Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This project aimed to reduce the incidence of poor health characteristics among low-income, culturally diverse populations by promoting the involvement of primary care physicians (pediatricians) in early screening and intervention. Project goals included increasing the level of preventive health care for underserved children, reducing the severity of psychosocial problems, increasing physicians' sense of involvement as part of a team in providing services to project children and their families, and demonstrating a practical process for accomplishing these goals which can be replicated across the nation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152833.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatrics, Child Abuse and Neglect Preventive, Continuing Education, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, EPSDT, Hawaiians, Health Care, Health Supervision Guidelines, High risk children, Low income groups, Medicaid, Primary Care, Psychological Problems, Well Child Care

Annotation: The project goal was to decrease the infant mortality rate in the target area to the national average by the end of the 3-year project period. The impact objective was to decrease the incidence of low birthweight to 6.5 percent and continue that downward trend to meet the U.S. Surgeon General's goal of 5 percent by the year 2000, and to increase Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment screenings to 80 percent of eligible children. The process objectives were to develop a one-stop perinatal and pediatric health facility, to draw St. Tammany Parish women into early prenatal care through aggressive outreach, and to develop a program of education and community support for indigent families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121875.

Keywords: EPSDT, Infant Mortality, Low Birthweight, Motor Vehicle Crashes, One Stop Shopping, Prenatal Care, Unintentional Injuries

Annotation: This Action Plan is between the New York State Department of Health and the New York Office of Medicaid Management. It documents the state of New York's response to legislation in Title V and Title XIX of the Social Security Act requiring state Title V programs and Medicaid agencies to develop an interagency agreement to work together. The objective of this agreement is to provide: (1) access to health insurance for every New Yorker, (2) comprehensive, high quality and accessible medical services for every New Yorker, (3) a medical home for every New Yorker, (4) non-discriminatory provision of assistance, and of medical services, to Medicaid applicants and recipients, (5) delivery of all services to Medicaid applicants and recipients in a culturally and language appropriate manner, (6) an increase in the public's awareness of Title V and Title XIX services available to them, and (7) coordination of services delivery, to ensure services will be provided without duplication of effort, or fragmentation.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: NY.1.1.

• PDF

Keywords: EPSDT, Cooperative agreements, Interagency cooperation, Medicaid, New York, State MCH programs, State agencies

Annotation: This workbook provides definitions of the vocabulary of the EPSDT program, feedback exercises for the students to complete, reasons why EPSDT should be marketed, what diseases or abnormalities are screened for, content of the usual screening examination, a chart of how the EPSDT program works, techniques for arousing the client's interest, and a final self assessment exercise. Answers to the exercises are provided.

• Link

Keywords: Case management, EPSDT, Training

Annotation: This interim report covers the first nine months of a two-year study of data collected by the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) program in southeastern Pennsylvania, dealing primarily with a description of a large secondary data set. It describes the program, eligibles and clients, and providers. Also included are a project abstract, a review of some of the relevant literature on other studies of EPSDT projects, and the research design.

• Link

Keywords: EPSDT, Pennsylvania, Reports, State programs

Annotation: This document provides data related to several EPSDT studies in Iowa, Mississippi, New Jersey, Montana, Utah, Virginia, Louisiana, and California.

• Link

Keywords: EPSDT, Program evaluation, State programs

Annotation: This chartbook presents Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Form CMS-416 annual data submitted by states for federal fiscal years 2015 to 2019. This form measures states’ efforts to ensure that children who are eligible for services, including oral health services provided through the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) program, receive these services. The chartbook includes background and provides an overview of EPSDT, describes the scope of EPSDT, and presents EPSDT reporting requirements.

Contact: National Health Law Program, North Carolina Office, 1512 E. Franklin St., Suite 110, Chapel Hill, NC 27514, Telephone: (919) 968-6308 Fax: (919) 968-8855 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, EPSDT, Forms, Medicare, Oral health, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This guide is designed to support state-level planning, action, and innovation aligned with the goals of the Pediatrics Supporting Parents initiative, using a framework that stretches from promotion to screening to prevention to early intervention and treatment. It covers the essential power of Title V and Medicaid partnership, promoting social-emotional development in pediatric primary care, state opportunities for using Title V and Medicaid/EPSDT to promote social-emotional development and mental health, learning from current state actions, and family engagement. It is accompanied by a matrix that provides charts of specific actions that Title V and Medicaid programs can take to achieve these goals.

Contact: Center for the Study of Social Policy, 1575 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 371-1565 Fax: (202) 371-1472 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cssp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Child health, EPSDT, Emotional development, Medicaid, Primary care, Social factors, Title V programs

Annotation: This checklist was developed as a tool to assist states in completing Form CMS-416 (the annual Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment [EPSDT] program report) and help them improve the accuracy, completeness, consistency, and documentation of data reported for federal fiscal year (FFY) 2019. The checklist includes common issues noted in the data reported for FFY 2018 and earlier years.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: EPSDT, Forms, Medicaid, Oral health, State materials, Statistical data

Annotation: This document describes various pathways to financing systems of care for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN). Topics addressed include Medicaid coverage, Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment, inequities in coverage and financing, financial hardship experienced by families raising CYSHCN and the importance of forming partnerships to advance financing and health coverage.

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, EPSDT, Financing, Medicaid

Annotation: This tutorial provides an overview of Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), populations these programs serve, changes the programs are undergoing under health care transformation, and opportunities to improve services for children with special health care needs (CSHCN) through communication and collaboration with Medicaid and CHIP staff. The tutorial begins with an overview of how definitions of CSHCN may vary by agency or program, followed by major topic areas, including recommendations for Title V programs to build successful partnerships with public insurance programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Children with special health care needs, Children', EPSDT, Financing, Health care reform, Medicaid, Oral health, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, Title V programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This toolkit for pediatric dentists offers guidance on providing care to children enrolled in Medicaid within a practice setting. Topics include understanding Medicaid, Medicaid coverage for dental services, why dentists should consider participating in Medicaid, and how to become a Medicaid provider. Additional topics include how to prepare a pediatric dental team to work with the Medicaid system, how to schedule clients, how to find training opportunities for team members, how to administer Medicaid, and how to locate resources.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aapd.org/research/policy-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental care, EPSDT, Medicaid, Oral health, Pediatric care, Pediatric dentistry, Pediatric dentists, Provider participation, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This revision of the National Standards for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs has been created to increase the readability and ease of use of the first version of the National Standards while also maintaining their integrity and essential content. It builds upon the critical domains, elements, and standards from the original National Standards work (Version 1.0), while streamlining content for easier use by states and stakeholders. It covers Family Professional Partnerships and Insurance and Financing as foundational standards that should exist in any system that serves CYSHCN, and is divided into eight domains: (1) identification, screening, assessment, and referral; (2) eligibility and enrollment in health coverage; (3) access to care; (4) medical home; (5) community-based services and supports; (6) transition to adulthood; (7) health information technology; and (8) quality assurance and improvement.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Draft Tools

Keywords: Adolescents, EPSDT, Health care systems, Measures, National initiatives, Quality assurance, Special health care needs, Standards: Children, Young adults

Annotation: This report describes the extent to which children enrolled in Medicaid in four states (California, Indiana, Louisiana, and Maryland) received pediatric oral health services in 2011 and 2012. The report also describes barriers and strategies to increase access in these states. Contents include background, methodology, findings, recommendations, and conclusions. Topics include the percentage of children who did not receive required oral health services and percentage of those who did not receive all required oral health services, policies that may limit children's ability to receive required services, shortages of dentists who participate in Medicaid, and challenges in educating families about the importance of oral health care.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, c/o U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Public Affairs, Cohen Building, Room 5541, 330 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-1343 Fax: (202) 260-8512 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://oig.hhs.gov Available from the website. Document Number: OEI-02-14-00490.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children, Dental care, EPSDT, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Indiana, Louisiana, Maryland, Medicaid, Oral health, Parent education, Policy development, State programs, Utilization review, Work force

Annotation: This newsletter describes the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) program and opportunities for school districts to significantly expand the range of health care services, including oral health services, available to students from families with low incomes. Topics include the importance of having sufficient numbers and types of health professionals participating in Medicaid programs in their area, how providing Medicaid services in schools can help to address children's and adolescents' unmet health care needs, and federal guidance on Medicaid reimbursement for services that are provided at no charge (previously known as the Free Care Rule).

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental care, EPSDT, Health care financing, Health care reform, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Reimbursement, School age children, School districts, Work force

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and nurses about their role in and responsibility for supporting the oral health of infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 20 who are eligible for Minnesota’s Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment program. The fact sheet discusses requirements for the visit, personnel training, and documentation of counseling and referral; provides recommendations for oral health risk assessment and fluoride-varnish application; and explains why preventive oral health care is important. Anticipatory guidance, professional recommendations, and resources are included.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Child and Teen Checkups Program, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882, Telephone: (651) 201-3760 Web Site: https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/childrenyouth/ctc/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Anticipatory guidance, Children, EPSDT, Fluorides, Infants, Medicaid, Minnesota, Oral health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Referrals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training

Annotation: This guide introduces the basic elements of Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) service provision and claiming to practitioners of the Positive Parenting Program (Triple P), a multi-level evidence-based parent training program that is uniquely suited to addressing child behavioral health concerns at the population level and is intended to be implemented as a public health intervention. The guide provides an overview of Medicaid, EPSDT, and Triple P and describes how Triple P goals align with EPSDT, how Triple P activities fit into EPSDT service provision, and how to document Triple P services for EPSDT claiming. Documentation examples are included. A companion billing crosswalk is also available.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)
• Billing Crosswalk

Keywords: Children, EPSDT, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Medicaid, Mental health, Model programs, Parent education programs, Preventive health services, Public health programs, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This document is designed to assist practitioners in claiming Positive Parenting Program (Triple P) services under the Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit program. Contents include a session-by-session crosswalk between all of the claimable levels of Triple P and the appropriate Medicaid billing codes. It is intended to be used in conjunction with the EPSDT Guide for Triple P Practitioners.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)
• Guide For Practitioners

Keywords: Children, EPSDT, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Medicaid, Mental health, Model programs, Parent education programs, Preventive health services, Public health programs, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This brief explores issues affecting state Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) and Children's Health Insurance Program officials who implement medical necessity policy, and new and emerging issues that may affect state EPSDT policy in the future. Topics include determining medical necessity, setting parameters for medical necessity, using evidence to define medical necessity, and managing medical necessity and managed care.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Children, Children', EPSDT, Medicaid managed care, Needs assessment, Policy development, Special health care needs, State legislation, Utilization review, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find care, services, and support and websites about Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services in Medicaid. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bibliographies, Child health supervision, Consumer education materials, Developmental screening, EPSDT, Electronic publications, Families, Medicaid