Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (114 total).

National Network for Oral Health Access. 2024. A guide to support dental patients experiencing intimate partner violence and exploitation. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 2 pp.

Annotation: This guide for oral health professionals provides information about identifying and supporting patients who have experienced or are experiencing intimate partner violence (IPV), human trafficking (HT), or exploitation (E). The goal of the guide is to help oral health professionals understand why dental appointments are a trigger for some patients, identify protocols for implementing IPV, HT, and E responses, and make these patients' appointment as successful as possible. Topics include what to do before the dental appointment and how to conduct the appointment. A companion brochure for consumers is also available.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Domestic violence, Emotional abuse, Health care utilization, Oral health, Partner abuse

Delaware's Domestic Violence Coordinating Council. 2021. 2021 Domestic violence resource manual for healthcare professionals. Wilmington, DE: Delaware's Domestic Violence Coordinating Council, 74 pp.

Annotation: This report from the state of Delaware updates the 2011 manual of the same name. Using colorful illustrations, it defines domestic violence, the scope of the problem, symptoms and behaviors that victims of abuse may display, and how healthcare providers can provide screening and support for their patients. The document contains best practice tips, checklists, graphs and sections dedicated to domestic violence experienced by children and youth.

Contact: Delaware Domestic Violence Coordinating Council , 900 N. King Street, Suite 300, Wilmington, DE 19801, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dvcc.delaware.gov

Keywords: Adolescents, Adverse childhood experiences, Bullying, Child abuse, Domestic violence, Minority groups, Social determinants of health

Basile KC, Clayton HB, DeGue S, Gilford JW, Vagi KJ, Suarez NA, Zwald ML, Lowry RJ . 2020. Interpersonal violence victimization among high school students . Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 10 pp. (Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR))

Annotation: This report includes data from CDC’s 2019 Youth Risk Behavior Survey (YRBS), a cross-sectional, school-based survey conducted biennially among high school students (grades 9-12). With figures, statistics, and tables, it relates the dangers of interpersonal violence (including dating violence, sexual violence, and bullying) as self-reported by high school students. The report draws attention to the fact that various demographics are more at risk for bullying and interpersonal violence, and discusses prevention approaches.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

Link

Keywords: Bullying, Dating violence, Domestic violence, Electronic bullying, Interpersonal violence, Physical violence, School violence, Sexual violence, Statistics

Women's Preventive Services Initiative. 2016. Final report to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources & Services Administration: Recommendations for preventive services for women (abridged report). Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 33 pp.

Annotation: This document presents recommendations for women's preventive health care services. Topics include breast cancer screening for average-risk women, breastfeeding services and supplies, screening for cervical cancer, contraception and contraceptive counseling, screening for gestational diabetes mellitus, screening for human immunodeficiency virus, screening for interpersonal and domestic violence, counseling for sexually transmitted infections, and well-woman preventive visits.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org

Keywords: Breast cancer, Breastfeeding, Cervical cancer, Contraception, Counseling, Domestic violence, Gestational diabetes, Guidelines, HIV screening, Health screening, Health services delivery, Interpersonal violence, Preventive health services, Sexually transmitted diseases, Women', s health

Deinard AS, Ginsberg M, Burke S. 2016. Intimate partner violence and elder maltreatment: Implications for the dental professional (rev. ed.). Dallas, TX: Procter and Gamble Company, 1 v.

Annotation: This continuing education course for oral health professionals provides information about intimate partner violence (IPV) and elder maltreatment (EM) and outlines responsibilities for recognizing, reporting, treating, and preventing IPV and EM. Topics include definitions and signs and symptoms of IPV and EM, patterns of IPV, ethical and legal responsibilities, and intervention techniques. A tool that educators can use for creating a student assignment is also available.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Assessment, Continuing education, Dental care, Dentistry, Domestic violence, Intervention, Older adults, Oral health, Prevention services, Resources for professionals, Responsibility, Trauma

Austin M. 2015. Domestic violence and dental professionals (upd.). Albany, NY: Academy of Dental Learning & OSHA Training, 21 pp.

Annotation: This course for oral health professionals provides information about domestic violence. Topics include definition and prevalence; signs and symptoms; risk factors; health care implications; documentation; and community, state, and national resources. Tools used to identify domestic violence in dental practice settings, including assessment, charting, intervention programs, referrals, and hotlines, are discussed.

Contact: Academy of Dental Learning & OSHA Training, P.O. Box 14585, Albany, NY 12212, Telephone: (800) 522-1207 Fax: (800) 886-3009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dentallearning.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Assessment, Continuing education, Dentistry, Domestic violence, Injuries, Intervention, Oral health, Referrals, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Role

Iowa Department of Public Health. 2014–. Parentivity. Des Moines, Iowa Department of Health,

Annotation: This web-based community for parents provides personalized content to reduce family risks and optimize parenting resourcefulness, family resilience, child growth, and school readiness. The website is designed to recognize early warning signs of risk in areas of health, prenatal care, parenting skills, family functioning, and child development and will alert parents and recommend supportive resources and strategies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Child development, Child health, Community development, Domestic violence, Family economics, Family support programs, Home visiting, Injury prevention, Parenting, Program coordination, Public private partnerships, School readinesss

Mouden LD. 2014. The dental team's role in identifying and preventing family violence. Newtown, PA: Dental Learning Systems LLC, 1 v.

Annotation: This continuing-education course provides information on the dental assistant's role in identifying orofacial injuries resulting from abuse or neglect in the dental setting. Topics include child abuse and neglect, identifying abuse or neglect, child maltreatment, conditions that may mimic abuse, family violence, causes of family violence, intervening in family cases involving adults, and local and state initiatives to prevent family violence.

Contact: American Dental Assistants Association, 35 East Wacker Drive, Suite 1730, Chicago, IL 60601-2211, Telephone: (312) 541-1550 Secondary Telephone: 877-874-3785 Fax: (312) 541-1496 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dentalassistant.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Dental assistants, Domestic violence, Injuries, Oral health

Lorenzo SB. 2014. Intimate partner violence: Family resource brief (2nd ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find hotlines and web sites about domestic violence, including rape, abuse, incest, teen dating, legal counsel, and services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Battered women, Bibliographies, Child abuse, Domestic violence, Electronic publications, Emotional abuse, Family relations, Family violence, Hotlines, Parent child relations, Physical abuse, Sexual abuse

Lorenzo SB. 2013–. Intimate partner violence (IPV): Professional resource guide. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about preventing, identifying, and responding to intimate partner violence (IPV) within the home and the community. It is aimed at health professionals, program administrators, policymakers, researchers, employers, and advocates. A separate brief lists resources for victims of abuse and their families. This knowledge path is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Bibliographies, Domestic violence, Electronic publications, Knowledge paths

National Institute of Justice, Office of Research and Evaluation. 2013. Crime, Violence and Victimization Research Division's compendium of research on violence against women 1993-2013. Washington, DC: National Institute of Justice, Office of Research and Evaluation, 1 v.

Annotation: This compendium is a compilation of research funded by the National Institute of Justice (NIJ) on violence against women. Projects are divided into the following categories: (A) justice and related systems, (B) definition and measurement, (C) epidemiology, (D) social and cultural context, (E) trafficking in persons, (F) VAWA evaluations, (G) synthesis of existing information, (H) NIJ jointly funded projects (I) teen dating violence and (J) violence against Indian women. The description of each project includes the value of the grant, the principal NIJ monitor, and the status of the project, as well as an annotation.

Contact: National Institute of Justice, 810 Seventh Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20531, Telephone: (202) 307-2942 Fax: (202) 307-6394 Web Site: http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/nij Available from the website. Document Number: NCJ 223572.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Domestic violence, Federal programs, Grants, Research, Women

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2013. A comprehensive approach for community-based programs to address intimate partner violence and perinatal depression. Rockville, MD: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 143 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit highlights strategies and provides resources to help organizations address intimate partner violence and perinatal depression within their own communities. Topics include making the case, building and sustaining partnerships, raising awareness, developing cultural and linguistic competency, addressing policy, and implementing standards of care guidelines. Pre- and post-program assessment tools and links to national resources are included.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Community programs, Depression, Domestic violence, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Perinatal health, Postpartum depression, Program evaluation

Futures Without Violence. 2013. Health cares about IPV: Intimate partner violence screening and counseling toolkit. San Francisco, CA: Futures Without Violence,

Annotation: This toolkit offers resources to help health care professionals and others identify and support clients facing intimate partner violence. Contents include strategies for preparing a health care practice to start screening; screening and intervention approaches and tools; resources tailored to pediatric, adolescent, or reproductive health care settings; strategies and resources for domestic and sexual violence advocates; and promising practices from the field.

Contact: Futures Without Violence, 100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio, San Francisco, CA 94129-1718, Telephone: (415) 678-5500 Fax: (415) 529-2930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://futureswithoutviolence.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Domestic violence, Emotional abuse, Family violence, Intervention, Physical abuse, Resources for professionals, Screening, Sexual abuse

de Boinville M. 2013. Screening for domestic violence in health care settings. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Office of Health Policy, 14 pp. (ASPE policy brief)

Annotation: This brief presents the state of practice and research surrounding domestic violence screening. It discusses reasons for screening in health care settings, the current prevalence of screening and reasons this prevalence is relatively low, existing evidence about screening, and next steps toward ensuring that screening becomes an effective preventive service.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Abuse, Domestic violence, Prevention services, Primary care, Screening

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. 2013. Intimate partner violence and abuse of elderly and vulnerable adults: Screening. Rockville, MD: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, multiple items.

Annotation: This web resource provides recommendations for screening of women of childbearing age and elderly or vulnerable adults for intimate partner violence. It also provides evidence reviews, a clinical summary, and related information for consumers and health professionals. An Update in Progress link is included.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Domestic violence, Screening

Burton CW, Carlyle KE, Crawford LK. 2013. Virginia Department of Health's evaluation of Project Connect training and outcomes of family planning and home visiting providers in Virginia. Richmond, VA: Virginia Department of Health, Division of Prevention and Health Promotion, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report describes an evaluation of Virginia's Project Connect, one of ten pilot sites for an initiative to improve the public health response to domestic and sexual violence and reproductive coercion. It describes the project's efforts to reduce barriers to screening for and intervening with clients who have a current or past history of these problems, and to provide trained personnel with the tools and resources to support screening and intervention.

Contact: Virginia Home Visiting Consortium, James Madison University, The Institute for Innovation in Health and Human Services, Harrisonburg, VA , Telephone: (540) 568-5251 Fax: (540) 568-6409 E-mail: homevisitingconsortium.jmu.edu Web Site: http://www.homevisitingva.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Domestic violence, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, State initiatives, Virginia

Futures Without Violence. 2012-. Promising Futures: Best practices for serving children, youth, and parents experiencing domestic violence. San Francisco, CA: Futures Without Violence, multiple items.

Annotation: This website is designed to assist domestic violence (DV) programs in enhancing their services for infants, children, and adolescents who have experienced DV. The website provides access to a searchable database of evidence-based interventions and promising practices for serving children and youth exposed to DV.

Contact: Futures Without Violence, 100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio, San Francisco, CA 94129-1718, Telephone: (415) 678-5500 Fax: (415) 529-2930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://futureswithoutviolence.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Domestic violence, Family support programs, Infants, Children, Model programs

Pew Center on the States, Home Visiting Campaign. 2012. Linking Project Connect with home visiting models to tackle domestic violence. Washington, DC: Pew Center on the States, (The case for home visiting video series)

Annotation: This webinar, broadcast January 24, 2012, highlightes the multi-pronged approach of Project Connect at both the national and state levels and provides information for providers, advocates, and state leaders to structure effective home visiting programs. Panelists discuss how Project Connect curriculum and associated tools increase the capacity of home visiting programs to respond effectively with a research-informed approach to addressing domestic violence.

Contact: Pew State and Consumer Initiatives, 901 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20004-2008, Telephone: (202) 552-2000 Fax: (202) 552-2299 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewstates.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Domestic violence, Family support services, Home visiting, Prevention, Screening

Maschinot B, Cohen J. 2012. Supporting babies and families impacted by caregiver mental health problems, substance abuse, and trauma: A community action guide. Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 87 pp.

Annotation: This community action guide describes the experiences of a woman and her infant daughter to point out resources that service providers, advocates, and health professionals can use to better understand and respond to the needs of families and children with problems related to mental health, substance abuse, and trauma. The guide also presents information, resources, and tips to foster unified communities that are responsive to families' needs. Topics include the importance of the birth-to-age-5 developmental stage, threats to resilience, levels of stress in young children and families, protective factors, a strategic framework for action, and moving forward. Brief descriptions of successful programs are included.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: SMA-12-4726.

Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Community programs, Domestic violence, Families, Family support services, High risk groups, Infants, Mental health, Parent support services, Resilience, Resource materials, Stress, Substance abuse, Vulnerability, Young children

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2012. Health care providers and screening and counseling for interpersonal and domestic violence. (upd. ed.). Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 2 pp. (Fact sheet Q+A)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for health professionals about screening and counseling for interpersonal and domestic violence under the Affordable Care Act. The fact sheet answers questions about new preventive services guidelines, why screening for interpersonal and domestic violence matters, how health professionals can get started with screening, what health professionals should do if a person discloses abuse, and how health professionals can learn more about responding to domestic violence.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Domestic violence, Emotional abuse, Guidelines, Health services, Interpersonal violence, Legislation, Physical abuse, Prevention, Screening, Sexual abuse