Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (304 total).

Colegrove J. n.d.. Child Care Health Promotion Project: [Final report]. Santa Fe, NM: New Mexico Department of Health, 35 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a project to address the health needs of children in child care centers in the New Mexico counties of Rio Arriba and McKinley. Topics include parent and child care provider training in the areas of nutrition, oral health, physical fitness, mental health, and communicable disease prevention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-198919.

Keywords: Caregivers, Child Care, Dental Caries, Early childhood caries, Health Promotion, Immunization, Oral Health, Preschoolers, Rural Populations

Vermont Department of Health. n.d.. Silver diamine fluoride facts. Burlington, VT: Vermont Department of Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on silver diamine fluoride (SDF) treatment. Topics include the purpose of SDF, side effects of SDF treatment, who can benefit from SDF treatment, U.S. Food and Drug Administration clearance of SDF treatment, Vermont Medicaid coverage of SDF treatment, and who should not receive SDF treatment. Also included is information on how SDF treatment can prevent children under age 6 in Vermont from requiring tooth decay treatment performed under general anesthesia. The fact sheet is written in simple language.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, State materials, Vermont

Children's Oral Health Network of Maine. N.d.. Dental steps for ME. [no place]: Children's Oral Health Network of Maine, multiple items.

Annotation: This video library is designed for pediatricians wishing to integrate oral health care into well-child visits, as well as for parents. The library contains one video correlating with each well-child visit, from the 2-month visit to the age-5 visit.

Contact: Children's Oral Health Network of Maine, Telephone: (207) 805-4243 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mainecohn.org/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Maine, Oral health, Prevention, Service integration, State materials, Videos, Young children

University of Texas, Health Science Center, Michael & Susan Dell Center for Healthy Living. n.d.. CATCH healthy smiles: An oral health education program for grades Pre-K-2. Austin, TX: CATCH Global Foundation, 1 curriculum.

Annotation: This program for grades K–2 is designed to improve students’ oral health by teaching them about the causes of tooth decay, how to choose healthy foods and beverages, and the importance of regular dental visits. It also helps them develop brushing and flossing skills and personal oral health care goals.

Contact: CATCH Global Foundation, P.O. Box 28282, Austin, TX 78755, Telephone: (855) 500-0050 Web Site: https://catch.org/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Health education, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention, School age children

Illinois Department of Public Health. n.d.. Maternal oral health practices: PRAM 2017-2019. Springfield, IL: Illinois Department of Public Health, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information on oral health practices of women in Illinois before and during pregnancy. Information in the brief is based on data from the 2017, 2018, and 2019 Illinois Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The brief presents background on the importance of oral health care and education before and during pregnancy. Topics include receiving a teeth cleaning before pregnancy, receiving a teeth cleaning during pregnancy, and receiving information on maternal oral health from a health professional. A summary of data related to the oral health of women before and during pregnancy is included.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, 525-535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 60603, Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to heath care, Dental caries, Health care delivery, Health education, Illinois, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, Statistical data

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Center for Health and Environmental Data, Health Surveys and Evaluation Branch. n.d.. Cavity free at three: CDC evaluation 2013-2018. Denver, CO: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Center for Health and Environmental Data, 20 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on a 5-year comprehensive program evaluation of Cavity Free at Three. The report offers background information on Cavity Free at Three as well as on the program’s infrastructure development. Methods related to the data-collection process and evaluation-question development are discussed, and results are presented for the following four areas: training data, pre/post data, technical assistance data, and impact data.

Contact: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Oral Health Unit, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive, South, Denver, CO 80246, Telephone: (303) 692-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 886-7689 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cdphe.colorado.gov/health/prevention-and-wellness/oral-health Available from the website.

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Oral health, Prevention, Program development, Program evaluation, Young children

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. n.d.. Chairside guide: Silver diamine fluoride in the management of dental caries lesions. The Reference Manual of Pediatric Dentistry 638-639, 2 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information about how silver diamine fluoride (SDF) can be used in the management of dental caries. Information on who may benefit from SFD application and criteria for tooth selection is offered, along with information about how to apply SDF and how to follow up after treatment. What patients can expect after application is also discussed.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease management, Followup, Oral health, Prevention, Silver diamine fluoride

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. n.d.. Advancing oral health prevention in primary care: Measures for quality improvement--How to build an advancing oral health prevention in primary care family of measures. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 4 pp.

Annotation: This report provides suggestions for how states that choose to implement programs to advance prevention of oral disease in primary care for beneficiaries of Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) can select a family of measures to assess progress. It explains what the different measures in the family of measures are (outcome measures, process measures, and balancing measures) and provides measurement strategies for each type of measure.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. n.d.. Advancing oral health prevention in primary care driver diagram and change ideas. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report provides ideas for how states can use a driver diagram on oral health produced by Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) to advance prevention of oral disease in primary care, plan a quality-improvement (QI) project, and determine how to improve outcomes. The report offers background, presents the driver diagram, explains the driver diagram, and provides ideas for activities to promote change.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. n.d.. Advancing oral health prevention in primary care: Getting started on quality improvement. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 1 video (11 min.)

Annotation: This video discusses how children who are Medicaid or Children's Health Insurance Program beneficiaries can benefit from having fluoride varnish applied to their teeth in the primary care setting. The video shares quality-improvement methods that can help states improve the provision of oral health care to these children by primary care health professionals. Topics include developing an aim statement, using a driver diagram, identifying drivers to consider for achieving the aim, starting small to test whether change ideas are working, and using the plan-do-sudy-act method.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program. n.d.. School sealant programs: 2021-2022 oral health report card. Concord, NH: New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program's school dental sealant programs. Topics include the total number of students in the programs who received an oral health screening, who received sealants, who received fluoride varnish. who had untreated tooth decay, and who had urgent oral health needs. The number of potential school days saved is also presented, along with an explanation of how this number was calculated.

Contact: New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 29 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03301-3852, Telephone: (603) 271-4535 Secondary Telephone: (800) 852-3345, ext. 4535 Fax: (603) 271-4506 E-mail: http://business.nh.gov/EmailContact/EmailContact.aspx?a=cdpc&b=Chronic%20Disease%20Prevention%20and%20Control Web Site: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/programs-services/disease-prevention/oral-health-program

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Health screenings, New Hampshire, Oral health, State information, State information, State programs

Tennessee Department of Health. n.d.. Tennessee state oral health plan: 2022-2027 plan. Nashville, TN: Tennessee Department of Health, 48 pp.

Annotation: This state oral health plan for 2022–2027 summarizes goals of the Tennessee Department of Health related to improving the oral health of Tennessee residents. The report discusses the importance of oral health, the department's past oral-health-related accomplishments, and the department's role in providing oral health care. Also discussed are access to oral health care, oral health education and advocacy, oral disease prevention, oral health resources, and the oral health workforce. The state's Healthy Smiles Initiative is described, along with the future of oral health in Tennessee.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Silver diamine fluoride, State initiatives, State materials, Tennessee, Workforce

American Academy of Pediatrics, Silver Diamine Fluoride Work Group. [2024]. AAP guidance brief: SDF application in the pediatric medical setting. Itasca, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 4 pp.

Annotation: This guidance brief provides American Academy of Pediatrics members and other primary care health professionals with steps to determine a child's eligibility for tooth decay management with silver diamine fluoride (SDF) in the medical setting. Topic include why children need treatment in the pediatric medical home, advantages and disadvantages of SDF, contraindications to SDF, shared decision-making, referral, and follow up. An SDF-options diagram is included, along with steps for applying SDF.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Oral health, Primary care, Referrals, Silver diamine fluoride, Treatment

Beltrán-Aguilar E, Lin M, Wei L, Thornton-Evans G, Li CH, Espinoza L. 2024. Oral health surveillance report: Dental caries, tooth retention, and edentulism, United States—2017–March 2020. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 24 pp.

Annotation: This report presents an analysis of surveillance data on prevalence of tooth decay in primary and permanent teeth, tooth retention, and edentulism. An editorial comment is included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Older adults, Oral health, Population surveillance, Public health, Statistics

Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services, Technical Assistance and Analytic Support for the Medicaid and CHIP Quality Measurement and Improvement Program. 2024. Highlights from the Advancing Oral Health Prevention in Primary Care Affinity Group. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 5 pp. (Quality improvement affinity group highlights)

Annotation: This report provides information about how fluoride varnish (FV) can be used to prevent or reverse the early states of tooth decay. It presents background, explains what FV is, and discusses state FV quality-improvement (QI) projects. It also discusses how states have partnered to improve the success of QI projects, sustaining and spreading improvement through program and policy changes, and peer-to-peer knowledge sharing.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention, Programs, Quality assurance

Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Section. 2024. Inside I-Smile: 2023 update on children's oral health. Des Moines, IA: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Section, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about Iowa children's oral health in 2023. Information about the I-Smile program is provided, along with a discussion of the importance of good oral health in children. The fact sheet also includes statistics related to the number of Iowa children who received assistance from I-Smile in fiscal year 2023; the percentages of Iowa children enrolled in Medicaid who received a service from a dentist in 2021, 2022, and 2023; and the percentages of Iowa children enrolled in Medicaid who received a service from a dentist in 2023, by age.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Iowa, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, Screening tests, State programs

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. 2024. Seal! Michigan: Michigan Dental Sealant Program--All grantees data report 2022-2023 school year, fiscal year 2023. Lansing, MI: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, 8 pp.

Annotation: This data report provides information about Michigan's dental sealant program, SEAL! Michigan, during the grant period October 1, 2022, through September 30, 2023. Data was obtained from child-level forms submitted by grantees to the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. Topics include number of students screened by gender, grade, race, and insurance status; untreated tooth decay; tooth decay experience; presence of sealants, urgency of needed treatment; referral for treatment; number of decayed or filled molars, other teeth, and primary teeth; and types of fluoride treatment provided. Also included is information about special health care needs among students screened.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health screenings, Michigan, Oral health, Referrals, State information, State programs

Schroeder S, Greiner B, Stepanov A. 2024. Oral health status and dental visits by race. Bismarck, ND: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health status and dental visits among children in grades K through 12 and pregnant women in North Dakota. Topics include students in kindergarten, students in third grade, students in grades through 12 participating in SEALIND, medical-dental integration in a family medical center, and pregnancy.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care utilization, North Dakota, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, School health, School-age children, Service integration, State information, State programs, Toothbrushing

Texas Department of State Health Services. 2024. Oral health among Texas children: National survey of children's health, 2020-2021. Austin, TX: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on oral health among children and adolescents ages 1–17 in Texas in 2020–2021. The information is based on results of the 2021–2022 National Survey of Children's Health. Topics include the likelihood of children from high-income vs. lower-income households having excellent or very good teeth; the likelihood of Hispanic children vs. non-Hispanic children having excellent or very good teeth, differences in having had one or more preventive oral health visit, by age; and the overall condition of children's and adolescents' teeth, as reported by parents.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website. Document Number: OHIP-107.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Age factors, Child health, Data, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Hispanic Americans, Income factors, Oral health, Prevention, State information, Surveys, Texas

Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health. 2024. Keep smiling Vermont: The oral health of Vermon't children 2022-2023. Burlington, Vt: Vermont Department of Health, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an analysis of data from the 2023 Keep Smiling Vermont Basic Screening Survey, a survey of the oral health status of children in kindergarten and third grade in the state. The report introduces the issue and presents key findings on the following topics: tooth decay experience, trends in prevalence of tooth decay and in dental treatment needs, prevalence of dental sealants among children in third grade, the impact of socioeconomic status on oral health, and receipt of fluoride varnish and other preventive oral health measures. The report also offers recommendations, discusses health equity, and presents limitations of the survey.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Kindergarten, Oral health, Prevention, School age children, Socioeconomic factors, State information, Surveys, Trends, Vermont