Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 13 (13 total).

Oregon Pregnancy and Opioids Workgroup. 2018. Oregon Pregnancy and Opioids Workgroup recommendations. Salem, OR: Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division, 27 pp.

Annotation: This document provides recommendations for the management of opioid use for pregnant women, including pregnant women with opioid-use disorder, and for care of the opioid-exposed newborn. Topics include clinical recommendations, health-systems and policy recommendations, definitions, and resources and collaborative approaches.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division , 800 NE Oregon Street, Portland , OR 97232, Telephone: 971-673-0252 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (503) 947-2341 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.oregon.gov/OHA/PH/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Narcotics, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Prescription drugs, State programs, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. 2018. Medicaid coverage of medication-assisted treatment for alcohol and opioid use disorders and of medication for the reversal of opioid overdose. Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 113 pp.

Annotation: This report presents summary information on Medicaid coverage and financing of medications to treat alcohol and opioid use disorders (MAT). It discusses issues including prior authorization, innovative approaches to financing and delivering MAT, state considerations for covering MAT (including efficacy, costs, regulations, and policies), and innovative models and best practices.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: HHS SMA-18-5093 .

Link

Keywords: Alcohol dependence, Drugs, Health care financing, Medicaid, Opiates, Substance abuse treatment

Romito L, Mandiwala R. 2014. Tobacco cessation toolkit for Indiana dental practices. Indianapolis, IN: Indiana Dental Association, 93 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit provides information on how oral health professionals can develop a tobacco-cessation-intervention program and outlines key roles for each member of the oral health team. Contents include information about tobacco use and prevalence, risks of tobacco use, secondhand smoke, benefits of cessation, nicotine and the physiology of dependence, tobacco-cessation counseling, pharmacotherapy, insurance coverage and coding, the role of dentists and the dental team, barriers and solutions, and resources.

Contact: Indiana Dental Association, 1319 East Stop 10 Road, Indianapolis, IN 46227, Telephone: (317) 634-2610 Secondary Telephone: (800) 562-5646 Fax: (317) 634-2612 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.indental.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adverse effects, Barriers, Counseling, Dental care, Drug dependence, Health insurance, Indiana, Intervention, Nicotine, Oral health, Program development, Reimbursement, Role, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco use

National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University. 2011. Adolescent substance use: America's no. 1 public health problem. New York, NY: National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University, 406 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about adolescent alcohol consumption and substance abuse, including the abuse of prescription drugs and illegal drugs. The report explains the problem and discusses its magnitude, consequences, messages that promote adolescent substance abuse, adolescent perceptions and expectations,factors that compound or reduce the risk of adolescent substance abuse and addiction, prevention approaches and barriers to improvement, and treatment.

Contact: National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University, 633 Third Avenue, 19th Floor, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 841-5200 Fax: (212) 956-8020 Web Site: http://www.casacolumbia.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol dependence, Alcohol intoxication, Drug addiction, Health promotion, Mass media, Prevention, Substance abuse, Treatment

Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law. 2010. An evaluation of state EPSDT screening tools. Washington, DC: Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 7 pp. (Protecting consumer rights in public systems' managed mental health care policy; no. 3; )

Annotation: This paper reports on tools in use or under development to identify children's mental health and addiction treatment needs, under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) Medicaid mandate. The paper includes a table showing the type of tool used in fifteen states.

Contact: Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 1101 15th Street, N.W., Suite 1212, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 467-5730 Secondary Telephone: (202) 467-4232 Contact Phone: (202) 467-4232 Fax: (202) 223-0409 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.bazelon.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Assessment, Child mental health, Drug affected children, EPSDT, Medicaid managed care, Mental health, Substance dependence

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Office of Applied Studies. 2005. Results from the 2004 National Survey on Drug Use and Health: National findings. Rockville, MD: Office of Applied Studies, U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 292 pp. (National survey on drug use and health series: H-28)

Annotation: This report presents the first information from the 2004 National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), an annual survey of the civilian, noninstitutionalized population of the United States ages 12 or older. This initial report on the 2004 data presents national estimates of rates of use, numbers of users, and other measures related to illicit drugs, alcohol, and tobacco products. Measures related to mental problems are also presented, including data on the co-occurence of substance use and mental problems, and new data on depression among adolescents and adults. A major focus of the report is changes in substance use between 2003 and 2004. A discussion of long-term trends is included in the final chapter. The report, which includes highlights, covers the following main topics: illicit drug use; alcohol use; tobacco use; initiation of substance use; youth prevention-related measures; substance dependence, abuse, and treatment; prevalence and treatment of mental problems; and trends in substance use prevalence. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.The report includes eight appendices: (1) a description of the survey, (2) statistical methods and measurement, (3) research on the impact of changes in NSDUH methods, (4) key definitions, 2004, (5) other sources of data, (6) references, (7) sample size and population tables, and (8) selected prevalence tables.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Drug use behavior, Health, Illicit drugs, Mental health, National surveys, Research, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment, Substance dependence, Tobacco use, Treatment, Trends

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Office of Applied Studies. 2005. Overview of findings from the 2004 National Survey on Drug Use and Health. Rockville, MD: Office of Applied Studies, U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 58 pp. (National survey on drug use and health series: H-27)

Annotation: This brief overview report presents the first information from the 2004 National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), an annual survey of the civilian, noninstitutionalized population of the United States ages 12 or older. This initial report on the 2004 data presents national estimates of rates of use, numbers of users, and other measures related to illicit drugs, alcohol, and tobacco products. Measures related to mental problems are also presented, including data on the co-occurence of substance use and mental problems, and new data on depression among adolescents and adults. A major focus of the report is changes in substance use between 2003 and 2004. A discussion of long-term trends is included in the final chapter. The report, which includes highlights, covers the following main topics: illicit drug use; alcohol use; tobacco use; initiation of substance use; youth prevention-related measures; substance dependence, abuse, and treatment; prevalence and treatment of mental problems; and trends in substance use prevalence. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.The report includes eight appendices: (1) a description of the survey, (2) statistical methods and measurement, (3) research on the impact of changes in NSDUH methods, (4) key definitions, 2004, (5) other sources of data, (6) references, (7) sample size and population tables, and (8) selected prevalence tables.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Office of Applied Studies. 2004. Overview of findings from the 2003 National Survey on Drug Use and Health. Rockville, MD: Office of Applied Studies, U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 42 pp. (National survey on drug use and health series: H-24)

Annotation: This brief overview report presents the first information from the 2003 National Survey on Drug Use and Health, an annual survey of the civilian, noninstitutionalized population of the United States ages 12 or older. A more complete presentation of the initial results of the survey is given in the full report, Results from the 2003 National Survey on Drug Use and Health: National Findings. Both reports present national estimates of rates of use, numbers of users, and other measures related to illicit drugs, alcohol, and tobacco products. Measures related to mental health problems are also included. A major focus of the report is changes in substance use between 2002 and 2003. The report, which includes highlights, covers the following main topics: illicit drug use; alcohol use; tobacco use; trends in initiation of substance use; youth prevention-related measures; substance dependence, abuse, and treatment; and prevalence and treatment of mental health problems. A discussion is also included. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. The report includes one appendix: prevalence estimate tables.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

Health Resources and Services Administration, Bureau of Primary Health Care. 1998. The Healing Place: Strategy transfer guide—Models that work. Bethesda, MD: Health Resources and Services Administration, Bureau of Primary Health Care, 27 pp.

Link

Keywords: Alcohol dependence, Awards, Drug addiction, Health promotion, Homeless persons, Homelessness, Kentucky, Model programs, Models That Work, Primary care, Public private partnerships, Shelters, Underserved communities

Health Resources and Services Administration, Bureau of Primary Health Care. 1997. MOM's Project: Strategy transfer guide—Models that work. Bethesda, MD: Health Resources and Services Administration, Bureau of Primary Health Care, 34 pp.

Link

Keywords: Alcohol dependence, Awards, Drug abuse, HIV, Health promotion, Massachusetts, Model programs, Models That Work, Prevention programs, Primary care, Public private partnerships, Risk management, Sexual behavior, Substance abusing pregnant women, Underserved communities

Harris LS, ed. 1995. Problems of drug dependence,1994: Proceedings of the 56th Annual Scientific Meeting, the College on Problems of Drug Dependence. Rockville, MD: National Institute on Drug Abuse, 2 v. (NIDA Research Monograph series 152 and 153)

Annotation: This monograph is based on papers or presentations from the 56th Annual Scientific Meeting of the College on Problems of Drug Dependence. It is highly clinical in nature and covers many different aspects of drug dependence and substance abuse including behavior, treatment, policy, impact, and health issues. Volume 1 contains plenary sessions and annual reports, and Volume 2 contains abstracts.

Contact: National Institute on Drug Abuse, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 5213, MSC 9561, Bethesda, MD 20892-9561, Telephone: (301) 443-1124 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.nida.nih.gov Available in libraries. Document Number: NIH 95-3882.

Keywords: Drug abuse, Drug dependence, Drug effects, Drug use behavior, Medical research, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

Rogers PD, ed. 1987. Chemical dependency. Philadelphia, PA: W. B. Saunders Company, 270 pp. (Pediatric clinics of North America; v.34, no. 2)

Annotation: This book contains 18 articles on adolescents and drug and/or alcohol use. The articles were written for physicians who encounter adolescents in their practice. The information is intended to help physicians in their approach to the adolescent who may be abusing psychoactive substances and may, indeed, be chemically dependent.

Contact: Elsevier, Health Sciences Division, 1600 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Suite 1800, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2822, Telephone: (215) 239-3900 Fax: (215) 239-3990 Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent health, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcoholic beverages, Cocaine, Drug dependence, Drug use, Hallucinogens, Marijuana, Narcotics, Screening, Smoking

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Office of Applied Studies. Results from the National Survey on Drug Use and Health: National findings. Rockville, MD: Office of Applied Studies, U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration,

Annotation: This report presents the first information from the 2003 National Survey on Drug Use and Health, an annual survey of the civilian, noninstitutionalized population of the United States ages 12 or older. The report presents national estimates of rates of use, numbers of users, and other measures related to illicit drugs, alcohol, and tobacco products. Measures related to mental health problems are also included. A major focus of the report is changes in substance use between 2002 and 2003. The report, which includes highlights, covers the following main topics: illicit drug use; alcohol use; tobacco use; trends in initiation of substance use; youth prevention-related measures; substance dependence, abuse, and treatment; and prevalence and treatment of mental health problems. A discussion is also included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. Seven appendices include a description of the survey, statistical methods and measurement, key definitions, other sources of data, references, sample size and population tables, and selected prevalence tables.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

Link