Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These forms are a follow up survey of the former participants in the University Affiliated Cincinnati Center for Developmental Disorders training programs. Theyprovide space to record information about the participants and their comments and assessment of the program. One version is for former trainees with 300+ contact hours; the other is a modified version for trainees with 300+ contact hours who participated in the Interdisciplinary Leadership Core Curriculum since 1987-1988.

• Link

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Evaluation, MCH training, Surveys

Annotation: This consensus study report provides a comprehensive analysis of health outcomes for school-aged children with disabilities. It reviews and assesses programs, services, and supports available to these children and their families and describes overarching program, service, and treatment goals. The report also examines outreach efforts and utilization rates; identifies which outcomes are measured and how they are reported; and describes what is known about the effectiveness of these programs and services.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Learning disabilities, Outcome evaluation, Outreach, Physical disabilities, School age children, Services

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Consumer Guide

Keywords: Child development, Consumer education materials, Developmental screening, Early childhood development, Evaluation, Language development, Language disorders, Research, Screening, Screening tests, Speech development, Speech disorders, Young children

Annotation: This compendium is a collection of research-based developmental screening tools (screeners) for children under age 5. The compendium provides information on the purpose of developmental screening and the reliability and validity of commonly-used screeners for different languages and populations. Contents include summary tables that provide general information about screeners, individual instrument profiles, and the standards used to evaluate the tools' reliability and validity.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Developmental disabilities, Developmental screening, Evaluation, Infant development, Infants, Measures, Standards, Young children

Annotation: This report provides findings from an 18-month evaluation to examine parent outcomes for families involved with the Community Partnership's Capable Kids and Families (CKF) program and for a comparison group of non CKF families who received services from other providers. CKF supports family functioning and fosters positive developmental outcomes for families raising children with disabilities or developmental delays from birth to age 6. The report discusses the following six broad domains: (1) understanding their child's strengths and needs, (2) helping their child learn and develop, (3) learning to advocate for their child, (4) support systems, (5) access to resources, and (6) positive interactions with their child. The report also provides information about the service experiences of CKF families and indicates other areas in which the CKF program could affect family well-being that could be explored in future research.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Family support services, Infants with developmental disabilities, Infants with special health care needs, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Program evaluation, Programs, Research, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This report and chartbook examines the use and costs of behavioral health services for children on Medicaid, particularly those who are in foster care and those with developmental disabilities. The report analyzes the types of services that drive the costs for these high-risk populations, including patterns of psychotrophic medication use and expenditures. It presents a description of the study methodology and data findings in key areas such as behavioral health care penetration and service use; mean behavioral and physical health expenditures; utilization and expenditures by service type; and expenditures by state medicaid payment and delivery structure. Key findings are presented in 66 exhibits throughout the report. The chartbook contains data graphs from the study to use in presentations or other resource materials.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Chartbook

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Data, Evaluation, Foster children, Health care costs, Health care utilization, High risk children, Medicaid

Annotation: This brief highlights key findings from an analysis of behavioral health use and expense for children in Medicaid in all 50 states. It presents data findings in key areas such as percentage of Medicaid dollars spent on children's behavior health; Medicaid and behavioral health enrollment by race, ethnicity, and age of child; Medicaid behavioral health service use and expense by aid category; and the use of traditional and alternate treatments and the use of psychotropic medication use among children in Medicaid. It contains a special focus on children in foster care and those with developmental disabilities.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Data, Evaluation, Foster children, Health care costs, Health care utilization, High risk children, Medicaid

Annotation: This guide explains how to use the Cultural and Linguistic Competence Family Organization Assessment (CLCFOA) Instrument developed by the National Center for Cultural Competence to address the unique functions of family organizations concerned with children and youth with mental, emotional, and behavioral health disorders, special health care needs, and disabilities. The guide provides a detailed description of the CLCFOA; describes a four-phase approach to self assessment; and offers practical steps to help make the self assessment process work for family organizations. It explains how to score the CLCFOA, how to analyze and report data from it, and how to develop an implement an action plan. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Cultural Competence, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, P.O. Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5387 Secondary Telephone: (800) 788-2066 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with developmental disabilities, Assessment, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Culturally competent services, Family centered services, Self evaluation

Annotation: This guide assists the training director in implementing interdisciplinary training in LEND (Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental and related Disabilities) Programs and UCEDDs (University Centers for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities). Contents include an introduction to interdisciplinary training, components of a core curriculum, training director roles and mentorship, resources for outcome evaluation, the content of disability studies, and lessons learned. The appendices provide a definition of interdisciplinary practice; sample core curricula from Arkansas, Georgia, Missouri, and Utah; and a chart of common funding sources for training. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of University Centers on Disabilities, 1010 Wayne Avenue, Suite 1000, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 588-8252 Fax: (301) 588-2842 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aucd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children with special health care needs, Curricula, Developmental disabilities, Evaluation, Infants, Interdisciplinary training

Annotation: This report describes the results of a study conducted to provide support for policy decisions to Oklahoma Health Care Authority (OHCA) regarding child health check ups under Medicaid's Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) program and to determine the extent to which primary care physicians are conducting regular, standardized screening to identify children at risk of developmental disabilities.

Contact: Oklahoma Department of Libraries, 200 NorthEast 18th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73105-3298, Telephone: (405) 521-2502 Fax: (405) 525-7804 Web Site: http://www.odl.state.ok.us/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Developmental disabilities, Developmental screening, EPSDT, Medicaid, Oklahoma, Policy analysis, Program evaluation

Annotation: This technical assistance paper is designed to provide states with a framework for evaluating developmental screening tools for young children so that state officials are equipped to make informed decisions and to work with pediatricians, parents, and other local stakeholders in strengthening services to young children. The paper examines issues related to screening children for developmental disabilities and problems, discusses the ways in which screening tools differ from one another and the challenges that are often faced by those working to integrate screening tools in medical practices, and includes summary information for 17 different tools. The paper includes two appendices: strategies for selecting a tool and screening tool matrix. The paper includes endnotes.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior development, Child development, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Developmental screening, Evaluation, Health services, Screening tests, Young children

Annotation: This report describes the existing system of screening, surveillance, assessment, and intervention for children with developmental, behavioral, and mental problems in Orange County, CA. It identifies gaps in existing services, barriers to service utilization, and systems issues which currently prevent optimal service delivery; as well as develops a vision and a strategic plan for building a model system of developmental services. Discussion includes school readiness indicators, prevalence of neurodevelopmental problems, special education, children in foster care, preschool nurses, and provider capacity. Methodology used in the study is also discussed, along with examples of national developmental services best practices models.

Contact: UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities, University of California, Los Angeles, 10990 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 900, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-2583 Fax: (310) 312-9210 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthychild.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, California, Child development, Children with developmental disabilities, Developmental screening, Early childhood development, Early intervention, Health services delivery, Local initiatives, Model programs, Program development, Program evaluation, School readiness, Service delivery systems, Service integration, Utilization review, Young children

Annotation: This report summarizes findings from the Promoting Healthy Development Survey-PLUS (PHDS-PLUS), of parents of children under age four about the provision and quality of preventive and developmental services to low-income children who were covered by Medicaid. The survey also examines issues surrounding the health of young children and their parents and family health behaviors and routines. Additional report topics include children's access to and utilization of health care services; provision of anticipatory guidance and parent education; assessment of parental well-being and safety within the family; and parents' experiences with pediatric clinicians. The final section includes conclusions and implications, survey methodology, and notes. Extensive statistical data are listed in charts and tables throughout the report. A one page briefing report summarizing the report, facts, and figures is also provided.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health services, Developmental screening, Early childhood development, Health supervision, Low income groups, Parent education, Program evaluation, Young children

Annotation: This report defines and examines the evidence for the effectiveness of health services targeted at promoting optimal development in children from birth to three years of age. The services reviewed are provided in general pediatric settings as part of a routine well-child care and health supervision. The report begins with a review of health supervision guidelines for pediatricians, from the American Academy of Pediatricians and the Bright Futures project, along with the Commonwealth Healthy Steps Program and Zero to Three Developmental Specialist program. The second section provides results of a literature review on program efficacy, effectiveness, or cost effectiveness of services, and is categorized into four areas: assessment, education, intervention, and care coordination. The final section describes results and offers suggestions. Tables provide data on developmental services typology, assessments, education, and interventions. The report concludes with references.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health services, Developmental screening, Early childhood development, Guidelines, Health supervision, Program evaluation, Young children

Annotation: The goal of this randomized clinical control trial was to examine the feasibility of three different approaches to the periodic screening of at-risk children within a public health agency/primary care clinic context: 1) Traditional provider-administered Denver II screenings; 2) mailed Ages and Stages Questionnaire (ASQ) only; or 3) mailed ASQs plus monthly parenting newsletters and toys. Six hypotheses were tested: 1) The percentage of initial screening by ASQ will be equal to or better than the rate of initial assessment by providers; 2) patient retention will be equal or higher in groups 2 and 3 than in group 1; 3) the percentage of ongoing screening in group 3 will be greater than in group 2; 4) for the same child who has had both a Denver II and a one-time ASQ, there will be concordance on suspected delay; 5) with ongoing screening, cross-group comparisons will show that the rate of "suspected delay" screening in the ASQ groups will be equal to or greater than in group 1; and 6) certain subgroups (defined by demographic and/or risk factors) may respond better than others to an ASQ approach. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB2001-106923.

Keywords: Blacks, Children with Special Health care Needs, Developmental Evaluation, Developmental Screening, Early Childhood Development, Early Intervention, Hispanics, Infants, Low Income Population, Low Income Population, MCH Research, Preschool Children, Primary Care, Research, State Programs, Toddlers

Annotation: This report describes the role of the Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Training Program in planning and supporting training designed to produce state, community, university, and professional association leaders who can advocate for children and mothers and continue to effect change that saves lives and enhances health. The report concentrates on MCH Training Program accomplishments in four areas: training students for leadership, developing new fields and providing information and expertise, supporting faculty, and enhancing collaboration. The report also includes a more in-depth discussion of two training priorities; Adolescent Health, and Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental and Related Disabilities (LEND). Appendices include a list of MCH Training Program Evaluation Advisory Committee members, information about 1999 training grants, a history of MCH funding, and training program fact sheets. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-57285-062-0.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Advocacy, Collaboration, Developmental disabilities, Evaluation, Federal MCH programs, Financing, Leadership training, MCH training programs, Neural development, Professional education

Annotation: This report outlines a strategy for defining medical necessity that will promote high quality care for children, youth, and adults with developmental disabilities, mental retardation, serious emotional disorders, or other special health care needs. The report begins with background information including defining the population involved and its service needs. It explains why medical necessity determinations are important and gives key criteria including a recommended approach to defining medical necessity. Appendices include a list of contributors, medical necessity definitions by states and organizations, and an analysis of selected definitions of medical necessity. The executive summary presents a one page synopsis of specifications for defining medical necessity and includes one paragraph each on the problem, the goal, the report, and the audience. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link
• Summary

Keywords: Access to health care, Affective disorders, Developmental disabilities, Mental retardation, Qualitative evaluation, Reports, Resource allocation, Special health care services

Annotation: This report summarizes a seminar presentation about a Maternal and Child Health Bureau funded project on early intervention outcomes. The study investigated the extent to which characteristics of children, families, and the caregiving environment at discharge from early intervention predict children's functioning and parental well-being during the middle childhood period. The seminar presentation and discussion included what type of families early intervention should target, how intensive services should be, and whether services should be changed based on the findings of this study. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Series Page

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Early intervention, Families, Family relations, MCH research, Outcome evaluation, Parents

Annotation: This program: (1) Offered direct interventions with infants and their biological and foster families; (2) created a partnership between the private-sector Edgewood Children's Center and the public-sector SFDSS; (3) supported SFDSS Baby Moms and Licensing Unit staff in recruiting foster homes that were racially similar to the population of infants being served and that are located in San Francisco; (4) increased the medical and developmental knowledge of newly recruited Baby Moms foster parents by organizing monthly training and support meetings; (5) assessed the medical and developmental status of 100 percent of Baby Moms infants; and (6) continued psychological assessments of foster parent applicants. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children with Special Health care Needs, Developmental Evaluation, Early Intervention, Foster Care, Foster Children, Psychological Evaluation, Public Private Partnerships

Annotation: This review of Supplemental Security Income (SSI) eligibility legislation for disabled children defines disability in children, and discusses eligibility review and implementation of the new legislation. Some corrective actions are recommended to ensure that every child receives a fair assessment. The three specific areas of concern identified were: cessation of eligibility of children classified as having mental retardation, quality of case processing, and appeals and requests for benefit continuation during appeal.

Contact: U.S. Social Security Administration, 6401 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21235, Telephone: (800) 772-1213 Secondary Telephone: (800) 325-0778 Contact Phone: (410) 965-4005 Web Site: http://www.ssa.gov Price unknown. Document Number: DHHS (SSA) 64-070.

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Disability evaluation, Legislation, Mental retardation, Supplemental security income