Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 5 (5 total).

The Arc of the United States. 2012. The Affordable Care Act: What disability advocates need to know. Washington, DC: The Arc of the United States, 15 pp. (National Policy Matters)

Annotation: This paper outlines the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) to help the disability community to better understand the law and the many benefits it can provide to people with disabilities and help to move states forward with implementation. Topics include how the PPACA expands health insurance coverage in both the private and public sectors, expands essential benefits, impacts Medicaid, expands long-term services and support, and emphasizes prevention. It also discusses provisions important to people with intellectual and/or developmental disabilities.

Contact: Arc of the United States, 1660 L Street, N.W., Suite 301, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (800) 433-5255 Secondary Telephone: (202) 534-3700 Fax: (202) 783-8250 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thearc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Disabilities, Disability benefits, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health insurance, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

National Center for Children in Poverty. 2005. Children, Social Security, and private accounts: 10 questions for policymakers. New York, NY: National Center for Children in Poverty, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about how proposed changes to the Social Security program would affect children. The fact sheet includes a list of basic facts about Social Security and a list of questions about private accounts. Endnotes are included.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Disability benefits, Disability insurance, Families, Poverty, Social Security, Survivors

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1994. Social security: Rapid rise in children on SSI disability rolls follows new regulations. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the growth in the number of children receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) disability benefits during the last four years. It discusses changes in policies that account for the increases.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-94-225.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Disability benefits, Federal programs, Supplemental Security Income

Whitehead MD, Conte MA, Funk MA. 1992. Plan expenses for multiemployer health and welfare plans: A comparative survey. Chicago, IL: Commerce Clearing House, 32 pp.

Annotation: This report analyzes the plan expenses for multiemployer health welfare plans as they were reported on Form 5500 for the 1988 tax year. The data tables show average plan expenses by size categories for the significant areas of the plans' operations and allow the plan fiduciaries, service providers, and trustees to compare their plan expenses with the average expenses of plans of the same basic size. The report includes information on the use of the tables and the significance of analyzing plan expenses. Data tables are included for the following fees: accounting, actuarial, contract administrators, legal, investment advisory and management, trustees' fees, other administration, and total operations.

Contact: CCH Incorporated, 4025 West Peterson Avenue, Chicago, IL 60646-6085, Telephone: (888) 224-7377 Web Site: http://www.cch.com/ $15.00. Document Number: CCH catalog no. 5466.

Keywords: Costs, Disability benefits, Health insuring organizations, Statistics

Reiss JG, Siderits PJ, eds. 1991. Supplemental security income handbook. Gainesville, FL: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Center for Policy Coordination in Maternal and Child Health, ca. 500 pp.

Annotation: This handbook assists staff of the Title V Programs for Children with Special Health Care Needs in implementing the recent changes to the Supplemental Security Income Program for children. The handbook provides information on the history of the SSI Program, current statutory and regulatory roles, structure and processes, administration of State Title V services, and program implementation strategies. Appendices provide disability information, examples of reports, documents and agreements, and case management information. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHF085.

Keywords: Case management, Children with special health care needs, Disability benefits, Federal programs, Program development, Rehabilitation, Supplemental Security Income, Title V programs
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.