Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual is a dietary assessment tool used by licensed dietitians for WIC applicants and participants. The tool is divided into four sections, which are: 1) dietary questions, 2) food frequency, 3) nutrition risk assessment, and 4) space for a nutrition care plan. Each section has blank forms and instructions and suggestions.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 Contact Phone: (515) 281-5787 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Dietitians, Food habits, Forms, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition research, WIC Program

Annotation: This tool incorporates the President's Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition's Presidential Champions program and uses gamification, the application of points and achievements to non-game context, to inspire youth and adults to engage in physical activity and to monitor progress toward their own health goals. Users can determine what and how much to eat; track their food intake, physical activity, and weight; and personalize their experience by setting individual goals, journaling, and receiving virtual coaching.

Contact: U.S. Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion, U.S. Department of Agriculture, 3101 Park Center Drive, Room 1034, Alexandria, VA 22302-1594, Telephone: (703) 305-7600 Fax: (703) 305-3300 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cnpp.usda.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Dietary guidelines, Electronic journals, Food consumption, Food habits, Food preferences, Games, Goals, Health promotion, Life course, Motivation, Nutrition, Physical activity, Weight

Annotation: This chart provides information about state-specific legislation that mandates the coverage of medically necessary foods by employer-sponsored health insurance, Medicaid, and coverage and related services funded by other state programs such as the Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC); Title V; or relief funds. Contents include descriptions of medical foods products, abbreviations and definitions, a list of coverage types for dietary treatments of disorders identified through newborn screening, and a list of states that provide phenylketonuria (PKU) only coverage. Details about covered services and any benefit limits or age and income restrictions are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Diet therapy, Dietary assessment, Financing, Food supplements, Genetic disorders, Health insurance, Medicaid, Metabolic diseases, Newborn infants, Newborn screening, Nutrition, Phenylketonuria, Postnatal care, Regulations, Special health care needs, State legislation, State programs, Title V programs, Unfunded mandates, WIC program

Annotation: This report provides data and analysis in an ongoing assessment of the U.S. population’s nutritional status by measuring blood or urine concentrations of 58 diet-and-nutrition biochemical indicators. The measurements of the 58 indicators give researchers and others information about population dietary intake or environmental exposure. Report contents include background on the study, addressing data needs, public health uses, data presented for each biochemical indicator, interpreting the data, useful sources of information about using nutrition, monitoring to interpret data, the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), data analysis, and references. Biomedical indicators in this report include biochemical indicator sections, new biochemical indicators: water-soluble vitamins, vitamin B6, fat-soluble vitamins and nutrients, vitamin C, trace elements (iron indicators and iodine), fatty acids, isoflavones and lignans, iron status: transferrin receptor and body iron, acrylamide hemoglobin adducts, and acrylamide hemoglobin adducts.

Contact: National Center for Environmental Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta , GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nceh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dietary assessment, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, National surveys, Nutrition, Population surveillance

Annotation: This book is a resource for those involved in the monitoring or delivery of nutrition care for children with special health care needs. It is intended to serve as a framework for developing and providing nutrition screening, assessment, and intervention as routine components of comprehensive health care for children with disabilities and chronic illnesses. The book is divided into three sections: (1) determination of nutrition status, (2) problem-based nutrition interventions, and (3) condition-specific nutrition interventions. The book includes numerous appendices, including sample screening forms, growth charts for children with a variety of different special health care needs, and other tools. New chapters included in the third edition include breastfeeding, physical acitivity, and autism spectrum disorders.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: DOH Pub. No. 961-158.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dietary assessment, Forms, Growth charts, Intervention, Nutrition, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, Screening, Washington

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) on revising its standards and requirements so that school meals are more healthful. The recommendations are based on a review and assessment of Dietary Reference Intakes (a system of nutrition recommendations from the Institute of Medicine) and the 2005 Dietary Guidelines for Americans (jointly prepared by the USDA and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services). The eight recommendations in the report update the National School Lunch Program (NSLP) and School Breakfast Program (SBP) nutrition standards and meal requirements approved in 1995; shift the focus toward meeting recommendations in the 2005 Dietary Guidelines; emphasize the need for effective implementation; and identify key research topics. The recommendations encompass standards for menu planning and standards for meals as selected by the student (in contrast to those that are simply offered to students). Seventeen appendixes include sample menus, data tales, definitions, and comparisons between the existing guidelines and proposed revisions for school meal preparation.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link
• Podcast

Keywords: Child health promotion, Data, Dietary guidelines, Federal programs, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition programs, Program evaluation, School age children, School breakfast programs, School food services, School lunch programs

Annotation: This report describes the second phase, from 2002 to 2006, of a project to follow up on a longitudinal study of previously studied adolescents to examine how weight status and dietary intake change as youth progress through adolescence and become more independent. Results provide insight into the most potent and predictive factors influencing weight status and dietary intake that need to be addressed in public health interventions. Contents include a description of the nature of the research problem, a review of the literature, study design and methods, a presentation of the findings, a discussion section, a list of products produced during the study, and references. A more extensive list of project publications is provided in the appendix.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Body weight, Dietary assessment, Final reports, MCH research, Nutrition, Weight management, Young adults

Annotation: This report, which is geared toward health departments, case managers, primary care physicians, and others, defines elements of case management and offers assessment and management guidelines for the testing and treatment of children with elevated blood lead levels. The report discusses home environment investigation and interventions, medical evaluation and treatment, nutritional assessment and dietary modification, developmental surveillance and interventions, and education for caregivers. The report also discusses the importance of state laws, regulations, and financing related to lead-abatement efforts. Each chapter begins with a summary table of specific management recommendations and concludes with suggestions for further research. A glossary, references, and statistical data in chart and table formats are provided throughout the report.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Blood testing, Case management, Consumer education, Dietary assessment, Environmental exposure, Intervention, Lead poisoning, Lead poisoning prevention programs, Low income groups, Medical evaluation, Model programs, Nutritional status, Professional training, Young children

Annotation: This report uses data from the 1989-91 Continuing Survey of Food Intakes by Individuals and the Diet and Health Knowledge Survey to examine various aspects of children's diets. Topics include whether their food intake varies at different times of the day, whether the source of food away from home influences the nutritional content of meals, and whether nutritional intakes vary by demographic characteristics as well as their meal-planner's nutritional knowledge. The report contains several tables and figures.

• Link

Keywords: Child nutrition, Demographics, Dietary assessment, Family characteristics, Food habits, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition surveys, Statistics

Annotation: This set of two videotapes explores two complications of pregnancy. Both videotapes are accompanied by a teaching guide. Gestational diabetes covers definition, prevalence, significance, screening, diagnosis, nutritional management, dietary strategies, monitoring and postpartum follow-up. Iron deficiency covers definition, prevalence, prevention, and treatment. Both of the guides contain references. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi $25 each videotape.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Audiovisual materials, Dietary assessment, Gestational diabetes, Iron deficiency anemia, Iron supplements, Maternal health, Maternal nutrition, Patient education, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, Screening, Videotapes

Annotation: This issue of the "Journal of School Health" was written to assist field researchers in selecting existing methods and techniques for measuring the dietary intake and physical activity of children and adolescents. A variety of measurements are reviewed including: self-report, observation, 24-hour recall, and food frequency. Each article provides an overview of the method or technique, presents available psychometric data, and then discusses strengths, weakness, and methodological issues needing further research.

Contact: American School Health Association, 7918 Jones Branch Drive, Suite 300, McLean, VA 22102, Telephone: (703) 506-7675 Contact Phone: (216) 678-1601 Fax: (703) 506-3266 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ashaweb.org Single issues $7.00 for members, $8.00 for nonmembers; prepayment required.

Keywords: Adolescents, Assessment, Children, Dietary assessment, Evaluation, Physical activity, School health

Annotation: These proceedings discuss how to expand and develop new intermediary networks in communities to effectively disseminate nutrition messages; analyze dietary behavior from a systems perspective to become more effective change agents; enhance leadership skills with particular emphasis on roles as catalysts for change; market dietary change approaches through use of psychographic research, marketing techniques and communications resources; and reexamine current programs and develop actual plans for population based approaches designed to place nutritional goals in a primary position on the national public health agenda.

Keywords: Communities, Conferences, Dietary assessment, Leadership, Marketing, Nutrition, Public health, Research

Annotation: These two annuals are the first of a series that reports results from the 1986 Continuing Survey of Food Intakes by Individuals conducted by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). The 1986 edition differs in sub-title, 'Women 19-50 Years and Their Children 1-5 Years, 1 Day,' from the 1985 edition, 'Low-income Women.' The information gathered is the same. The data was collected during a personal interview using a 1-day recall. It is provided in tables with major results summarized. The information includes nutrient densities of diets; percentages of total food energy from protein, fat, and carbohydrate; frequency of eating; and the nutrient contributions of snacks and of food eaten away from home.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, Jamie L. Whitten Building, Room 302A, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-3656 Fax: (202) 720-5427 Price unknown.

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Food consumption, Low income women, Snacks

Annotation: This booklet gives basic information on nutrition status assessment for pregnant women. Dietary and clinical assessment are the two major types of assessment given.

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition assessment

Annotation: This publication presents guidelines developed by a group of experts from the federal Departments of Health, Education, and Welfare; Department of Agriculture; and the Office of Economic Opportunity. The document is intended to be used by physicians and others to include as a part of the medical evaluation or appraisal of preschool children ages 1-4. The guidelines include sections on social, economic, and educational status; personal information and health history; dietary intake; physical examination; biochemical measurement of blood and urine; and roentgenography. For each measure, the publication includes a description of the topic and forms to fill out.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Forms, Manuals, Nutrition assessment, Preschool children

Annotation: This report revises a 1957 report on protein requirements and formulates recommendations for the requirements of population groups. It discusses the background of the problem, methods of approach in estimating protein requirements, reference protein requirements, amino acid requirements and amino acid patterns, factors affecting the protein values of food, practical applications, and further research. Tables provide information on evaluating the protein intake of population groups and planning diets and food supplies. It ends with annexes providing a glossary of terms, method of calculating proteins, and protein in current food supplies of selected countries.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Dietary guidelines, Health, Proteins, World Health Organization

Annotation: This paper was presented during the annual meeting of the American Public Health Association, Western Branch, in Seattle Washington in May 1941. The author discusses improvements made in diet and nutrition during the past 25 years and suggests ways that these nutritional gains can be maintained during a time of war. She addresses food adequacy, nutritional value, and dietary patterns among industrial workers (including women), American soldiers, families, and children.

• Link

Keywords: Diet, Dietary assessment, History , Nutrition, Trends

Annotation: This report is based on studies of family diets in New York City (87 families), Cleveland, Ohio (9), Long Beach California (5), and Stamford, Connecticut (1) during 1914-1915. Each dietary study was analyzed to determine cost per person per day and the types of food purchased with the money (meat, eggs, vegetables, sugar, coffee, etc.). In each case the food value was calculated in terms of calories, protein, phosphorus, calcium (lime) and iron. The studies were classified, averaged, and examined to determine the adequacy of the ordinary diet and to highlight any dietary deficiencies and recommend ways that families can increase food value without increasing their overall food expenditures. Charts, tables, and an appendix provide detailed comparisons of food types consumed, nutritional value, and costs across the study groups.

Contact: HathiTrust Digital Library, University of Michigan, Telephone: (734) 764-8016 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hathitrust.org/digital_library Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries.

• Link

Keywords: Diet, Nutrients, Dietary assessment, Recommended dietary allowances, Statistics, Urban population, socioeconomic factors