Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This timeline provides information on oral health and oral health care throughout life. Topics include developmental events, interaction with dentists, and oral hygiene.

Contact: Know Your Teeth, Academy of General Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 900, Chicago, IL 60611-6660, Telephone: (888) 243-3368, ext. 5300 Fax: (312) 440-0559 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://knowyourteeth.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Developmental stages, Infants, Oral health

Annotation: This activity book provides information about keeping children’s teeth healthy. It includes information about brushing, flossing, avoiding sugary foods and drinks, eating fruits and vegetables daily, and visiting the dentist. Activities for children, such as coloring pages, dot-to-dots, and a song, are also included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Coloring books, Dental hygiene, Educational materials, Nutrition, Oral health

Annotation: These videos provide information about oral health for children and adolescents in pre-kindergarten to grade 2, grades 3–5, grades 6–8, and grades 9–12. The videos discuss the importance of oral health, how to keep the teeth and mouth healthy, the importance of toothbrushing and flossing, and the importance of eating healthy foods and drinking water and avoiding foods and drinks high in sugar. They also explain what tooth decay and gum disease are and discuss the importance of visiting the dentist and what happens during dental visits.

Contact: San Juan Basin Public Health, 281 Sawyer Drive, Durango, CO 81303, Telephone: (970) 247-5702 Web Site: https://sjbpublichealth.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Adolescents, Dental care, Gingivitis, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Videotapes, Young children

Annotation: This parent oral health survey form was sent to parents or caregivers of children who received care from the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health, which was part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The form includes questions related to fluoride varnish, the respondent's knowledge about oral health care and oral hygiene for children, oral health care that the child has received, and background information about the respondent.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Attitudes, Caregivers, Dental caries, Fluoride varnish, Health care utilization, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Parents, Prevention, Surveys

Annotation: This resource provides an overview of steps parents can take to prevent tooth decay in their children, including brushing with fluoride toothpaste, other ways to use fluoride and fluoride supplements, giving children healthy food and drinks, dental checkups, and sealants. A companion resource on adult tooth and gum care is also available from the website.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Infant health, Oral health, Young children

Annotation: This brief provides information on oral hygiene home care practices in the United States. It presents the results of a survey of adults conducted to learn about oral hygiene habits, lifestyle choices, and socioeconomic factors that may affect oral health. The brief discusses brushing and flossing frequency; influences of food- and beverage-related behaviors and tobacco use on oral hygiene practices at home; and the influence of dental insurance type on brushing and flossing behaviors. Statistical information is presented according to age group, gender, and race and ethnicity.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adult health, Age factors, Dental insurance, Ethnic factors, Gender, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data, Surveys, Tobacco use

Annotation: This tip sheet outlines strategies for health professionals in planning, developing, and implementing state and local efforts to ensure access to oral health care for children and adolescents with special health care needs. Topics include working with parents and other caregivers to provide oral hygiene care, work force issues, health care financing, the importance of dental and medical homes, and a review of state and local programs addressing these issues. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children, Children with special health care needs, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Health care systems, Oral health

Annotation: This handout provides information about the dental hygienist liaison (DHL) project coordinated by the National Center on Health, Behavioral Health, and Wellness, working in partnership with the American Dental Hygienists’ Association. Under the DHL project, volunteer dental hygienists help promote oral health for pregnant women and children enrolled in Head Start and children enrolled in child care. The handout explains the rationale for and purpose of the project and discusses the role of the DHL. Information on how to contact the DHL in each state is included.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw

• Link

Keywords: Dental hygiene, Head Start, Health promotion, Oral health, Pregnant women, Young children

Annotation: This series of videos for parents discusses the importance of primary teeth, passing bacteria that cause tooth decay from parent to infant, and how to brush a child’s teeth. Each video presents information in plain language, along with visual depictions of the concepts being discussed.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Infant health, Oral health, Videotapes

Annotation: This report provides information about the oral health of individuals with intellectual or developmental disabilities in Missouri. Topics include oral hygiene, dental sealants, treated and untreated tooth decay, treatment urgency, and history of rampant tooth decay. Information about survey participants’ ages, genders, races, and ethnicities, as related to these topics, is included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Missouri, Oral health, State surveys, Treatment

Annotation: This series of tip sheets is intended for Head Start staff to use to support the oral health of children and pregnant people enrolled in Head Start programs and their families. The tip sheets include up-to-date practices and practical tips to promote good oral health. Health and social service professionals interested in improving the oral health of children and pregnant people enrolled in Head Start and their families may also find Brush Up on Oral Health tip sheets helpful.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental care, Head Start, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs, Tobacco, Young children

Annotation: This infographic provides information about the cost savings that can result from getting preventive oral health care twice a year, brushing and flossing regularly, avoiding tobacco, and drinking fluoridated water. It provides a breakdown of the lifetime cost of treating a decayed tooth, including the cost of a filling, a replacement filling, a crown, a root canal, an extraction, and an implant.

Contact: Northeast Delta Dental, One Delta Drive, P.O. Box 2002, Concord, NH 03302, Telephone: (603) 223-1000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 537-1715 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nedelta.com/Home Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Fluoride, Oral health, Prevention

Annotation: This report presents data about consumers’ oral-health-related behaviors throughout 2020. It provides insights into the public’s awareness of the connection between oral health and overall health. Topics include the importance of oral health to overall health, oral hygiene practices, prioritization of preventive dental visits, and the relationship between having dental insurance and oral health status.

Contact: Delta Dental Plans Association, 1515 West 22nd Street, Suite 450, Oak Brook, IL 60523, Web Site: https://www.deltadental.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental hygiene, Health behavior, Health insurance, Oral health, Prevention, Statistical data

Annotation: This flyer provides information for medical providers at community health centers (CHCs) participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The flyer is intended for use with the parents or other caregivers of CHC patients to help ensure that parents or other caregivers meet goals related to brushing their child’s teeth with fluoridated toothpaste, giving their child fluoridated water to drink and healthy snacks to eat, and getting oral health care for their child. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Nutrition, Oral health, Regional programs, Snacks, Water intake, Young children

Annotation: This tip sheet provides information on how to practice self-care after an in-office or teledentistry appointment. Topics include practicing healthy habits, decreasing risk for tooth decay, tooth sensitivity, tooth pain, bleeding gums, and jaw or muscle tightness and/or pain. For each topic, a list of tips is included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental hygiene, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pain management, Prevention, Telemedicine

Annotation: This guide is intended to help dental offices navigate issues related to coding and billing for virtual appointments during the COVID-19 pandemic. It discusses coding for a variety of services, provides sample coding scenarios, and offers answers to frequently asked questions. HIPAA and telecommunication technology are also addressed. A checklist of considerations for practices in providing virtual services during the COVID-19 pandemic is included, along with sample language for informed consent forms for virtual services, tips for performing virtual evaluations, and billing policies by payer.

Contact: American Dental Association, Council on Dental Benefits, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (800) 621-8099 Secondary Telephone: 312-440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Safety, Spanlsh language materials, Virus diseases

Annotation: This video provides information on how to brush and floss teeth safely during the COVID-19 pandemic. Recommendations include not sharing toothbrushes or floss containers and routinely changing toothbrushes. Resources for additional information are provided.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: COVID-19, Dental hygiene, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Safety, Virus diseases

Annotation: These guidelines for dental hygienists provide information on returning to work during the COVI -19 pandemic. Topics include COVID-19 testing before opening a dental office, work environment, patient preparation, special considerations for providing dental hygiene care, personal protective equipment (PPE), donning and doffing PPE, and disinfection. For each section, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention guidance is included. A COVID-19 patient screening questionnaire and a dental hygienist readiness to return to work questionnaire are also included.

Contact: American Dental Hygienists' Association, 444 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 3400, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (312) 440-8900 Fax: (312) 440-1806 Web Site: https://www.adha.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: COVID-19, Dental hygiene, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Protocols, Safety, Virus diseases

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about caring for young children’s mouths and teeth at home during the COVID-19 pandemic, when they may not be brushing at school owing to safety concerns. The fact sheet includes information about the importance of brushing at home; the importance of baby teeth; and things parents can do to keep children healthy, such as giving milk and water between meals only and visiting the dentist twice a year. The fact sheet is written in English and in Spanish.

Contact: McMillen Health, 600 Jim Kelley Boulevard, Fort Wayne, IN 46816, Telephone: (888) 240-7268 Secondary Telephone: (260) 456-4511 Web Site: http://mcmillenhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Virus diseases, COVID-19, Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Safety, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This toolkit provides information about collaborative dental hygiene practice, dental therapy, and medical-dental integration. Each topic includes links to relevant subtopics and includes tutorials, videos, templates, and other tools. A resource library is included, with links to educational resources. A video with information about the toolkit as a whole is also included.

Contact: Normandale Community College 21st Century Dental Team, 9700 France Avenue South, Bloomington, MN 55431, Web Site: https://www.normandale.edu/mndentalteam Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Dental hygiene, Educational materials, Oral health, Service integration