Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This project developed a model for care and services, a services resource network and coordinated education and training resources. The project worked with over 40 families, published a book, Homeward Bound: Resources for Living at Home with a Chronically Ill Child, and produced training videotapes for health care providers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152957.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dependence, Home-Based Health Care, Technology, Ventilator Dependence

Annotation: The goal of this project was to improve the knowledge base from which policymakers and program directors make decisions regarding implementation of community-based and home-based services for children with long-term health care needs. Strategies included a literature review, a review of current innovative home and community-based programs, and the dissemination of findings and recommendations by means of publications and a state-of-the-art conference. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB94-106358.

Keywords: Children, Chronically Ill, Community-Based Health Services, Data Collection from, Home-Based Health Care, Primary Care Centers, Technology Dependence

Annotation: This project sought to demonstrate that a system of reimbursable, cost-effective, home-based support services can be implemented for families with chronically ill children. The project objectives were to facilitate the provision of home-based care for chronically ill children through the following activities: (1) Developing a regional network of medically skilled respite providers; (2) establishing self-help mutual support groups for chronically ill children and their parents and siblings; (3) training professionals, paraprofessionals, and volunteers; and (4) disseminating project findings and recommendations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158699.

Keywords: Arthritis, Asthma, Bronchopulmonary Dysplasia, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Congenital Heart Disease, Cystic Fibrosis, Families, Feeding Disorders, Hemophilia, Home-Based Health Care, Kidney Disease, Leukemia, Low income groups, Muscular Dystrophy, Nurses, Respiratory Technologies, Respite Care, Sick Kids (Need) Involved People (SKIP), Sickle Cell Disease, Support Groups, Tay-Sachs Disease, Ventilator Dependence

Annotation: The goal of this project was to enable families to provide home-centered care for their special needs children, when home was the best option, by establishing a service delivery system. This system: (1) Promoted the availability and accessibility of comprehensive quality services that address physical, psychosocial, spiritual, and developmental needs; (2) encouraged continuity and coordination of care among all components of the child and family's interdisciplinary team; (3) promoted communication among caregivers; and (4) was reimbursable, accountable, and responsive to changing needs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161891.

Keywords: 99-457, Chronically Ill, Coordination of Health Care, Families, Family-Centered Health Care, Home-Based Health Care, Interdisciplinary Teams, Interdisciplinary Teams, L, P, Pediatric Care Providers, Technology Dependence

Annotation: In this podcast episode, host Christie Allen explores the intersection of substance use and maternal health with innovators Dr. Nichole Nidey and Michelle Kavouras, focusing on the power of lived expertise to shape equitable, evidence-based care. Dr. Nidey, a maternal and child health epidemiologist and founder of the Empower Project, discusses how her work collaborates with individuals who use substances during pregnancy to inform meaningful research and interventions. Kavouras, a peer doula and harm reduction advocate, shares her journey from lived experience to leadership in substance use advocacy, highlighting the importance of compassionate, non-stigmatizing care. This conversation challenges misconceptions, unpacks the complexity of language in healthcare, and emphasizes the need to meet pregnant people where they are. The episode is part of the AIM for Safer Birth series of podcasts that dive deeper into the rising severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States through a data-driven, quality improvement lens.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link
• Series Link

Keywords: Cultural competence, Maternal health, Patient care management, Physician patient relations, Pregnancy, Prevention, Research, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

Annotation: This document provides recommendations for the management of opioid use for pregnant women, including pregnant women with opioid-use disorder, and for care of the opioid-exposed newborn. Topics include clinical recommendations, health-systems and policy recommendations, definitions, and resources and collaborative approaches.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division , 800 NE Oregon Street, Portland , OR 97232, Telephone: 971-673-0252 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (503) 947-2341 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.oregon.gov/OHA/PH/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Narcotics, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Prescription drugs, State programs, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

Annotation: This report presents summary information on Medicaid coverage and financing of medications to treat alcohol and opioid use disorders (MAT). It discusses issues including prior authorization, innovative approaches to financing and delivering MAT, state considerations for covering MAT (including efficacy, costs, regulations, and policies), and innovative models and best practices.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: HHS SMA-18-5093 .

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol dependence, Drugs, Health care financing, Medicaid, Opiates, Substance abuse treatment

Annotation: This guide provides guidance for the optimal management of pregnant and parenting women with opioid use disorder (OUD) and their infants, based on recommendations of experts as of 2017. The guide is designed to help health professionals and women determine the most clinically appropriate action for a particular circumstance. In addition to offering background information, the guide includes fact sheets divided into the following sections: prenatal care, infant care, and maternal postnatal care. Each fact sheet includes a clinical scenario, clinical action steps, supporting evidence and clinical considerations, and links to and descriptions of online resources on the topic.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: (SMA) 18-5054. .

• Link

Keywords: Guidelines, Narcotics, Parents, Perinatal addiction, Pregnant women, Prenatal addiction, Substance dependence, Substance use disorders, Treatment

Annotation: This report reviews what is known about substance misuse and how that knowledge can be used to address substance misuse and related consequences. Contents include information and findings related to neurobiology, prevention, treatment, recovery, and health care systems. The report concludes with a vision for the future including five general messages and their implications for policy and practice, and recommendations for specific stakeholder groups. Supplementary materials such as fact sheets on specific findings and recommendations for different audiences and a toolkit for promoting the report are also available.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health care systems, Medical treatment, Policy development, Public private partnerships, Substance abusers, Substance dependence, Substance use behavior, Substance use disorders, Substance use screening

Annotation: This toolkit provides information on how oral health professionals can develop a tobacco-cessation-intervention program and outlines key roles for each member of the oral health team. Contents include information about tobacco use and prevalence, risks of tobacco use, secondhand smoke, benefits of cessation, nicotine and the physiology of dependence, tobacco-cessation counseling, pharmacotherapy, insurance coverage and coding, the role of dentists and the dental team, barriers and solutions, and resources.

Contact: Indiana Dental Association, 1319 East Stop 10 Road, Indianapolis, IN 46227, Telephone: (317) 634-2610 Secondary Telephone: (800) 562-5646 Fax: (317) 634-2612 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.indental.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse effects, Barriers, Counseling, Dental care, Drug dependence, Health insurance, Indiana, Intervention, Nicotine, Oral health, Program development, Reimbursement, Role, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report provides information about adolescent alcohol consumption and substance abuse, including the abuse of prescription drugs and illegal drugs. The report explains the problem and discusses its magnitude, consequences, messages that promote adolescent substance abuse, adolescent perceptions and expectations,factors that compound or reduce the risk of adolescent substance abuse and addiction, prevention approaches and barriers to improvement, and treatment.

Contact: National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University, 633 Third Avenue, 19th Floor, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 841-5200 Fax: (212) 956-8020 Web Site: http://www.casacolumbia.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol dependence, Alcohol intoxication, Drug addiction, Health promotion, Mass media, Prevention, Substance abuse, Treatment

Annotation: This guide for primary care health professionals provides a simple, empirically derived tool for identifying children and adolescents ages 9-18 at risk for alcohol-related problems. The guide also explains why it is important to screen for such problems and how the tool helps in doing so. A pocket guide and algorithm are also available from the website.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Full Guide
• Pocket Guide

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol dependence, Alcohol intoxication, Child attitudes, Adolescent attitudes, Child behavior, Child health, Continuing education, High risk adolescents, High risk children, Intervention, Prevention, Primary care, Screening

Annotation: This paper reports on tools in use or under development to identify children's mental health and addiction treatment needs, under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) Medicaid mandate. The paper includes a table showing the type of tool used in fifteen states.

Contact: Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 1101 15th Street, N.W., Suite 1212, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 467-5730 Secondary Telephone: (202) 467-4232 Contact Phone: (202) 467-4232 Fax: (202) 223-0409 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.bazelon.org Available from the website.

• 2010 Version
• 1997 Version

Keywords: Assessment, Child mental health, Drug affected children, EPSDT, Medicaid managed care, Mental health, Substance dependence

Annotation: This document is excerpted from the "Home Care Program Policy Manual" of the University of Illinois at Chicago Division of Specialized Care for Children. It describes some of the differences and difficulties experienced by families and nurses working together in the home care of technology assisted children. It also provides information to help nurses establish and maintain a professional working relationship within a home environment. General guidelines are presented to help nurses prepare mentally for the experience of home care. More specific guidelines are also included that discuss establishing appropriate relationships with the child, the parents, and the siblings. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Illinois at Chicago, Division of Specialized Care for Children, 3135 Old Jacksonville Road, Springfield, IL 62704-6488, Telephone: (217) 558-2350 Secondary Telephone: (800) 322-3722 Fax: (217) 558-0773 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://dscc.uic.edu Price unknown.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Home care services, Medically fragile children, Nurses, Parents, Technology dependence

Annotation: This report presents the first information from the 2004 National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), an annual survey of the civilian, noninstitutionalized population of the United States ages 12 or older. This initial report on the 2004 data presents national estimates of rates of use, numbers of users, and other measures related to illicit drugs, alcohol, and tobacco products. Measures related to mental problems are also presented, including data on the co-occurence of substance use and mental problems, and new data on depression among adolescents and adults. A major focus of the report is changes in substance use between 2003 and 2004. A discussion of long-term trends is included in the final chapter. The report, which includes highlights, covers the following main topics: illicit drug use; alcohol use; tobacco use; initiation of substance use; youth prevention-related measures; substance dependence, abuse, and treatment; prevalence and treatment of mental problems; and trends in substance use prevalence. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.The report includes eight appendices: (1) a description of the survey, (2) statistical methods and measurement, (3) research on the impact of changes in NSDUH methods, (4) key definitions, 2004, (5) other sources of data, (6) references, (7) sample size and population tables, and (8) selected prevalence tables.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Drug use behavior, Health, Illicit drugs, Mental health, National surveys, Research, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment, Substance dependence, Tobacco use, Treatment, Trends

Annotation: This brief overview report presents the first information from the 2004 National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), an annual survey of the civilian, noninstitutionalized population of the United States ages 12 or older. This initial report on the 2004 data presents national estimates of rates of use, numbers of users, and other measures related to illicit drugs, alcohol, and tobacco products. Measures related to mental problems are also presented, including data on the co-occurence of substance use and mental problems, and new data on depression among adolescents and adults. A major focus of the report is changes in substance use between 2003 and 2004. A discussion of long-term trends is included in the final chapter. The report, which includes highlights, covers the following main topics: illicit drug use; alcohol use; tobacco use; initiation of substance use; youth prevention-related measures; substance dependence, abuse, and treatment; prevalence and treatment of mental problems; and trends in substance use prevalence. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.The report includes eight appendices: (1) a description of the survey, (2) statistical methods and measurement, (3) research on the impact of changes in NSDUH methods, (4) key definitions, 2004, (5) other sources of data, (6) references, (7) sample size and population tables, and (8) selected prevalence tables.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Drug use behavior, Health, Illicit drugs, Mental health, National surveys, Research, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment, Substance dependence, Tobacco use, Treatment, Trends

Annotation: This brief overview report presents the first information from the 2003 National Survey on Drug Use and Health, an annual survey of the civilian, noninstitutionalized population of the United States ages 12 or older. A more complete presentation of the initial results of the survey is given in the full report, Results from the 2003 National Survey on Drug Use and Health: National Findings. Both reports present national estimates of rates of use, numbers of users, and other measures related to illicit drugs, alcohol, and tobacco products. Measures related to mental health problems are also included. A major focus of the report is changes in substance use between 2002 and 2003. The report, which includes highlights, covers the following main topics: illicit drug use; alcohol use; tobacco use; trends in initiation of substance use; youth prevention-related measures; substance dependence, abuse, and treatment; and prevalence and treatment of mental health problems. A discussion is also included. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. The report includes one appendix: prevalence estimate tables.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Drug use behavior, Health, Illicit drugs, Mental health, National surveys, Research, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment, Substance dependence, Tobacco use, Treatment, Trends

Annotation: This manual is a personal journal to be used by a participant in a program for treating addiction, Helping Women Recover. The journal is intended for use in a group meeting setting although it may be used one-on-one with a counselor. The program is organized into four modules: self, relationships, sexuality, and spirituality. For each module, the journal contains exercises to be used at the group meetings, summaries of information received at meetings, and questions and exercise for reflection between meetings. The appendix contains a list of other recovery resources.

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7879-4430-0.

Keywords: Behavior modification, Personal narratives, Recovering addicts, Substance dependence, Therapeutic programs, Women', s health

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol dependence, Awards, Drug addiction, Health promotion, Homeless persons, Homelessness, Kentucky, Model programs, Models That Work, Primary care, Public private partnerships, Shelters, Underserved communities

Annotation: This volume provides information on major professional and personal competencies of special librarians and provides examples of the many roles special librarians can perform in this era of print and electronic information resources. It includes definitions of special competencies, a list of competencies for special librarians of the 21st century, and a report on using competencies as a performance appraisal and compensation tool. Two sections end with a list of references.

Contact: Special Libraries Association, 331 South Patrick Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-3501, Telephone: (703) 647-4900 Contact Phone: (202) 234-4700 ext.643 Fax: (703) 647-4901 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sla.org $17.00 for SLA members; $22.00 for non SLA members includes shipping and handling; prepayment required. Document Number: ISBN 0-87111-469-0.

Keywords: Information networks, Librarians, Library services, Professional education, Technology dependence