Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual was developed to accompany an 8-hour class. It introduces the concept of mainstreaming and relates it to the principles of early childhood education and best practice guidelines for caring for children with special needs. Module one includes sections on the importance of working with families, ethical issues, laws protecting children with special needs, typical vs. atypical development, how children learn, suggestions for working with parents are included, and diversity resources. Module two deals with motor development and concludes with a bibliography and references. Module three covers social-emotional development and behavioral issues. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: San Diego State University, Mainstreaming Project, 6505 Alvarado Road, Suite 108, San Diego, CA 92120, Telephone: (619) 594-4373 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Americans With Disabilities Act, Child behavior, Child care, Child development, Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Ethics, Families, Learning, Legislation, Mainstreaming, Motor development, Parents, Psychosocial development, Special education

Annotation: These forms are a follow up survey of the former participants in the University Affiliated Cincinnati Center for Developmental Disorders training programs. Theyprovide space to record information about the participants and their comments and assessment of the program. One version is for former trainees with 300+ contact hours; the other is a modified version for trainees with 300+ contact hours who participated in the Interdisciplinary Leadership Core Curriculum since 1987-1988.

• Link

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Evaluation, MCH training, Surveys

Annotation: This project sought to strengthen family-centered care for Iowa children with special health care needs by expanding parent participation in CHSC services development, by creating a statewide parent consultant network, and by enhancing community opportunities for parents to meet with one another and with professionals in a family-oriented experience. Program plans included an annual statewide issues forum; a regional parent consultant network composed of 2 parents from each of the 13 CHSC service regions; and family enrichment weekends designed to bring together parents and children for discussion, reflection, and recreation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-146777.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Developmental disabilities, Families, Family-Centered Health Care, Parent Networks, Parent-Professional Communication, Parents

Annotation: This report assesses access to and use of oral health care among people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD) in Tennessee. It synthesizes data from multiple sources to evaluate the readiness of the state’s oral-health-care infrastructure to address the needs of people with IDD in the state. The report introduces the issue and provides analyses of overall health outcomes, oral health outcomes, and wait times for oral health care for people with IDD in the state. Recommendations for improving access to oral health care for this population are included.

Contact: American Institute of Dental Public Health, 401 William Street, #5560, River Forest, IL 60305, Telephone: (210) 876-6943 Web Site: https://aidph.org/ Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Oral health, Special health care needs, State information, Statistical data, Tennessee

Annotation: This report provides information on a study of oral health professionals conducted to explore factors and policy incentives that influence their decisions on treating people with intellectual and developmental disabilities and on participating in government programs that provide oral health care coverage for this population. Topics includes research questions, input from the population, input from health professionals, demonstrating a return on investment, and promising practices.

Contact: National Council on Disability, 1331 F Street, N.W., Suite 850, Washington, DC 20004-1107, Telephone: (202) 272-2004 Secondary Telephone: (202) 272-2074 Fax: (202) 272-2022 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncd.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Oral health, Public policy, Research, Special health care needs

Annotation: This profile provides information on state Medicaid dental programs. For each state, the following topics are discussed: category of care provided (e.g., diagnostic, exam, screen, preventive, restorative); diagnostic code; description of category; whether adults over age 21, adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities, and pregnant women are covered; adult fees; whether the category is part of the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) program; and EPSDT rates for pregnant women.

Contact: Medicaid | Medicare | CHIP Services Dental Association, 4411 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., #104, Washington, DC 20008, Telephone: (202) 855-3993 Fax: (202) 248-2315 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaiddental.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Costs, Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Reimbursement, State information, State programs

Annotation: This report examines racial and ethnic inequities in children's access to developmental services through California's Department of Developmental Services (DDS). It quantifies and evaluates inequities in service access and expenditures and examines the effectiveness of the set of measures developed by DDS to monitor and prevent inequities related to race, culture, and primary language spoken. A summary of findings is provided along with recommendations for legislative improvements that could help eliminate disparities to services for children with developmental disabilities in the state of California.

Contact: Public Counsel , 610 South Ardmore Avenue , Los Angeles, CA 90005, Telephone: (213) 385-2977 Fax: (213) 385-9089 Web Site: https://publiccounsel.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children with developmental disabilities, Cultural factors, Ethnic factors, Racial factors, State legislation

Annotation: This report addresses questions on whether the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services should require state Medicaid agencies to implement Medicaid reimbursement and payment policies that promote access to oral health care for adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities (I/DD) and on whether doing so could be cost-effective. The report discusses barriers to accessing oral health care for adults with I/DD, Medicaid’s role in making oral health care accessible for them, an analysis of state Medicaid oral health dental coverage, Medicaid reimbursement rates, receipt of oral health care among this population, opportunities for change, and areas for future research.

Contact: National Council on Disability, 1331 F Street, N.W., Suite 850, Washington, DC 20004-1107, Telephone: (202) 272-2004 Secondary Telephone: (202) 272-2074 Fax: (202) 272-2022 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncd.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Costs, Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Medicaid, Oral health, Reimbursement, Research, Special health care needs

Annotation: this resource presents disparities resource guides that provide rationales to address disparities in IDD services and supports experienced by individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities, offer key definitions and conceptual frameworks for addressing disparities in IDD services and supports, including the role of cultural and linguistic competence, and provide a checklist as a structure to spur dialogue and self-examination, engage stakeholders, and plan individually and collaboratively across AIDD-funded programs to address disparities in IDD services and supports within the state or territory. Video narratives are included. The resource is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Center for Cultural Competence, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, P.O. Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5387 Secondary Telephone: (800) 788-2066 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Child development services, Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Multimedia, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This digital toolkit assists clinicians in the recognition, diagnosis, and management of children with autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) across the life span. It contains American Academy of Pediatrics autism clinical reports and policy statements and expert ASD screening, surveillance, diagnosis, treatment, and referral guidelines. Fact sheets are provided along with coding and billing guidance, and a webinar with video and slides for additional clinician use. Family handouts, in English and Spanish, that discuss diagnosis, transition, financial assistance for families, school inclusion, medical home, adolescents and sexuality, teaching social skills, and child wandering are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-363-4.

• Link

Keywords: , Clinical coding, Adolescent development, Adolescents, Autism, Child development disorders, Children, Communication disorders, Developmental disabilities, Diagnosis, Psychosexual development, Psychosocial development, Resources for professionals, Screening, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs

Annotation: This white paper approaches family involvement from the perspective of the family discipline itself, and the ongoing paradigm shift in family-centered care--from fringe to fabric. This document includes a summary of the history of family involvement in the LEND network and a series of 8 individual handouts which detail the definition, need, benefits, resources and strategies associated with each type of family involvement.

Contact: Association of University Centers on Disabilities, 1010 Wayne Avenue, Suite 1000, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 588-8252 Fax: (301) 588-2842 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aucd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Family centered care, Parent participation

Annotation: This report presents the extent to which oral health care is available for people with developmental disabilities in California. It discusses problems with access to oral health care, steps taken to address the problems, and causes of the problems. Recommendations for improving access to oral health care are provided.

Contact: California Legislative Analyst's Office, 925 L Street,Suite 1000, Sacraemento, CA 95814, Web Site: http://www.lao.ca.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Oral health

Annotation: This consensus study report provides a comprehensive analysis of health outcomes for school-aged children with disabilities. It reviews and assesses programs, services, and supports available to these children and their families and describes overarching program, service, and treatment goals. The report also examines outreach efforts and utilization rates; identifies which outcomes are measured and how they are reported; and describes what is known about the effectiveness of these programs and services.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Learning disabilities, Outcome evaluation, Outreach, Physical disabilities, School age children, Services

Annotation: This report analyzes purchase of services authorization data for race, ethnic, and language group disparities for infants, children, and youth from birth to age 21 in California; discusses possible root causes; and makes recommendations for addressing the disparities. Contents include background, 25 years of research studies on service disparities, data reporting requirements and compliance, study methodology and approach, a summary of findings, detailed results, recommendations, conclusion, and next steps.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Adolescents, Barriers, California, Children, Developmental disabilities, Ethnic factors, Financing, Geographic factors, Infants, Language, Legal issues, Policy analysis, State legislation

Annotation: This report focuses on the needs of adults with autism spectrum disorders who have more severe challenges, including those who have just left the special education system and those who are at the end of their working years, to look at differences in services and outcomes across the life course. It includes data on individuals with other forms of developmental disabilities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Drexel Autism Institute, Drexel University, 3141 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104, E-mail: https://drexel.ed Web Site: https://drexel.edu/autisminstitute/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Developmental disabilities, Developmental disability programs, Special health care needs, Statistics

Annotation: These resources for policymakers, health professionals, and health advocates provide information about and strategies for preventing dental caries in young children. Contents include talking points, fact sheets, an issue brief, infographics, and videos. Topics include risk-based care, oral health during pregnancy, and what states can do to prevent dental caries in early childhood. Findings on adults’ knowledge of oral health and prevention, strategies for reducing caries in a Medicaid population, and tips for encouraging local media to cover early childhood caries are also included.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Disease prevention, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Risk factors, Safety, Young children

Annotation: This brief highlights oral health disparities within communities of color in California. Topics include oral health disparities and the impact of oral health inequities on communities of color, including oral health and children, oral health and employment, and oral health and chronic conditions. Also discussed are causes of oral health inequities, including lack of access to affordable care, absence of a culturally and linguistically competent work force, and social and environmental inequities. In addition, the brief provides policy recommendations (improving access to and quality of oral health care, ensuring that there is a culturally competent work force, and engaging in efforts to improve underlying socioeconomic inequities).

Contact: California Pan-Ethnic Health Network, 1221 Preservation Park Way, Suite 200, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 832-1160 Fax: (510) 832-1175 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cpehn.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Environmental influences, Equal opportunities, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Oral health, Policy development, Social factors, State surveys, Work force

Annotation: This document for primary care health professionals provides tips for promoting the identification of autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) and other developmental disabilities for children from immigrant families or from families whose primary language is not English. Contents include tips for culturally- and linguistically-competent autism screening; the Modified Checklist for Autism in Toddlers (M-CHAT) screening tool in English and in four translations (Chinese, Haitian Creole, Spanish, and Vietnamese); an assortment of materials from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Learn the Signs. Act Early campaign for use in practice; and resource and referral information.

Contact: Massachusetts Act Early, MA Web Site: https://www.maactearly.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Autism, Culturally competent services, Developmental disabilities, Developmental screening, Early identification, Immigrants, Infants, Massachusetts, Non English language materials, Public awareness campaign materials, Referrals, State initiatives, Young children

Annotation: This document for public health professionals outlines knowledge and practice skills for including people with disabilities in the core public health functions (assessment, policy development, and assurance). Contents include strategies to meet the competencies and examples of how people with disabilities can be successfully included in public health activities. Topics include disability models across the lifespan, methods used to assess health issues for people with disabilities, how public health programs impact health outcomes for people with disabilities, and implementing and evaluating strategies to include people with disabilities in public health programs. The appendices contain a glossary of terms, resources by topic, academic resources, resources for embedding the competencies into a public health curriculum or training, and information about alignment with other public health competencies and standards.

Contact: Association of University Centers on Disabilities, 1010 Wayne Avenue, Suite 1000, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 588-8252 Fax: (301) 588-2842 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aucd.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Assessment, Competence, Disabilities, Inclusion, Learning, Policy development, Public health infrastructure, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Work force

Annotation: This guidance document answers common questions about providing physical education services for students with disabilities. The document was developed as a resource for physical educators, adapted physical educators, school district administrators, and parents as they work to provide consistent adapted physical education services for students with disabilities. Contents include descriptions of advocacy resources, legal guidelines, teaching tips, and commonly used motor assessments.

Contact: SHAPE America–Society of Health and Physical Educators, 1900 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1598, Telephone: (800) 213-7193 Fax: (703) 476-9527 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.shapeamerica.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Assessments, Disabilities, Learning, Legal definitions, Motor development, Physical activity, Physical education, Resources for professionals, School districts, Service delivery systems, Students, Teaching