Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This kit is designed for parents to use at home to help prepare for most kinds of disasters. It consists of an overview booklet, a "4 steps to safety readiness" guide, a child identification card, a list for recording local emergency phone numbers, and fact sheets on earthquake, flood, hurricane, terrorism, tornado, tsunami, and winter storms.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disaster planning

Annotation: This toolkit provides comprehensive guidance for healthcare organizations to enhance their climate resilience planning and emergency preparedness efforts. It presents strategies, actions, tools, and resources organized around key elements including risk assessment, health equity, community engagement, infrastructure vulnerabilities, healthcare collaboration, and communications. Developed by the Office of Climate Change and Health Equity in partnership with healthcare professionals, the toolkit includes case studies of successful climate resilience initiatives at healthcare facilities across diverse settings.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Disaster planning, Emergencies, Environmental health, Model programs, Risk management

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to improve the capacity of health care, public health, and social services professionals to address maternal and child health in emergency preparedness, response, recovery, and mitigation activities. The toolkit outlines basic planning steps, highlights key resources and promising practices, and explains critical data and information to be integrated into emergency planning for maternal and child health populations.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, Federal agencies, Infants, Women

Annotation: This resource guide presents emergency preparedness and response materials focused on maternal and infant health. It provides links to tools, guidance documents, and training opportunities for public health professionals addressing the needs of pregnant women and infants during disasters. The guide is organized into two main sections: a collection of toolkits and resources addressing topics such as post-disaster surveillance indicators, pregnancy estimation, and contraception access during emergencies; and a comprehensive listing of trainings and webinars from organizations including CDC, FEMA, EPA, and academic institutions. Each training entry includes information on source agency, content description, duration, and continuing education availability. The document is intended for participants in the Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs (AMCHP) Action Learning Collaborative and includes resources relevant to various disaster types including hurricanes, wildfires, and public health emergencies.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Maternal health, Infant health, Disaster planning, Federal MCH programs, Pregnant women, Postpartum women, Resource materials, Disaster planning, Title V programs,

Annotation: This document catalogs the Center for Disease Control's emergency preparedness and response communication resources, organized into two main sections. The first section lists general communication tools and guides, including a COVID-19 toolkit for pregnant people and new parents, access and functional needs resources, a communication resource center for state and local partners, public health media library, emergency partnership networks (EPIC), crisis communication guidelines (CERC), health equity strategies, and various communication playbooks and indices. The second section focuses specifically on maternal and infant health preparedness resources, providing safety messages and guidance for pregnant, postpartum, and breastfeeding women during disasters, including information about natural disasters, COVID-19, infant feeding, chronic disease management, radiation emergencies, and hurricane preparedness, with some materials available in Spanish.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Disaster planning, Information resources, Family support services, Communication

Annotation: This presentation from the American Red Cross outlines best practices and key considerations for disaster response and recovery planning, with a particular focus on supporting individuals with functional needs and disabilities. It emphasizes the importance of partnerships, such as the collaboration between Protection and Advocacy (P&A) agencies and the Red Cross, and highlights the need for inclusive community planning that addresses continuity of services, long-term recovery, and resource coordination. Using Puerto Rico's long-term recovery efforts as an example, the document describes specific initiatives like installing solar panels for schools and community wells, and supporting micro-agriculture and health centers. It concludes with planning considerations that stress the importance of integrated community planning, real-world exercise evaluation, and consideration of functional needs support services throughout all disaster phases, providing various resources for further guidance on inclusive emergency planning and response.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Disaster planning, Shelters, Maternal health services, Child health services, Puerto Rico

Annotation: This report examines the critical role of Title V Maternal and Child Health (MCH) and Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) programs in emergency preparedness and response, using lessons learned from the 2016 Zika virus outbreak. Based on a virtual focus group with seven state Title V programs, the analysis highlights Title V's unique value through its expertise in working with pregnant women and infants, established provider networks, care coordination infrastructure, and effective communication channels. The authors present specific examples of successful state responses, such as Virginia's care coordination services, California's provider training initiatives, Florida's cross-divisional collaboration, and Puerto Rico's regional pediatric research centers. The report also identifies key challenges, including the need to track asymptomatic infants and maintain strong communication networks, and provides practical tips for Title V programs to ensure their integration into emergency preparedness and response processes, emphasizing the importance of clear protocols, strong communication systems, and demonstrating Title V's unique value in addressing MCH population needs during public health emergencies.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Disaster planning, Federal MCH programs, Infant health, Maternal health, California, Florida, Virginia, Puerto Rico

Annotation: Based on data from the U.S. Zika Pregnancy and Infant Registry (USZPIR) and a 2019 multidisciplinary leadership meeting organized by AMCHP, March of Dimes, and CDC, this report outlines the long-term challenges and preparedness needs for supporting children and families affected by the Zika virus. It highlights that approximately 14% of infants born to mothers with confirmed or possible Zika infection experienced health problems, requiring comprehensive, long-term support across multiple systems. The document identifies seven key areas for systems improvement, and for each area, it provides detailed recommendations for both individual/family needs and systems-level responses, emphasizing the importance of sustainable healthcare coverage, coordinated care systems, cultural competency, and ongoing surveillance. The report concludes that states must assess and strengthen their infrastructure, leverage existing programs, and foster collaborative partnerships to better serve both Zika-affected families and all children with special healthcare needs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Children with special health care needs, Disaster planning, Health screening, Congenital abnormalities, Infant health, Maternal health

Annotation: This paper provides state governors with actions they can take to improve preparedness for public health emergencies. Topics include understanding legal authority to respond in the event of a public health disaster, establishing and institutionalizing coordination among key players, strengthening internal and external communications, and identifying gaps in baseline capabilities and available resources needed to address these gaps.

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Crisis intervention, Disaster planning, Legal issues, Program coordination, Public health infrastructure, Resource allocation, Service delivery systems, State government

Annotation: This fact sheet series provides information on emergency preparedness for pregnant women and families with infants. Topics include tips for getting ready before a disaster, planning emergency supplies, during and after a disaster, and knowing the signs of preterm labor. Separate fact sheets provide tips for creating a disaster kit and preparing for earthquakes, hurricanes, tornados, and wildfires. One fact sheet is available in English and Spanish. More information, including guidelines for customizing the fact sheets, is available from the website.

Contact: American Public Health Association, 800 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3710, Telephone: (202) 777-2742 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 777-2534 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disaster planning, Emergencies, Families, Health planning, Infants, Life planning skills, Multimedia, Parents, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This website is a compendium of resources related to medical and public health issues of children in disasters and emergencies. Contents include links to journal articles and other documents and materials that may be useful in preparedness, mitigation, response and recovery activities. Resources are national or international in scope. Topics include natural disasters; chemical and biological agents, radiologicals and nuclear, and explosives (CBRNE); psychological and behavioral health; and special topics such as children with disabilities, school and care providers, hospital preparedness, resilience, and pandemics.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Communicable diseases, Databases, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, Emergency medical services for children, Hospitals, International health, Mental health, Resilience, Resources for professionals, Schools, Special health care needs

Annotation: This report evaluates basic state emergency preparedness plans for children in each state and the District of Columbia, and highlights a critical standard that every state should have in place to address the most vulnerable children in child care. Standards discussed include an evacuation plan for children in child care, plans for reuniting children with their families after a disaster, a plan for children with disabilities and those with access and functional needs, and a multi-hazard plan for K-12 schools. The report provides state-by-state data with successful examples as well as a description of the study methodology.

Contact: Save the Children, 501 Kings Highway East, Fairfield, CT 06825, Telephone: (203) 221-4000 Web Site: http://www.savethechildren.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Previous Reports

Keywords: Child care, Children, Children with special health care needs, Disaster planning, Emergencies, Infants, State surveys, Young children

Annotation: This document reports findings from a study to determine what organizational factors local health department staff perceive as necessary to support their use of social media and mobile health technologies for emergency preparedness. Contents include the study methods, findings, and recommendations for policy and practice. Topics include in-house capacity, leadership support and policies, legal and security issues, and audiences. Case studies are also included.

Contact: UPMC Center for Health Security, 621 E. Pratt Street, Suite 210, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (443) 573-3304 Fax: (443) 573-3305 Web Site: http://www.upmchealthsecurity.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Case studies, Confidentiality, Disaster planning, Health agencies, Legal issues, Local agencies, Policy analysis, Policy development, Research, Social media, Technology

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Child mental health, Child safety, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, Environmental health, Injury prevention

Contact: U.S. Federal Emergency Management Agency, 500 C Street S.W. , Washington, DC 20472, Telephone: (800) 621-3362 Secondary Telephone: (800) 462-4585 Web Site: http://www.fema.gov/index.shtm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Disaster planning, Federal initiatives, Strategic plans

Annotation: This tool is designed to help hospitals incorporate essential pediatric considerations into existing hospital disaster policies. It consists of 10 essential pediatric domains and corresponding considerations to guide hospital administrators, clinical managers, and disaster planning committees through a review of current disaster plans and inform policy development or revision. Additionally, a list of references and resources specific to each domain is provided to assist users in finding relevant literature and best practices. The checklist is available in both static and interactive electronic versions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Interactive

Keywords: Clinics, Disaster planning, Evidence based medicine, Hospitals, Model programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This resource outlines a plan for improving access to comprehensive, coordinated health care and related services for children, youth, and adults with autism spectrum disorder and related developmental disabilities in Georgia. The plan addresses the following ten areas of activity: early identification and screening; referral and diagnosis; medical, behavioral health, and dental services; family support; early intervention and preschool services; elementary and secondary education; community services and supports; transition from youth to adult systems; adult services and supports; and emergency preparedness and first responders. For each area, the report provides a definition, quality indicators (problem statements and data drivers), and recommendations (objectives). The report also describes foundational supports considered in developing the recommendations including work force, awareness, informational resources, finances, and policy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Georgia State University School of Public Health, Center for Leadership in Disability, 75 Piedmont Avenue, Suite 514, Atlanta, GA 30303, Telephone: (404) 413-1281 Fax: (404) 413-1012 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://disability.publichealth.gsu.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Autism, Community based services, Comprehensive health care, Diagnosis, Disaster planning, Early intervention, Educational objectives, Family centered care, Family support services, Financial planning, Georgia, Health care delivery, Life course, Policy development, Program coordination, Referrals, Screening, Special health care needs, State programs, Systems development, Transition planning, Work force

Annotation: This index identifies strengths and gaps in the protections needed to keep people safe and healthy in the face of large-scale public health threats, and tracks how these protections vary across the U.S. and change over time. Contents include current and past findings and methodology, key changes, data, measures, guiding principles, and frequently asked questions. Topics include health security surveillance, community planning and engagement coordination, incident and information management, health care delivery, countermeasure management, and environmental and occupational health.

• Link

Keywords: Community coordination, Community participation, Disaster planning, Emergencies, Environmental health, Hazards, Health care delivery, Management information systems, Measures, Occupational health, Population surveillance, Safety, Trends

Annotation: This report focuses on efforts to address children's needs in the event of a chemical, biological, rediological, or nuclear (CBRN) incident. The report examines (1) the percentage of CBRN medical countermeasurments in the Strategic National Stockpile that are approved for pediatric use, (2) challenges the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) faces in developing and acquiring CBRN medical countermeasures for the pediatric population and the steps it is taking to address them, and (3) ways that DHHS has addressed the dispensing of pediatric countermeasures in its emergency response plans and guidance and ways that state and local governments have addressed this issue.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-13-438.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Children, Emergencies, Disaster planning, Guidelines

Annotation: This peer-reviewed set of pediatric-focused curricular recommendations is a reference tool developed to aid in disaster education and training for health professionals. The tool is intended for educators, program directors, and curriculum developers to use in planning education and training on pediatric issues in disaster health for a wide range of health professionals. The resource is organized according to four phases of disaster response: mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery. The recommendations weave these competencies and critical topics within a framework of an adapted model for disaster response.

Contact: National Center for Disaster Medicine and Public Health, University of the Health Sciences, 11300 Rockville Pike, Suite 1000, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 833-4444 Fax: (240) 833-4435 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ncdmph.usuhs.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Competency based education, Curricula, Disaster planning, Educational materials, Emergencies, Training materials