Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 10 (10 total).

National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases, Division of Vector-Borne Diseases. 2016–. Zika virus (upd.). Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, multiple items.

Annotation: This website provides information and resources for health care professionals, pregnant women, and others about zika virus disease. Contents include data; information for specific population groups; communication resources such as videos, fact sheets, posters, and infographics; and scientific resources including links to information collections by publisher, emergency bulletins, links to U.S. and international governmental resources, and a biomedical literature search tool. Topics include symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment; prevention; transmission and risks; areas with zika; and vector surveillance and control.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Brain diseases, Communicable disease control, Congenital abnormalities, Consumer education materials, Diagnosis, Disease prevention, Disease transmission, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Public awareness materials, Research, Resource materials, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Therapeutics, Virus diseases

AIDS Education and Training Centers National Resource Center. 2013-. Prevention of mother-to-child transmission. Atlanta, GA: AIDS Education and Training Centers National Resource Center, (Supporting HIV education for health care professionals)

Annotation: This electronic resource presents information on the prevention of transmission of HIV infection from mother to child. It includes a clinician toolkit, antiretroviral guidelines, curricula, manuals, online training, patient information, pocket guides, prevention and testing guidelines, slides, and other materials. Topics include preconception care, HIV testing including rapid testing at labor and delivery, and counseling.

Contact: AIDS Education and Training Centers National Resource Center, Rutgers School of Nursing, Francois-Xavier Bagnoud Center, 65 Bergen Street, Newark, NJ 07107, Telephone: (973) 972-5141 Fax: (973) 972-0397 E-mail: info@aidsetc.org Web Site: https://aidsetc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease transmission, HIV, Infant health, Pediatric HIV, Prevention

Panel on Treatment of HIV-Infected Pregnant Women and Prevention of Perinatal Transmission. 2012. Recommendations for use of antiretroviral drugs in pregnant HIV-1-infected women for maternal health and interventions to reduce perinatal HIV transmission in the United States. Rockville, MD: AIDSinfo, 235 pp.

Annotation: These guidelines provide health professionals with information for discussion with HIV-infected pregnant women to enable the patient-health professional team to make informed decisions about the use of antiretroviral drugs during pregnancy and the use of elective Cesarean delivery to reduce perinatal HIV transmission. The recommendations in the guidelines are accompanied by discussion of various circumstances that commonly occur in clinical practice and the factors influencing treatment considerations. Topics include (1) lessons learns from clinical trials of antiretroviral interventions to reduce perinatal transmission of HIV, (2) preconception counseling and care for HIV-infected women of childbearing age, (3) antepartum care, (4) intrapartum care, (5) postpartum care, and (6) neonatal postnatal care.

Contact: AIDSinfo, P.O. Box 6303, Rockville, MD 20849-6303, Telephone: (800) 448-0440 Secondary Telephone: (888) 480-3739 Fax: (301) 315-2818 E-mail: ContactUs@aidsinfo.nih.gov Web Site: http://aidsinfo.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Cesarean section, Counseling, Disease transmission, Guidelines, HIV infected patients, Pediatric HIV, Physician patient relations, Postnatal care, Postpartum care, Preconception care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention, Treatment

KidsHealth. 2011. Avian flu. [Jacksonville, FL]: Nemours Foundation,

Annotation: This resource presents information for parents about bird flu (avian flu). Topics include what avian flu is, why and where it is a concern, how it is spread, symptoms, and how to prevent it. The content is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: KidsHealth, Nemours, 10140 Centurion Parkway, Jacksonville, FL 32256, Telephone: (904) 697-4100 Fax: (904) 697-4220 E-mail: comments@KidsHealth.org Web Site: http://kidshealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disease management, Disease transmission, Influenza, Prevention, Public policy, Spanish language materials, Treatment

Hooker C, Holt E, Nissen G. 2008. Infectious diseases in childcare settings and schools: Information for directors, caregivers, parents or guardians, and school health staff (6th ed.). Hopkins, MN: Hennepin County Community Human Services and Public Health Department, 1 v.

Annotation: This manual is intended to inform administrators, child care providers, caregivers, parents and guardians, and school health staff about specific infectious disease problems they may encounter in the child care setting or in schools. The manual provides specific disease prevention and control guidelines that are consistent with the national standards put forth by the American Academy of Pediatrics and the American Public Health Association on 52 diseases that are of concern in child care settings and on 25 diseases that are of concern in schools. Section contents include guidelines for staff and children and the environment, misuse of antibiotics, disease reporting, exposure control and outbreak management, fact sheets, sample letter to healthcare providers or parents and guardians, immunizations, Minnesota laws related to childcare settings, a glossary, references, order forms, and fact sheets for school-aged children.

Contact: Hennepin County Health, Housing & Social Services, Epidemiology & Environmental Health, Hopkins Wells Fargo Buildng, 1011 S First Street, Suite 215, Hopkins, MN 55343, Telephone: (612) 348-2741 E-mail: Available from the website.

Keywords: Child care, Child care workers, Child health, Communicable diseases, Disease transmission, Minnesota, Parents, Prevention, School age children, School health, School personnel, Standards, Young children

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health. 2005. The use and handling of toothbrushes. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1 p.

Annotation: This topic page provides information on recommended toothbrush care and toothbrushing programs in schools and group settings.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Child care, Child health, Dental hygiene, Disease transmission, Infection control, Oral health, Programs, Schools

Peck MG, Abreasch CJ, Simpson PS, eds. 2005. Profiles of perinatal HIV prevention: Urban communities share their efforts to prevention mother-to-child transmission of HIV. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 44 pp.

Annotation: This publication, which is designed for use by communities as a starting point to implement local systems to prevent perinatal HIV transmission, introduces the Urban Prevention Collaborative (UPC) and the Urban Learning Network, both of which work toward prevention of perinatal HIV transmission. Themes and recommendations from the UPC are presented, along with commentary from City MatCH. A table of prevention strategies is included, and descriptions of programs run by health departments in several states are presented. The publication includes one appendix: a CityMatCH mapping AIDS prevention strategies overview.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community programs, Disease transmission, HIV, Perinatal influences, Prevention, Urban MCH programs

CityMatCH. 2005. Preventing perinatal transmission of HIV AIDS. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This webcast on the prevention of the perinatal transition of HIV AIDS was held on February 17, 2005. The webcast featured three presenters: (1) Margaret Lampe, from the Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention-Epidemiology, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, who discussed Rapid HIV-1 testing for women in labor with unknown HIV status; (2) Ana Rua-Dobles, from the HUG-Me Program in Orlando, FL, who presented on the perinatal nurse's role in the prevention of HIV vertical transmission; and (3) Jackie Nash, Regional HIV/AIDS Prevention Coordinator, Duval County Health Dept. in Jacksonville, FL, who talked about Florida's Targeted Outreach for Pregnant Women Act Program (TOPWA). The complete audio recording, along with all three powerpoint presentations, are available online. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Multimedia, AIDS, Disease prevention, Disease transmission, Florida, HIV, HIV screening, Infant health, Maternal health, Perinatal influences, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, State programs

Montana Schools Boards Association and Montana Office of Public Instruction. 2003. Communicable diseases: Model policies and procedures for HIV education, infected students and staff, and work site safety. Helena, MT: Montana Office of Public Instruction, 24 pp.

Annotation: This publication provides guidelines for teachers, principals, and other educators and school trustees in developing policies and procedures in addressing AIDS and HIV issues among staff, students, parents, and the community in Montana. Section topics include education, rights and accommodations, and worksite safety. Discussion topics include the role of public health and medical communities in assessing the risk of transmission of various communicable diseases to determine how best to protect the health of both students and staff, privacy rights, the role of the school nurse, parental notification, physical or special examinations, rights and accommodations of staff, reporting suspected or confirmed cases of communicable disease, employment issues, and prevention of disease transmission. A brief list of resources is available.

Contact: Montana Office of Public Instruction, P.O. Box 202501, Helena, MT 59620-2501, Telephone: (406) 444-3095 Secondary Telephone: (888) 231-9393 E-mail: OPISupt@mt.gov Web Site: http://opi.mt.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Communicable diseases, Confidentiality, Disease prevention, Disease transmission, HIV, Health policy, Montana, Occupational safety and health, Policy development, School age children, School health education, School nurses, School personnel, State initiatives

Evers S. [1994]. Not me: Innocence in the time of AIDS. (Edited version). Santa Monica, CA: Pyramid Film and Video, 1 videotape (38 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape provides a discussion from six, HIV-positive young adults who talk frankly with high school students about HIV and sexual transmission of the the virus. They reveal how they were infected and how their lives have been affected. They shatter common myths about HIV and clarify how the virus is transmitted. The importance of using condoms and getting tested for HIV are emphasized, along with the benefits of abstinence.

Contact: Pyramid Media, P.O. Box 1048/W.E.B., Santa Monica, CA 90406, Telephone: (800) 421-2304 Secondary Telephone: (310) 828-7577 Fax: (310) 453-9083 E-mail: info@pyramidmedia.com Web Site: http://www.pyramidmedia.com $295. Also available for $295, an unedited, 53 minute version of the program.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Disease transmission, HIV, Health education, Self esteem, Substance abuse, Videotapes

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.