Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This tip sheet for Title V agencies outlines five essential elements for implementing developmental and behavioral health screening programs within health supervision visits. It provides guidance on promoting equity in screening, planning responses to results, communicating with families, handling confidentiality, and using appropriate screening tools and schedules based on Bright Futures guidelines. The document includes state program examples and emphasizes the importance of establishing clear protocols for referrals, particularly for non-clinical staff working in community settings. [Funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Developmental screening, Guidelines, Mental health screening

Annotation: The Bright Futures Guidelines website provides theory-based and evidence-driven guidance for all preventive care screenings and health supervision visits. Bright Futures content can be incorporated into many public health programs such as home visiting, child care, school-based health clinics and many others. ​Tools and materials are meant for professionals in clinical practice, states and communties, and families, and contain information on topics such as healthy mental and emotional development, health equity, and food security, among others.[Supported by the US Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)​, Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Developmental screening, Education materials, Health screening, Preventive health services, Public health education

Annotation: This website from the CDC has information on the developmental milestones that a child should reach between the ages of two months and five years of age and how parents can find help if they have concerns about their children. There are also materials for healthcare providers, educators, WIC program staff, and home visitors. Free downloadable materials are available in multiple languages, including Spanish, French, Arabic, and more. The website also includes a link to the Milestone Tracker app (Android and IOS versions).

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Child development, Computer/phone applications, Developmental milestones, Developmental screening, Education materials, WIC program

Annotation: This guidebook from the state of Louisiana presents the developmental milestones that children can be expected to reach from infacy to the age of five years. It includes links to resources intended for use by educators and providers, families, and community entities. One page is devoted to the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and Child Find, guarantees that children will be assessed at school and have access to appropriate education.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Education, 1201 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-5243, Telephone: (877)453-2721 Web Site: https://www.louisianabelieves.com/

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Developmental milestones, Developmental screening, Guidelines, Louisiana

Annotation: This resources is a guidelines booklet on the developmental stages (physical, emotional, cognitive, etc.) of children from birth to age five. It contains checklists, suggested activities, a development tracker, and places where parents can record questions for their child's doctor. It also contains information on the Milestone Tracker app available in Android and IOS versions.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Developmental milestones, Developmental screening, Guidelines

Annotation: With tips for parents/caregivers, providers, and educators and policy makers, this guide includes FAQs on screening, links to various resources on screening, articles on development, and myths and facts about the screening process. Among the resources listed are those provided by the CDC, including the Milestone Tracker.

Contact: Kennedy Krieger Institute, Maryland Center for Developmental Disabilities , 7000 Tudsbury Road , Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (443)923-9555 Web Site: mcdd.kennedykrieger.org

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Developmental screening, Guidelines, Maryland

Annotation: This report presents findings from a five-year nationwide initiative to improve population-based children's developmental health and family well-being outcomes across 12 states. The evaluation focuses on four key areas: building connections between state and local early childhood systems, expanding early childhood systems through infrastructure and capacity building, implementing policy changes, and developing partnerships. The report examines efforts to increase age-appropriate development skills among 3-year-old children and reduce developmental disparities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community coordination, Developmental screening, Early childhood development, Federal initiatives, Model programs, Partnership, Policy development, Service delivery systems, State initiatives

Annotation: The Minnesota Department of Health provided this toolkit for home visitors, who can use it to help identify developmental and social-emotional issues of children at an early age. It contains recommendations for the periodicity of assessments, links to child development screening tools, the screening process, child development referrals, and follow-up. The MIECHV Home Visitor Orientation Guidance Document was created along with this toolkit, and a link to the PDF document is included.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Developmental screening, Guidelines, Home visiting programs, Minnesota

Annotation: This digital toolkit assists clinicians in the recognition, diagnosis, and management of children with autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) across the life span. It contains American Academy of Pediatrics autism clinical reports and policy statements and expert ASD screening, surveillance, diagnosis, treatment, and referral guidelines. Fact sheets are provided along with coding and billing guidance, and a webinar with video and slides for additional clinician use. Family handouts, in English and Spanish, that discuss diagnosis, transition, financial assistance for families, school inclusion, medical home, adolescents and sexuality, teaching social skills, and child wandering are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-363-4.

• Link

Keywords: , Clinical coding, Adolescent development, Adolescents, Autism, Child development disorders, Children, Communication disorders, Developmental disabilities, Diagnosis, Psychosexual development, Psychosocial development, Resources for professionals, Screening, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 6, percent of children, ages 9 through 35 months, who received a developmental screening using a parent-completed screening tool in the past year. Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) data collection, measurement, and existing landscape; (2) policy research, development, and implementation; (3) systems coordination; (4) technical assistance and training; (5) education, engagement, and resource development; and (6) other program strategies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Announcement

Keywords: Children, Developmental screening, Infants, Model programs, Resources for professionals, State programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This presentation focuses on integrating Title V data into Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS) to improve services for children and youth with special health care needs. It outlines the relationship between Title V MCH (Maternal and Child Health) programs and Help Me Grow initiatives, highlighting their shared focus on developmental screening and early intervention. The presenter, Paige Bussanich from the Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs (AMCHP), explains how data integration can enhance cross-system collaboration and improve outcomes for children. The slides cover the structure of Title V programs, performance measurement frameworks, and current state efforts in data integration. The presentation also includes information about AMCHP's Title V Data Integration Toolkit and available technical assistance resources, with examples of successful state collaborations between Title V and Help Me Grow programs in Alabama, Vermont, and Wyoming. The final portion introduces data storytelling as a method to effectively communicate findings from integrated data systems.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Slide Deck Only

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, State CHSCN programs, Developmental screening, Vermont

Annotation: This brief identifies evidence-informed strategies for state Title V programs to consider to increase the percent of children ages 9-71 months receiving a developmental screening using a parent-completed screening tool.. Contents include information about the evidence continuum and the approach to the review, including examples of each type of intervention and its evidence rating; key findings; and implications. The full review is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Developmental screening, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Young children

Annotation: This document identifies evidence-informed strategies that state Title V programs might consider implementing to increase the percent of children, ages 9 through 71 months, receiving a developmental screening using a parent-completed screening tool. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Block grants, Developmental screening, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Young children

Annotation: This guide explains the complexity of the changes that teenagers undergo during adolescence; these include physical, cognitive, emotional, social changes, as well as changes in morals and values. The guide includes suggestions on ways in which parents and caring adults can support adolescents going through these changes. References for more in-depth reading are included.

Contact: U.S. Office of Population Affairs, , 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (204) 453-2800 Fax: (204) 453-2801 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/opa

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Developmental screening

Annotation: This poster illustrates how the Minnesota Act Early and the Minnesota Department of Health cooperated to increase early childhood developmental screenings in their state. It outlines how the project trained parent leaders from Hmong, Somali, and Latino communities to promote awareness of developmental milestones and early intervention services. The document highlights the project's components, including recruitment of community leaders, customized cultural materials, and outreach through various channels such as radio stations and community events. The project involved partnerships between the Minnesota Department of Health, University of Minnesota, and several community organizations to integrate culturally appropriate developmental screening messages across diverse communities.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Minnesota, Developmental screening, State CSHCN programs, Posters, Family support services, Children', s health

Annotation: This report outlines a use case for Title V programs to leverage Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS) to analyze developmental screening data for children from birth through age 5. The document is part of the Title V Data Integration Toolkit and focuses on two key questions: how many children are receiving developmental screenings using parent-completed tools, and how many are achieving five-domain developmental health based on these screenings. The document provides detailed guidance on analytic considerations, including the importance of defining which screening tools to analyze, understanding data sources within the ECIDS, and determining how to handle multiple screenings for individual children. A comprehensive list of recommended data elements is provided, including child identifiers, demographic information, and screening-related data. Examples of data visualization are provided using fictitious data, showing how to present overall screening rates and breakdowns by age categories.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, Public health agencies, Developmental screening, Data integration, MCH training, Children', s health

Annotation: These presentation slides focus on introducing the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP's) Title V Data Integration toolkit to the child welfare community through interactive activities designed to support partnerships between agencies and Title V programs aimed at integrating child welfare data into early childhood integrated data systems (ECIDS) and learning best practices to identify needs and tailor programs aimed at improving family health. The presentation's core objectives center on identifying cross-system collaboration opportunities and understanding how data integration fits into comprehensive service systems for optimal family outcomes.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Children', s health, Adolescent health, Developmental screening, Child welfare, s health, Data analysis, MCH training, Children'

Annotation: This report is a comprehensive analysis of how Title V Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Services Block Grant programs support newborn screening initiatives in the United States. It examines the various ways Title V programs integrate newborn screening into their state-level priorities and action plans, including adopting specific performance measures related to newborn screening. The document also explores the long-term follow-up activities conducted by Title V programs, such as care coordination through medical homes, ensuring evidence-based treatment, and ongoing data surveillance and evaluation. The findings illustrate the critical role Title V programs play in building and maintaining coordinated systems of care for children and youth with special health care needs identified through newborn screening, including providing essential services, tracking outcomes, and driving continuous quality improvement.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Developmental screening, Infant health, Performance measures

Annotation: These presentation slides focus on National Performance Measure 6 (Developmental Screening) and its associated evidence-based resources and technical assistance opportunities. The content covers evidence analysis findings regarding developmental screening quality improvement initiatives, highlighting that healthcare setting interventions and systems-level approaches show effectiveness, while noting that further research is needed for provider training and home visiting programs. It includes information about new evidence tools and resources available through MCH websites, and details the availability of technical assistance from Georgetown University and the National MCH Workforce Development Center. The presentation concludes with contact information for key personnel from AMCHP, HRSA/MCHB, and the Oregon Pediatric Improvement Partnership, along with an evaluation link for attendees.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Developmental screening, Autism, Case Studies, Oregon,

Annotation: This presentation reviews eight years of state system-level grantee work through the Learn the Signs. Act Early. (LTSAE) initiative focused on improving parent-engaged developmental monitoring. It examines how the Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs (AMCHP) provided grants to states to strengthen early identification systems for developmental delays and disabilities, including autism. The presentation identifies three key impact points: increased awareness among caregivers and providers about developmental monitoring, activated stakeholders and strengthened partnerships, and formalized developmental monitoring as a priority. It showcases case studies from Massachusetts, Oklahoma, and Virginia demonstrating successful approaches to integrating LTSAE developmental monitoring tools into state systems. Survey results indicate high rates of success, with 94% of grantees meeting their objectives and maintaining sustainable efforts. The presentation concludes by highlighting freely available LTSAE resources that can be integrated into existing early childhood systems.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Developmental screening, Autism, Grants, State CHSCN programs, Case Studies, Massachusetts, Oklahoma, Virginia