Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report presents recommendations to strengthen the primary care workforce for young adults with medical complexity (YAMC) by promoting and increasing the supply of well-prepared adult primary care physicians for YAMC transitioning to adult care. Included is an overview of the YAMC population and the current care landscape, including health workforce and financing consideration. The recommendations were developed by a national advisory committee established by the National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health/Got Transition and the George Washington University Fitzhugh Mullan Institute for Health Workforce Equity.

Contact: George Washington University , Fitzhugh Mullan Institute for Health Workforce Equity , 2175 K Street, NW, Suite 250, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-3423 Web Site: https://www.gwhwi.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Primary care, Professional education, Professional training, Program improvement, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This report summarizes activities and outcomes from a project to integrate and implement preconception care into clinic and community settings. Contents include information about the project's progress toward meeting the goal and objectives, future plans, and dissemination. Topics include reframing and diversifying messages; launching a consumer-facing campaign; partnering with preconception peer educators; implementing a pregnancy intention screening tool; engaging, training, and providing technical assistance to clinics and health care systems; and catalyzing change by convening meetings. Environment, challenges, opportunities, collaboration and observations are discussed.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, Old Clinic Building, Room 3018, Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Telephone: (919) 843-7865 Fax: (919) 843-7865 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/ Available from the website.

• Word Document
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinics, Communication, Community based services, Men', National initiatives, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Peer education, Preconception care, Prevention programs, Program development, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Reproductive health, Screening, Service integration, Technical assistance, Training, Women', s health, s health

Annotation: This executive summary provides an overview of the Healthy Futures: Engaging the Oral Health Community in Childhood Obesity Prevention National Conference and key findings. It also presents a list of proposed strategies for preventing childhood obesity in the following areas: research, dental students’ education and training, oral health professionals’ continuing education and training, advocacy/policy, consumer-based education interventions, interprofessional collaboration, and reimbursement. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Education and training, Interventions, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, Research, Young children

Annotation: This special supplement includes articles prepared for the Healthy Futures: Engaging the Oral Health Community in Childhood Obesity Prevention National Conference. The articles discuss the science related to preventing childhood obesity and reducing children’s consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages and strategies that oral health professionals and organizations can employ to prevent childhood obesity. The articles examine (1) the science related to preventing childhood obesity, (2) the science related to reducing children’s consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages or sugar-containing beverages, and (3) strategies that could be employed by oral health professionals and organizations and others to prevent childhood obesity.

Contact: Wiley , 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: E-mail: https://www.wiley.com/en-us/contact Web Site: http://www.wiley.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Education and training, Interventions, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, Research, Young children

Annotation: This guide provides a series of six lessons for use by instructors in institutions of higher education who are responsible for professional teacher preparation programs in health education, and in preservice courses that focus on improving health education curriculum selection and instruction. An introduction provides instructors with a synopsis of the guide, the intended outcomes of the lessons, a description of the lesson format, and essential actions to take in preparing to implement the lessons. Lessons 1–5 introduce students to the knowledge and skills prerequisite for analyzing a written single or multiple grade-level health education curricula, and then using those skills to analyze a curriculum. In lesson 6, students apply the elements of the Health Education Curriculum Analysis Tool (HECAT) to develop their own health education unit plans for use in the classroom.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop K-29, Atlanta, GA 30341-3724, Telephone: 800-232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Curriculum development, Outcome and process assessment, Preservice training, Program improvement, Program planning, School health education, School health programs, Teachers

Annotation: This guide accompanies an online course designed to integrate the theory, research literature, and evidence-supported practices that promote optimal population health outcomes in maternal and child health (MCH). Contents include course objectives and a description of the course structure, an historical overview of MCH and Title V, and eight modules. Topics include the Affordable Care Act and health reform, access to care, implementing interventions to improve population health outcomes, change management, quality in public health, understanding systems, system performance, and synthesis. An example course schedule, participant baseline and final assessments, final project, and bibliography are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Teachers of Maternal and Child Health, 1720 2nd Avenue South, Ryals 310G, Birmingham, AL 35294-0022, Telephone: (205) 975-0531 Fax: (205) 934-3347 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.atmch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Curricula, Distance education, Health care reform, Information systems, MCH programs, MCH services, MCH training, Management, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Professional education, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Systems development, Title V

Annotation: This paper provides information on how health centers can partner with academic institutions or dental residency programs to offer service learning programs at health centers and thereby foster interest in health center careers among future health professionals. The paper explores different collaboration models and provides suggestions about issues for health centers to consider when deciding whether to launch service learning programs. Topics include the benefits of partnership, educational models, planning considerations, successful partnerships, challenges, and recommendations.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Careers, Collaboration, Community health centers, Internship and residency, Model programs, Oral health, Professional education, Professional training, Public private partnerships, Work force

Annotation: This white paper focuses on options for improving medical education and training in topics such as nutrition and physical activity that have an important role to play in the prevention and treatment of obesity and chronic disease. The paper describes recent efforts to address gaps in knowledge and skills, and offers recommendations for further progress.

Contact: Bipartisan Policy Center, 1225 Eye Street NW, Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 204-2400 Fax: (202) 318-0876 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://bipartisanpolicy.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Medical education, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Training

Annotation: This policy guide addresses the elements that the Food Safety and Modernization Act of 2010 requires be included in the federal voluntary guidelines that the act directs the Secretary of Health and Human Services to develop in partnership with the Secretary of Education. The guide focuses on the rationale for policy; the essential partnership of schools, families, and health professionals in supporting individual student needs; the need for planning and training to respond to food allergy-related emergencies; the value of communication and education for all parents, students, and school personnel; and the importance of a coordinated, systemic approach that reflects best practice for chronic life-threatening conditions. It includes a checklist for schools to assess the extent to which this guide’s components are included in food allergy policy and implemented in practice, as well as examples of state and local education policies.

Contact: National School Boards Association, 1680 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 838-6722 Fax: (703) 683-7590 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nsba.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-88364-314-3.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Communication, Education, Emergencies, Families, Food allergies, Health policy, Legislation, Policy development, Program coordination, Public policy, Safety, School age children, School health, Training

Annotation: This draft plan, provided for comments and feedback, consists of the vision and the goals and objectives of the Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Bureau for the 21st century. The document outlines goals including assuring a workforce that possesses the knowledge, skills, and attitudes to meet unique MCH population needs; providing a workforce that is culturally competent and family centered; improving practice through interdisciplinary training in MCH, developing effective MCH leaders; generating, translating, and integrating new knowledge to enhance MCH training, inform policy, and improve health outcomes; and developing broad-based support for MCH training.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Family centered services, MCH training, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Professional education, Professional personnel, Professional training, Strategic plans

Annotation: This training manual, designed for pediatric residents and other graduate students in helping professions, promotes the attitudes, skills, and knowledge required for providing family-centered services, specifically through interprofessional collaboration. The purpose of the training is to make participants aware of the positive value of family-centered, collaborative care and of professionals' role in providing such care. The concepts contained in the manual derive from two major schools of thought with regard to serving families: (1) family-centered care is the most effective care because families have opportunities to participate in decisions about their child's health care and education and (2) interprofessional collaboration recognizes that professionals interdependently—rather than independently—meet the multiple priorities and diverse needs of families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Hawaii Medical Association, Health and Education Collaboration Project, 1360 South Beretania Street, Second Floor, Honolulu, HI 96814, Telephone: (808) 536-7702 Contact Phone: (808) 536-7702 Ext. 2224 Fax: (808) 528-2376 E-mail: [email protected] Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Curricula, Early childhood educators, Families, Family centered services, Graduate education, Hawaii, Interdisciplinary collaboration, Internship and residency, Manuals, Nurses, Pediatricians, Personnel, Professional education, Service delivery, Social workers, Special education, Students, Teachers, Training

Annotation: This training manual, designed for pediatric residents and other graduate students in helping professions, promotes the attitudes, skills, and knowledge required for providing family-centered services, specifically through interprofessional collaboration. The purpose of the training is to make participants aware of the positive value of family-centered, collaborative care and of professionals' role in providing such care. The concepts contained in the manual derive from two major schools of thought with regard to serving families: (1) family-centered care is the most effective care because families have opportunities to participate in decisions about their child's health care and education and (2) interprofessional collaboration recognizes that professionals interdependently—rather than independently—meet the multiple priorities and diverse needs of families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Hawaii Medical Association, Health and Education Collaboration Project, 1360 South Beretania Street, Second Floor, Honolulu, HI 96814, Telephone: (808) 536-7702 Fax: (808) 528-2376 E-mail: [email protected] Out of print.

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Curricula, Early childhood educators, Families, Family centered services, Graduate education, Hawaii, Interdisciplinary collaboration, Internship and residency, Manuals, Nurses, Pediatricians, Personnel, Professional education, Service delivery, Social workers, Special education, Students, Teachers, Training

Annotation: This project surveyed interdisciplinary training programs for health personnel serving people with disabilities. The aim was to describe innovative programs that encouraged interdisciplinary, integrated approaches in education, which would lead to effective cooperation in working with the patients. The literature review included training to work with disabled people of all ages from infants to the elderly, different disabilities, and university- or community-based, preservice and inservice training. The project emphasized team care, with collaboration and communication, and focused on nine programs, which are studied further in the full report.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Room 415F, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-6445 Secondary Telephone: (202) 690-7858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://aspe.hhs.gov/ Available from the website. Document Number: PIC ID No. 6052.

• Link
• Scanned Copy

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Continuing education, Developmental disabilities, Health professionals, Interdisciplinary training, Professional training, Service coordination

Annotation: This summary report describes first eight years of the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau training programs in Behavioral and Developmental Pediatrics (BDP), which started in 1986 with grants to eleven medical school and hospitals. The report includes chapters about the following: components of the educational program; types of training received by medical students and pediatric residents; evaluations of the program by current fellows; professional accomplishments of former fellows; academic productivity of program faculty; postgraduate education; new programs initiated; and the impact of fellowship programs. The concluding summary is an argument for continuation of the program as an cost-effective investment in our nation's future. Appendices include: BDP Training Program components; fellowship evaluation forms summary; and a compilation of publications by program faculty and fellows. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Curricula, Developmental pediatrics, Federal grants, Fellowships, Internship and residency, MCH training programs, Medical education, Medical students, Pediatricians, Pediatrics, Productivity, Professional education, Professional training, Program evaluation, Publications, Research methodology, Statistics

Annotation: This report assesses the progress the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS) program has made in 1) serving an increasingly larger portion of the Aid to Families with Dependent Children caseload, especially those who are at risk of long welfare stays, and 2) ensuring that program participants get work and leave Aid to Families with Dependent Children. It combines the preliminary results from several studies currently being conducted with findings from previously published GAO reports and other current research.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-95-28.

• PDF

Keywords: Aid to Families with Dependent Children, Employment, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), Vocational education, Welfare reform

Annotation: This report focuses on the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS) program, which was created in 1988 to strengthen work requirements in the Aid to Families with Dependent Children program. The report provides an overview to the JOBS program, considers examples of employment-focused programs, notes that most programs do not focus strongly on employment, and cites factors that prevent program administrators from placing participants in positions. Appendices include federal rules governing work activities for recipients, a sample of questionnaire, a description of the methodology used to gather information, and comments from the Administration for Children and Families.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-95-113.

• PDF

Keywords: Aid to Families with Dependent Children, Employment programs, Federal programs, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), Program evaluation, Vocational education

Annotation: This report presents the findings from an survey of 39 states about the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS) program. Specifically, the survey attempted to determine what statistics were being kept on the adolescent parent participants, and the effects of the program. The appendices include a copy of the survey instrument, and more detailed reports from three states, Tennessee, Massachusetts, and Florida.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org $5.00 plus $3.00 shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Demographics, Employment programs, Family Support Act, Federal legislation, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), State programs, Statistics, Surveys, Vocational education

Annotation: This report presents the findings of a random sampling of adolescent parents in 16 states who were receiving Aid to Families with Dependent Children and were also participating in the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS) program. It includes information on the states' efforts to enroll adolescent mothers in the JOBS program and to help them complete their secondary education so they can obtain employment, the approaches the states have used to serve adolescent parents in the JOBS program, and barriers that have kept the adolescent parents from completing their education. The report describes the scope and methodology, provides selected characteristics of the study group and the JOBS services reviewed, and includes a sample of the questionnaire. The results are given in brief, and in detail; and policy recommendations are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HRD-93-74.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mothers, Adolescent parents, Education, Federal programs, Job Opportunities and Basic Skills Training (JOBS), Program evaluation, State programs, Statistics, Surveys, Vocational education, Welfare programs, Welfare services

Annotation: This directory lists 112 federal programs and 35 federally supported clearinghouses and information centers whose activities are relevant to school health. Each entry provides information on the area of emphasis, target groups, program profile, materials, and information contact.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol use, Child development, Child nutrition, Children, Clearinghouses, Comprehensive programs, Counseling, Curricula, Driver education, Federal government, Federal programs, Health and safety education, Health promotion, Media campaigns, Nutrition programs, Physical fitness, Resources for professionals, Safety, School based clinics, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School health services, School nursing, Substance abuse, Training, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This report outlines the key problems resulting from deficiencies in emergency medical services for children (EMSC) in the United States, and the major goals of EMSC development. It presents specific issues which must be addressed in planning EMSC: education, financing, data collection, injury prevention, quality assurance, and rehabilitation. Sections include: History of Emergency Medical Services for Children; A Systems Approach to Care; Education and Training of Professionals and the Public; Rehabilitation: Meeting the Challenge; Injury Prevention: Strategies for Change; Quality Improvement: A Continuum of Responsibility; Data Collection and Analysis: A Collaborative Effort; Financing Emergency Medical Services for Children: Identifying Resources; The Year of the Child in Emergency Medical Services; and The Medical Home: Closing the Circle of Care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE010.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Data, Education, Emergency medical services for children, Injury prevention, Rehabilitation, Research methodology, Training, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau