Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 14 (14 total).

Roux AM, Rast JE, Anderson KA, Shattuck PT. 2017. National autism indicators report: Develomental disability services and outcomes in adulthood. Philadelphia, PA: A. J. Drexel Autism Institute, Life Course Outcomes Research Program, 78 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on the needs of adults with autism spectrum disorders who have more severe challenges, including those who have just left the special education system and those who are at the end of their working years, to look at differences in services and outcomes across the life course. It includes data on individuals with other forms of developmental disabilities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Drexel Autism Institute, Drexel University, 3141 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104, E-mail: https://drexel.ed Web Site: https://drexel.edu/autisminstitute/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Autism, Developmental disabilities, Developmental disability programs, Special health care needs, Statistics

The Arc of the United States. 2012. The Affordable Care Act: What disability advocates need to know. Washington, DC: The Arc of the United States, 15 pp. (National Policy Matters)

Annotation: This paper outlines the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) to help the disability community to better understand the law and the many benefits it can provide to people with disabilities and help to move states forward with implementation. Topics include how the PPACA expands health insurance coverage in both the private and public sectors, expands essential benefits, impacts Medicaid, expands long-term services and support, and emphasizes prevention. It also discusses provisions important to people with intellectual and/or developmental disabilities.

Contact: Arc of the United States, 1660 L Street, N.W., Suite 301, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (800) 433-5255 Secondary Telephone: (202) 534-3700 Fax: (202) 783-8250 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thearc.org Available from the website.

Word Document

Keywords: Disabilities, Disability benefits, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health insurance, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Spears H, Carman R. [2011]. Increasing trainee survey responses: Best practice methods for obtaining high response rates from trainees. [Silver Spring, MD]: Association of University Centers on Disabilities, 5 pp.

Annotation: This report describes practices suggested by training centers on disabilities identified by the Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD) as those that consistently report the highest survey response rates from their trainees. Based on interviews conducted by AUCD with training directors and former trainees from five network programs, the report lists four themes of best practice identified as key components in yielding high trainee survey response rates. The methodology used by AUCD is described in detail, and specific examples of practices that resulted in the highest survey response rates are explained. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of University Centers on Disabilities, 1010 Wayne Avenue, Suite 1000, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 588-8252 Fax: (301) 588-2842 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aucd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Developmental disability programs, Disabilities, Federal programs, Professional training, Program improvement, Surveys

Davis M, Jivanjee P, Koroloff N. 2010. Paving the way: Meeting transition needs of young people with developmental disabilities and serious mental health conditions. Portland, OR: Research and Training Center on Family Support and Children's Mental Health, 73 pp.

Annotation: This report includes eight case studies of programs providing innovative service for adolescents and young adults (ages 16-24) who have both a developmental disability and a mental health condition. The report also includes six short descriptions of specific best practices. The programs featured in the report include a school-based transition program, outpatient mental health services, an employment-preparation program, programs supporting youth transitions from restrictive environments to community settings, system-level crisis-prevention and intervention planning, and system-level planning and consultation.

Contact: Research and Training Center on Family Support and Children's Mental Health, Portland State University, P.O. Box 751, Portland, OR 97207-0751, Telephone: (503) 725-4040 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (503) 725-4180 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rtc.pdx.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Case studies, Developmental disabilities, Developmental disability programs, Health services, Mental disorders, Mental health, Mental health services, Model programs, Prevention, Program, Service delivery systems, Social services, Transition planning, Young adults, Youth in transition programs

Katzel A, LaVant A, Richards C. 2010. Blazing the trail: A new direction for youth development and leadership—Youth call to action. Washington, DC: National Collaborative on Workforce and Disability for Youth, 8 pp.

Annotation: This call-to-action outlines ten steps that young people can take to enhance their development and become leaders in their community and the nation. Included are guidelines to help youth learn about their rights and responsibilities, connect with the community, become self-advocates, learn about the disability movement, participate in the transition from youth to adulthood, research scholarships, obtain work experience, find or become a mentor, serve on decision-making boards, and help to train those who work with you. The recommended action steps are based on findings from the National Collaborative on Workforce and Disability for Youth (NCWD/Youth) Blazing the Trail summit held in August 2007, which brought together more than 200 youth and adults to discuss what action steps would help ensure that young people are prepared to move successfully from youth to adulthood.

Contact: National Collaborative on Workforce and Disability for Youth, c/o Institute for Educational Leadership, 4455 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Stuie 310, Washington, DC 20008, Telephone: (877) 871-0744 Secondary Telephone: (877) 871-0665 Web Site: http://www.ncwd-youth.info Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Collaboration, Disability, Guidelines, Leadership, School to work transition, Service learning, Youth development

National Center for Children in Poverty. 2005. Children, Social Security, and private accounts: 10 questions for policymakers. New York, NY: National Center for Children in Poverty, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about how proposed changes to the Social Security program would affect children. The fact sheet includes a list of basic facts about Social Security and a list of questions about private accounts. Endnotes are included.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Disability benefits, Disability insurance, Families, Poverty, Social Security, Survivors

Schoenbrodt L, ed. 2001. Children with traumatic brain injury: A parent's guide. Bethesda, MD: Woodbine House, 482 pp.

Annotation: This book is written for parents of children who have suffered traumatic brain injury (TBI) to help them navigate the medical and educational systems and to find additional information and support for the family and the child. Chapter topics include defining TBI; rehabilitation and medical concerns; coping as a family; helping the child adjust; how TBI affects learning and thinking, speech and language, and behavior; strategies for managing behavior; the educational needs of children with TBI; and legal issues for families. An appendix provides scales used to assess patients with TBI. The book also contains a glossary, reading list, resource guide, notes, and an index.

Contact: Woodbine House, 6510 Bells Mill Road, Bethesda, MD 20817, Telephone: (800) 843-7323 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.woodbinehouse.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-933149-99-9.

Keywords: Brain injuries, Child development, Child health, Coping, Disability assessment, Family support, Legal issues, Rehabilitation, Trauma

Clark J, Manes J. 1998-. The advocate's guide to SSI for children: A manual for working with the laws, regulations, policies and procedures governing children's eligibility for Supplemental Security Income. (3rd. ed.). Washington, DC: Mental Health Law Project, ca. 300 pp.

Annotation: This manual is designed to help families, disability advocates, and others learn about the Supplemental Security Income (SSI) program and how it can help children who have mental and physical disabilities. After a general overview of SSI in part one, the next two sections examine how the Social Security Administration (SSA) decides if a child meets the fundamental criteria of financial eligibility and disability. Two more sections discuss what occurs after SSA's decision, whether denial or award of benefits. Part six looks at the Sullivan v. Zebley decision, both how to apply for back benefits under it and what they will mean to a family receiving other public benefits. Finally, part seven offers an overview of other benefits and resources for which children with disabilities may qualify. The manual includes a set of fact sheets that summarizes the key topics discussed in the guide.

Contact: Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 1101 15th Street, N.W., Suite 1212, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 467-5730 Secondary Telephone: (202) 467-4232 Fax: (202) 223-0409 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.bazelon.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Disability evaluation, Eligibility determination, Supplemental Security Income

U.S. Social Security Administration. 1997. Social security: Review of SSA's implementation of new SSI childhood disability legislation. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Social Security Administration, 65 pp.

Annotation: This review of Supplemental Security Income (SSI) eligibility legislation for disabled children defines disability in children, and discusses eligibility review and implementation of the new legislation. Some corrective actions are recommended to ensure that every child receives a fair assessment. The three specific areas of concern identified were: cessation of eligibility of children classified as having mental retardation, quality of case processing, and appeals and requests for benefit continuation during appeal.

Contact: U.S. Social Security Administration, 6401 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21235, Telephone: (800) 772-1213 Secondary Telephone: (800) 325-0778 Contact Phone: (410) 965-4005 Web Site: http://www.ssa.gov Price unknown. Document Number: DHHS (SSA) 64-070.

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Disability evaluation, Legislation, Mental retardation, Supplemental security income

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1994. Social security: Rapid rise in children on SSI disability rolls follows new regulations. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the growth in the number of children receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) disability benefits during the last four years. It discusses changes in policies that account for the increases.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-94-225.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Disability benefits, Federal programs, Supplemental Security Income

Whitehead MD, Conte MA, Funk MA. 1992. Plan expenses for multiemployer health and welfare plans: A comparative survey. Chicago, IL: Commerce Clearing House, 32 pp.

Annotation: This report analyzes the plan expenses for multiemployer health welfare plans as they were reported on Form 5500 for the 1988 tax year. The data tables show average plan expenses by size categories for the significant areas of the plans' operations and allow the plan fiduciaries, service providers, and trustees to compare their plan expenses with the average expenses of plans of the same basic size. The report includes information on the use of the tables and the significance of analyzing plan expenses. Data tables are included for the following fees: accounting, actuarial, contract administrators, legal, investment advisory and management, trustees' fees, other administration, and total operations.

Contact: CCH Incorporated, 4025 West Peterson Avenue, Chicago, IL 60646-6085, Telephone: (888) 224-7377 Web Site: http://www.cch.com/ $15.00. Document Number: CCH catalog no. 5466.

Keywords: Costs, Disability benefits, Health insuring organizations, Statistics

Reiss JG, Siderits PJ, eds. 1991. Supplemental security income handbook. Gainesville, FL: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Center for Policy Coordination in Maternal and Child Health, ca. 500 pp.

Annotation: This handbook assists staff of the Title V Programs for Children with Special Health Care Needs in implementing the recent changes to the Supplemental Security Income Program for children. The handbook provides information on the history of the SSI Program, current statutory and regulatory roles, structure and processes, administration of State Title V services, and program implementation strategies. Appendices provide disability information, examples of reports, documents and agreements, and case management information. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHF085.

Keywords: Case management, Children with special health care needs, Disability benefits, Federal programs, Program development, Rehabilitation, Supplemental Security Income, Title V programs

Spalter-Roth RM, Withers C, Gibbs SR. 1990. Improving employment opportunities for women workers: An assessment of the ten year economic and legal impact of the Pregnancy Discrimination Act of 1978. Washington, DC: Institute for Women's Policy Research, 68 pp.

Annotation: This report examines the economic and legal effects of the Pregnancy Discrimination Act (PDA) of 1978, designed to prevent discrimination against pregnant women. It discusses the economic effects of the PDA; costs and benefits; the legal and political implications; and moving beyond the PDA. The report ends with appendices on employment rates, women covered by short term disability insurance, PDA cases, a list of data sources, and a reference list.

Contact: Institute for Women's Policy Research, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 301, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 785-5100 Fax: (202) 833-4362 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.iwpr.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Demography, Disability insurance, Discrimination, Economic factors, Employment, Legal issues, Pregnancy Discrimination Act, Pregnant women, Statistics

Capute A. 1987. Neurodevelopmental Precursors of Learning Disability [Final report]. Baltimore, MD: John F. Kennedy Institute for Handicapped Children,

Annotation: The purpose of this study was to evaluate the predictive validity (and clinical utility) of selected aspects of infant development in relationship to later specific learning disability. The study sought to determine whether the neurodevelopmental substrate for learning disorders could be detected prior to academic underachievement. 240 children participated in the study. The findings of the study supported the original premise: Early deviations in the pattern of development are associated with developmental dysfunctions in other areas. Such deviations are detectable by techniques that can be employed in the course of well-child care. If replicated, the data give primary care providers a means of placing infants "at risk" for learning dysfunction that is based on performance instead of history. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB88-173828.

Keywords: Learning disabilities, Nervous system diseases, Preschool children, School-age children, Specific learning disability (SLD)