Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This project aimed to reduce the incidence of poor health characteristics among low-income, culturally diverse populations by promoting the involvement of primary care physicians (pediatricians) in early screening and intervention. Project goals included increasing the level of preventive health care for underserved children, reducing the severity of psychosocial problems, increasing physicians' sense of involvement as part of a team in providing services to project children and their families, and demonstrating a practical process for accomplishing these goals which can be replicated across the nation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152833.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatrics, Child Abuse and Neglect Preventive, Continuing Education, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, EPSDT, Hawaiians, Health Care, Health Supervision Guidelines, High risk children, Low income groups, Medicaid, Primary Care, Psychological Problems, Well Child Care

Annotation: These materials for pediatricians provide information on how to support adoptive and foster families who have experienced trauma. The materials include a guide focused on how to help families cope with trauma, a tip sheet about codes to use for evaluations involving screening and anticipatory guidance related to trauma and other mental health and developmental concerns, a discharge form and referral summary, and a guide for families about parenting after trauma.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Parenting skills, Adopted children, Adoptive parents, Developmental problems, Families, Foster children, Foster parents, Mental health, Pediatricians, Referrals, Resource materials, Trauma

Annotation: This registry provides information about evidence-based positive youth development programs designed to promote the health and well-being of children and adolescents. Contents include surveys for matching children's strengths and needs to specific programs based on outcome areas, risk and protective factors, and developmental stage; the program review criteria fact sheet, checklist, and standard; a searchable database that provides each program's name, target population, financing strategies, rating (promising or model program), benefits and costs, impact, and summary; instructions for nominating a program; related publications; and other resources.

Contact: University of Colorado Boulder, Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence, 483 UCB, Boulder, CO 80309-4083, Telephone: (303) 492-1032 Fax: (303) 492-2151 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cspv.colorado.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Behavior problems, Certification, Child development, Children, Databases, Developmental stages, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Model programs, Needs assessment, Prevention programs, Program planning, Protective factors, Registries, Research, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Surveys, Violence prevention

Annotation: This report discusses the effectiveness of mid-level developmental assessment (MLDA) for children in Connecticut who are at risk for developmental or behavioral problems. MLDA is defined as the expedient assessment of a child with a behavioral or developmental health concerns identified through screening. The report provides information about three MLDA programs, discusses the results of MLDA, and provides considerations for building an MLDA system.

Contact: Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut, 270 Farmington Avenue, Suite 367, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 679-1519 Fax: (860) 679-1521 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.chdi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Behavior disorders, Behavior problems, Child development, Development disabilities, Developmental screening, High risk children, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This chartbook presents a range of indicators on the health and well-being of children who have been diagnosed with emotional, behavioral, or developmental conditions on the national level. For each state, the book shows the prevalence of seven conditions (grouped together) and the major demographic characteristics of children who have at least one of the conditions. The analyses delineate relationships among the conditions, children's socioeconomic characteristics, and access to health care. Technical appendices at the end of the book present information about the survey methodology, sample, and questions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Secondary Telephone: (833)852-6262 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00318.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent mental health, Affective disorders, Behavior problems, Child mental health, Developmental disabilities, National surveys, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data

Annotation: This final report provides information from a 3-year study of Palm Beach, Florida's Comprehensive Services Program -- a program designed to improve the school readiness of children from families with low incomes through the early identification and remediation of developmental delays and physical or social-emotional problems known to impede children's ability to succeed in school. The report, which includes an executive summary, presents interviews with comprehensive services partner organizations and field observations of comprehensive services teams and review of family action plans and discusses a survey of center directors and teachers, characteristics of children served, program activities, and outcomes for children entering kindergarten. A summary and conclusion are included. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. The report includes five appendices: (1) 2005-2006 training charts, (2) a center survey, (3) an interview protocol, (4) a family action plan, and (5) center director and teacher demographics.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Early childhood development, Emotional development, Families, Final reports, Florida, School readiness, Social problems, Surveys, Young children

Annotation: This book is designed to assist teachers in managing and changing the behavior of prenatally drug-exposed children who are not responding to traditional methods of instruction and classroom management techniques. The book begins with a discussion of the research basis of intervention strategies. Other sections describe class strategies and individual strategies and illustrate them with real life examples and case studies. The reference list is organized by section number; the suggested readings are organized by related content topics.

Contact: Imprint Publications, 2250 West Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60612, Telephone: (312) 226-0444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.imprint-chicago.com/ Price unknown. Document Number: ISBN 1-879176-29-7.

Keywords: Behavior modification, Behavior problems, Developmental disabilities, Drug affected children, Drug use during pregnancy, Education, Intervention

Keywords: Child advocacy, Child development, Child development services, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Classification, High risk children, Social problems

Annotation: This collection of papers was specially prepared for Conference participants to provide them with specific background information on each major theme of the Conference. These themes are the current scene including young adults, suburbia, city housing and mobility; beliefs and values including religious development, values and ideals; health, education, employment, and leisure services; special problems of minorities, civil rights, migrants, marriage and divorce, and multi problem families; children with developmental disabilities and behavior problems; and community action.

Keywords: Adults, Behavior problems, Children, Children with developmental disabilities, Cities, Civil rights, Community action, Conferences, Divorce, Dysfunctional families, Education, Employment, Health, Marriage, Migrants, Minority groups, Religion, Social values, Suburban population, United States, Youth