Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This poster shows a woman in a long white dress looking at her reflection in a pool. She is pregnant and her reflection holds a healthy baby.

Contact: American Council for Drug Education, , 50 Jay Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201, Telephone: (718) 222-6641 Secondary Telephone: ( Contact Phone: (301) 294-0600 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acde.org/ Out of print.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Drugs, Infant health, Posters, Teratology

Annotation: This practice guidance provides an overview of pain management for dental procedures for women of reproductive age. It discusses pharmacological considerations for pregnant women (pharmaceutical agents and indications, contraindications, and special considerations), neonatal opioid withdrawal syndrome, guidelines for providing opioids, managing acute dental pain, and guidelines for discharging women with opioid prescriptions. Information about prescription drug monitoring programs is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Drug addiction, Guidelines, Narcotics, Neonatal abstinence syndrome, Oral health, Pain relieving drugs, Pregnant women, Prescription drugs

Annotation: This document provides guidance on opioids for oral health professionals. It includes information about assessing children and adolescents, drugs to recommend before prescribing opioids, prescribing opioids with caution and being aware of the potential for misuse or abuse, and understanding laws, policies, and recommendations. The document also discusses providing post-operative instructions and creating a safe, friendly environment. Information about prescription-drug-monitoring programs and managing acute oral pain are included, along with tips for dentists to share with parents and an overview of research. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Drug abuse, Narcotics, Oral health, Pain, Prescription drugs, Prevention

Annotation: This statement provides data related to reducing opioid prescribing by oral health professionals and highlights policies and strategies, including the introduction, adoption, and promotion of prescribing guidelines by the American Dental Association and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Also discussed are state requirements for dentist participation in prescription drug monitoring programs, continuing education for oral health professionals related to pain management, and inclusion of pain-management approaches in dental education. The statement also highlights how state oral health programs have identified and engaged in promising and effective approaches related to opioid prescription practices.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental education, Health policy, Narcotics, Oral health, Pain management, Prescription drugs, Public policy, State programs

Annotation: This systematic review was conducted to support the United States Preventive Services Task Force in updating its 2014 recommendation on daily low dose aspirin use during pregnancy for individuals at increased risk for preeclampsia. The report reviewed updated evidence on the effectiveness and potential harms of daily aspirin use during pregnancy to prevent morbidity and mortality associated with preeclampsia. Data sources included MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase, and the Cochrane Collaboration Registry of Controlled Trials; results were limited to studies published between January 2013 and July 2019. The reviewed studies showed that daily aspirin use in pregnancy for individuals at increased risk for preeclampsia consistently led to beneficial effects on perinatal mortality, preterm birth, fetal growth restriction, and preeclampsia diagnosis.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Pregnant women, Drugs, Evidence based medicine, High risk groups, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Preeclampsia, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcomes, Preventive health services

Annotation: This issue brief is a call to action for maternal and child health (MCH) professionals to be leaders in designing and implementing public health approaches to minimize the potential harms of perinatal cannabis (marijuana) use. The brief describes trends in Cannabis use among pregnant people, addresses the changing policy landscape, and discusses the racial implications of criminalizing the use of drugs among pregnant people and mothers. State MCH program approaches to help prevent eprinatal cannabis use are included.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Cannabis, Illicit drugs, Marijuana, Maternal health, Models, Perinatal care, Pregnancy, Prevention, Substance use

Annotation: These guidelines for prescribing opiods in dental practices in Pennsylvania, which update guidelines published in 2014, address the use of opioids for the treatment of oral pain. The guidelines are intended to help oral health professionals improve patient outcomes. Topics include recommendations for treatment of acute, subacute, and post-operative pain and treatment of chronic pain.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic pain, Guidelines, Narcotics, Oral health, Pain, Pain relieving drugs, Pennsylvania, State information

Annotation: This infographic provides information about trends in the percentages of opioids prescribed by dentists to individuals with private dental insurance between 2010 and 2015. Total percentages are provided, as well as percentages by age group. Information about days’ supply and quantities of pills prescribed by dentists to individuals with private insurance for 2010–2015 is also presented.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute

• PDF

Keywords: , Narcotics, Oral health, Oral health care, Prescription Drugs, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This document provides recommendations for the management of opioid use for pregnant women, including pregnant women with opioid-use disorder, and for care of the opioid-exposed newborn. Topics include clinical recommendations, health-systems and policy recommendations, definitions, and resources and collaborative approaches.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division , 800 NE Oregon Street, Portland , OR 97232, Telephone: 971-673-0252 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (503) 947-2341 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.oregon.gov/OHA/PH/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Narcotics, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Prescription drugs, State programs, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

Annotation: This report presents summary information on Medicaid coverage and financing of medications to treat alcohol and opioid use disorders (MAT). It discusses issues including prior authorization, innovative approaches to financing and delivering MAT, state considerations for covering MAT (including efficacy, costs, regulations, and policies), and innovative models and best practices.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: HHS SMA-18-5093 .

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol dependence, Drugs, Health care financing, Medicaid, Opiates, Substance abuse treatment

Annotation: This referral form for health professionals to fill out provides information that pregnant women can bring to their next dental appointment. The form includes blanks to fill in the woman’s name, date of birth, estimated delivery date, and known allergies and boxes to check indicating what types of oral health care are acceptable for the woman to receive and whether there are any precautions to note. Also included are boxes to check indicating pain medications and antibiotics that are safe for the woman. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Antibiotics, Dental care, Drugs, Oral health, Pregnant women

Annotation: This report presents findings, conclusions, and recommendations from case reviews of overdose poison deaths among infants, children, and adolescents up to age 17 in Virginia for the five year period between 2009 and 2013. Topics include how overdose is impacting infants and children and their families in Virginia, which children are at risk, where are they at risk, how are they at risk, and what can be done to further promote health and safety in their lives. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Office of the Chief Medical Examiner, 400 East Jackson Street, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 786-3174 Fax: (804) 371-8595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/medical-examiner Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Case studies, Child death review, Child safety, Children, Health promotion, High risk groups, Household safety, Infants, Injury prevention, Opiates, Poisoning, Prescription drugs, Virginia

Annotation: This document for dentists provides guidelines on prescribing opioids. Appropriate dosages, types of medication to prescribe, prescribing refills, using guidelines for pain management, and ensuring that patients know how to secure medication and dispose of leftover medication are discussed. Alternatives to prescribing opioids are presented. Information is included on how to obtain the document in large print, Braille, non- English languages, or other formats.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx

• PDF

Keywords: Guidelines, Medications, Opiates, Pain, Non English language materials, Prescription drugs

Annotation: This guide describes organizations, policy and legislation, prevention programs, publications, and webinars focused on prescription drug overdose prevention among youth and young adults. Contents include descriptions of reports, guides, toolkits, campaigns, website, iinitiatives, and research studies. Each item includes a short description and a link to the resource itself. Information about child safety and neonatal abstinence syndrome are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Drug effects, Infants, Legislation, Multimedia, Neonatal abstinence syndrome, Policy development, Prescription drugs, Resource materials, Resources for professionals, Safety, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse prevention programs, Young adults

Annotation: This report examines overall drug overdose death rates during 2010-2015 and opioid overdose death rates during 2014–2015 by subcategories (natural/semisynthetic opioids, methadone, heroin, and synthetic opioids other than methadone). Rates are stratified by demographics, region, and by 28 states with high quality reporting on death certificates of specific drugs involved in overdose deaths. Implications for public health practice are included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Chronic pain, Collaboration, Drug addiction, Heroin, Illicit drugs, Methadone, Mortality rates, Opiates, Prescription drugs, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment services

Annotation: This report provides information on how federal agencies have addressed opioid use by pregnant women and neonatal abstinence syndrome (NAS). Topics include federally funded research, federal programs, and other federal agency efforts related to prenatal opioid use or NAS; gaps identified by federal agency officials and experts in efforts to address prenatal opioid use or NAS; and how federal efforts to address prenatal opioid use or NAS are planned and coordinated.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Analgesic drugs, Federal agencies, Infant health, Newborn infants, Prenatal influences, Prevention, Program coordination, Program development, Program planning, Referrals, Research, Screening, Substance use

Annotation: This guide outlines state-level school health policies related to competitive foods and beverages, physical education and physical activity, and administration of medication in the school environment. Contents include a direct link to the policy and information about which political entity or agency adopted the policy or issued guidance.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Drugs, Health policy, Physical activity, Physical education, Policy development, School food services, Schools, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This website provides resources from an initiative to prevent birth defects and improve the health of mothers by identifying alternatives for treatment of common conditions during pregnancy and during the childbearing years. Contents include information and resources for parents and clinicians on medication use before and during pregnancy, and while breastfeeding. Topics include planning for pregnancy, the effects of medications during pregnancy, lists of safe medications during pregnancy, discussing current medications, accidental exposure, and a peer-reviewed database of drugs to which women who are breastfeeding may be exposed.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Breastfeeding, Drug therapy, Drugs, Federal initiatives, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Self medication

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Consumer Guide

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior modification, Children, Interventions, Prescription drugs, Primary care, Recreational drug use, Substance abuse

Contact: Safe Kids Worldwide, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20004-1707, Telephone: (202) 662-0600 Fax: (202) 393-2072 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safekids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Drugs, Families, Grandparents, Injury prevention, Safety, Statistics, Trends, Unintentional injuries, Young children