quality indicators (problem statements and data drivers), and recommendations (objectives). The report also describes foundational supports considered in developing the recommendations including work force, awareness, informational resources, finances, and policy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Georgia State University School of Public Health, Center for Leadership in Disability, 75 Piedmont Avenue, Suite 514, Atlanta, GA 30303, Telephone: (404) 413-1281 Fax: (404) 413-1012 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://disability.publichealth.gsu.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Autism, Community based services, Comprehensive health care, Diagnosis, Disaster planning, Early intervention, Educational objectives, Family centered care, Family support services, Financial planning, Georgia, Health care delivery, Life course, Policy development, Program coordination, Referrals, Screening, Special health care needs, State programs, Systems development, Transition planning, Work force

Annotation: This toolkit provides information about how to implement and sustain an oral health program in a rural community. The toolkit is composed of seven modules: (1) introduction, (2) program models, (3) implementation, (4) planning for sustainability, (5) evaluating rural oral health programs, (6) disseminating oral health program results, and (7) examples of existing oral health programs in rural communities. Resources for use in developing a program are included.

Contact: Rural Health Information Hub, School of Medicine and Health Sciences, 501 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Room 4520, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (800) 270-1898 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ruralhealthinfo.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Educational materials , Health programs, Oral health, Program development, Program evaluation, Rural health, Rural population

Annotation: This issue brief uses data from Chapin Hall’s evaluation of the Elev8 Full-Service Schools Initiative as a case study to focus on the challenges and benefits of offering economic support services to low income families at schools. Based on their findings, the authors conclude that the Elev8 Initiative, which brings together schools, families, and the community in underserved neighborhoods, shows promise as a way to provide support services to families while improving the educational opportunities for their children. Using lessons learned from the Eval8 Initiativ, the authors present recommendations for future efforts to integrate economic support services into schools. Their suggested strategies include hiring long-term staff members to build trusting relationships with parents; offering economic support services in conjunction with a broader array of services; ensuring clear lines of communication between partner organizations; and taking steps to ensure parents’ privacy.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Economic factors, Educational factors, Evaluation, High risk children, Initiatives, Low income groups, Models, Partnerships, School-linked programs