Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This document for chief state school officers focuses on ways to prioritize and strengthen early learning opportunities and outcomes as an essential mechanism for closing the achievement gap and strengthening student outcomes through college and career. Contents include five action steps that chiefs can use to leverage the value of early childhood education for their state's public education system. Topics include engaging families and communities in early learning; connecting early childhood programs and elementary schools; accelerating improvement and innovation in early childhood programs; building a high performing early childhood work force; and increasing investment to provide quality, voluntary early childhood education for all children. Examples of state leadership are included.

Contact: Council of Chief State School Officers, One Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20001-1431, Telephone: (202) 336-7000 Fax: (202) 408-8072 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ccsso.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community action, Diffusion of innovation, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Elementary schools, Equal opportunities, Families, Leadership, Learning, Program improvement, Public education, Systems development, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This brief is designed to help Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting grantees develop a continuous quality improvement (CQI) plan and communicate it to others within their organization. The brief explains what the plan should cover and includes a sample outline and template for drafting a CQI plan. Also available are Appendix A: Sample CQI plan outline, Appendix B: Sample CQI plan template, and a 2017 update. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: James Bell Associates, 3033 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 650, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (800) 546-3230 Fax: (703) 243-3017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbassoc.com Available from the website.

• Link
• 2017 Update (guide)

Keywords: Communication, Diffusion of innovation, Evaluation methods, Federal grants, Home visiting, Information dissemination, Models, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Quality assurance

Annotation: This toolkit describes initiatives developed by Medicaid managed care organizations (MMCOs) to prevent and treat childhood obesity and offers resources and tools to support future efforts. Contents include an environmental scan of childhood obesity efforts led by MMCOs, case studies of childhood obesity initiatives and perspectives from families and children, and a readiness assessment and implementation tools to guide MMCOs seeking to enhance their existing initiative(s) or to launch a new program through the design, implementation, and evaluation process.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1150 18th Street, N.W., Suite 1010, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Child health, Diffusion of innovation, Disease prevention, Medicaid managed care, Needs assessment, Obesity, Pediatric care, Prevention programs, Program development, Program evaluation, Program planning, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This document for research teams conducting health services research in primary care and other health settings, quality improvement staff in health care settings, and physicians and other providers involved in practice-based research networks provides guidance on the use of and methods for conducting rapid-cycle research. It explores the breadth of methodologies conventionally associated with quality improvement in primary care settings, discusses the appropriateness of such strategies across evaluation objectives, and provides discussions about tools to accelerate the assessment-to-adoption cycle.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 15-0036.

• PDF

Keywords: Diffusion of innovation, Evaluation, Evaluation methods, Primary care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Research

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of the broad factors that influence health and describes emerging efforts to address them. Topics include mapping and place-based approaches, health in all policies, and efforts to integrate social and environmental needs into the health care system such as the State Innovation Models Initiative, Medicaid delivery and payment reforms, and provider and health plan efforts.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Coordination, Diffusion of innovation, Equal opportunities, Health care disparities, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health disparities, Health planning, Interdisciplinary approach, Medicaid, Policy development, Service integration, Work force

Annotation: This report provides strategic communications recommendations designed to help people understand that supporting successful implementation is critical to improving outcomes for children, families, and communities. Topics include the central features of implementation science and practice that experts want to be able to communicate; how individuals who work in various fields related to evidence, implementation, and social programs and policy think about implementation science; how the general public thinks about issues related to implementation; why communicating about implementation is difficult; and what implementation science can do to address gaps in understanding and encourage more effective communication, uptake, and application of knowledge and perspective on implementation.

Contact: FrameWorks Institute, 1333 H Street, N.W., Suite 700 West, Washington, DC 20005, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.FrameWorksInstitute.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Beliefs, Communication, Diffusion of innovation, Planning, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Research, Service delivery, Thinking

Annotation: This document describes learning collaboratives and learning communities/networks designed to improve child health through innovation and diffusion activities with practitioner leaders in the field.

Contact: Build Initiative, 89 South Street, Suite 700, Boston, MA 02111, Telephone: (617) 523-6565 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.buildinitiative.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration, Diffusion of innovation, Health personnel, Learning, Provider networks

Annotation: This website presents the vision, goals, and core values of the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau's training program. Contents also include a nationally-focused multiyear strategic plan and fact sheet to guide entities invested in the MCH workforce. Topics include strategies, activities, and performance measures to support MCH workforce development; diversity and health equity; interdisciplinary and interprofessional training and practice; and science, innovation, and quality improvement.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2340 Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/workforce-training Available from the website.

• Link
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Diffusion of innovation, Federal MCH programs, Interdisciplinary approach, Professional training: Cultural diversity, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Strategic plans, Work force

Annotation: This document for public health professionals provides a guide for identifying, analyzing, and prioritizing policies that can improve health. Contents include key steps for identifying a problem or issue, identifying an appropriate policy solution, assessing and prioritizing policy options, and developing a strategy for furthering adoption of a policy solution.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Diffusion of innovation, Health policy, Models, Policy analysis, Policy development, Public health

Annotation: This guide explains how libraries can use social media to enhance the services provided by their libraries. It describes how libraries can use tools such as Facebook, Twitter, MySpace, and Linked-In to create and promote resources and services and to enhance the patron's library experience. The guide includes practical advice on choosing, using, and monitoring tools effectively. It explains how to obtain administrative and staff buy-in and how to write a social media policy. It discusses the concept of social capital; recommends strategies for achieving social media success; and suggests methods for evaluating social media services. Best practices and additional resources are provided.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org $40.00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-8389-1067-2.

Keywords: Communication, Diffusion of innovation, Guidelines, Information sources, Internet, Library services, Model programs, Social media, Standards, Technology

Annotation: This registry and repository contains health-care-related metadata, specifications, and standards. Topics include health information technology standards, common formats, meaningful use, all-payer claims, and children's electronic health record format. Draft quality measures that are available to the public for feedback are also included.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Claims, Data, Databases, Diffusion of innovation, Federal initiatives, Integrated information sources, Measures, Medical records, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Registries, Resources for professionals, Standards, Technology transfer, Third party payers

Annotation: This report describes an initiative to reduce oral health burdens among individuals in Pennsylvania who cannot afford dentists or who are unable to find oral health professionals who will treat them and their families. Contents include stories from community-based grantees who were awarded foundation funding to (1) improve coordination and build capacity, (2) address a regional strategy to support expansion of oral health services, or (3) expand or improve existing dental equipment. The report presents an analysis of the impact the grants have had to date using three metrics: access to care, quality of care, and financial sustainability. Implications for future improvements in the oral health of underserved populations in Pennsylvania are also addressed.

Contact: Highmark Foundation, Fifth Avenue Place, 120 Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3099, Telephone: (800) 789-1726 Fax: (412) 544-6120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.highmark.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Collaboration, Dental care, Diffusion of innovation, Financing, Foundations, Model programs, Oral health, Pennsylvania, Public health, Regional planning, State initiatives

Annotation: This report examines the use of cell phone text messaging by minor teens as a way to send sexually suggestive nude or nearly nude images to others (this is referred to as sexting). It is based on the findings of a telephone survey on teens' and parents' use of mobile phones and six focus groups conducted in three U.S. cities in October 2009 with teens between the ages of 12 and 18. Included in the report are statistics indicating how many teens send and receive such text images, and which characteristics make it more likely that teens will engage in this activity. The report also describes three basic scenarios for sexting and the attitudes that teens have toward this form of data exchange.

Contact: Pew Internet and American Life Project, 1615 L Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-4500 Fax: 202-419-4505 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewinternet.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Communication, Diffusion of innovation, Statistics, Technology, Telephone surveys

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on a study conducted to learn key factors influencing the diffusion and adoption of evidence-based innovations in health care. The authors conducted case studies of four varied clinical programs. The brief, which includes an executive summary, is divided into the following main sections: (1) background, (2) a conceptual framework and lessons learned about diffusing innovations in the clinical setting, and (3) summary. The brief concludes with references and an about the authors section.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Case studies, Diffusion of innovation, Health care, Medical research, Programs

Annotation: This report summarizes the proceedings of a conference convened to explore (1) why the slow diffusion of many health care and medical innovations persists and (2) how to accelerate the adoption of clinical technologies and health service innovations that have been shown to improve the quality and/or cost effectiveness of health care. The report, which includes an executive summary, focuses on the following issues: (1) devices and drugs: obstacles to timely product uptake, (2) innovation in the hospital and at the bedside, (3) innovation in public health, prevention, and disease management, (4) the imperative of information technology and e-health, and (5) better quality through informed consumer choice. The report also includes synopses of three papers commissioned for the conference. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. The appendix lists conference faculty with contact information.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Consumers, Cost effectiveness, Diffusion of innovation, Disease management, Disease prevention, Health care, Hospitals, Information systems, Internet, Management, Medical devices, Medical research, Prescription drugs, Prevention, Public health, Technology

Annotation: These resources include tools for assessing, measuring, promoting, and improving the quality of health care; a standardized description of innovations and quality tools; and opportunities for learning and networking. The resources are organized according to client population, stage of care, setting of care, client care process, Institute of Medicine domains of quality, organizational purpose, and disease or clinical category. Resources to inform and guide efforts, instructions for submitting an innovation, and information about funding opportunities are also provided.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Diffusion of innovation, Distance education, Federal programs, Health care delivery, Program improvement, Quality assurance

Annotation: This website provides resources on using technology to connect and collaborate around HIV/AIDS. Contents include strategy and planning; using mobile technologies; social media and digital strategy, and reaching diverse populations.. The tools include blogs, mashups, mobile, online collaboration tools, photo sharing sites, podcasts, QR codes, RSS feeds, social bookmarking, social network sites, texting, Twitter, video games, video sharing sites, webcasts/web conferences/webinars, and widgets.

Contact: HIV.gov, Web Site: http://www.hiv.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Diffusion of Innovation, Federal programs, Information sources, Internet, Model programs, Technology, Trends

Annotation: This resource provides information on lessons learned, best practices, clearance information, and security requirements related to the use of social media at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Contents include CDC's Social Media Toolkit and Guide to Writing for Social Media, as well as guidelines and best practices for the following tools: Twitter, buttons and badges, Facebook, health e-cards, text messaging, widgets, and YouTube and online videos. Additional reference detailing CDC-specific security information related to social media is included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Diffusion of innovation, Federal programs, Guidelines, Information sources, Internet, Model programs, Oral health, Social media, Standards, Technology