Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (53 total).

National Network for Oral Health Access. 2022. Improving care coordination and health outcomes for diabetic patients through medical and dental integration. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 2 pp. (Health center oral health program promising practice)

Annotation: This report describes Improving Care Coordination and Health Outcomes for Diabetic Patients Through Medical and Dental Integration, a program run by CommUnityCare (CUC). The program’s purpose is to increase access to oral health care and general health care for people with diabetes to help improve chronic disease outcomes. It discusses how the program started, what happens during a patient visit, what CUC learned while launching the program, and plans for the future. Data showing the increase in the percentage of patients with diabetes who received care as well as of those who had a current A1c test are included.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Diabetes mellitus, Oral health, Service integration, State programs, Texas

Pillay J, Donovan L, Guitard S, Zakher B, Korownyk C, Gates M, Gates A, Vandermeer B, Bougatsos C, Chou R, Hartling L. 2021. Screening for gestational diabetes mellitus: A systematic review to update the 2014 U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Recommendation. Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 462 pp. (Evidence synthesis; no. 204; AHRQ publication; no. 21-05273-EF-1)

Annotation: This systematic review updates the 2012 evidence review used to inform the United States Preventive Services Task Force recommendations on the benefits and harms of screening for gestational diabetes mellitus. Since gestational diabetes mellitus is mostly asymptomatic, screening for it during pregnancy could identify women who could benefit from treatments to reduce the adverse consequences of this condition. Data sources included MEDLINE, Embase, and CINAHL between 2010 and May 2020; other sources included ClinicalTrials.gov, reference lists of primary studies and systematic reviews through June 2021. The results of this review showed that screening tests can identify women with gestational diabetes at or after 24 weeks of gestation and treatment is associated with improvement in various maternal and neonatal outcomes without serious harms.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

Link

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Evidence based medicine, Gestational diabetes, Literature reviews, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcomes, Pregnant women, Screening

Sanchez D, Plotnock D. 2019. A deep dive into the connection between oral health and behavioral health. Washington, DC: Families USA, 4 pp. (Fact sheet)

Annotation: This report discusses the relationship between oral health and behavioral health and the consequences that lack of awareness about the importance of oral health and access to comprehensive oral health care can have for people living with chronic conditions, including diabetes and heart and lung diseases, and for those with behavioral health conditions. The connection between oral health and mental health is discussed, along with the importance of improving oral health coverage and integrating overall health care, mental health care, and oral health care.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Cardiovascular diseases, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Diabetes mellitus, Health insurance, Mental health, Oral health, Service integration

Shields L, Guey-Shiang T, eds. 2015. CDAPP sweet success: Guidelines for care. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Health, Center for Family Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Division, 1 v.

Annotation: This state program guide for the California Diabetes and Pregnancy Program contains these chapters: (1) overview; (2) preconception and interconception care for preexisting diabetes; (3) medical management and education for preexisting diabetes during pregnancy; (4) medical management and education for gestational diabetes mellitus; (5) impact of maternal diabetes on fetal development and neonatal care; (6) exercise; (7) medical nutrition therapy; (8) breastfeeding; (9) behavioral and psychosocial components of care; and (10) cultural competency. The program website contains additional program information and professional and consumer information including materials in Spanish.

2012

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Gestational diabetes, Maternal Nutrition, Maternal health, Nutrition education, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Spanish language materials

Endocrine Society. 2014-. A successful approach to managing pediatric adult transitions of care. Chevy Chase, MD: Endocrine Society, multiple items.

Annotation: These toolkits are designed to help health professionals manage pediatric-to-adult transitions of care for their clients with various chronic endocrine conditions including growth hormone deficiency and type 1 diabetes. Topics include assessing client skills, client self-assessment, recommended approach to planning for pediatric practices, and recommended approach to receiving a new client. Forms, clinical summaries, client fact sheets, dosing guides, and and other resources are included. Toolkits for childhood cancer, congenital adrenal hyperplasia, and Turner syndrome are forthcoming.

Contact: Endocrine Society, 2055 L Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 971-3636 Web Site: http://www.endo-society.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health services, Adolescents, Assessment, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Diabetes mellitus, Disease management, Endocrine diseases, Forms, Pediatric care, Resources for professionals, Special health care needs, Transition planning

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. 2014. Gestational diabetes mellitus: Screening. Rockville, MD: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, multiple items.

Annotation: This web site provides the current recommendation, evidence reports, clinical summaries, consumer fact sheet, and comparative effectiveness review for screening asymptomatic pregnant women after 24 weeks for gestational diabetes mellitus.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Gestational diabetes, Literature reviews, MCH research, Pregnant women, Screening

Lorenzo SB. 2014. Diabetes in kids and teens: Family resource brief (upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find diabetes care, services, and support and websites about diabetes in kids and adolescents. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Bibliographies, Child health, Children, Diabetes mellitus, Electronic publications, Families

National Diabetes Education Program. 2014. Did you have gestational diabetes when you were pregnant? What you need to know [rev. ed.]. [Bethesda, MD]: National Diabetes Educational Program, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about gestational diabetes and about what women who had this condition while pregnant can do to reduce the chances that they or their child will get diabetes later in life. The fact sheet provides action steps for women (including getting tested for diabetes, eating healthy foods and being more active) and for the whole family.

Contact: National Diabetes Education Program, One Diabetes Way, Bethesda, MD 20841-9692, Telephone: (301) 496-3583 Web Site: http://ndep.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Publication No. 12-6019; NDEP-88.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child health, Consumer education materials, Diabetes mellitus, Families, Gestational diabetes, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Pregnancy, Prevention, Screening tests, Women', s health

Cohen K, Barzaga CE. 2014. Diabetes mellitus and oral health: Ignoring the evidence may be a costly mistake. Pomona, CA: Center for Oral Health, 7 pp.

Annotation: This brief explores the relationship between conditions in the oral cavity and systemic diseases and, specifically, periodontal disease and diabetes mellitus. Topics include the prevalence of periodontitis in adults in the United States and related costs, the impact of periodontal therapy on general health, access to oral health care services for adults with low incomes, and recommendations for policymakers and administrators at the federal and state level.

Contact: Center for Oral Health, 309 East Second Street, Pomona, CA 91766-1854, Telephone: (909) 469-8300 Fax: (510) 380-6637 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.centerfororalhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adults, Costs, Dental insurance, Diabetes mellitus, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, State programs

New York State Department of Health. 2013. Children with diabetes: A resource guide for families and schools. Albany, NY: New York State Department of Health, 100 pp.

Annotation: This resource guide provides practical tools and information for families of children with diabetes. Topics include an overview of diabetes in children, general diabetes information, type 1 diabetes in children, type 2 diabetes in children, reducing risk for type 2 diabetes in children, a team approach to caring for children with diabetes, diabetes team roles and responsibilities, managing diabetes while away from home, special considerations, and diabetes considerations and the law.

Contact: New York State Department of Health, Corning Tower, Empire State Plaza, Albany, NY 12237, Telephone: (866) 881-2809 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.health.ny.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Diabetes mellitus, Families, Health care, High risk children, Legislation, Prevention, Risk factors

Anderson KL, Olson S, and Roundtable on the Promotion of Health Equity and the Elimination of Health Disparities, Board on Population Health and Public Health Practice. 2013. Leveraging culture to address health inequalities: Examples from Native communities—Workshop summary. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 91 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes a workshop convened in November 2012 to discuss the sizable health inequities affecting Native American, Alaska Native, First Nation, and Pacific Islander populations and the potential role of culture in helping to reduce those inequities. This report summarizes the presentations and discussion of the workshop and includes case studies that examine programs aimed at diabetes prevention and management and cancer prevention and treatment programs.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $36, plus shipping and handling; also available from the website, after registration. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-29256-6.

Link

Keywords: Minority health, Alaska natives, American Indians, Barriers, Cancer, Cultural factors, Diabetes mellitus, Disease prevention, Health status disparities, Pacific Islanders, Prevention services, Preventive health services, Socioeconomic factors

Expert Panel on Integrated Guidelines for Cardiovascular Health and Risk Reduction in Children and Adolescents. 2012. Integrated guidelines for cardiovascular health and risk reduction in children and adolescents: The report of the expert panel. Bethesda, MD: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, 202 pp., summ. (73 pp.).

Annotation: This report is from a panel of experts convened by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute to establish a new approach for guideline development on promoting cardiovascular health (CV) and identifying and managing specific CV risk factors from infancy through young adulthood. Topics include the state of the science, screening for risk factors, nutrition and diet, physical activity, tobacco exposure, high blood pressure, lipids and lipoproteins, overweight and obesity, diabetes mellitus and other conditions, risk factor clustering, perinatal factors, inflammatory markers, an integrated CV health schedule, and implications of the guidelines.

Contact: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center, P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 Secondary Telephone: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Publication No. 12-7486.

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Blood pressure disorders, Cardiovascular diseases, Child health, Diabetes mellitus, Guidelines, Health promotion, Infant health, Nutrition, Physical activity, Research, Risk factors, Screening, Tobacco use

The Arc of New Jersey, Mainstreaming Medical Care. 2012. Prevent, understand, and live with diabetes: A guide for individuals with developmental disabilities. North Brunswick, NJ: The Arc of New Jersey, Mainstreaming Medical Care, ca. 65 pp.

Annotation: This guide assists those with intellectual disabilities in preventing and managing Type 2 diabetes by defining the condition and offering advice on prevention. It discusses the importance of getting tested early for diabetes, the role of exercise, healthy weight, and healthy foods in preventing diabetes; understanding the warning signs and blood sugar testing; and how stress, oral health, and visits to the doctor help with the control and monitoring of the disease. This publication is in English and Spanish.

Contact: The Arc of New Jersey, 985 Livingston Avennue, North Brunswick, NJ 08902, Telephone: (732) 246-2525 Fax: (732) 214-1834 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http//www.arcnj.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Disease prevention, Exercise, Health promotion, Low literacy materials, Nutrition, Physical activity, Spanish language materials, Weight management

Bauer AF. 2011. Disparities in food access and in opportunities for physical activity. Washington, DC: Grantmakers In Health, 2 pp. (Views from the field)

Annotation: This document discusses the causes for the rise in preventable chronic diseases, including obesity, type 2 diabetes, heart disease, stroke, and some cancers, in Massachusetts and across the country. The article also highlights some of the key factors that have produced this change and the parts of the population that are most affected. Topics include health access and outcomes in Massachusetts, Boston health data, access to and affordability of healthy food, opportunities for physical activity, and encouraging healthy behaviors.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Cardiovascular diseases, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Diabetes mellitus, Food consumption, Health promotion, Income factors, Massachusetts, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Racial factors, Strokes

National Diabetes Education Program. 2010. Helping the student with diabetes succeed: A guide for school personnel. (upd. ed.). [Bethesda, MD]: National Diabetes Education Program, 147 pp.

Annotation: This guide updates school personnel about diabetes management and shares a set of practices to enable schools to ensure a safe learning environment for students with diabetes, especially those who use insulin to control the disease. The guide includes a primer for school personnel; discusses actions that personnel, parents or guardians, and students can take; provides tools for effective diabetes management in schools; and discusses school responsibilities under federal laws. Resources, a glossary of diabetes terms, and a bibliography are included.

Contact: National Diabetes Education Program, One Diabetes Way, Bethesda, MD 20841-9692, Telephone: (301) 496-3583 Web Site: http://ndep.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Diabetes insipidus, Diabetes mellitus, Disease management, Legislation, School age children, School health, Treatment

Rugge B, King V, Davis E, Schechtel M, Hickam D. 2009. Gestational diabetes: Caring for women during and after pregnancy—Clinician's guide. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 2 pp. (Effective health care program)

Annotation: This guide summarizes clinical evidence about prenatal treatment and delivery management for women with gestational diabetes. It also summarizes evidence about follow-up for the development of type 2 diabetes among women who have had gestational diabetes. The guide discusses the clinical issue, insulin and hypoglycemic medications, the timing and mode of delivery, considerations, and a resource for women.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Gestational diabetes, Hypoglycemia, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Treatment, Women', s health

Waidman T. 2009. Estimating the cost of racial and ethnic health disparities. Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 18 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief estimates the magnitude of current cost burdens both nationally and for several large states for a select set of preventable diseases (diabetes, hypertension, stroke or renal disease, and poor general health), focusing on racial and ethnic disparities in these diseases. The brief provides background, discusses data and methods, and presents national results and results for selected states.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Blacks, Costs, Diabetes mellitus, Health, Health insurance, Hispanic Americans, Hypertension, Low income groups, Medicaid, Prevention, Public policy, Racial factors, Stroke

Gortmaker S, Long M, Wang YC. 2009. The negative impact of sugar-sweetened beverages on children's health. Princeton, NJ: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, Healthy Eating Research, 7 pp.

Annotation: This report examines research studies on the health impacts of sugar-sweetened beverage (SSB) consumption; presents initial conclusions based on these studies; and identifies areas for additional research. The report includes a definition of the term, sugar sweetened beverages; describes the connection between SSB consumption and Type 2 diabetes; and discusses children's and adolescents' access to SSBs. Tables indicate trends in children's and adolescent' consumption of SSBs.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Beverages, Child health, Child nutrition, Diabetes mellitus, Research, Sugar, Trends

National Diabetes Education Program. 2009. Tips for kids: How to lower your risk for type 2 diabetes. Bethesda, MD: National Diabetes Education Program, 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for children and adolescents provides information about how to lower their risk for type 2 diabetes. It explains what the disease is and discusses what to do to stay healthy, what puts children and adolescents at risk, how to be active, how to make good food choices, and how to prepare healthy snacks.

Contact: National Diabetes Education Program, One Diabetes Way, Bethesda, MD 20841-9692, Telephone: (301) 496-3583 Web Site: http://ndep.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 09-529K.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Consumer education materials, Diabetes mellitus, Food consumption, Materials for children, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Risk factors

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2008. The healthy woman: A complete guide for all ages. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 518 pp.

Annotation: This book for consumers discusses risk factors for major diseases that affect women. Some of the topics include heart disease, stroke, cancer, type 2 diabetes, autoimmune disease, blood disorders, and sexually transmitted infections. The book also explains (1) what happens to the body with various diseases, (2) tips for handling many diseases and health conditions, (3) how to stay healthy during key phases of a woman's life, such as pregnancy and menopause, (4) how to communicate with health professionals, (5) the screening tests and immunizations that women need, and (6) where to find additional reliable health information.

Contact: HathiTrust Digital Library, University of Michigan, Telephone: (734) 764-8016 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hathitrust.org/digital_library Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-16-077183-5.

Link

Keywords: Autoimmune diseases, Cancer, Stroke, Communication, Consumer education materials, Diabetes mellitus, Heart diseases, Immunization, Menopause, Pregnancy, Prevention, Risk factors, Screening, Sexually transmitted diseases, Women', s health