Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 10 (10 total).

National Partnership for Dental Therapy. n.d.. Roles and functions of the oral health team. [no place]: National Partnership for Dental Therapy, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the roles and functions of oral health professionals and other providers that make up oral health teams. Information on dentists, dental hygienists, dental therapists, dental assistants, community care connectors, and non-oral-health professionals is included. Others that may be part of an oral health team are also mentioned, including denturists, dental aides, mental and behavioral health professionals, and home health aides.

Contact: National Partnership for Dental Therapy, Web Site: https://www.dentaltherapy.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community health aides, Dental assistants, Dental hygienists, Dentists, Health professionals, Home health aides, Mental health professionals, Oral health, Patient care teams

2023. User's guide for implementation of on-the-job dental assistant training programs in community health centers. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 18 pp.

Annotation: This guide describes strategies that community health centers can use to implement in-house dental-assistant-training programs. The guide presents background information and discusses things to consider when planning a training program, including evaluating the need for a program,engaging key stakeholders, selecting leaders, developing a budget,selecting trainers, establishing trainee requirements and recruitment strategies, and other considerations. The guide also includes a readiness assessment and examples of organizations that have established dental assistant career ladders.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Careers, Community health centers, Dental assistants, Oral health, Training: Program planning

Realityworks. 2023. Careers in the U.S. dental industry. Eau Claire, WI: Realityworks, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on careers in dentistry. It discusses the following types of oral health professionals: allied dental educator, dental assistant, dental laboratory technician, dental hygienist, and dentist. For each, a description of what the oral health professional does and their average salary is presented.

Contact: Realityworks, 2709 Mondovi Road, Eau Claire, WI 54701, Telephone: (800) 830-1416 Secondary Telephone: (715) 830-2040 Web Site: https://www.realityworks.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Careers, Dental assistants, Dental hygienists, Dentistry, Dentists, Dentists, Health educators, Laboratories, Medical technicians, Oral health, Salaries

Iowa Department of Public Health, Oral Health Bureau. 2015–. Public health supervision of dental assistants. Des Moines, IA: Iowa Department of Public Health, Oral Health Bureau,

Annotation: This template can be used to document a collaborative agreement between a dentist and a dental assistant to allow the assistant to provide services to individuals in public health settings before being examined by a dentist.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Dental assistants, Forms, Iowa, Oral health, Public health services, State programs, Supervision

Baker B, Langelier M, Moore J, Daman S. 2015. The dental assistant workforce in the United States, 2015. Rensselaer, NY: Oral Health Workforce Research Center, 72 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a profile of the dental assistant work force. It examines scope of practice statutes and regulations in each state. Topics include a profile of the supply and distribution of dental assistants, the scope of practice for dental assistants, a state-level scope of practice assessment, scope of practice findings, and clinical contributions of the dental assistant work force.

Contact: Oral Health Workforce Research Center, New York Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, SUNY, School of Public Health, 1 University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 Web Site: http://www.oralhealthworkforce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental assistants, Oral health, Regulations, Work force

Pallas S, Somogyi T, Smith H, Berg K. 2015. A guide for PA program student societies: Pediatric oral health outreach toolkit. Alexandria, VA: American Academy of Physician Assistants Student Academy, 11 pp.

Annotation: This guide for students in physician assistant programs provides ideas for hosting an oral health outreach event for children using the American Dental Association’s National Children’s Dental Health Month campaign resources. Contents include step-by-step instructions for introducing the physician assistant profession and the program, tips on building good oral health habits in children, including information about toothbrushing technique, a group activity and options for individual activities, ideas for concluding the program, and handouts.

Contact: American Academy of Physician Assistants, 2318 Mill Road, Suite 1300, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 836-2272 Fax: (703) 684-1924 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aapa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Health education, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Outreach, Physician assistants, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals, Students

Mouden LD. 2014. The dental team's role in identifying and preventing family violence. Newtown, PA: Dental Learning Systems LLC, 1 v.

Annotation: This continuing-education course provides information on the dental assistant's role in identifying orofacial injuries resulting from abuse or neglect in the dental setting. Topics include child abuse and neglect, identifying abuse or neglect, child maltreatment, conditions that may mimic abuse, family violence, causes of family violence, intervening in family cases involving adults, and local and state initiatives to prevent family violence.

Contact: American Dental Assistants Association, 35 East Wacker Drive, Suite 1730, Chicago, IL 60601-2211, Telephone: (312) 541-1550 Secondary Telephone: 877-874-3785 Fax: (312) 541-1496 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dentalassistant.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Continuing education, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Dental assistants, Domestic violence, Injuries, Oral health

Glassman P, Harrington M, Namakian M. 2014. The virtual dental home: Improving the oral health of vulnerable and underserved populations using geographically distributed telehealth-enabled teams (upd.). San Francisco, CA: University of the Pacific, Pacific Center for Special Care, 8 pp. (Policy brief)

Annotation: This brief describes the virtual dental home, a model program in California that uses telehealth technology to provide oral health care services to underserved populations outside traditional dental offices (e.g., in Head Start programs, elementary schools, residential care settings, nursing homes). Topics include what the virtual dental home is and how it works. Additional contents include findings on the number of patients seen, total visits and the percentage of those needing referral to a dental office by type of site; findings from an associated demonstration project to test expanded practice procedures; satisfaction survey results; an economic analysis; and conclusions.

Contact: University of the Pacific School of Dentistry, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry, Pacific Center for Special Care, 155 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pacificspecialcare.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Allied health personnel, California, Children, Dental assistants, Dental hygienists, Model programs, Oral health, Telemedicine, Underserved communities, Work force

Edelstein BL. 2010. Training new dental health providers in the U.S. (updated ed.). Battle Creek, MI: W. K. Kellogg Foundation, 51 pp. (exec. summ. 6 pp., policy brief 4 pp.).

Annotation: This paper addresses training considerations for a variety of new dental health providers, conventional and unconventional, within the contexts of their scope, supervision, and placement. It examines international and U.S. training experiences of current dental personnel and considers the underlying motives and goals of establishing these new providers. It includes discussions of policy issues, goal setting, and criteria for developing dental therapy training programs. Documents include the full report, an executive summary, and a policy brief.

Contact: WKKF, One Michigan Avenue, East, Battle Creek, MI 49017-4012, Telephone: (269) 968-1611 Fax: (269) 968-0413 Web Site: http://www.wkkf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental assistants, Dental education, Dental hygienists, Dentists, Oral health, Training

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Foundation, Dental Trade Alliance Foundation, and American Dental Association. 2007. The dental home: It's never too early to start. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Foundation, 2 pp.

Annotation: This flyer is designed to provide education about the dental home. It addresses the following topics: (1) the concept of the dental home, (2) how to establish the dental home, (3) how the dental home enhances the oral health professional's ability to provide optimal oral health care, and (4) how parents and oral health professionals can make a difference in a child's oral health. The brochure also contains a list of recommendations for oral health professionals and key messages to share with parents.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental assistants, Dental hygienists, Dentists, Medical home, Oral health, Parents
   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.