Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (321 total).

Colegrove J. n.d.. Child Care Health Promotion Project: [Final report]. Santa Fe, NM: New Mexico Department of Health, 35 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a project to address the health needs of children in child care centers in the New Mexico counties of Rio Arriba and McKinley. Topics include parent and child care provider training in the areas of nutrition, oral health, physical fitness, mental health, and communicable disease prevention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-198919.

Keywords: Caregivers, Child Care, Dental Caries, Early childhood caries, Health Promotion, Immunization, Oral Health, Preschoolers, Rural Populations

2022. Prevention and treatment of dental caries with mercury-free products and minimal intervention: WHO oral health briefing note series. . Geneva, Switzerland: World Health Organization, 28 pp.

Annotation: This briefing note, the first in a series on oral health, focuses on the prevention and treatment of tooth decay with mercury-free products and minimally invasive interventions. The briefing note, intended for all health professionals and the public, explains why mercury-free products and minimally invasive interventions are important aspects of oral health care. It also describes six strategies using mercury-free products and minimally invasive intervention approaches to prevent and treat tooth decay: use of fluoridated toothpaste, fluoride varnish application, glass ionomer cement sealant application, glass ionomer cement restoration application, silver diamine fluoride application, and composite resin restoration placement. zzz

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: info@who.int Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Oral health, Prevention, Treatment

American Dental Association. 2022. Dental sealants and disease prevention: Points for providers. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet for health professionals provides information about the use of dental sealants to prevent tooth decay. It includes information about the advantages of sealants, whether certain types of sealants are more effective than others, cost savings from sealant application, practice standards for sealant application, and the efficacy of sealants. Actionable items are also provided. zzz

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: info@ada.org Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care costs, Oral health, Prevention

Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health. [2021?]. ELKS report: Information on the oral health of individuals with intellectual/development disabilities 2019-2020. Jefferson City, MO: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, 35 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the oral health of individuals with intellectual or developmental disabilities in Missouri. Topics include oral hygiene, dental sealants, treated and untreated tooth decay, treatment urgency, and history of rampant tooth decay. Information about survey participants’ ages, genders, races, and ethnicities, as related to these topics, is included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: info@health.mo.gov Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

Keywords: Adults with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Missouri, Oral health, State surveys, Treatment

Caffrey E, Tate AR, Cashion SW, Lee JY, Casamassimo P, Wright R, Litch CS, Essling M. 2021. Are your kids covered? Medicaid coverage for the essential oral health benefits (2nd ed.). Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 16 pp.

Annotation: This brief evaluates Medicaid coverage for a select group of dental insurance codes that address barriers to optimal oral health care for children. The goal of the brief, which explains how these codes are created and why they are important, is to raise awareness of the codes and of the benefits of advocating for their inclusion in state fee schedules. For each code, the brief offers a rationale, a recommendation, and a list of states that reimburse for the code. zzz

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease prevention, Insurance, Medicaid, Oral health

Northeast Delta Dental. 2021. The true cost of a cavity. Concord, NH: Northeast Delta Dental, 1 p.

Annotation: This infographic provides information about the cost savings that can result from getting preventive oral health care twice a year, brushing and flossing regularly, avoiding tobacco, and drinking fluoridated water. It provides a breakdown of the lifetime cost of treating a decayed tooth, including the cost of a filling, replacement filling, crown, root canal, extraction, and implant. zzz

Contact: Northeast Delta Dental, One Delta Drive, P.O. Box 2002, Concord, NH 03302, Telephone: (603) 223-1000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 537-1715 E-mail: nedelta@nedelta.com Web Site: https://www.nedelta.com/Home Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Fluoride, Oral health, Prevention

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health. 2021. Dental sealants. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1 website.

Annotation: This fact sheet explains the purpose of dental sealants and discusses their efficacy in preventing tooth decay in children. It also addresses who can apply sealants, provides information about trends in sealant application, and discusses the purpose and importance of school-based dental sealant programs. zzz

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

Keywords: , Dental caries, Dental sealants, Oral health, Prevention, School health services

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. 2021. Prevention of dental caries in children younger than 5 years: Screening and interventions—Final recommendation statement. Rockville, MD: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, multiple items.

Annotation: This statement provides recommendations for primary care clinicians about how to prevent tooth decay in infants and children under age 5. Recommendations include prescribing oral fluoride supplements starting at age 6 months for infants and children whose water supply is deficient in fluoride, applying fluoride varnish to the teeth of all infants and children starting at the age of primary tooth eruption, and routinely screening infants and children under age 5 for caries lesions. zzz

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Health screening, Infants, Oral health, Prevention, Primary care, Young children

Casamassimo PS, Chin JR, Conte CE, Crystal YO, Ginsberg E, McGuire E, Estrella Yuson MR, Wright R. 2020. Treating tooth decay: How to make the best restorative choices for children's health. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 15 pp.

Annotation: This brief focuses on restorative choices for decayed teeth in children. It discusses the importance of treating tooth decay in children, what to consider when choosing the type of restoration, and how cavities are formed. Detailed information, including treatment name, description, best uses, success rates, and average costs, for specific types of restorations is presented. Action steps for policymakers, insurers, pediatric dentists, and parents and other caregivers are included. The brief also offers tips for tooth decay prevention.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: pohrpc@aapd.org Web Site: https://www.aapd.org/research/policy-center/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Dental caries, Financing, Oral health, Prevention, Treatment

National League for Nursing. 2020. Unfolding cases. New York, NY: National League for Nursing, 3 items.

Annotation: This series of cases focuses on families in vulnerable situations and their experiences with nutrition and obesity, oral health, mental health, and autism. Each case includes a monologue that introduces the family and the problems it is facing, simulation scenarios an assignment that asks learners to finish a story, and instructor toolkits. One unfolding case focuses on 4-year-old Mia, who has severe dental caries.

Contact: National League for Nursing, 61 Broadway, 33rd Floor, New York, NY 10006-2701, Telephone: (212) 363-5555 Secondary Telephone: (800) 669-1656 Fax: (212) 812-0391 E-mail: generalinfo@nln.org Web Site: http://www.nln.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Dental caries, Families, Oral health, Vulnerable groups

2020. Montana oral health: The state of the state's oral health. [Helena, MT: Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program], 29 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an overview of oral diseases and risk factors in Montana. It includes information about the prevalence of tooth decay, tooth loss, and oral cancer in the state. Also discussed are risk and protective factors related to oral disease, the oral health workforce, access to and use of oral health care, community-based dental clinics, and oral-health-related emergency department visits. Recommendations for improving oral health in Montana are included.

Contact: Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 111 North Sanders Street, Helena, MT 59620, Telephone: (406) 444-5622 Web Site: http://dphhs.mt.gov/publichealth/oralhealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Montana, Oral health, State materials

Michigan Public Health Institute, Center for Child and Family Health. 2019. Varnish! Michigan 2020 annual report. Lansing, MI: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 12 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings and recommendations from an evaluation of a program to increase awareness of oral health among health professionals, facilitate the incorporation of oral health into well-child visits, and increase access to preventive care for young children at high risk for dental caries. Topics include a project overview, purpose, key questions, and evaluation methods. Additional topics include findings on health professionals reached, training, confidence in program delivery, program fidelity, health professional satisfaction, supply of fluoride varnish, children reached, and benefits and barriers.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 201 Townsend Street, Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdch/0,1607,7-132-2942_4911_4912_6226---,00.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, Parent education, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Provider participation, Reimbursement, Screening, State programs, Training, Work force, Young children

Fleming E. 2019. State dental screening laws for children: Examining the trend and impact—An update to the 2008 report. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, 17 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on whether state laws on oral health screening of school-age children have expanded and whether they have resulted in improved access to care and reduced oral disease. The report presents background information and methods. It also presents results in the following areas: state laws, major findings from key informants, key findings from program data, and impact of state oral health screening laws.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Health screening, Oral health, Public policy, School readiness, State legislation, State programs, Young children

Phipps KR, Ricks, TL, Mork NP, Lozon TL. 2019. The oral health of American Indian and Alaska Native children aged 1-5 years: Results of the 2018-19 IHS oral health survey. Rockville, MD: U.S. Indian Health Service, 10 pp. (Indian Health Service data brief)

Annotation: This data brief focuses on the oral health of American Indian and Alaska Native children ages 1–5. The brief presents information on the prevalence of early childhood caries, untreated tooth decay, and dental sealants in the primary teeth of this population in 2018–2019 and assesses trends since the 2010 survey was conducted. The results of the 2018–2019 survey are presented as five key findings. For each finding, statistical data are included. Implications of the results are also discussed.

Contact: U.S. Indian Health Service, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Web Site: https://www.ihs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: , Alaska natives, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Early Childhood caries, Native Americans, Oral health, Statistical data, Surveys

University of Maryland School of Public Health's Horowitz Center for Health Literacy. 2019. Lift the lip to prevent dental decay. College Park, MD: University of Maryland School of Public Health Herschel S. Horowitz Center for Health Literacy, 1 video (2:24 minutes).

Annotation: This video demonstrates the lift-the-lip technique for detecting tooth decay. The video shows a health professional demonstrating to a mother of a young child how to use this technique to routinely check a child’s mouth for signs of tooth decay and the mother indicating that she understands how to use the technique and understands its importance.

Contact: University of Maryland School of Public Health, Horowitz Center for Health Literacy, Dean's Office, SPH Building, Room 2367, University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742, Telephone: (301) 405-2356 E-mail: HealthLiteracy@umd.edu Web Site: https://sph.umd.edu/center/hchl Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Oral health, Prevention, Videotapes, Young children

Lin M, Griffin SO, Gooch BF, Espinoza L, Wei L, Li CH, Thornton-Evans G, Junger M, Robison VA, Fleming EB, and Beltran E. 2019. Trends in dental caries and sealants, tooth retention and edentulism, United States 1999-2004 and 2011-2016. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 56 pp. (Oral health surveillance report, 2019)

Annotation: This report provides national estimates for selected measures for oral health status during 2011–2016, examines changes since 1999–2004, and highlights disparities in oral health by certain sociodemographic characteristics. Measures include prevalence and severity of dental caries in primary and permanent teeth, prevalence of dental sealants on permanent teeth in children and adolescents (ages 6–19), and tooth retention and edentulism among adults (ages 20–64) and older adults (ages 65 or older).

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adults, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Older adults, Oral health, Socioeconomic factors, Surveillance, Trends

Utah Department of Health, Oral Health Program. 2018-. Adolescent oral health campaign [fact sheet]. Salt Lake City, UT: Utah Department of Health, Oral Health Program, annual.

Annotation: This report describes a campaign designed to educate middle school and high school students about oral health care, encourage positive oral health behaviors, and promote use of preventive oral health care. The campaign targeted students along the Wasatch Front in Utah. Topics include goals and objectives, methods, results, questions posed to students about oral health behavior and oral health knowledge, and post-test qualitative questions.

Contact: Utah Department of Health, Cannon Health Building , 288 North 1460 West , Salt Lake City, UT , Telephone: (801) 538-6111 Fax: (801) 538-6306 Web Site: http://health.utah.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Dental caries, Gingivitis, Nutrition, Oral health, Orthodontics, Public awareness campaigns

Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Oral Health Program. 2018. Idaho 2017 Smile Survey report. Boise, ID: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Oral Health Program, 28 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes findings on the oral health of children in third grade in Idaho. Topics include active tooth decay, caries experience, restorative dental service needs, fluorosis, and oral health service history. Statistical information is presented in charts throughout the document. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Oral Health Program, P.O. Box 83720, 450 West State Street, Boise, ID 83720-0036, Telephone: (800) 926-2588 Web Site: http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/portal/alias__Rainbow/lang__en-US/tabID__3494/DesktopDefault.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental sealants, Idaho, Oral health, Population surveillance, School age children, State surveys, Statistical data

Fleming E, Afful J. 2018. Prevalence of total and untreated dental caries among youth: United States, 2015–2016. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, 7 pp. (NCHS data brief; no. 307)

Annotation: This data brief presents the prevalence of total and untreated caries in primary or permanent teeth among children and adolescents ages 2–19 for 2015–2016 and trends from 2011–2012 through 2015–2016. Along with key findings, the brief offers information on prevalence differences by race and Hispanic origin and income level for 2015–2016.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: nchsquery@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs

Keywords: Dental caries, Early childhood caries, Economic factors, Oral health, Racial factors, Statistical data, Trends

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2018. Best practice approach report: Use of fluoride in schools. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 24 pp. (Best practice approaches for state and community oral health programs)

Annotation: This report focuses on best practices for the use of fluoride in schools. It discusses fluoride as a measure to prevent tooth decay in children, different types of programs that provide fluoride to children, and different forms of fluoride. Evidence for the efficacy of fluoride in preventing tooth decay and best practice criteria are provided. The report also includes state practice examples.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: http://www.astdd.org

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Oral heath, Prevention, School health services

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.