Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper reports a survey to make the Mount Zion Hospital and Medical Center, Comprehensive Child Care Project Staff knowledgeable and able to support all expressions of concern with substantive information. The survey among a sample of project families attempted to delineate the family's housing situation in regard to space, safety and sanitation; the nutritional status in regard to availability of food, shopping practices and dietary intake; and the children's educational placement and experiences in school and the parents' perception of the schools. The survey is also designed to document the adequacy and effectiveness of existing social services and agencies in the community to deal with these problems. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Educational factors, Federal MCH programs, Housing, Nutritional status, Program evaluation, Social services, Surveys, Title V programs

Annotation: This unpublished document contains a set of 4 teaching modules: (1) Ethnicity and Healthy Birth Outcomes; (2) Ethnicity and Genetic Disease; (3) Culture and AIDS Prevention in Adolescents; and (4) Using the Internet in Maternal and Child Health. Each of the modules contains lesson objectives; a suggested reading list followed by a section of summaries; and suggested assignments and class presentations geared towards the objectives discussed at the beginning of each module. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Maryland School of Social Work, Center for Maternal and Child Health Social Work Education, 525 West Redwood Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 706-7533 Fax: (410) 706-6046 Web Site: http://cmchswe.umaryland.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Ethnic factors, Internet, MCH training, Maternal health

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about oral health among pregnant women in Texas. Data presented is from the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The fact sheet explains why taking care of teeth and gums during pregnancy is safe and important. It also provides the percentage of pregnant women in the state who did not visit a dentist during pregnancy because the did not think it was safe to do so; the percentage who had a dental cleaning during pregnancy; and the likelihood of receiving a dental cleaning for white, black and Hispanic pregnant women. The fact sheet is written in simple language.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website. Document Number: OHIP-112.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Data, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, Safety, State information, Texas

Annotation: This brief provides key findings from the State of Oral Health Equity in America 2024 Survey, a nationally representative survey of over 9,000 adults’ attitudes, experiences, and behaviors related to oral health. Information is included about dental visits in the past year by home-ownership status, planned dental visits in the coming year by income level, emergency department visits for oral health care by educational attainment, having a dental home by health insurance status, self-rated oral health by sexual orientation, importance attached to cultural humility in oral health care by race, and importance attached to diversity in oral health care by income level.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior, Cultural competence, Dental care, Educational attainment, Emergency medical services, Health equity, Health insurance, Income factors, Oral health, Sexual identity, Surveys

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health in Alabama. It offers background information as well as information on the following topics: geographic and demographic characteristics of Alabama's population, oral health of the population, systemic health and oral health, oral health protective factors, and oral health workforce and education.

Contact: Alabama Department of Public Health, Oral Health Office, Family Health Services Bureau, RSA Tower, 201 Monroe Street, Suite 1350, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 206-5675 Secondary Telephone: (334) 206-2950 Web Site: https://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/oralhealth/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alabama, Demography, Geographic factors, Health education, Oral health, Protective factors, State information, Work force

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help health and early childhood professionals working in community settings (e.g., Head Start, home visiting, WIC staff) promote oral health in the course of promoting general health for infants, children, and their families. Topics include tooth decay, risk factors, and prevention; oral health risk assessment and oral health screening; and anticipatory guidance for parents. Each of the four modules includes an overview, learning objectives, key points, a post-test, and resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Child care providers, Child health, Curricula, Dental caries, Distance education, Families, Head Start, Health personnel, Infant health, Oral health, Parents, Prevention, Risk factors, Screening, WIC program

Annotation: This fact sheet presents questions to help parents determine whether their child is at high risk for tooth decay and provides suggestions for treating tooth decay in the child. It also offers tips for parents to prevent tooth decay in their child, including brushing with fluoridated toothpaste, not putting the child to bed with any food or drinks other than water, making sure the child drinks fluoridated water, limiting sugary foods and drinks, giving the child only water to drink between meals, and scheduling regular dental visits beginning at age 1.

Contact: North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Oral Health Section, 2001 Mail Service Center, 5505 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27699-2001, Telephone: (919) 855-4800 Fax: (919) 870-4805 Web Site: https://www.dph.ncdhhs.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Infant health, Oral health, Prevention, Risk factors, Young children

Annotation: This brief provides information about the role of oral health in maternal mortality and preterm birth. It includes statistics on the number pregnant women who died of pregnancy-related causes and on the percentage of infants born prematurely in 2019 and in 2020. Background information on both issues is presented, and comparisons by race and ethnicity and educational attainment are offered.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Educational factors, Ethnic factors, Oral health, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Racial factors

Annotation: This resource summarized the health equity framework developed by the Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health Community Care Initiative (AIM CCI) and provides access to a racial equity series (RELS) comprised of seven web based learning modules. Each module contains topic information, activities, and a short, scored quiz designed to build upon the former module. Topics include acknowledgement and acceptance of racism, institutional transformation, and personal/systemic change. A fact sheet about the modules, answers to frequently asked questions, and a user's leadership manual can be downloaded from the website.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link

Keywords: Educational materials, Health equity, Racial factors, Racism, Training materials

Annotation: This assessment of Idaho's oral health workforce is divided into three sections. Section 1 discusses Idaho's current oral health workforce and includes information on characteristics of Idaho, access to oral health care, supply and distribution of dentists and dental hygienists, and education and training. Section 2 discusses Idaho's ability to provide oral health care to populations that are underserved and includes information about those populations, health professional shortage areas, access to oral health care by geographic location, Idaho's Medicaid workforce, and community outreach and initiatives. Section III discusses the future of Idaho's workforce and provides information about workforce projections, opportunities for workforce advancement, and workforce planning.

Contact: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Oral Health Program, P.O. Box 83720, 450 West State Street, Boise, ID 83720-0036, Telephone: (800) 926-2588 Web Site: https://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/health-wellness/healthy-infants-children/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Community outreach, Geographic factors, Health education, Idaho, Medicaid, Oral health, State information, State initiatives, Training, Work force

Annotation: This pamphlet, which is geared toward American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) parents, provides information about how to prevent sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), especially among AI/AN infants, among whom the incidence of death from SIDS is particularly high. The brochure offers tips on sleep position, sleep surfaces, and other factors that can affect the risk for SIDS, and explains the reasoning behind each recommendation.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• 2020 Edition
• 2009 Edition

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Alaska Natives, American Indians, High risk infants, Infant health, Prevention, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This report presents data on Delawareans’ oral disease burden, risk behaviors contributing to that burden, and state efforts to improve oral health. It identifies oral health disparities related to race, ethnicity, income level, and educational attainment. It also identifies other factors impacting oral health, such as an insufficient number of oral health professionals in the state and a lack of dental insurance coverage among Medicaid-eligible adults. In addition, it provides oral health measures and benchmarks that stakeholders can use to develop oral-health-related priorities and interventions and to measure progress toward state and federal objectives.

Contact: Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of Public Health, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4700 Secondary Telephone: (888) 459-2943 Fax: (302) 739-6659 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Data, Delaware, Educational factors, Ethnic factors, Health care utilization, Income factors, Medicaid, Oral health, Racial factors, State information

Annotation: This report describes prenatal Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) receipt in the United States in 2016 by state and by maternal age, race and Hispanic origin, and education. For each topic, key points are provided, and bar graphs illustrate statistical information.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Educational factors, Hispanic Americans, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition programs, Pregnant women, Prenatal nutrition, Racial factors, Statistical data, WIC program

Annotation: This brief defines toxic stress from a community perspective and presents a framework for a community approach to addressing toxic stress, nested within the broader context of working toward healthy development and well-being. The brief also provides examples of how communities are taking action and recommendations for next steps to promote and further develop comprehensive approaches to toxic stress in communities across the country. Strategies for parents and caregivers; service providers; and multisystem, community partners and policymakers are included.

Contact: Center for the Study of Social Policy, 1575 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 371-1565 Fax: (202) 371-1472 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cssp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Child development, Child health, Communication, Communities, Community action, Community based services, Community role, Coordination, Early childhood, Families, Health education, Leadership, Models, Organizational change, Parents, Policy development, Protective factors, Social change, Stress, Systems development, Young children

Annotation: This website provides information about the risks electronic cigarette (e-cigarette) use poses to youth and young adults, as well as resources for expanding and sharing knowledge about e-cigarettes and their impact on young people. Contents include the Surgeon General's report on the use of e-cigarettes by youth and young adults and information about the role of parents, health care professionals, and others in preventing harm and reducing young people's exposure to e-cigarettes. Resources include a fact sheet focusing on trends and heath risks, a quiz, a parent tip sheet, a health care provider conversation card, and responses to frequently asked questions. The fact sheet, tip sheet, and conversation card are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adverse effects, Beliefs, Communication, Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Federal initiatives, Marketing, Public awareness campaign materials, Risk factors, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Tobacco, Trends, Young adults

Annotation: This website provides information and resources for health care professionals, pregnant women, and others about zika virus disease. Contents include data; information for specific population groups; communication resources such as videos, fact sheets, posters, and infographics; and scientific resources including links to information collections by publisher, emergency bulletins, links to U.S. and international governmental resources, and a biomedical literature search tool. Topics include symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment; prevention; transmission and risks; areas with zika; and vector surveillance and control.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Brain diseases, Communicable disease control, Congenital abnormalities, Consumer education materials, Diagnosis, Disease prevention, Disease transmission, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Public awareness materials, Research, Resource materials, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Therapeutics, Virus diseases

Annotation: This annual statistical summary provides information on the health, education, safety, and economic security of children in Utah. The introduction includes general demographic information about the state and presents a long-range view of what factors contribute to a family's well-being. Analytical essays are included for each category of data reviewed and the statistics are presented in tables by county with state totals. This publication continues "Key Facts," which was published between 1990 and 1994.

Contact: Voices for Utah Children, 747 East South Temple, Suite 100, Salt Lake City, UT 84102, Telephone: (801) 364-1182 Secondary Telephone: (877) 445-2447 Fax: (801) 364-1186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.utahchildren.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Child safety, Children, Data, Demographics, Education, Family economics, Health status, Socioeconomic factors, Utah

Annotation: These resources provide information on oral health throughout life. Selected topics include tips for good oral health during pregnancy, dental emergencies, nutrition, oral health for older adults,dental sealants, and silver diamine fluoride. For each topic, linns to resources for more information are provided. The resources are available in Arabic, Cantonese , English, Hmong, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: MedlinePlus, U.S. National Library of Medicine, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medlineplus.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Other Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Fluoride, Men, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Research, Risk factors, Sealants, Spanish language materials, Statistical data, Women

Annotation: This guide for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Nutrition Education and Obesity Prevention Grant Program (SNAP-Ed) administrators, evaluators, and others identifies and explains the indicators, outcome measures, and preferred methodologies for tracking success; developing state- and local-level objectives; and reporting program results. Contents include outcome indicators relevant to individuals, environmental settings, sectors of influence, population results, and social norms and values.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Disease prevention, Economic factors, Food consumption, Food habits, Intervention, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition education, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program evaluation, Program improvement, State programs, Weight management

Annotation: This report presents a framework for educating health professionals to address the conditions in which people are born, grow, work, live, and age, as well as the wider set of forces and systems shaping the conditions of daily life including economic policies, development agendas, cultural and social norms, social policies, and political systems. Contents include theoretical constructs and examples of programs and frameworks addressing elements of the social determinants of health. The framework aligns education, health, and other sectors to meet local needs in partnership with communities.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Continuing education, Cultural diversity, Evaluation, Evidence based medicine, Health occupations, Inclusive schools, Mentors, Model programs, Models, Professional education, Public health education, Sociocultural factors, Socioeconomic factors, Training, Work force