Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about hearing loss in children. It explains what hearing loss in children is; discusses some signs of hearing loss, what causes it, and whether it can be prevented; and what parents can do it they suspect that their child has hearing loss. The fact sheet is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/hearingloss/ehdi-programs.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Early childhood development, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Heath services, Infant development, Infants, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This tip sheet for Title V agencies outlines five essential elements for implementing developmental and behavioral health screening programs within health supervision visits. It provides guidance on promoting equity in screening, planning responses to results, communicating with families, handling confidentiality, and using appropriate screening tools and schedules based on Bright Futures guidelines. The document includes state program examples and emphasizes the importance of establishing clear protocols for referrals, particularly for non-clinical staff working in community settings. [Funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Developmental screening, Guidelines, Mental health screening

Annotation: The Bright Futures Guidelines website provides theory-based and evidence-driven guidance for all preventive care screenings and health supervision visits. Bright Futures content can be incorporated into many public health programs such as home visiting, child care, school-based health clinics and many others. ​Tools and materials are meant for professionals in clinical practice, states and communties, and families, and contain information on topics such as healthy mental and emotional development, health equity, and food security, among others.[Supported by the US Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)​, Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Developmental screening, Education materials, Health screening, Preventive health services, Public health education

Annotation: This website from the CDC has information on the developmental milestones that a child should reach between the ages of two months and five years of age and how parents can find help if they have concerns about their children. There are also materials for healthcare providers, educators, WIC program staff, and home visitors. Free downloadable materials are available in multiple languages, including Spanish, French, Arabic, and more. The website also includes a link to the Milestone Tracker app (Android and IOS versions).

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Child development, Computer/phone applications, Developmental milestones, Developmental screening, Education materials, WIC program

Annotation: This guidebook from the state of Louisiana presents the developmental milestones that children can be expected to reach from infacy to the age of five years. It includes links to resources intended for use by educators and providers, families, and community entities. One page is devoted to the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and Child Find, guarantees that children will be assessed at school and have access to appropriate education.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Education, 1201 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-5243, Telephone: (877)453-2721 Web Site: https://www.louisianabelieves.com/

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Developmental milestones, Developmental screening, Guidelines, Louisiana

Annotation: This videorecording documents a multi-state roundtable discussion on telehealth applications for individuals with hearing impairments, drawing participation from 31 states and territories. The presenters—McVicar (Utah), Stone (Massachusetts), Kirschner (Montana), Culpepper (Georgia), and Messersmith (South Dakota)—share diverse perspectives on teleaudiology implementation within Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) programs, including universal newborn screening initiatives. Their presentations highlight both successes and persistent challenges: while telehealth expands access to specialized audiological services, barriers remain including geographic isolation, transportation costs, equipment accessibility, parental hesitation to engage with public health systems, and technical limitations for certain procedures like cochlear implant testing. The interactive format allowed participants to pose questions directly to presenters, and concluded with the sharing of a comprehensive resource website to support ongoing telehealth advancement for hearing-impaired populations across diverse regional contexts.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Telemedicine, Deafness, Developmental screening, Children with special health care needs, Youth with special health care needs, Utah, Massachusetts, Montana, Family support services, Georgia, South Dakota, Staff development

Annotation: This March 24, 2022 recording features presentations from Dr. Karl White, Director of the National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management (NCHAM), and Dr. Jessica Messersmith, Professor of Communicative Sciences and Disorders at the University of South Dakota, examining post-COVID advancements in tele-audiology technology and implementation. White and colleague Hoffman outline NCHAM's comprehensive tele-audiology support systems, including planning tools, training programs, and technical assistance provided via Zoom, while Messersmith details specialized applications for pediatric diagnosis utilizing a hub-and-spoke service model where central facilities with specialized expertise support satellite locations staffed by technicians. The presentation covers practical considerations for site selection and setup, including necessary equipment and software specifications, while frankly addressing rural healthcare barriers in South Dakota such as poverty, geographic isolation, and workforce shortages of qualified audiologists. The recording concludes by highlighting available training resources for healthcare providers seeking to establish or expand tele-audiology services in underserved communities.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Telemedicine, Deafness, Developmental screening, Children with special health care needs, Youth with special health care needs, Infant health, Infants with special health care needs, South Dakota, Utah

Annotation: This toolkit contains information to help pediatricians and their key partners learn about food insecurity, screen and identify children at risk, connect families to available federal, state, and local food and nutrition programs, and support policies that address food insecurity and its root causes, including poverty, inadequate wages, housing insecurity, food deserts, and structural racism.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Consumer education, Families, Federal programs, Food, Intervention, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This resources is a guidelines booklet on the developmental stages (physical, emotional, cognitive, etc.) of children from birth to age five. It contains checklists, suggested activities, a development tracker, and places where parents can record questions for their child's doctor. It also contains information on the Milestone Tracker app available in Android and IOS versions.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Developmental milestones, Developmental screening, Guidelines

Annotation: With tips for parents/caregivers, providers, and educators and policy makers, this guide includes FAQs on screening, links to various resources on screening, articles on development, and myths and facts about the screening process. Among the resources listed are those provided by the CDC, including the Milestone Tracker.

Contact: Kennedy Krieger Institute, Maryland Center for Developmental Disabilities , 7000 Tudsbury Road , Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (443)923-9555 Web Site: mcdd.kennedykrieger.org

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Developmental screening, Guidelines, Maryland

Annotation: This report presents findings from a five-year nationwide initiative to improve population-based children's developmental health and family well-being outcomes across 12 states. The evaluation focuses on four key areas: building connections between state and local early childhood systems, expanding early childhood systems through infrastructure and capacity building, implementing policy changes, and developing partnerships. The report examines efforts to increase age-appropriate development skills among 3-year-old children and reduce developmental disparities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community coordination, Developmental screening, Early childhood development, Federal initiatives, Model programs, Partnership, Policy development, Service delivery systems, State initiatives

Annotation: This report discusses the "Learn the Signs. Act Early" (LTSAE) state systems grant program's impact on improving early identification and intervention for children with Autism Spectrum Disorder and developmental disabilities. It examines three key impact areas: 1) engaging stakeholders and strengthening partnerships across 29 states, 2) training and raising awareness among key stakeholders in 28 states, and 3) developing statewide systems improvements. The document provides detailed case studies from multiple states, including Virginia's success in developing diagnostic teams, Mississippi's statewide coordination efforts, and Massachusetts' multilingual outreach program. While states faced challenges like budget constraints and system coordination, the grant program successfully built state capacity for early identification and service coordination through formalized developmental monitoring, stakeholder engagement, and increased awareness among caregivers and providers.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, State grants, Autism, Developmental screening, Developmental disabilities, Early intervention

Annotation: This report is a compilation of research, survey data, and best practices that outlines the landscape for children's vision and eye health in the United States. Contents include information about the prevalence and impact of vision disorders in U.S. children, receipt of vision screening for infants and children from birth through age 17, and state approaches to ensuring children's vision and eye health. Additional topics include vision screening rates and requirements by state, pediatric vision benefits available under the Affordable Care Act, what is included in a strong vision health system of care, and model children's vision legislation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Policy development, Prevalence, Preventive health services, Primary care, Reimbursement, Research, Screening, Service integration, Standards, State programs, State surveys, Statistical data, Systems development, Vision, Vision disorders

Annotation: The Minnesota Department of Health provided this toolkit for home visitors, who can use it to help identify developmental and social-emotional issues of children at an early age. It contains recommendations for the periodicity of assessments, links to child development screening tools, the screening process, child development referrals, and follow-up. The MIECHV Home Visitor Orientation Guidance Document was created along with this toolkit, and a link to the PDF document is included.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Developmental screening, Guidelines, Home visiting programs, Minnesota

Annotation: This digital toolkit assists clinicians in the recognition, diagnosis, and management of children with autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) across the life span. It contains American Academy of Pediatrics autism clinical reports and policy statements and expert ASD screening, surveillance, diagnosis, treatment, and referral guidelines. Fact sheets are provided along with coding and billing guidance, and a webinar with video and slides for additional clinician use. Family handouts, in English and Spanish, that discuss diagnosis, transition, financial assistance for families, school inclusion, medical home, adolescents and sexuality, teaching social skills, and child wandering are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-363-4.

• Link

Keywords: , Clinical coding, Adolescent development, Adolescents, Autism, Child development disorders, Children, Communication disorders, Developmental disabilities, Diagnosis, Psychosexual development, Psychosocial development, Resources for professionals, Screening, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs

Annotation: This brief provides state-national comparisons on families and children in Arizona, with a focus on three key areas: Healthy children, prepared students, and strong families. Included are child health statistics and trends and a description of the ways in which Things First and its partners in Arizona’s early childhood system are working to support healthier children and promote early learning at the state and local level.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arizona, Arizona , Child health, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Families, Family health, Family support, Infant health, Infants, Learning, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, School readiness, Screenings, State surveys, Statistical data, Statistics, Trends, Vulnerability, Young children

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 6, percent of children, ages 9 through 35 months, who received a developmental screening using a parent-completed screening tool in the past year. Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) data collection, measurement, and existing landscape; (2) policy research, development, and implementation; (3) systems coordination; (4) technical assistance and training; (5) education, engagement, and resource development; and (6) other program strategies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Announcement

Keywords: Children, Developmental screening, Infants, Model programs, Resources for professionals, State programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This webinar reviews new clinical content in the Bright Futures Guidelines and the associated Periodicity Schedule, and discusses how to use evidence to decide on content for your practice's health supervision visits and how to identify strategies, tools, and resources to maximize efficiency for health promotion and preventive services.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Webinar Only
• Bright Futures 4th Edition Webinars And Slide Decks

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Evidence based medicine, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Videos, Weight management

Annotation: This presentation focuses on integrating Title V data into Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS) to improve services for children and youth with special health care needs. It outlines the relationship between Title V MCH (Maternal and Child Health) programs and Help Me Grow initiatives, highlighting their shared focus on developmental screening and early intervention. The presenter, Paige Bussanich from the Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs (AMCHP), explains how data integration can enhance cross-system collaboration and improve outcomes for children. The slides cover the structure of Title V programs, performance measurement frameworks, and current state efforts in data integration. The presentation also includes information about AMCHP's Title V Data Integration Toolkit and available technical assistance resources, with examples of successful state collaborations between Title V and Help Me Grow programs in Alabama, Vermont, and Wyoming. The final portion introduces data storytelling as a method to effectively communicate findings from integrated data systems.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Slide Deck Only

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, State CHSCN programs, Developmental screening, Vermont

Annotation: This brief identifies evidence-informed strategies for state Title V programs to consider to increase the percent of children ages 9-71 months receiving a developmental screening using a parent-completed screening tool.. Contents include information about the evidence continuum and the approach to the review, including examples of each type of intervention and its evidence rating; key findings; and implications. The full review is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Developmental screening, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Young children