Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 16 (16 total).

Patterson S, Williams T, Snyder A . [2023]. Leveraging Medicaid policy to advance doula care . Chapel Hill: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center, 6 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief describes the role of the doula; explains how doula support can reduce maternal health disparities and improve birthing outcomes; and provides examples of state Medicaid programs that cover doula care. The brief also addresses policy considerations; funding challenges, barriers to doula coverage, and considerations for states seeking to expand doula care.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

Link

Keywords: Access to care, Doulas, Financing, Health care disparities, Labor companions, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy, State initiatives

Pedersen S, Downing L, and Younger K . 2023. Advancing perinatal health equity through Medicaid coverage of Doulas. Arlington, VA: American Institutes for Research, 12 pp.

Annotation: This brief reviews findings from the literature on the successes and challenges of Medicaid doula coverage implementation; synthesizes insights on Medicaid doula coverage considerations from interviews with doula certification and advocacy organizations; and identifies strategies and recommendations to improve the implementation of doula coverage.

Contact: American Institutes for Research, 1000 Thomas Jefferson Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 944-5400 Secondary Telephone: (877) 334-3499 Fax: (202) 403-5454 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.air.org

Keywords: Access to care , Doulas, Financing, Labor companions, Medicaid

Wheeler Y, Eldridge G, Moore JE. 2023. Maternal health equity in Medicaid: Doulas and perinatal community health workers. Washington, DC: Institute for Medicaid Innovation,

Annotation: This issue brief explains how Medicaid coverage for doula and perinatal community health worker services can help address maternal health inequities. It identifies four key policy areas affecting access to these services: workforce issues including certification requirements, payment challenges such as inadequate reimbursement rates, data collection needs, and delivery system reforms through managed care models. The document outlines state examples and policy opportunities to improve Medicaid coverage, with recommendations focused on standardizing training requirements, increasing reimbursement, enhancing data infrastructure, and exploring innovative payment models. The brief serves as background for developing a 5-year national strategic plan to expand access to evidence-based maternal health services through Medicaid.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1250 Connecticut Ave., Suite 700, PMB 5135, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org

Keywords: Community health workers, Doulas, Health equity, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy

Institute for Medicaid Innovation; Every Mother Counts. 2023. Key learnings from the doula and perinatal community health worker in Medicaid learning series. Washington, DC: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 24 pp.

Annotation: This report synthesizes key learnings from an 8-session virtual learning series held between December 2022 and July 2023 focused on implementing Medicaid coverage for doula and perinatal community health worker services. It presents findings in four main areas: partnerships between payers and providers, administrative supports, training and certification requirements, and workforce development. The document outlines specific recommendations for state Medicaid agencies and managed care organizations to create sustainable benefits that center community-based perinatal support providers' needs and advance birth equity. The report includes detailed speaker quotes, examples from multiple states' implementation efforts, and links to full session materials and recordings from the learning series.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1250 Connecticut Ave., Suite 700, PMB 5135, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org

Keywords: Community health workers, Doulas, Medicaid, Perinatal services, Professional education, State agencies

Smith H, Peterson N, Lagrew D, Main E. 2022. Toolkit to support vaginal birth and reduce primary cesareans: A quality improvement toolkit, addended, part V. Stanford, CA: California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative, 191

Annotation: This toolkit to support vaginal birth and reduce primary cesarean sections includes evidence-based tools and resources to support pregnant patients who transfer to the hospital from a community birth center and to effectively integrate midwifery care and doula support into the hospital setting. The toolkit serves as a “how to” guide to help educate and motivate maternity clinicians to apply best practices to support vaginal birth. Included are strategies to (1) improve the culture of care, awareness, and education for cesarean reduction; (2) support intended Vaginal Birth; (3) manage labor abnormalities and safely reduce cesarean births; and (4) use data to drive reduction in cesareans. Twenty appendices include checklists, guidelines, partograms, performance measures, and assessment tools for healthcare providers.

Contact: California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative, Center for Academic Medicine, Neonatology, MC 5660, 453 Quarry Road, Palo Alto, CA 94304, Telephone: (650) 725-6108 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cmqcc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Birthing Centers, California , Cesarean section, Childbirth, Doulas, Hospitals Quality assurance, Labor, Midwives, Model programs, Pregnant women, Prevention, Vaginal birth

Global Health Workgroup . 2022. Amplifying birthworker models of care: June 2022 global health webinar. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs ,

Annotation: This recorded webinar provides background information on the global maternal mortlaity crisis and highlights opportunities for birth workers to intervene and alleviate the crisis. Guest presenters from international maternal and child health organizations give an overview of their practice to support pregnant and birthing people, and prevent maternal deaths. Special guests: Andrew Herrera, MPH, MBA, Executive Director of Curamericas; Mario Rodriguez Valdez Ramirez, Executive Director of Casa Maternas, Guatemala; Juany Valdez, Head Nurse of Casa Maternas, Guatemala; Nick Pearson, Founder and Co-Executive Director of Jacranda Health; Chanel Porchia-Albert, Founder of Ancient Song Doula Services.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Community health workers, Doulas, International health, Maternal mortality, Midwifery, Pregnancy, Prevention, Social support

Guarnizo T, Clark M. 2022. Doula services in Medicaid: Pathways and payment rates (part 3). Washington, DC: Center for Children and Families,

Annotation: This health policy blog post, the third in a series from Georgetown University's Center for Children and Families, examines implementation pathways and payment structures for doula services in Medicaid programs. It analyzes key lessons learned from early adopter states Oregon and Minnesota, focusing on two core challenges: the legal authority under which states can authorize doula services and establishing sustainable reimbursement rates. The post explains how states have shifted from using Medicaid's "direct services" authority to the Affordable Care Act's preventive services pathway, which allows doulas to practice more independently. It details how states have adjusted reimbursement rates over time, with examples ranging from Minnesota's increase to $770 per birth to Oregon's planned increase to $1,500 per pregnancy. The analysis provides specific examples of how newer states like Virginia, Rhode Island, Washington D.C., and California are implementing doula coverage in Medicaid, incorporating lessons from earlier state experiences. The report emphasizes the importance of sustainable payment rates and reduced administrative barriers in advancing health equity, particularly for communities of color who experience disproportionate maternal health disparities.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

Link

Keywords: Barriers, Doulas, Financing, Medicaid, Reimbursement, State initiatives

Guarnizo T. 2022. Doula services in Medicaid: State progress in 2022. Washington, DC: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families,

Annotation: This health policy post examines state efforts to incorporate doula services into Medicaid programs as a strategy to address maternal health disparities, particularly among Black and brown birthing people. It discusses how doula care can improve birth outcomes and reduce costs while providing culturally congruent support to underserved communities.The post details the implementation status across states as of 2022, noting that six states reimburse for doula services through Medicaid, six others plan to implement coverage in 2022-2023, and five more are considering such programs. It includes an interactive map showing the geographic distribution of state efforts and explains that most states are pursuing implementation through state plan amendments under the Affordable Care Act's preventive services benefit option. The blog post is part of a series examining Medicaid doula services, with future installments planned to explore state payment rates.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

Link

Keywords: Doulas, Financing, Maps , Medicaid, State initiatives

Khanal A, Benyo A, Silverman K, Maul A. 2022. Covering doula services under Medicaid: Design and implementation considerations for promoting access and health equity. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies,

Annotation: This brief outlines design and implementation considerations for states covering doula services under Medicaid to address the maternal health crisis and promote health equity. It explores how six Medicaid agencies approached doula coverage decisions in key areas including service scope, rate setting, credentialing, training requirements, managed care contracting, practitioner recommendation requirements, and workforce development. The document emphasizes the importance of engaging doula stakeholders throughout the process and highlights specific state approaches that address barriers to implementation. It provides actionable strategies for states to develop culturally responsive benefits that can improve maternal and birth outcomes, particularly for people of color. The brief includes examples from Maryland, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island, Virginia, and the District of Columbia, and was developed to guide California as it implements its own doula benefit.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

Keywords: Doulas, Financing, Medicaid, State initiatives

Center for Health Care Strategies. 2022. Incorporating community-based doulas into Medicaid: State and plan considerations to encourage doula participation. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines strategies for incorporating community-based doulas into Medicaid to improve maternal health outcomes. It describes how doulas provide emotional, physical, and informational support during pregnancy and can help reduce high-risk pregnancies, low birthweight babies, and cesarean section rates, particularly benefiting communities with high maternal mortality rates. The document presents three key strategies for state Medicaid agencies and managed care organizations to support doulas in becoming Medicaid providers: engaging doulas in benefit design and implementation, allowing diverse doula training organizations to meet community needs, and simplifying the Medicaid enrollment process. Examples from states like Maryland, New Jersey, Rhode Island, and Virginia illustrate successful approaches such as creating advisory groups, hosting stakeholder meetings, accepting both national and BIPOC-led training organizations, and providing enrollment guidance. The resource emphasizes the importance of a diverse workforce that meets the needs of birthing individuals.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Community health services, Doulas, Financing, Health insurance, Maternal mortality, Medicaid, Prevention, State initiatives

Guarnizo T, Clark M. 2021. Lessons learned from early state experiences using Medicaid to expand access to doula care. Washington, DC: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families,

Annotation: This health policy post examines lessons learned from early state efforts to incorporate doula services into Medicaid coverage. It presents key insights about implementing doula care programs, focusing on three main areas: community engagement in program development, reducing administrative barriers for providers, and setting sustainable reimbursement rates. The post explains how doulas provide non-medical emotional, physical, and informational support during pregnancy, birth, and postpartum periods, with evidence showing particular benefits for people of color and those with low incomes. It describes current state implementation efforts and challenges, including specific examples from states like Oregon, Minnesota, and New Jersey. The blog post emphasizes the importance of addressing health equity through appropriate program design and sustainable funding models, noting that Medicaid pays for at least 43 percent of U.S. births. The analysis draws from state experiences, interviews with doulas, and policy research to provide recommendations for states considering or implementing Medicaid doula programs.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

Link

Keywords: Doulas, Health care access, Medicaid, State initiatives

Bakst C, Moore JE, George KE, Shea K. 2020 . Community-based maternal support services: The role of doulas and community health workers in Medicaid. Washington, DC: Institute for Medicaid Innovation , 23 pp.

Annotation: This report explores how community-based maternal support services provided by community-based doulas and maternity community health workers can improve maternal health outcomes. It also highlights the results of a national environmental scan of organizations that are actively working toward eliminating maternal health disparities and building community connections through the community-based maternal support model. Common barriers to implementing this model are identified, and opportunities for Medicaid stakeholders to provide support and increased access to these services are highlighted.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1250 Connecticut Ave., Suite 700, PMB 5135, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org

Keywords: Barriers, Childbirth, Community based services, Community health workers, Doulas , Maternal health, Medicaid, Model programs, Public health, Risk factors, Social support, initiatives

Karp C, Lai Y-H, Garcia S, Grason H, Strobino D, Minkovitz C. 2017. Strengthen the evidence base for maternal and child health programs: NPM 2–Low-risk cesarean deliveries [NPM 2 brief]. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 3 pp.

Annotation: This brief and evidence review summarize the literature on evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies to promote the safety and effectiveness of receiving oral health care during pregnancy. They provide background information on oral health during pregnancy, discuss key research methods and results, and present key findings and implications. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Childbirth education, Doulas, Evidence-based practice, Intervention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Patient care, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Therapeutics, Title V programs

Karp C, Lai YH, Minkovitz C, Grason H, Garcia S, Payne E, Strobino D. 2017. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 2 low-risk cesarean deliveries evidence review. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 42 pp. (brief 3 pp.).

Annotation: This document identifies evidence-informed strategies that state Title V programs might consider implementing to decrease the proportion of cesarean deliveries among low-risk first-time mothers. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

Keywords: , Block grants, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Childbirth education, Doulas, Evidence-based practice, Intervention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Patient care, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Therapeutics, Title V programs

Center for Community Health Alignment . Expanding access to community health workers (EACH) in the perinatal period: A guide for replicating successful models of perinatal community health workers. Columbia, SC: Center for Community Health Alignment , 38 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides instructions for replicating successful perinatal community health worker (PCHW) programs in South Carolina. It details three established models: BirthMatters' doula program in Spartanburg, SC Office of Rural Health's Family Solutions program serving rural counties, and PASOs' Latino community outreach program. The document outlines best practices, evaluation metrics, and implementation requirements for these evidence-based programs, including workforce development, funding needs, data collection systems, and community engagement strategies. This resource is designed to help organizations expand effective PCHW services to improve maternal and infant health outcomes, particularly in underserved communities.

Contact: Center for Community Health Alignment , Arnold School of Public Health , 120 Research Drive, Columbia, SC 29203, Web Site: https://communityhealthalignment.org/

Keywords: Community health workers, Community programs, Doulas, Models, Outreach, Perinatal services, South Carolina, State initiatives

HealthConnect One. Getting doulas paid policy brief. Chicago, IL: HealthConnect One , 15 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief fexamines the role of community-based doula programs and the need for sustainable Medicaid reimbursement models to support them. The document analyzes how current Medicaid reimbursement structures fail to adequately compensate community-based doulas, who provide extensive culturally-reflective support to birthing families in underserved communities. It presents detailed findings from a time-use study conducted by SisterWeb, a California-based doula organization, showing that community-based doulas spend significant time beyond direct client care, including care coordination, administrative work, and professional development. The brief provides eight specific recommendations for policymakers, including establishing fair compensation rates, ensuring administrative accessibility, and prioritizing funding for community-based organizations. It includes data on current state Medicaid reimbursement rates and presents case studies of successful community-based doula programs. The analysis emphasizes the importance of sustainable funding models to address maternal health disparities, particularly among Black, Brown, and Indigenous communities.

Contact: HealthConnect One, 227 W. Monroe Street, 21st Floor, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 243-4772 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthconnectone.org

Keywords: Community programs, Doulas, Financing, Medicaid, Reimbursement