Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health in the District of Columbia (DC). It discusses characteristics of DC's diverse population and social determinants of health, It also describes the District's oral health landscape, including the safety net infrastructure, and where Federally Qualified Health Centers that provide oral health care and other types of health care are located. Also discussed are the oral health workforce, efforts to integrate oral health care into primary care, and challenges related to achieving equitable access to oral health care.

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health, Community Health Administration, 899 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 442-5925 Fax: (202) 535-1710 Web Site: http://doh.dc.gov/page/community-health-administration Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, District of Columbia, Health care delivery, Oral health, Oral health equity, Service integration, Socioeconomic factors, State information

Annotation: This report describes an environmental scan focused on identifying areas of opportunity to advance the integration of oral health care into primary care in community health centers in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Topics include access to oral health care, oral health scope of practice, fluoride varnish, community water fluoridation, and strategies for the future. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, District of Columbia, Fluoride, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This guide provides information about how receiving preventive oral health care can help families in the District of Columbia (DC) avoid developing tooth decay and other oral health problems. The guide discusses DC's School-Based Oral Health Program and the DC Healthy Families program. It lists dental offices and clinics, by ward, where DC residents can receive oral health care and provides information about location, hours, patients served, and cost of care. Fact sheets about the importance of good oral health about dental sealants are included.

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health, 899 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 442-5955 Fax: (202) 442-4795 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://doh.dc.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, City health agencies, Costs, Dental caries, Dental sealants, District of Columbia, Oral health, Prevention

Annotation: This document provides information about the Oral Health Convening Focusing on Children with Special Health Care Needs held on March 18, 2018, in Washington, DC. The meeting brought together a multidisciplinary group of stakeholders to share expertise and insights related to increasing access to oral health care and improving the oral health of children with special health care needs (CSHCN) in Washington, DC. The document provides information about oral health and CSHCN and includes a description of each session.

Contact: O'Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law, Georgetown University, Hotung Building, Fifth Floor, 600 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 662-9203 Fax: (202) 662-4045 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.law.georgetown.edu/oneillinstitute/

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs: Access to health care: Public policy, Conferences, District of Columbia, Local initiatives, Oral health

Contact: D.C. Children and Youth Investment Trust Corporation, 1400 16th Street, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 347-4441 Web Site: http://cyitc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent development, After school programs, Blacks, Data, District of Columbia, Male children, Regional programs, Research, Risk factors, School linked programs, Surveys, Young adults, Youth

Annotation: This report presents a comprehensive, baseline assessment of the status of children, adolescents, and young adults (from birth to age 24) in the National Capital Region (NCR), which includes the District of Columbia, two independent cities and four counties in Virginia, and two counties in Maryland, The report is organized in the following indicator sections: demographic characteristics; pregnancy and birth outcomes; infant, child, and adolescent health and safety; economic well-being; child welfare; and education. For each indicator, the report cites differences evident among the various jurisdictions of the NCR, as well as notable disparities along lines of gender, race and Hispanic origin, or age. The evidence on what works to improve conditions for youth is also summarized for many of the indicators. The report concludes with a summary of knowledge gaps and comments about interpretation.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Cities, County programs, District of Columbia, Health planning, Health status, Maryland, Needs assessment, Regional planning, Statistical data, Virginia

Annotation: This report presents case studies of three school mental health programs in Pennsylvania; Washington, DC; and Minnesota that have crafted financial policies and processes that support their work. The goal of the report is to shed light on on some best practices to be considered in searching for strategies to sustain school mental health services. Each case study includes a program description and information about who is served, services offered, program funding, successes, and challenges. Also included is a discussion of business planning for sustainable school-based mental health services.

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Adolescent health, Case studies, Child health, District of Columbia, Financing, Mental health programs, Mental health services, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, School health programs, Schools

Annotation: This report addresses how evolving health information technology and health information enterprise capacity and the emerging quality measurement framework for children's health can promote better quality measurement and reporting for EPSDT services. Contents include key findings and recommendations for EPSDT quality oversight and improvement in the District of Columbia.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: District of Columbia, EPSDT, Health information technology, Legal responsibility, Medicaid, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State surveys, Well child care

Annotation: This guide for patients and health professionals covers basic genetics concepts in addition to providing detailed information about genetic diagnosis, newborn screening, family health history, genetic counseling, and genetic testing and its application. It includes a discussion of the psychological and social implications as well as ethical and legal issues. Consumer fact sheets are also provided. The appendices include competencies in genetics for health professions. The guide is customized for the Washington, D.C. region and was produced as a partnership between the Genetic Alliance and the District of Columbia Department of Health.

Contact: Genetic Alliance, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 404, Washington, DC 20008-2369, Telephone: (202) 966-5557 Secondary Telephone: (800) 336-GENE Fax: (202) 966-8553 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.geneticalliance.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, District of Columbia, Genetic counseling, Genetic screening, Genetics, Genetics education, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This report assesses health and health care use among more than 100,000 children and adolescents residing in Washington, DC. The report considers both the health services delivery system and the communities in which children and adolescents live. Particular attention is devoted to changes over time in health and health care use, as well as differences by age, insurance status, and location within the city; assessing environmental factors that may contribute to or ameliorate poor health outcomes; describing community resident and provider perspectives on child and adolescent health service needs; and considering the implications of the evidence for improving the health of Washington, DC, children and adolescents.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org $46.00, plus shipping and handling; available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: District of Columbia, Access to health care, Adolescent health, Age factors, Child health, Communities, Environmental factors, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Health insurance, Trends, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This final report describes follow-up activities to an Early Head Start and Head Start oral health forum held on July 20, 2004, in Washington, DC, to improve oral health by promoting education and prevention, increasing coverage and access, enhancing the dental work force, and improving quality of data and surveillance. It includes an overview of activities accomplished, immediate outcomes, and additional follow-up activities planned, as well as a budget explanation. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, District of Columbia, Early Head Start, Final reports, Head Start, Local initiatives, Oral health

Annotation: This report describes the efforts the District of Columbia has made to address the rate of children's utilization of oral health services in the district and to make recommendations on actions the district can take to increase these rates. Contents include background on the evaluation process; the scope of the review; an introduction to the state's oral health services for children; and review descriptions, concerns, and recommendations and responses.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Dental care, District of Columbia, EPSDT, Health care utilization, Oral health, State surveys

Annotation: This report provides a set of recommendations about the most effective strategies for expanding school-based mental health services in Washington, DC, that can withstand political, economic, and social changes. The report focuses on strategies that can strengthen the relationship between community mental health organizations and school and school districts in the delivery of school-based mental health care. The report discusses organizational management, program development and evidence-based practices, training and professional development, financing, and program evaluation and outcomes research.

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: State programs, Community programs, District of Columbia, Financing, Health services delivery, Mental health, Professional education, Program evaluation, Programs, Research, School districts, School health services, Training

Annotation: This action plan describes activities to be conducted as follow-up to a forum held on May 22, 2007, in Washington, DC. The plan discusses the forum goals to (1) identify strategies for increasing access and improving the oral health system of care for children with special health care needs (CSHCN) and (2) address barriers to oral health care for CSHCN. Contents also include an overview of the forum planning process and evaluation. Tables present short- and long-term goals, timelines, and partners for activities designed to address barriers in the following areas: education, finance and reimbursement, work force development, accessibility and care coordination, and information management and care coordination. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health, 899 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 442-5955 Fax: (202) 442-4795 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://doh.dc.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Children, Children with special health care needs, District of Columbia, Health promotion, Meetings, Oral health, Reimbursement, Service coordination, Work force

Annotation: This brochure for new mothers in the District of Columbia outlines risk factors for infant mortality and steps to take before, during, and after pregnancy to minimize the risks. Topics include prenatal care; avoiding alcohol, drugs, and smoking; risks from obesity, high stress, domestic violence, and late prenatal care; low maternal weight gain during pregnancy; preterm labor; breastfeeding; and infant sleep position.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health Resource Center, P.O. Box 37337, Washington, DC 20013-7337, Telephone: (800) 444-6472 Secondary Telephone: (301) 251-1432 Fax: (301) 251-2160 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov/omh/browse.aspx?lvl=1&lvlid=3 Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Brochures, Consumer education materials, District of Columbia, Infant health, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Prenatal care, Prevention, Sleep position

Annotation: This report synthesizes a study of available information on the number of children who are uninsured and related policy initiatives to substantially reduce the number of children who are uninsured in 17 southern states and the District of Columbia. Contents include an overview of previous editions of this report and source for the estimates used, Medicaid and State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) policy and eligibility for children and pregnant women in the southern states, a discussion of issue that impede health coverage opportunities for these groups, actions southern states can take to improve the eligibility process, and fact sheets showing estimates of uninsured children and uninsured pregnant women for each state and the District of Columbia. States included are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. Appendices include the study methodology, federal poverty levels for family of four from 2003 to 2007, Medicaid enrollment in the southern states from 1997 to 2005. Statistical data are provided in charts and tables throughout the report.

Contact: Southern Institute on Children and Families, 140 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 140, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 779-2607 Fax: (803) 254-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thesoutherninstitute.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Full Report - Alternate Posting

Keywords: Alabama, Arkansas, Children, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Health insurance, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Medicaid, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pregnant women, SCHIP, South Carolina, Statistics, Tennessee, Texas, Uninsured persons, Virginia, West Virginia

Annotation: This report focuses on needed changes in Washington, DC's health services delivery system for children and adolescents with epilepsy and provides information relevant to strategic planning and development of activities. The report, which includes an executive summary, discusses findings from the literature and presents estimates of the number of children and adolescents with epilepsy in DC who are enrolled in Medicaid. The report then uses a key informant interview report, a report of the school nurses survey, and focus group findings to assess the services available to children and adolescents with epilepsy in DC, from the points of view of both health professionals and families who use the services. Next, the report presents a comparison of hospitalization rates for children and adolescents with epilepsy across insurance types as one measure of the effectiveness of services for this population. The report's final section discusses characteristics of an effective system of care for children and youth with epilepsy and provides recommendations. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, District of Columbia, Epilepsy, Families, Health care systems, Health services, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Medicaid

Annotation: This report summarizes the Second Oral Health Summit held on November 30, 2005, in Washington, DC to address the need for an integrated oral health delivery system and health plan for District of Columbia (DC) residents with unmet needs and to address disparities in oral health as it affects the dental access of children. Report contents include an introduction to the needs and oral health status of DC, an outline of summit sessions and the luncheon presentation, recommendations, and a review of activities the DC Oral Health Division is doing and future plans. A copy of the summit agenda is included.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Conferences, District of Columbia, Local initiatives, Oral health

Annotation: This report describes the summit held July 18, 2003 in Washington, DC as part of a strategic response to nationwide calls for oral health planning and improvement. Topics include oral health policy development, oral health quality assurance, and initiating linkages with dental and medical providers as well as the dental community. Also discussed are issues surrounding low Medicaid reimbursement rates, bureaucratic administrative requirements, lack of uniformity and methods to rebuild the dental infrastructure in the District of Columbia in order to facilitate greater access to dental services, particularly for children with unmet needs. Report contents include an overview of oral health in the District of Columbia, summit recommendations, a list of speakers, and the summit agenda. Statistical data are provided throughout the report.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Conferences, District of Columbia, Families, Medicaid, Oral health, Parents, Program planning, Public health infrastructure, Reimbursement, Strategic plans

Annotation: This report describes the oral health forum held on July 20, 2004, in Washington, DC, to discuss oral health priorities for children enrolled in Early Head Start and Head Start. Topics include a review of the previous leadership summit held in 2003, steps in promoting education and prevention, increasing coverage and access, enhancing the dental work force, and improving the quality of data and surveillance. Contents of the report also include a financial overview, the forum agenda, a proposed research abstract, and the participant list. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Conferences, District of Columbia, Early Head Start, Head Start, Health education, Oral health, Prevention programs, Program Descriptions, Young children