Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This handout describes the culturally responsive and equitable evaluation (CREE) approach that involves integrating diversity, inclusion, and equity principles into all phases of an evaluation.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com

• Link

Keywords: Cultural factors, Cultural sensitivity, Ethnic factors, Evaluation methods, Health equity, Research design

Annotation: This report describes a project to build a dental clinic and provide comprehensive oral health services to students attending a combined elementary and middle school (kindergarten through eighth grade) in Lemon Grove, CA. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Appendices include an announcement about the clinic opening, sample forms in English and Spanish, a needs-assessment cover letter and survey, a program brochure, and a memorandum of under- standing between the university and the school district. The process, outcome, and impact indicators/minimal data set is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Elementary schools, Facility design and construction, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Middle schools, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Rural population, School based clinics, Service integration, Spanish language materials, Systems development

Annotation: This report provides information about validation testing for pediatric oral health performance measures. Topics include tooth mortality and treatment following dental sealant placement. Contents include background, data sources, and key testing findings.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental care, Dental sealants, Dentistry, Health services delivery, Measures, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Pediatric care, Quality assurance, Research design, Research methodology

Annotation: This resource provides guidance on why and how to design health websites and other digital health-information tools for all users. Topics include what we know about users with limited literacy skills, writing actionable content, displaying content clearly on the page, organizing content and simplifying navigation, engaging users, and testing your site with users with limited literacy skills. A printable checklist of strategies, an overview of user research, and an annotated bibliography are included.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Design, Guidelines, Health education, Information dissemination, Interactive media, Internet, Low literacy, Manuals, Online systems, Oral health

Annotation: This report for policy makers, agency officials, non-governmental organizations and associations, and others who work to promote quality child care and advance children's health provides information about laws, regulations, and programs to address indoor environmental contaminants in child care facilities. Contents include an overview of how policies address indoor environmental quality issues in licensed child care facilities and, for each issue, examples of policy strategies for states to consider including notable non-regulatory initiatives that are being implemented by state agencies. Topics include carbon monoxide alarms; mold and dampness; building ventilation and temperature; pesticides, lead-based paint; asbestos; other chemical exposures (cleaning, renovation, and consumer products); facility site/location; and state non-regulatory activities (education, assistance and incentives to advance best practices). The appendix provides information about where to find state statutes and regulations online.

Contact: Environmental Law Institute, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 939-3800 Web Site: http://www.eli.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care centers, Child health, Environmental exposure, Facility design and construction, Hazardous materials, Health education, Model programs, Policy development, Regulations, State initiatives, State legislation

Annotation: These guidelines are designed to assist school administrators and others in protecting and improving indoor air quality (IAQ) in schools during building upgrades, particularly energy efficiency upgrades and building renovation activities. Contents include fundamental principles of IAQ, the business case for integrating energy efficiency and IAQ, and assessment protocols and recommended actions. Topics include project planning and integrated design; moisture and mold; hazardous materials; indoor and outdoor contaminants and sources; heating, ventilation, and air conditioning; and safety. The appendices contain information about project planning and developing a project team, communication and education, and worker protection. A master verification checklist is also included.

Contact: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Ariel Rios Building, 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20460, Telephone: (202) 272-0167 Web Site: http://www2.epa.gov/children Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Air pollution, Assessment, Environmental exposure, Facility design and construction, Planning, Protocols, Safety, School age children, Schools

Annotation: This book describes how to develop powerful presentation slides, including the message, details of slide design, including points to observe and mistakes to avoid, and how to prepare and deliver a great TED talk. It has many illustrations of slides of past TED talks.

Keywords: Design, Manuals, Slides, Training

Annotation: This report describes a project to develop a scientifically vetted style guide for communicating health data. Contents include examples of tested visualizations (graphic displays of health information that have been evaluated through research among the general public) including graphs, charts, and images that effectively communicate risk information.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Communication, Data, Graphic design, Guidelines, Multimedia, Risk assessment

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Seventh Floor West, Washington, DC 20447, Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/opre Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Design, Early childhood education, Measures, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Standards

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Design, Evaluation, Surveys

Annotation: The report provides information about the plan, operations, and analysis of the first national-level survey to estimate the physical activity and fitness levels of children and adolescents ages 3-15 in the United States. Contents include information on the planning and sample design; ethical, privacy, and confidentiality considerations; field operations; mobile examination center operations; a report of findings and remuneration; and data release and analytic guidelines.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS Pub. No. 2014–1363.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Confidentiality, Data analysis, Data collection, Evaluation methods, National surveys, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Research design

Annotation: This guide addresses the need for drinking water in schools and outlines steps for providing adequate numbers of drinking fountains and tap water dispensers in school buildings. The content is organized to mirror typical school organizational structure, providing information about policy and oversight for state and tribal agencies and information focused on implementation and maintenance for schools. Topics include access to free and safe drinking water within a convenient distance of any location on school grounds; factors that impact whether water is safe to drink and appealing to students, teachers, and staff; and campaigns and policies designed to increase student water consumption.

Contact: Harvard University, T.H. Chan School of Public Health, 677 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 495-1000 Web Site: https://www.hsph.harvard.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Facility design and construction, Fluid intake, Nutrition, Oral health, Policy development, Public health infrastructure, Safety, School age children, Schools, Water

Annotation: This document examines the potential of school architecture and design to promote healthy eating and physical activity behaviors. It describes a mixed-methods evaluation research design that included data collection from students and staff in schools before and after the intervention. Topics include organizational change, children's attitudes toward school, conception of new space, and need for social intervention.

• PDF

Keywords: Attitudes, Case studies, Collaboration, Facility design and construction, Feasibility studies, Health promotion, Multidisciplinary teams, Obesity, Organizational change, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Public private partnerships, School age children, Schools, Social factors, Students

Annotation: This manual provides guidelines for assessing the oral health status of a population and determining need for oral health intervention. The manual aims to encourage national oral health survey planners to standardize measurements of oral diseases and conditions that are important for planning and evaluating oral health programs, as well as to ensure the comparability of data collected in a wide range of environments. The manual advocates applying the World Health Organization (WHO) global approach to chronic-disease-surveillance to an operational model for the integration of oral health into chronic disease surveillance systems. Topics include basic principles of oral health surveys, oral health self-assessment, and obtaining assistance from WHO.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 9789241548649.

• PDF

Keywords: Data analysis, Data collection, International health, Oral health, Research design, Research methodology, Surveys, World Health Organization

Annotation: This summary reports on a January 2013 workshop on issues related to the overall design (including the framework for implementation) of the National Children's Study (NCS). The NCS is designed to study the environmental influences (including physical, chemical, biological, and psychosocial) on children's health and development. Summary contents include environmental measures, consideration of multiple cohorts in the sample design, imputation and estimation, and moving forward. The workshop agenda, a list of participants, and information on the Committee on National Statistics are also included.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-309-28840-8.

• Link

Keywords: Chemicals, Child health, Children, Environmental influences, Meetings, Physical development, Prospective studies, Psychosocial development, Research design

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to provide clinical and administrative staff at community health centers with the essentials needed to build a primary care research infrastructure. Organized into eight stand-alone audio-recorded modules, the toolkit helps health center clinicians and staff find information on: (1) introduction to quality improvement and research, (2) building primary care research infrastructure, (3) data: access and utilization, (4) study design and methods overview, (5) dissemination and action, (6) funding research, (7) partnerships for research, and (8) ethics and the Institutional Review Board. Appendices are included after each module to provide access to sample agreements, forms, policies, slides, and worksheets.

Contact: Harvard University, T.H. Chan School of Public Health, 677 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 495-1000 Web Site: https://www.hsph.harvard.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community health centers, Data collection, Data sources, Ethics, Fundraising, Primary care, Qualitative evaluation, Research, Research design, Research methodology

Annotation: This book discusses search engine optimization (SEO), including what it is, why it is important, how to improve your library's SEO efforts, how Internet search engine indexing works, targeting your audience, Google Scholar and institutional repositories, and measuring success.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org $65,00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1555709068.

Keywords: Design, Digital libraries, Information management, Libraries, Technology, Web sites, World Wide Web

Annotation: This report provides background and design information for assessing the costs of home visiting programs that aim to prevent child maltreatment. Topics include the purpose of cost analyses, existing literature on the costs of home visiting program models, study design, and approaches to the collection and analysis of cross-site cost study data.

Contact: FRIENDS National Resource Center for Community-Based Child Abuse Prevention, Chapel Hill Training Outreach Project, 800 Eastowne Drive, Suite 105, Chapel Hill, NC 27514, Web Site: http://www.friendsnrc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Costs, Evaluation methods, Home visiting, Maltreated children, Prevention programs, Research design

Annotation: This course provides a basic overview of program evaluation including the goals of evaluation, types of evaluation, and common study designs. It provides general guidance on how to successfully plan, conduct, and manage an evaluation. The course also covers how to address research quality and disseminate findings so that the results of the evaluation will have maximum impact.

Contact: National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Adminstration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 Web Site: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Distance education, Information dissemination, Program evaluation, Program management, Program planning, Research design, Training

Annotation: This webinar focused on the essential prerequisites to developing and implementing a continuous quality improvement (CQI) strategy in home visiting programs. The webinar was held on January 13, 2011, the first in a series of technical assistance webinars. The series is part of the Design Options for Home Visiting Evaluation (DOHVE) project, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, which is providing technical assistance to grantees of the federal home visiting program and developing design options for conducting a national evaluation of the federal initiative.

Contact: MDRC, 16 East 34th Street, 19th Floor, New York, NY 10016-4326, Telephone: (212) 532-3200 Fax: (212) 684-0832 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mdrc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Home visiting, Program evaluation, Quality assurance, Research design, Technical assistance