Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help health and early childhood professionals working in community settings (e.g., Head Start, home visiting, WIC staff) promote oral health in the course of promoting general health for infants, children, and their families. Topics include tooth decay, risk factors, and prevention; oral health risk assessment and oral health screening; and anticipatory guidance for parents. Each of the four modules includes an overview, learning objectives, key points, a post-test, and resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Child care providers, Child health, Curricula, Dental caries, Distance education, Families, Head Start, Health personnel, Infant health, Oral health, Parents, Prevention, Risk factors, Screening, WIC program

Annotation: This training is designed to ensure that school-based dental sealant program staff have a thorough understanding of the history, operations, and underlying fundamentals of these programs. The training provides detailed guidelines for infection control in school-based programs; discusses tooth selection and assessment for dental sealants; reviews the dental-sealant-application process; and provides information about program operations. Post-tests are available with options for a completion certificate or for two continuing education credits for dentists and dental hygienists licensed in Ohio. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Curricula, Dental sealants, Distance education, Ohio, Oral health, School based management, School health programs, School personnel, Training

Annotation: This curriculum for health professionals and educators comprises eight courses addressing oral health. Courses focus on the relationship between oral health and systemic health; child oral health; adult oral health; acute oral health problems; pregnancy and women’s oral health; caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling; the oral exam; and oral health for older adults. The courses can be taken for continuing education credit or simply to gain knowledge on the topics.

Contact: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 540, Leawood, KS 66211, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-7928 Fax: (913) 906-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.stfm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Continuing education, Curricula, Dental care, Distance education, Financing, Infants, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Training, Young children

Annotation: This curriculum provides oral health professionals with information about children with special health care needs and oral health, oral health supervision, prevention of oral disease, and behavior guidance. The curriculum can help fulfill dental education and dental hygiene education program requirements on the management and treatment of patients with special health care needs. The curriculum can be taken for continuing education credit at no charge or for no credit (self-assessment). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Curricula, Dental care, Dental education, Disease prevention, Distance education, Oral health, Resources for professionals, Young children

Annotation: These learning modules provide an overview of dentistry and oral health for health department staff and others who do not have formal dental education or dental hygiene education and who would like to have a better understanding of oral health. Topics include module 1: oral health terminology, common oral diseases, conditions, and treatments; module 2: the interface of oral health and general health; and module 3: the oral health work force, oral health care settings, and financing. A list of the modules published in 2020 includes links to the module Powerpoints and webast recordings, plus two modules on dental public health.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adult education, Dental care, Dental education, Distance learning, Oral health

Annotation: This online course offers a brief review of clinical recommendations on transition and a tested quality improvement model. It also features physicians in pediatric, family medicine, and internal medicine practices in the District of Columbia who successfully implemented core elements of health care transition using quality improvement methodologies.

Contact: Health Services for Children with Special Needs, 1101 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 467-2737 Secondary Telephone: (866) 937-4549 Fax: (202) 466-8514 Web Site: http://www.hscsn-net.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Distance education, Multimedia, School to work transition, Transition planning, Transitions, Youth in transition programs

Annotation: This guide accompanies an online course designed to integrate the theory, research literature, and evidence-supported practices that promote optimal population health outcomes in maternal and child health (MCH). Contents include course objectives and a description of the course structure, an historical overview of MCH and Title V, and eight modules. Topics include the Affordable Care Act and health reform, access to care, implementing interventions to improve population health outcomes, change management, quality in public health, understanding systems, system performance, and synthesis. An example course schedule, participant baseline and final assessments, final project, and bibliography are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Teachers of Maternal and Child Health, 1720 2nd Avenue South, Ryals 310G, Birmingham, AL 35294-0022, Telephone: (205) 975-0531 Fax: (205) 934-3347 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.atmch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Curricula, Distance education, Health care reform, Information systems, MCH programs, MCH services, MCH training, Management, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Professional education, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Systems development, Title V

Annotation: This website provides a toolkit of resources to help programs achieve sustainability. The toolkit contains a framework that outlines eight key sustainability factors; an assessment tool that, when completed, highlights sustainability efforts and identifies where increased efforts are needed; a resource guide designed to help programs develop their own concepts of sustainability and create sustainability strategies; and an e-learning module that synthesizes all the sustainability resources. Links to additional resources on collaboration development, strategic communication, and dissemination are also included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2846 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/ash/oah Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Distance education, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Sustainability, Training

Annotation: This website provides information for anyone working to help prevent violence in America. It explains primary prevention, public health approach, the social ecological model, and social norms and provides strategies to help prevent suicide, sexual violence, child abuse and neglect, youth violence, and intimate partner violence. Included are free accredited training programs; resources for program planning, implementation, and evaluation; and success stories featuring existing prevention programs and strategies.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Distance education, Guidelines, MCH programs, Model programs, Training, Violence prevention

Annotation: This course provides a basic overview of program evaluation including the goals of evaluation, types of evaluation, and common study designs. It provides general guidance on how to successfully plan, conduct, and manage an evaluation. The course also covers how to address research quality and disseminate findings so that the results of the evaluation will have maximum impact.

Contact: National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Adminstration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 Web Site: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Distance education, Information dissemination, Program evaluation, Program management, Program planning, Research design, Training

Annotation: These resources for clinicians and others provide information about preconception health, its history, the evidence supporting it, and strategies for incorporating relevant content into daily clinical practice. Contents include continuing medical education opportunities, journal articles, clinical guidance, and news.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, Old Clinic Building, Room 3018, Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Telephone: (919) 843-7865 Fax: (919) 843-7865 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Curricula, Distance education, National initiatives, Preconception care, Public private partnerships, Research, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This online course discusses the significance of health literacy in the public health profession. It provides practical steps to apply the principles and strategies of health literacy in daily activity. Course contents include an introduction and definition of health literacy; a discussion of why it matters; and applying health literacy to practice, including suggestions on how to improve health literacy, barriers to overcome, guiding principles, planning, evaluation, partnerships, and cultural competence. Sections online also provide resources and a glossary.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Distance education, Educational materials, Health literacy, Oral health, Public health, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This course is intended for primary care health professionals in practices that have received the Washington Dental Service Foundation's in-office training, Preventing Dental Disease in Primary Care Medical Settings. Professionals and staff who complete the course and pass an online assessment will receive continuing medical education credit and will be certified to provide oral health screenings, oral health education, and fluoride varnish services and to bill the Washington State Medicaid program for these services.

Contact: Washington Dental Service Foundation, P.O. Box 75983, Seattle, WA 98175-0983, Telephone: (206) 528-2373 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.kidsoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Distance education, Fluorides, Medicaid, Oral health, Primary care, Reimbursement, Well child care, Young children

Annotation: This webinar discusses the Office of Women's Health at the Health Resources and Services Administration, and the Bright Futures for Women's Health and Wellness Initiative (BFWHWI) to promote women's health across the lifespan. The development of the BFWHWI is described and core elements of emotional wellness are outlined, as well as the types of tools developed and audiences are discussed. Evaluation of program developed materials are reviewed and opportunities to become involved are described. This program is available for continuing education credits. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu Available from the website.

• Link
• Webinar Registration And Archive Page

Keywords: MCH training programs, Audiovisual materials, Bright Futures, Continuing education, Distance education, Program descriptions, Women', Women', s health, s mental health

Annotation: This webinar focuses on the North Carolina Center of Excellence for Integrated Care at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Topics include the need for integrating medical and behavioral health care services in the state, whether the care is delivered in an office, clinic, hospital, or mental health agency; and how partnerships across many different care providers and systems support the implementation of comprehensive, evidence-based and best practice care that address issues around access, coordination and “reattaching” the head to the body. This program is available for continuing education credits. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu Available from the website.

• Link
• Webinar Registration And Archive Page

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Collaboration, Continuing education, Distance education, MCH training programs, Mental health, North Carolina, Program descriptions, Service integration, Women', s health

Annotation: This webinar discusses the impact of domestic violence and sexual violence on the mental and physical health of adolescents and women of childbearing age in North Carolina. Topics include national indicators of child maltreatment; partner or sexual violence prevalence; statistical differences in reporting statistics; child and adolescent experience with sexual or physical violence victimization and risk of health problems; violence and pregnancy; developing partnerships; and approaches for identifying women with these experiences and integrating care. This program is available for continuing education credits. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu Available from the website.

• Link
• Webinar Registration And Archive Page

Keywords: Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Chronic disease, Continuing education, Crisis intervention, Distance education, Domestic violence, MCH training programs, Mental health, North Carolina, Physical abuse, Pregnancy, Screening, Sexual abuse, Substance abuse, Women', s health

Annotation: This webinar features a variety of perspectives on the impact of shrinking state budgets and the potential of health care reform on access to care for individuals with chronic disease, mental health and substance abuse issues. Topics include key opportunities and provisions for Title V maternal and child health programs, at national and state levels, including insurance coverage expansion, benefits package and insurance reform, health systems improvements, and public health and prevention investments; as well as improving the quality of life of individuals with disabilities and their families both in their homes and communities, from a protection and advocacy perspective in North Carolina. This program is available for continuing education credits. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu Available from the website.

• Link
• Webinar Registration And Archive Page

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Audiovisual materials, Chronic disease, Continuing education, Disabilities, Distance education, Family support services, Health care financing, Health care reform, MCH training programs, Mental health, Substance abuse, Women', s health

Annotation: This distance learning project consists of six webinars focusing on screening and treating women of reproductive age, particularly those who are planning a pregnancy, are pregnant, or are new mothers, for mental health and substance abuse issues. Series objectives include: increasing knowledge of the key chronic disease, substance abuse and mental health issues that impact women of reproductive age; increasing understanding of the systems issues and priorities involved in providing a continuum of care from prevention through disease management; describing partnership opportunities in addressing chronic disease, mental health and substance abuse issues; describing effective strategies to bridge the categorical structures of mental health, public health, and primary care; describing leadership opportunities for addressing these issues from a variety of approaches, including policy, systems, and primary prevention. Each webinar includes a definition of the problem, including the impact on a variety of racial/ethnic groups; descriptions of strategies that can be deployed to address the problem; descriptions of challenges to full implementation of best practice approaches; discussions about key partners and allies around this issue, including differing perspectives, approaches, and roles; and a call to action and leadership opportunities. This program is available for continuing education credits. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, Old Clinic Building, Room 3018, Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Telephone: (919) 843-7865 Fax: (919) 843-7865 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Continuing education, Distance education, MCH training programs, Mental health, Preconception care, Prenatal education, Prevention services, Screening, Substance abuse prevention, Women', s health services

Annotation: This online course is designed for those who counsel people at risk for suicide, primarily mental health and medical providers, but also clergy and social service providers. The first module explains why reducing access to lethal methods of self-harm saves lives. The second module teaches practical skills on when and how to ask suicidal clients about their access to lethal means and how to work with them and their families to reduce their access. Course elements include a pre-test questionnaire, access to the online course, a post-test, and a feedback survey. This program is available for continuing education credits. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Suicide Prevention Resource Center, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (877) 438-7772 Secondary Telephone: (617) 964-5448 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sprc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Continuing education, Counseling, Crisis intervention, Distance education, MCH training programs, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to provide Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment non-oral-health professionals in Maryland with knowledge and skills to reduce the incidence of dental caries among children ages 3 and under and to help establish a dental home. The four modules provide information on the role of non-oral-health professionals in children’s oral health and describe the dental caries process and how to conduct a dental caries risk assessment. The modules also address anticipatory guidance, fluoride varnish application, and referral to a dentist. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Curricula, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Distance education, EPSDT, Fluorides, Maryland, Oral health, Professional training, Referrals, Risk assessment, Screening, Young children