Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 8 (8 total).

Levi J, Segal LM, De Biasi A, Martin A. 2015. Reducing teen substance misuse: What really works. Washington, DC: Trust for America's Health, 99 pp.

Annotation: This report includes state-by-state youth drug overdose death rates and rankings, and a report card for how well states scored on 10 key indicators of leading evidence-based policies and programs that can improve the wellbeing of children and youth and have been connected with preventing and reducing misuse of alcohol, tobacco or other drugs.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: info@tfah.org Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol consumption attitudes, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Drug use attitudes, Drug use behavior, Health education, Health policy, Prevention programs, Protective factors, Risk factors, Smoking, Tobacco use, Young adults

U.S. Government Accountability Office. 2006. ONDCP media campaign: Contractor's national evaluation did not find that the youth anti-drug media campaign was effective in reducing youth drug use. Washington, DC: U. S. Government Accountability Office, 72 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the effectiveness of the Office of National Drug Control Policy's National Youth Anti-Drug Campaign, which is aimed at preventing the initiation of or curtailing the use of drugs among youth. The report also assesses a multiyear national report of the campaign conducted by Westat, Inc. The report looks at how Westat provided credible support for its findings about attitudes, beliefs, and behaviors of youth and parents toward drug use and youth self-reported drug use. The report also includes results in brief, background information, conclusions, matters for Congressional consideration, and agency comments and evaluation. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. The report includes three appendices: (1) Westat's methods for addressing evaluation implementation issues, (2) comments from the Office of National Drug Control Policy, and (3) GAO contact and staff acknowledgments.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, Campaigns, Children, Drug abuse, Drug use attitudes, Drug use behavior, National programs, Parents, Prevention, Program evaluation, Public policy, Young adults, Youth

Gehlert S, Lickey S, Hope-Wegener D, eds. 1994. Social work research in maternal and child health: Independent projects by master's-level trainees. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago, Maternal and Child Health Training Program, 165 pp.

Annotation: This volume is a collection of reports about five research projects undertaken by social work trainees pursuing their master's degrees. The introduction traces developments in social work that began over a century ago and indicates their correlates in current practices in maternal and child health. The research projects included deal with new practices in integrating pregnancy, sexually transmitted diseases, and HIV education and prevention services; an analysis of early adolescents' perceptions and beliefs about parenting and parenting skills; a study on Latino adolescents' perceptions about how parenthood will affect the course of their lives; an annotated bibliography establishing the current knowledge base on pregnancy and cocaine use; and a study on racial disparities in birth outcomes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Chicago, Maternal and Child Health Training Program, 969 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescents, Child health, Cocaine, Drug use during pregnancy, Educational programs, HIV, Hispanic Americans, Maternal health, Parenting, Parenting skills, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention, Racial factors, Research, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social work, Statistics

Johnston LD, O'Malley PM, Bachman JG, Schulenberg JE. 1993-. Monitoring the Future: National survey results on drug use, 1975-__. Ann Arbor, MI: University of Michigan, Institute for Social Research, annual.

Annotation: These reports are produced annually to present the results of the Monitoring the Future survey which is taken to ascertain the levels of use and attitudes about licit and illicit drugs. Volume 1 contains information on secondary school students; volume 2 covers college students and young adults. Each volume includes a summary of the key findings and provides information on the prevalence of drug use, trends in drug use, and attitudes and beliefs about drugs.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol use, Attitudes, Behavior, College students, Drug abuse, High school students, Recreational drug use, Surveys, Tobacco, Young adults

Rogers PD, ed. 1987. Chemical dependency. Philadelphia, PA: W. B. Saunders Company, 270 pp. (Pediatric clinics of North America; v.34, no. 2)

Annotation: This book contains 18 articles on adolescents and drug and/or alcohol use. The articles were written for physicians who encounter adolescents in their practice. The information is intended to help physicians in their approach to the adolescent who may be abusing psychoactive substances and may, indeed, be chemically dependent.

Contact: Elsevier, Health Sciences Division, 1600 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Suite 1800, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2822, Telephone: (215) 239-3900 Fax: (215) 239-3990 Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent health, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcoholic beverages, Cocaine, Drug dependence, Drug use, Hallucinogens, Marijuana, Narcotics, Screening, Smoking

Polaris Research and Development and Urban and Rural Systems Associates. 1984. Prevention Plus: Involving Schools, Parents, and the Community in Alcohol and Drug Education. Washington, DC: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, 324 pp.

Annotation: This document describes models of community alcohol and drug prevention programs which were presented at Prevention Plus conferences nationwide. Each of the models meets the following criteria: a comprehensive youth alcohol and other drug education program; prevention and early intervention programs are included; prevention approaches are well documented; prevention approaches are state of the art. In addition, this guide contains curriculum information and information about programs for parents and community members. The appendixes include information about model risk programs sponsored by the Centers for Disease Control and other prevention ideas which have been sent to the Department of Health and Human Services in response to the Secretary's Initiative on Teenage Alcohol Abuse.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: contactcenter@gpo.gov Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Alcohol consumption attitudes, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol education, Alcoholic beverages, Alcoholism, Attitudes, Behavior, Drug abuse, Drug addiction, Drug education, Recreational drug use, Substance abuse prevention

Ross Laboratories. 1983. Adolescent substance abuse: Report of Fourteenth Ross Roundtable on Critical Approaches to Common Pediatric Problems. Columbus, OH: Ross Laboratories, 81 pp.

Annotation: This report on Adolescent Substance Abuse resulted from the Fourteenth Ross Roundtable. The program was designed to address the needs of pediatricians, family practitioners, and allied health care workers who deal with adolescents involved in substance use, particularly of alcohol and marijuana.

Contact: Ross Laboratories, Consumer Relations, 625 Cleveland Avenue, Columbus, OH 43215-1724, Telephone: (800) 227-5767 Secondary Telephone: (614) 624-7485 Contact Phone: (614) 227-3333 Web Site: http://www.ross.com

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption attitudes, Alcohol education, Attitudes, Behavior, Drug abuse, Drug addiction, Marijuana, Recreational drug use

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism. Special report to the U.S. Congress on alcohol and health. Rockville, MD: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, triennial.

Annotation: This report describes current progress in research on alcohol abuse and alcoholism. Topics covered include epidemiology, genetics and environment, neuroscience, medical consequences, fetal alcohol syndrome and other effects of alcohol on pregnancy outcome, adverse social consequences, diagnosis and assessment of alcohol use disorders, prevention, early and minimal intervention, and treatment.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: NIAAAweb-r@exchange.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov Available in libraries; some editions available from the web. Document Number: DHHS (ADM) 87-1579 (6th), DHHS (ADM) 90-1656 (7th), DHHS (ADM) 281-91-0003 (8th).

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Age, Alaska natives, Alcohol use, American Indians, Attitudes, Blacks, Blood alcohol concentration, Brain injuries, Codes, College students, Community programs, Costs, Counseling, Crime, Demographics, Domestic violence, Drowning, Drug use, Education, Environment, Epidemiology, Ethnic groups, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Gender, Genetics, Hawaiians, Homeless persons, Industry, Injuries, Intervention, Legislation, Mortality, Motor vehicles, Motorcycles, Older adults, Pedestrians, Pregnant women, Prevention, Psychology, Questionnaires, Race, Railroads, Regulations, Seat belts, Social learning, Trauma

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.