Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These three posters use bright colors and/or large graphic images to communicate the advantages of abstinence. Each poster features the name and phone number of the Milwaukee Campaign for Our Children, and each is available in English and Spanish. The first poster displays the message: "Don't like the odds? Don't have sex." The second reads: "Virgin. It's not a dirty word." The third cautions: "Make sex a game and it'll make you a loser."

Contact: Campaign for Our Children, 120 West Fayette Street, Suite 1200, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 576-9015 Fax: (410) 752-2191 Web Site: http://www.cfoc.org $8.00 plus $4.25 shipping and handling; prepayment required.

Keywords: Abstinence, Audiovisual materials, Educational materials, Posters, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This unpublished document contains a set of 4 teaching modules: (1) Ethnicity and Healthy Birth Outcomes; (2) Ethnicity and Genetic Disease; (3) Culture and AIDS Prevention in Adolescents; and (4) Using the Internet in Maternal and Child Health. Each of the modules contains lesson objectives; a suggested reading list followed by a section of summaries; and suggested assignments and class presentations geared towards the objectives discussed at the beginning of each module. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Maryland School of Social Work, Center for Maternal and Child Health Social Work Education, 525 West Redwood Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 706-7533 Fax: (410) 706-6046 Web Site: http://cmchswe.umaryland.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Ethnic factors, Internet, MCH training, Maternal health

Annotation: This activity booklet is designed to help children between the ages of nine and twelve learn about healthy vision. It includes a variety of games and activities to help children learn about eye disease, eye safety, and first aid for eye injuries.

Contact: National Eye Institute, , 31 Center Drive, MSC 2510, Bethesda, MD 20892-2510, Telephone: (301) 496-5248 Fax: (301) 402-1065 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nei.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Educational materials, Eye care, Learning activities, Materials for children, Vision

Annotation: This activity booklet is designed to help children between the ages of six and eight learn about healthy vision. It includes a variety of games and activities to help children learn about eye disease, eye safety, and first aid for eye injuries.

Contact: National Eye Institute, , 31 Center Drive, MSC 2510, Bethesda, MD 20892-2510, Telephone: (301) 496-5248 Fax: (301) 402-1065 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nei.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Educational materials, Eye care, Learning activities, Materials for children, Vision

Annotation: This toolkit is for midwives, doulas, and other childbirth educators to introduce newborn screening into midwifery practices and into nontraditional settings including childbirth education classes. Brochures, videos, and other educational materials are provided for the states of New York, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia. Links to resources for national audiences are provided from the March of Dimes, the Health Services and Resources Administration, Genetic Alliance, and the Save Babies Through Screening Foundation. Materials are available in English and Spanish, with items from Pennsylvania available in Chinese, French, Portuguese, Vietnamese, and Russian.

Contact: Wadsworth Center for Laboratories and Research, NYS Department of Health, Empire State Plaza, P.O. Box 509, Albany, NY 12201-0509, Telephone: (518) 474-2160 Web Site: http://www.wadsworth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth education, Educational materials, Genetic screening, Midwifery, Midwives, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This activity book provides information about keeping children’s teeth healthy. It includes information about brushing, flossing, avoiding sugary foods and drinks, eating fruits and vegetables daily, and visiting the dentist. Activities for children, such as coloring pages, dot-to-dots, and a song, are also included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Coloring books, Dental hygiene, Educational materials, Nutrition, Oral health

Annotation: This lunch box provides parents with information about oral health and healthy eating choices and practices. The lunch box is illustrated with drawings that promote good oral health and good nutrition and contains a “Dental Care in a Carrot” case made to include a toothbrush, toothpaste, dental floss, and a rinse cup. Ordering information; downloadable files, including a description of the program, a 5-day lesson guide for teachers, and an outline of the lessons; a video about the program; and other supplemental materials are available on the website. The lunch box is also available in Braille.

Contact: Children's Oral Health Institute, 9199 Reisterstown Road, Suige 203A, Owings Mills, MD 21117, Telephone: (866) 508-7400 Fax: (410) 356-8574 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mycohi.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Educational materials, Health literacy, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs

Annotation: These tools, which are designed for teachers and caregivers, can be used to teach children about good oral health. Tools include lessons plans for grades 2–4, activity sheets, posters and flyers about choosing healthy drinks, science activity cards from grades K–4, and oral health brochures. A list of other resources is included. Some of the tools are available in Spanish.

Contact: Delta Dental Plan of Michigan, 4100 Okemos Road, Okemos, MI 48864, Web Site: https://www.deltadentalmi.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Educational materials, Oral health, School age children, Spanish language materials, Teaching

Annotation: This digital toolkit provides information and resources to help adolescent health partners reduce the use of e-cigarettes among middle- and high-school students. It includes a review of the different types of e-cigarettes and their harmful health effects; describes actions that key adult influencers can take to help end the e-cigarette epidemic, and provides free media and communication resources and ideas to help reach parents, educators, and health care providers. Included are fact sheets, sample health advisories, a sample newsletter article/blog post, digital and social media materials. and free materials for use in print, radio and television.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Educational materials, Media campaigns, Smoking cessation, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: This website describes The Real Cost Cigarette Prevention Campaign--the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's youth tobacco prevention campaign aimed at ages 12-17. The site explains how the campaign works, provides research on the campaign's effectiveness, and links to quitting resources for youth. Free campaign posters and video advertisements are also available.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20993, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-3100 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Educational materials , Media campaigns, Smoking Cessation, Substance use prevention, Youth

Annotation: This activity book offers parents an interactive way to talk to children ages 3–8 about how to care for their teeth. The book includes coloring activities, a tooth maze, a search-and-find activity, a connect-the-dots activity, and a "great job" certificate. Activities focus on brushing, flossing, visiting the dentist, and drinking water and eating healthy foods.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Activity books, Consumer education materials, Educational materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention

Annotation: This Digital Wellness Guide is designed to provide parents and caregivers with information and guidance based on clinical evidence and scientific research. In it, we discuss both the benefits and risks of digital media use and provide strategies for parents and caregivers of children from birth through young adulthood.

Contact: Boston Children's Hospital Digital Wellness Lab, Boston Children's Hospital, 300 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 355-5420 Secondary Telephone: (617) 355-9477 Fax: (617)730-0004 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://digitalwellnesslab.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Educational materials, Infant development, Infants, Interactive media, Technology, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: This guide provides information about workflow and configuration for the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Topics include logic, specifications, and documentation; best practice workflow; configuring required data elements in the EClinicalWorks (eCW) electronic health record; and additional support. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Educational materials, Fluoride, Health services, Oral heath, Prevention, Risk assessment, Statistical data

Annotation: This resource summarized the health equity framework developed by the Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health Community Care Initiative (AIM CCI) and provides access to a racial equity series (RELS) comprised of seven web based learning modules. Each module contains topic information, activities, and a short, scored quiz designed to build upon the former module. Topics include acknowledgement and acceptance of racism, institutional transformation, and personal/systemic change. A fact sheet about the modules, answers to frequently asked questions, and a user's leadership manual can be downloaded from the website.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected]

• Link

Keywords: Educational materials, Health equity, Racial factors, Racism, Training materials

Annotation: This toolkit includes COVID 19–related oral health teaching resources for health professions faculty to use in classroom, simulation, and clinical settings. Resources include a case study of individuals across the life span with oral health issues related to the COVID-19 pandemic, a fact sheet about caring for teeth during the pandemic, a fact sheet about addressing problems with braces during the pandemic, a reference list of peer-reviewed articles and open-source publications that highlight the links between oral health and COVID-19, and a slide deck for integrating a COVID-19 oral-systemic health perspective into presentations.

Contact: Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice, 433 First Avenue, Sixth Floor, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: (212) 992-7023 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ohnep.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , COVID-19, Disease transmission, Educational materials, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Orthodontics, Virus diseases

Annotation: This toolkit provides information about collaborative dental hygiene practice, dental therapy, and medical-dental integration. Each topic includes links to relevant subtopics and includes tutorials, videos, templates, and other tools. A resource library is included, with links to educational resources. A video with information about the toolkit as a whole is also included.

Contact: Normandale Community College 21st Century Dental Team, 9700 France Avenue South, Bloomington, MN 55431, Web Site: https://www.normandale.edu/mndentalteam Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Dental hygiene, Educational materials, Oral health, Service integration

Annotation: This resource guide is designed to help health professionals, program administrators, educators, and others understand the benefits of integrating oral health care into primary care and to provide information about how to implement oral health care integration in materials, programs, and systems of care. The guide describes materials, such as briefs, curricula, fact sheets, guidelines, manuals, papers, reports, and videos, that reflect current science and practice as well as seminal resources. Descriptions of and contact information for relevant organizations is also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Educational materials, Oral health, Primary care, Resources for professionals, Service integration

Annotation: This study involved 27 hospitals in Connecticut that provided information/instruction to improve safe sleeping environments for newborns to their patients, as required by state legislation passed in 2015. Although the materials provided by 26/27 (96%) of hospitals was consistent with the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Guidelines, the rates of positional asphyxia did not decrease after legislation was passed.

Contact: Springer Publishing Company, 11 West 42nd Street, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10036, Telephone: (877) 687-7476 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.springerpub.com/

• Link

Keywords: Asphyxia, Connecticut, Educational materials for parents, Hospital programs, SIDS, Safe sleep, State legislation, Suffocation

Annotation: This health education program guide is designed to help teachers integrate oral health into an existing curriculum for students in grades 2–3. The program uses a standards-based approach to cover core learning objectives that can be adapted to classroom needs. The guide contains developmentally appropriate lesson plans designed to challenge children to take responsibility for their own oral health. Ideas for getting parents and other family members involved with the topic of oral health are included throughout the guide. Additional program components include a video featuring two cartoon dentists who have mentored a group of children to become Tooth Defender "superheroes;" a storybook; a poster; and a parent take-home.

Contact: Colgate Bright Smiles, Bright Futures™, 300 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: (800) 468-6502 Secondary Telephone: (212) 310-2000 Web Site: https://www.colgate.com/en-us/mission/oral-health-commitment/bsbf Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Educational materials, Elementary schools, Oral health, School health education, School health programs

Annotation: This curriculum for dental and dental hygiene students provides information on perinatal and infant oral health care. The modules cover oral health during pregnancy, infant oral health, the age 1 dental visit, and how to be a lifelong learner. The modules are designed to be integrated into a dental hygiene program curriculum. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Educational materials, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women