Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This unpublished document contains a set of 4 teaching modules: (1) Ethnicity and Healthy Birth Outcomes; (2) Ethnicity and Genetic Disease; (3) Culture and AIDS Prevention in Adolescents; and (4) Using the Internet in Maternal and Child Health. Each of the modules contains lesson objectives; a suggested reading list followed by a section of summaries; and suggested assignments and class presentations geared towards the objectives discussed at the beginning of each module. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Maryland School of Social Work, Center for Maternal and Child Health Social Work Education, 525 West Redwood Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 706-7533 Fax: (410) 706-6046 Web Site: http://cmchswe.umaryland.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Ethnic factors, Internet, MCH training, Maternal health

Annotation: This pamphlet for parents describes care and safety for children age one year until entry into school. Topics include growth and development, building personality, discipline, prevention of disease and defects, prevention of accidents, proper nutrition, and daily child care. Additional topics include play and playthings, and care of the sick child. An index concludes the pamphlet.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge.

Keywords: Child health, Child safety, Developmental stages, Disease prevention, Hygiene, Injury prevention, Nutrition

Annotation: This document describes seven science-based approaches in adolescent pregnancy, HIV, and sexually transmitted infection prevention. Topics include assessment, health education and behavior change theory, logic models, science-based programs, adaptation and fidelity, characteristics of promising programs, and process and outcome evaluation. Additional topics include the benefits of using science-based approaches, ten steps for getting to outcomes, and training and technical assistance.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy prevention, Assessment, Behavior modification, HIV, Health behavior, Health education, Methods, Models, Outcome evaluation, Prevention programs, Process evaluation, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This website provides resources for the well-woman visit, including recommendations, an evidence review, a well-woman chart, and other resources. It is aimed at obstetricians-gynecologists, other health care providers, and patients.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Disease prevention, Preventive health services Health screening, Women', s health

Annotation: This guide provides information about how silver diamine fluoride (SDF) can be used in the management of dental caries. Information on who may benefit from SFD application and criteria for tooth selection is offered, along with information about how to apply SDF and how to follow up after treatment. What patients can expect after application is also discussed.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease management, Followup, Oral health, Prevention, Silver diamine fluoride

Annotation: This manual provides policies and procedures for Wisconsin Seal-A-Smile (SAS) grantees, with the goal of helping them administer programs and ensure consistency across programs. The purpose of SAS is to improve the oral health of Wisconsin children through school-based dental sealant programs. Topics include administrative and regulatory guidelines; program requirements; forms, reporting, and recording; and budget and funding information.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administration, Data collection, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Forms, Grants management, Oral health, Prevention programs, Reimbursement, School age children, School health programs, School health services, Screening, State programs, Wisconsin

Annotation: This statement focuses on the safety and benefits of community water fluoridation (CWF). Contents include evidence showing that CWF programs are an effective, cost-saving, and safe intervention for preventing tooth decay and promoting oral health across the lifespan. The effectiveness of CWF compared with other methods of fluoride delivery is discussed, along with the return on investment of CWF, both for families and for the health care system as a whole. Risks that may accompany CWF are addressed.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community based services, Cost effectiveness, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Life course, Oral health, Safety, Water

Annotation: This guide provides information about promoting oral health in schools. The guide features materials on data and surveillance; policy; professional education, tools, and training; program development; and public education. Selected materials include a toolkit to help advocates improve the quality of school meals, a roadmap for healthy schools, best practice reports about school-based dental sealant programs and about use of fluoride in schools, and an oral health curriculum for students in kindergarten through grades 10. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Disease prevention, Health promotion, Oral health, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health services, School linked programs, Young children

Annotation: This manual is designed to assist professionals in planning, launching, implementing, and sustaining school-based dental sealant programs. This edition pairs the manual with a training that further prepares professionals to plan and operate programs. In addition to offering a step-wise approach for planning and implementing school-based dental sealant programs, the Seal America manual addresses issues related to referring students with unmet oral health needs to a dental clinic or office. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Seal In A Smile Video

Keywords: Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Model programs, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Program planning, Referrals, School age children, Schools, Sustainability, Training

Annotation: This resource provides an overview of steps parents can take to prevent tooth decay in their children, including brushing with fluoride toothpaste, other ways to use fluoride and fluoride supplements, giving children healthy food and drinks, dental checkups, and sealants. A companion resource on adult tooth and gum care is also available from the website.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Infant health, Oral health, Young children

Annotation: This report describes various factors that have contributed to a decline in childhood vaccination rates and examines actions that policymakers can take to reverse declining routine childhood vaccination rates and strengthen health equity. The ecommendations include boosting resources for immunization programs through the federal Vaccines for Children and Section 317 programs; increasing vaccine reimbursement to cover costs associated with vaccination; countering vaccine disinformation through effective messaging; and tightening and reinforcing school vaccine requirements.

Contact: Center for American Progress, 1333 H Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 682-1611 Fax: (202) 682-1867 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americanprogress.org

• Link

Keywords: Childhood health, Disease prevention, Immunization, Policy development, Trends, Vaccinations

Annotation: This manual is designed to help non-oral-health professionals implement fluoride-varnish application for infants, children, and adolescents ages 6 months to 21 years who are enrolled in Massachusetts’ Medicaid program. The manual includes instructions on how to complete the online Smiles for Life training, which is required for health professionals to apply fluoride varnish for this population. It also discusses how to begin using fluoride varnish in a practice as well as how to keep fluoride varnish notes and how to bill for fluoride varnish application. Basic information about fluoride varnish application and information to share with parents and other caregivers is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Manuals, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training, Young adults

Annotation: This resource guide provides an overview of the use and application of dental sealants. The first section features descriptions of and links to materials on policy, professional education, tools, training, public education, and state and local programs. The second section lists federal agencies, national professional associations, and resource centers that may serve as resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Bibliographies, Children, Dental sealants, Directories, Disease prevention, Oral health, Resource materials

Annotation: This brief evaluates Medicaid coverage for a select group of dental insurance codes that address barriers to optimal oral health care for children. The goal of the brief, which explains how these codes are created and why they are important, is to raise awareness of the codes and of the benefits of advocating for their inclusion in state fee schedules. For each code, the brief offers a rationale, a recommendation, and a list of states that reimburse for the code.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease prevention, Insurance, Medicaid, Oral health

Annotation: This infographic provides information about Ohio’s 2021–2022 state oral health plan goal to ensure that Ohioans understand the relationship between oral and systemic health. It discusses the association between periodontal disease and systemic conditions and the relationship between oral health and health care expenditures. Challenges related to oral health care that skilled nursing facilities face are also addressed.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Ohio, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Prevention, Skilled nursing facilities, Statewide planning

Annotation: The issue brief highlights strategies that have proven to be effective in immunizing children against diseases such as measles and resulted in significant reductions in certain vaccination rate disparities. It explains how evidence-based strategies from this pre-existing vaccination playbook can be implemented to vaccinate children widely and equitably during the COVID 19 pandemic and beyond.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Disease prevention, Immunization, Public policy, Vaccination, Vaccines

Annotation: This resource guide includes information for health professionals to help them provide pregnant women with appropriate and timely oral health care. The guide describes materials, such as brochures and handouts, curricula, guidelines, reports, and tools. It also lists federal agencies, national professional associations, and resource centers that may serve as resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF
• First Edition

Keywords: Bibliographies, Directories, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Health services, Oral health, Pregnant women, Resource materials

Annotation: This committee opinion for clinicians includes background information on the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine; statistics on HPV-associated cancers; recommendations on who should be vaccinated and when; guidelines on administering the vaccine; and information on safety, efficacy, and patient education. The 2020 committee opinion r(#809) replaces the earlier 2017 opinion (#704).

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Cancer, Communication, Disease prevention, Human papillomavirus, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals, Vaccines, Women', s health services

Annotation: This tip sheet provides information about promoting oral health among children and adolescents. It offers background on the importance of oral health for child and adolescent development and discusses oral health services that children and adolescents should receive. Also discussed are making the most of oral health supervision visits by using the Bright Futures Tool & Resource Kit and age-specific guidance from health supervision visits. A table summarizing anticipatory guidance by developmental stage is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Disease prevention, Health care delivery, Health promotion, Oral health

Annotation: This resource guide is designed to assist health professionals and parents in promoting good eating and oral health practices to help prevent oral disease in pregnant women, infants, children, and adolescents. The guide provides descriptions of materials on data and surveillance, policy, professional education and training, and public education. Descriptions of and contact information for relevant organizations is also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Infant health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pregnant women