Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (26 total).

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Food and Drug Administration. n.d.. Classroom help from the Food and Drug Administration. Rockville, MD: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 1 p.

Annotation: This publication list highlights the free educational materials available from the Food and Drug Administration for use in the classroom. The materials cover related health and nutrition issues, such as acne, anabolic steroids, snacking, and weight loss. A teacher's kit on health fraud with five lesson plans also is listed.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Single photocopies available at no charge.

Keywords: Eating disorders, Health promotion, Reyes syndrome, Scoliosis, Septic shock, Skin diseases

Kolander CA, Ballard D, Chandler C. 2011. Contemporary women's health: Issues for today and the future (4th ed.). New York, NY: McGraw Hill, 462 pp.

Annotation: Presented in five parts, this textbook for health and community services professionals and the general public focuses on women's health issues throughout the life cycle with each chapter including a summary, review questions, resource listings and references. Contents include: pt. 1. Foundations of women's health : Introducing women's health ; Becoming a wise consumer ; Developing a healthy lifestyle -- pt. 2. Mental and emotional wellness : Enhancing emotional well-being ; Managing the stress of life -- pt. 3. Sexual and relational wellness : Building healthy relationships ; Exploring women's sexuality ; Designing your reproductive life plan ; Preventing abuse against women -- pt. 4. Contemporary lifestyle and social issues : Eating well ; Keeping fit ; Using alcohol responsibly ; Making wise decisions about tobacco, caffeine, and drugs -- pt. 5. Communicable and chronic conditions : Preventing and controlling infectious diseases ; Preventing and controlling chronic health conditions ; Reducing your risk of cancer.

Contact: McGraw-Hill Companies, PO Box 182604, Columbus, OH 43272, Telephone: (877) 833-5524 Fax: (614) 759-3749 E-mail: customer.service@mcgraw-hill.com Web Site: http://www.mcgraw-hill.com $72.80. Document Number: ISBN 0-8151-0626-2.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alternative medicine, Behavior modification, Caffeine, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Communicable diseases, Consumer education, Contraceptives, Depression, Developmental stages, Domestic abuse, Drug abuse, Eating disorders, Gynecology, Holistic health, Interpersonal relations, Life cycle, Lifestyle, Nutrition, Parenting, Pregnancy, Self esteem, Smoking, Stress management, Weight management, Women's health

National Institute of Mental Health. 2011. Eating disorders. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Mental Health, 10 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information about eating disorders. The document explains what eating disorders are; discusses the different types of eating disorders including anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, and binge-eating disorder; explains how eating disorders are treated, and discusses how males are affected and what is being done to better understand and treat eating disorders.

Contact: National Institute of Mental Health, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Bethesda, MD 20892-9663, Telephone: (866) 615-6464 Secondary Telephone: (301) 443-8431 Fax: (301) 443-4279 E-mail: nimhinfo@nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nimh.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 11-4901.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent females, Adolescent males, Anorexia nervosa, Bulimia, Child behavior, Eating disorders, Female children, Male children, Treatment

Austin SB, Ziyadeh NJ, Forman S, Keliher A, Jacobs D. 2011. Eating disorders referral rates improved by community-led nationwide screening in U.S. high schools. Wellesley Hills, MA: Screening for Mental Health, 7 pp.

Annotation: This report provides results from a pilot evaluation conducted by 51 U.S. high schools to assess the effects of a community-led, nationwide screening initiative on school rates' of student referral for eating disorder symptoms. Contents include information about the methods and a discussion of referral rates from pre- to postscreen and reasons reported by females and males for not seeking help. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Screening for Mental Health, One Washington Street, Suite 304, Wellesley Hills, MA 02481, Telephone: (781) 239-0071 Fax: (781) 431-7447 E-mail: smhinfo@mentalhealthscreening.org Web Site: http://www.mentalhealthscreening.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Community participation, Eating disorders, High schools, National initiatives, Program evaluation, Referrals, Screening

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. [2009]. Women's mental health: What it means to you. Washington, DC: Office on Women's Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 16 pp.

Annotation: This booklet discusses the unique mental health needs of women and girls and provides tips on recognizing signs of mental problems and where to seek help. Topics include the continuing stigma related to mental illness or disorders, adolescent suicide prevention, eating disorders, pregnancy and postpartum depression, menopause, trauma, violence, and abuse. A resource guide lists agencies and organizations as well as helplines.

Contact: National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information, Telephone: (800) 729-6686 Secondary Telephone: (800) 487-4889 Web Site: http://ncadi.samhsa.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Abuse, Adolescent mental health, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Eating disorders, Hotlines, Maternal mental health, Mental disorders, Postpartum depression, Suicide prevention, Trauma, Violence, Women's health

Pekruhn C. 2009. Preventing childhood obesity: A school health policy guide . Alexandria, VA: Center for Safe and Healthy Schools, National Association of State Boards of Education, 24 pp.

Annotation: This policy guide, directed to schools, quantitatively and qualitatively overviews the childhood obesity epidemic, provides rationale for obesity prevention programs to policy-makers at all government levels, suggests policies to promote physical education and activity in schools, recommends policies to promote nutrition and healthy eating, and submits additional policies to follow the implementation of the author's primary recommendations.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website, also available for $12 plus $4.50 shipping and handling..

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent nutrition, Child nutrition, Eating disorders, Health education, Nutrition education, Obesity, Public policy, School breakfast programs, School lunch programs, Schools, Weight management

Rosen Publishing Online. 2009. Teen health and wellness: Real life, real answers . New York, NY: Rosen Publishing Online,

Annotation: This Web site provides students with curricular support and self-help on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more. Users can subscribe for a fee or use a 3-day free trial. Sample articles on anorexia nervosa, asthma, and decision making are available.

Contact: Rosen Publishing Group, 29 East 21st Street, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (800) 237-9932 Fax: (888) 436-4643 Web Site: http://www.rosenpublishing.com/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Alcohol consumption, Drug use, Eating disorders, Families, Food, Grief, Mental health, Nutrition, Relationships, Safety, World Wide Web

National Institute of Mental Health. 2009. Treatment of children with mental illness: Frequently asked questions about the treatment of mental illness in children. [Rev. ed.]. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Mental Health, 6 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet, which is geared toward parents, addresses common questions about diagnosis and treatment options for children with mental illnesses, including anxiety disorders, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, autism spectrum disorders, bipolar disorders, depression, eating disorders, and schizophrenia. A list of resources for more information is included.

Contact: National Institute of Mental Health, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Bethesda, MD 20892-9663, Telephone: (866) 615-6464 Secondary Telephone: (301) 443-8431 Fax: (301) 443-4279 E-mail: nimhinfo@nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nimh.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 09-4702.

Keywords: Anxiety, Attention deficit disorder, Autism, Bipolar disorder, Child health, Child health, Depression, Depression, Diagnosis, Eating disorders, Mental disorders, Mental health, Schizophrenic disorders, Treatment

Melnyk BM, Moldenhauer Z, eds. 2006. The KySS (Keep Your Children/Yourself Safe and Secure) guide to child and adolescent mental health screening, early intervention, and health promotion. Cherry Hill, NJ: National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners, 273 pp., 2 CD-ROMs.

Annotation: This book, which focuses on mental health screening and early intervention and mental health promotion for children and adolescents, covers the following topics: (1) assessing and screening for common mental health problems, (2) diagnosing, managing, and preventing mental health disorders, (3) anxiety disorders, (4) attention deficit hyperactivity disorders, (5) eating disorders, (6) grief and loss, (7) mood disorders, (8) marital separation and divorce, (9) maltreatment, (10) sexuality, (11) substance abuse, (12) violence, (13) reimbursement, and (14) brief interventions. Each chapter contains summaries, checklists, questionnaires for parents and youth in English and Spanish, information on other tools, and resources. Some chapters include DSM-IV criteria for specific problems. An index is included.

Contact: National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners, 20 Brace Road, Suite 200, Cherry Hill, NJ 08034, Telephone: (856) 857-9700 Fax: (856) 857-1600 E-mail: info@napnap.org Web Site: http://www.napnap.org $50.00, pus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Anxiety, Attention deficit disorder, Child mental health, Divorce, Early intervention, Eating disorders, Grief, Health promotion, Maltreated children, Mental disorders, Prevention, Questionnaires, Reimbursement, Screening, Sexuality, Spanish language materials, Substance abuse, Violence

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2005. Bodywise handbook: Eating disorders information for middle school personnel. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 21 pp.

Annotation: This handbook provides information specifically directed to adults who work with students in grades 5-7 addressing the signs and symptoms of eating disorders, steps to take when concerned about students, and ways to create a school environment that discourages disordered eating. It also discusses how eating disorders and disordered eating impact learning, mental and physical health issues, the importance of early detection, and how members of all ethnic and cultural groups are vulnerable. Definitions of conditions are provided and teaching materials included.

Contact: National Women's Health Information Center, 8270 Willow Oaks Corporate Drive, Fairfax, VA 22031, Telephone: (800) 994-9662 Secondary Telephone: (888) 220-5446 Fax: (703) 560-6598 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Anorexia nervosa, Behavior disorders, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Educational materials, Feeding disorders, Middle schools

Wood B, Bean G, Baber K, Bujno L, Laflamme D, Kiely M. 2005. Supporting New Hampshire youth, moving toward a healthier future: New Hampshire's Adolescent Health Strategic Plan. Concord, NH: New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Maternal and Child Health Section, 53 pp., exec. summ. (8 pp.).

Annotation: This strategic plan provides the foundation for a synchronized and integrated framework to improve adolescent health in New Hampshire and efficiently and effectively allocate resources. The strategic plan discusses (1) development during adolescence, (2) adolescent health snapshots (including issues such as socioeconomic status and health, access to health care services, oral health, mental health, and physical activity), (3) guiding principles, (4) recommendations and objectives, and (5) national and state resources. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the plan. The plan includes five appendices: (1) technical notes, (2) critical health objectives, (3) risk and protective factors in the lives of adolescents, (4) the Search Institute's list of developmental assets, and (5) reference list.

Contact: New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Maternal and Child Health, 29 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03301, Telephone: (603) 271-4517 Secondary Telephone: (800) 852-3345, x4517 Fax: (603) 271-4519 Web Site: http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/bchs/mch/index.htm Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Eating disorders, Financing, Injury, Mental health, New Hampshire, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, State initiatives, Statewide planning, Strategic plans, Underserved communities

Stang J, Story M, eds. [2004]. Guidelines for adolescent nutrition services. Minneapolis, MN: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Leadership, Education and Training Program in Maternal and Child Nutrition, 1 v.

Annotation: This book, which is geared toward health professionals and educators on nutrition and adolescent pregnancy, focuses on the biological, psychosocial, and cognitive changes that begin during puberty and continue through adolescence, which directly affect nutritional status and nutrient needs. Topics include adolescent growth and development; understanding adolescent eating behaviors; nutrition needs of adolescents; nutrition, screening, and intervention; nutrition education and counseling; promoting healthy eating and physical activity behaviors; the overweight adolescent; the underweight adolescent; iron deficiency anemia; hyperlipidemia; hypertension; eating disorders; body image and adolescents; diabetes mellitus: type 1 and type 2; reproductive health issues; sports nutrition; vegetarian eating patterns; and adolescents with special health care needs. Some of the information is presented in tables. One appendix containing a list of food sources of vitamins and minerals is included.

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent nutrition, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents with special health care needs, Body image, Diabetes mellitus, Eating disorders, Food habits, Health promotion, Hyperlipidemia, Hypertension, Intervention, Iron deficiency anemia, Nutrition counseling, Nutrition education, Nutritional requirements, Nutritional status, Obesity, Physical activity, Puberty, Reproductive health, Screening, Sports, Underweight, Vegetarianism

Story M, Stang J, eds. 2000. Nutrition and the pregnant adolescent: A practical reference guide. Minneapolis, MN: University of Minnesota, Center for Leadership, Education, and Training in Maternal and Child Nutrition, 247 pp.

Annotation: This book focuses on clinical application of current knowledge on adolescent pregnancy emphasizing assessment, management, counseling approaches, and strategies to promote dietary change and adequate weight gain. It is written for health professionals and educators involved in the care of pregnant adolescents. Topics covered include adolescent development, nutritional needs and eating behavior, nutrition assessment, interviewing, counseling, prenatal education, and postpartum care.

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Contact E-mail: kosiak@epi.umn.edu Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHM035.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent pregnancy, Eating behaviors, Feeding disorders, Interviews, Nutrition, Nutrition assessment, Postpartum care, Pregnancy counseling, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant adolescents, Prenatal education

Seltzer VL, Pearce WH, eds. 2000. Women's primary health care: Office practice and procedures. (2nd ed.). New York, NY: McGraw Hill, 1216 pp.

Annotation: This book is intended to assist the clinician in providing lifelong preventive and primary care to women in the office setting. It is organized into eight parts and contains many tables, references, and an index. Topics include the social context of women's health, prevention, health care needs over the course of life, reproductive health and disorders, office diagnostic procedures, psychiatric and psychosocial issues and societal violence, general health, drug therapies and interactions, ethics for the practitioner, risk management, alternative medicine, and patient education in the office.

Contact: McGraw-Hill Companies, PO Box 182604, Columbus, OH 43272, Telephone: (877) 833-5524 Fax: (614) 759-3749 E-mail: customer.service@mcgraw-hill.com Web Site: http://www.mcgraw-hill.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-07-058044-8.

Keywords: Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Diabetes, Diagnosis, Domestic violence, Eating disorders, Ethics, Life cycle, Lung diseases, Medical records, Mental health, Patient education, Pregnancy, Prevention, Reproductive health, Screening, Social factors, Sports injuries, Substance abuse, Women's health

Komro KA, Stigler MH. 2000. Growing absolutely fantastic youth: A review of the research on "best practices". Minneapolis, MN: Konopka Institute for Best Practices in Adolescent Health, 42 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a review of approaches for the promotion of healthy youth development. Topics include family, school, and community interventions for adolescent health-related behaviors in alcohol, tobacco, and other drug use; behaviors related to motor-vehicle occupant injuries; violent and delinquent behavior; suicide; risky sexual behaviors; eating behaviors; and physical activity. The report includes a chart on risk and protective factors in the family and home, school, and community, and concludes with references grouped by topics.

Contact: Konopka Institute for Best Practices in Adolescent Health, Department of Pediatrics, Division of Adolescent Health and Medicine, University of Minnesota, 717 Delaware Street SE, Third Floor West, Minneapolis, MN 55414-2959, Telephone: (612) 625-7137 Secondary Telephone: (800) 276-8642 Fax: (612) 626-2134 E-mail: konopka@umn.edu Web Site: http://www.konopka.umn.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Community programs, Drug use behavior, Eating disorders, Health promotion, Intervention, Prevention, Research reviews, Risk taking, Safety, Smoking, Suicide, Violence, Youth development

Strasburger VC, Brown RT. 1998. Adolescent medicine: A practical guide (2nd ed.). Boston, MA: Little, Brown and Company, 514 pp.

Annotation: This book provides information on communication, diagnosis, and therapy for adolescent patients. The authors emphasize the role of the caregiver as a sensitive counselor when interacting with adolescent patients. It is a straightforward and practical reference which presents a review of the most commonly encountered adolescent issues, including: growth and development, chronic illness and disability, substance abuse, sexuality, common medical complaints, adolescent psychosocial concerns such as suicide, depression and eating disorders.

Contact: Little, Brown and Company, Hatchette Book Group USA, 237 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (800) 759-0190 E-mail: customer.service@hbgusa.com Web Site: http://www.hatchettebookgroupusa.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent medicine, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Asthma, Behavior problems, Chronic fatigue syndrome, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Contraception, Depression, Diabetes mellitus, Eating disorders, Headaches, Homosexuality, Infectious mononucleosis, Menstruation, Mental health, Obesity, Pregnant adolescents, Psychosexual development, Sexually transmitted diseases, Sports injuries, Sports injuries, Substance abusers, Suicide, Thyroid diseases, Urinary tract infections

Schoen C, Davis K, Collins KS, Greenberg L, Des Roches C, Abrams M. 1997. The Commonwealth Fund survey of the health of adolescent girls. New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund, 41 pp., 6 fact sheets.

Annotation: This study reports a survey of adolescent girls' health. The survey was conducted by Louis Harris and Associates under the guidance of the Commonwealth Funds' Commission on Women's Health. Fifth through twelfth grade girls and boys at 265 schools participated. The survey covered the issues of abuse and violence, mental health, health and risky behaviors, access to health care, and communication with physicians and other health care professionals. Information is presented in text and charts. Fact sheets about eating disorders, risky behaviors, abuse and violence, mental health, and access to health care are included.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Contact Phone: (212) 535-0400 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: info@cmwf.org Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescent mental health, Eating disorders, Health surveys, Physical abuse, Sexual abuse, Statistics

Hyman,JW, Rome ER, and Boston Women's Health Book Collective. 1996. Sacrificing our selves for love : why women compromise health, and self-esteem-- and how to stop. Freedom, CA: Crossing Press, 230 pp.

Annotation: This book discusses women's willingness to risk their health as a result of three intertwined forces: the caring attitude that characterizes many women; centuries of subordination; and cultural traditions about how to look, behave, and be treated. Part one topics include eating disorders and how to obtain help, cosmetic surgery and its repercussions, accepting yourself and body imaging. Part two talks about living in abusive relationships, intimate abuse/battering, rape, and how to get help. The third part covers sexuality, reproductive and sexually transmitted diseases, and guidelines for safer sex. An annotated notes section, a resources listing, and an index are provided.

Contact: Ten Speed Press, Crossing Press, P.O. Box 7123, Berkeley, CA 94707, Telephone: (510) 559-1600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 841-2665 Fax: (510) 559-16299 Web Site: http://www.tenspeed.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-89594-743-9.

Keywords: Abuse, Battered women, Consumer education materials, Eating disorders, Plastic surgery, Psychosocial factors, Rape, Reproductive health, Self esteem, Sexually transmitted diseases, Women's health

Blumenthal SJ, ed. 1994. Papers and abstracts from the symposium on women's mental health: Issues for the 90s. Journal of Women's Health 3(6):453-497,

Annotation: This reprint contains papers and abstracts focusing on various issues in women's mental health. The papers were originally prepared for a symposium at the American Psychiatric Association's annual meeting in San Francisco, May 25, 1993. The papers focus on gender differences as a contributing factor to other conditions such as: the effect of gender differences on the incidence and prevalence of mental disorders, on the biological and psychosocial factors, on treatment, and on the cause of those differences; on the relations between gender and personality development and psychopathology; on women and depression; on panic disorders and women; and on eating disorders.

Keywords: Conferences, Depression, Eating disorders, Gender bias, Mental disorders, Mental health, Panic disorder, Personality development, Sex role, Treatment, Women

Marks J. 1992. We have a problem: A parent's sourcebook. New York, NY: HarperCollins Publishers, 518 pp.

Annotation: This book is a collection of case histories on difficult situations parents can face. Each chapter consists of a vignette on a specific topic followed by a counselor's response. Chapters focus on adoption, bereavement, divorce, family illness, eating problems, child sexual abuse, physical differences, sleep disturbances, social adjustment, illness, substance abuse, rape, and assault. The stories in the book appeared originally in the We Have a Problem column in Parents Magazine.

Contact: HarperCollins, 10 East 53rd Street, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: (212) 207-7000 Contact Phone: (800) 331-3761 Web Site: http://www.harpercollins.com $5.99.

Keywords: Adoption, Bereavement, Child sexual abuse, Children, Coping, Counseling, Disease, Divorce, Eating disorders, Mental health, Parenting skills, Rape, Self esteem, Substance abuse, Violence

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.