Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This chart provides information about state-specific legislation that mandates the coverage of medically necessary foods by employer-sponsored health insurance, Medicaid, and coverage and related services funded by other state programs such as the Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC); Title V; or relief funds. Contents include descriptions of medical foods products, abbreviations and definitions, a list of coverage types for dietary treatments of disorders identified through newborn screening, and a list of states that provide phenylketonuria (PKU) only coverage. Details about covered services and any benefit limits or age and income restrictions are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Diet therapy, Dietary assessment, Financing, Food supplements, Genetic disorders, Health insurance, Medicaid, Metabolic diseases, Newborn infants, Newborn screening, Nutrition, Phenylketonuria, Postnatal care, Regulations, Special health care needs, State legislation, State programs, Title V programs, Unfunded mandates, WIC program

Annotation: This report provides guidelines for health care professionals on the identification, evaluation, and treatment of overweight and obesity in adults. The objectives of the report are to (1) identify, evaluate, and summarize published information about the assessment and treatment of overweight and obesity; (2) provide evidence-based guidelines for physicians, other health professionals, and health care organizations for the evaluation and treatment of overweight and obesity in adults; and (3) identify areas for future research. The report is divided into the following seven chapters: (1) introduction, (2) background on overweight and obesity, (3) examination of randomized controlled trial evidence, (4) treatment guidelines, (5) summary of recommendations, (6) future research, and (7) appendices. The appendices include guidelines development methodology; a literature review; a description of evidence; special populations; obesity and sleep apnea; a body mass index chart; practical dietary therapy information; a resource list; and a glossary of terms. Also provided are lists of abbreviations, references, and publications.

Contact: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center, P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 Secondary Telephone: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm $8.50; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH 98-4083.

• PDF

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Body composition, Body weight, Cardiovascular disease, Diabetes mellitus, Diet therapy, Guidelines, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Research, Risk factors, Weight management

Annotation: This survey discusses the costs of treating children with phenylketonuria (PKU), who need low protein formula and food products. A questionnaire was sent to parents of children with PKU, information about reimbursement was collected from private insurance companies, state health agencies were surveyed on their diet provision policies and applicable state laws, data on available dietary products was collected from manufacturers, and the costs of feeding a child with PKU were calculated using data on food costs from the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The survey ends with four appendices providing the parents' questionnaire, correspondence with the Health Insurance Association of America, state laws relating to a PKU diet, and an American Academy of Pediatrics statement. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Children with special health care needs, Costs, Diet therapy, Health policy, Metabolic diseases, Phenylketonuria

Annotation: This report discusses reducing coronary heart disease morbidity by reducing high blood cholesterol levels. It provides information on coronary heart disease; dietary recommendations to lower cholesterol; scientific evidence for dietary recommendations; ethnic, cultural, and minority characteristics influencing diet and health; and screening for blood cholesterol levels. The report ends with a glossary and a bibliography.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Cardiovascular diseases, Cholesterol, Cholesterol restricted diets, Cultural factors, Diet therapy, Ethnic factors, Heart diseases, Low fat diets, Minority health, Screening tests

Annotation: This module of a series on nutrition in health promotion directs its information at physicians. The subject is clinical applications of biochemistry to patient care. Topics covered are need to eat, glucose utilization, fat deposition, protein metabolism, low-carbohydrate diets, and non-nutritive diet constituents such as fiber, cholesterol, and caffeine. This teaching guide is written to provide a comprehensive foundation of nutrition concepts to comprehend the role of nutrition in health promotion.

Contact: Ohio State University, College of Medicine, Nutrition in Primary Care, 215 Means Hall, 1654 Upham Drive, Columbus, OH 43210, Telephone: 614-293-8724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.internalmedicine.osu.edu Price unknown.

Keywords: Diet therapy, Metabolism, Nutrition, Professional education, Weight management

Annotation: The goal of this teaching guide is to assist the physician to become a critical reviewer of nutrition information. Topics included are evaluation of fad diets, teaching patients how to determine potential dangers and benefits of fad diets, and applying scientific nutrition literature to clinical practice.

Contact: Ohio State University, College of Medicine, Nutrition in Primary Care, 215 Means Hall, 1654 Upham Drive, Columbus, OH 43210, Telephone: 614-293-8724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.internalmedicine.osu.edu Price unknown.

Keywords: Diet fads, Diet therapy, Nutrition, Professional education

Annotation: This book describes a wide range of pediatric conditions and other issues related to pediatric care, including respiratory conditions, nutritional and abdominal conditions; skin, contagious, and exanthem conditions; circulatory, metabolic, and glandular conditions; urogenital conditions; bone, joint, and muscle conditions; laboratory tests, feeding, diets, nursing, and therapy; growth and development; history, and physical exam; and chemotherapy and drugs.

Keywords: Bone diseases, Breastfeeding, Cardiovascular diseases, Child development, Child health, Communicable disease, Diet, Drug therapy, Feeding, Growth monitoring, Joint diseases, Medicine, Metabolic diseases, Muscular diseases, Nutrition, Pediatric care, Pediatrics, Physical examination, Respiratory disorders, Skin diseases, Tests, Urogenital diseases

Annotation: The participants at the conference reported on their countries' efforts to detect inborn errors of metabolism and to develop treatment and management programs. Specific topics were clinical aspects of phenylketonuria and allied conditions, laboratory screening and diagnosis, proposed classification for hyperphenylalaninemia, screening tests for other congenital abnormalities, phenylketonuria as a public health responsibility in Maryland, and dietary management. It is a publication of the U.S. Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Conferences, Congenital abnormalities, Diet therapy, Hyperphenylalaninemia, Laboratory techniques, Maryland, Metabolic diseases, Phenylketonuria, Screening tests

Annotation: This report discusses various aspect of Phenylketonuria (PKU)--an inherited disorder that increases the levels of a substance called phenylalanine in the blood and can result in severe mental retardation if left untreated. The report describes the biochemical and pediatric aspects of PKU; psychological and nutritional aspects; and family attitudes toward the restrictive low Phenylalanine diet that can minimize or prevent brain damage. Early detection is emphasized, and descriptions of screening tests for PKU snd Phenalyalanine-restricted diets and menus are included.

Contact: Google Books, Web Site: http://www.books.google.com

• Link

Keywords: Child nutrition, Children with special health care needs, Diet therapy, Genetic screening, Hereditary diseases, Neonatal screening, Phenylketonuria