Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brief provides information about the registered dental hygienist (RDH) workforce in Wisconsin. Data is from a 2023 survey of RDHs conducted as part of their licensure renewal process. Topic include workforce demographics, the number of years RDHs have practiced in the state and how many hours per week they work, information about RDHs licenced to practice in Wisconsin but not working in Wisconsin, practice settings among RDHs working in Wisconsin, and workforce characteristics by county. Limitations of the survey are discussed.

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Health Services, One West Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703, Telephone: (608) 266-1865 Secondary Telephone: (888) 701-1251 Web Site: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov Available from the website. Document Number: P-03239.

• PDF

Keywords: Demographics, Dental hygienists, Geographic factors, Oral health, State information, Wisconsin, Work force

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information from 2020 surveys of West Virginia's dental hygienists and dentists. It presents information on the following topics related to dental hygienists: respondents' education; whether respondents are working, retired, or looking for employment; how many hours a week respondents work, how many patients they care for, and how long they have been practicing; whether they have had difficulty finding employment; and whether they plan to leave the profession in the next 10 years. Also presented are the following topics related to dentists: respondents' education, the type of practice where they work, and their number of years in practice; demographics; whether respondents are fully employed and whether their practice is looking to hire other dentists; how many patients respondents care for, how long they have been practicing, and whether they plan to retire in the next 10 years; and whether they participate in government programs.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Oral Health Program, 350 Capitol Street, Room 427, Charleston, WV 25301, Telephone: (304) 558-5388 Web Site: https://dhhr.wv.gov/oralhealth/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Demographics, Dental hygienists, Dentists, Employment, Oral health, Retirement, State information, Surveys, West Virginia

Annotation: This annual statistical summary provides information on the health, education, safety, and economic security of children in Utah. The introduction includes general demographic information about the state and presents a long-range view of what factors contribute to a family's well-being. Analytical essays are included for each category of data reviewed and the statistics are presented in tables by county with state totals. This publication continues "Key Facts," which was published between 1990 and 1994.

Contact: Voices for Utah Children, 747 East South Temple, Suite 100, Salt Lake City, UT 84102, Telephone: (801) 364-1182 Secondary Telephone: (877) 445-2447 Fax: (801) 364-1186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.utahchildren.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Child safety, Children, Data, Demographics, Education, Family economics, Health status, Socioeconomic factors, Utah

Annotation: This thesaurus contains the vocabulary used to index and search the POPulation information onLINE database, POPLINE, the world's largest database of population, family planning, and related health issues information, both published and unpublished, containing over 300, 000 citations with abstracts available both online and in CD-ROM format. The thesaurus comprises an alphabetic listing of POPLINE keywords, showing the hierarchies for each term and a permuted display of the terms.

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Center for Communication Programs, 111 Market Place, Suite 310, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 659-6300 Fax: (410) 659-6266 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jhuccp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Demographics, Family planning, Population, Thesauri

Annotation: This research brief provides an analysis of data from the 2011-2012 National Survey of Children’s Health to describe children living in nonparental care. Contents include information about the analytic methods, findings, discussion, and limitations. Topics include demographics and household characteristics, income and program participation, health and health care, school engagement and academic performance, caregiver well-being and neighborhood characteristics, and adverse family experiences. Data are presented by caregiver type (two biological parents; one biological parent, step, or adoptive parent; and no biological, step or adoptive parents).

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Caregivers, Children, Demographics, National surveys, Research, Statistical data

Annotation: This issue brief examines and describes oral health, focusing on children in Delaware. Topics include demographics, tooth decay, preventive care, young children needing treatment, oral health care during pregnancy, access to care, and preventive measures such as fluoridated water and dental sealants. The brief concludes with a discussion about assessing progress and improving children’s oral health.

Contact: Kids Count in Delaware, University of Delaware, Center for Community Research and Service, 297 Graham Hall, Newark, DE 19716, Telephone: (302) 831-6780 Fax: (302) 831-4225 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ccrs.udel.edu/kids-count Available from the website.

• Issue Brief
• Program Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Delaware, Demographics, Dental care, Disease prevention, Oral health, Pregnant women, School age children, State initiatives, Statistical data, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet defines children with special health care needs (CSHCN) and presents a statistical profile of CSHCN based on national survey data. Topics include the prevalence of CSHCN, health issues and functional difficulties that CSHCN experience, health care access and quality, and home and school indices. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health, Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://childhealthdata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Children with special health care needs: Statistical data, Demographics

Annotation: The report looks at the Registered Dental Hygienist in Alternative Practice (RDHAP) model of care delivery in California. The content is derived from data collected by a 2009 survey of all 244 RDHAPs licensed in California. Topics include demographics, education, professional activities, practice data (patients, settings, and finances), as well as issues of professional development and advancement.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, Healthforce Center for Research and Leadership Development, 3333 California Street, Suite 410, San Francisco, CA 94143, Telephone: (415) 476-8181 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthforce.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: California, Demographics, Dental hygienists, Oral health, Professional education, State surveys, Work force

Annotation: This report describes characteristics of children of immigrants such as concentration and dispersal, ethnicity, and risk and protective factors at the national and state level based on 2005 and 2006 American Community Survey data. It assesses the impact of this group on public services.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Demographics, Immigrants, Statistics

Annotation: This report examines the relationship between health literacy and various self-reported background factors. The report examines how health literacy varies across groups with different demographic characteristics as well as the relationship between health literacy and highest level of educational attainment and poverty status, and it explores the relationship between literacy and overall health. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. The report includes five appendices: (1) a sample health literacy assessment questionnaire, (2) definitions of all subpopulations and background variables reported, (3) technical notes, (4) standard errors for tables and figures, and (5) additional analyses. References are included.

Contact: National Center for Education Statistics, 1990 K Street, N. W., Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 502-7300 Secondary Telephone: (202) 502-7442 Fax: (202) 219-1736 Web Site: http://www.nces.ed.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Demographics, Education, Health, Health literacy, Limited English speakers, Low income groups, Poverty, Racial factors

Annotation: This series of briefs summarize select national indicators of children's well-being and changes in these indicators over time. Each brief describes the context in which children live (such as family settings and living arrangements), improvements in children's well-being, and areas in which there has been less progress. Topics include family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health. Statistical data are presented in tables and figures throughout the report, and additional data are available from the website. The series is published biennially as a companion to America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-being, which is published in alternating years. A summary of all indicators in the larger report are included in each brief.

Contact: Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://childstats.gov Available from the website.

• 2018
• Earlier Editions

Keywords: Child health, Children, Demographics, Family characteristics, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This annual report synthesizes information provided by state child protective service agencies to the federally mandated National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System (NCANDS). It reviews the background of the data collection process; analyzes the national child abuse and neglect data for the year being covered; considers the detailed case data component of NCANDS with examples of some of the types of analyses that can be made of the data; and discusses future directions. Data gathered include: age, sex, race or ethnic group of victims, types of abuse, case dispositions and descriptive information on perpetrators. Appendices contain listings for state advisory group representatives, summary data component tables, and state responses to the summary data component and state comments. This report was previously published under the title: "National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System Working Paper 1: 1990 Summary Data Component, " and "National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System Working Paper 2: 1991 Summary Data Component."

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Crime, Data collection, Demographics, Emotional abuse, Federal programs, National data, Sexual assault, State data reports, State surveys, Statistics

Annotation: This research brief highlights eight key strategies as a means for creating improved indicators for child and family well-being. Also included is a summary of the five different purposes for how these indicators are used and the criteria for indicators of child well-being.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Child welfare, Children, Demographics, Family characteristics, Statistics

Annotation: This series of reports summarize national indicators of children's well-being and changes in these indicators over time. Each volume spotlights critical data gaps and challenges and includes data source descriptions. Successive reports incorporate modifications reflecting efforts to improve quality and comprehensiveness. In alternate years America's Children in Brief (through 2012) or At a Glance (for 2014) are published.

Contact: Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://childstats.gov Available from the website.

• Current Edition
• Past Reports (select Year)

Keywords: Child health, Data, Demographics, Family characteristics, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This report assesses the responses of seven health care provider sites to the findings by a pediatric AIDS trial clinic that the drug zidovudine (ZDV), also known as AZT, can reduce perinatal transmission of HIV by as much as two thirds when administered to women during pregnancy and delivery to infants for six weeks after birth. It identifies the range of strategies and activities undertaken and also sheds lights on contextual factors that affected the responses and addresses their implications.

Contact: HathiTrust Digital Library, University of Michigan, Telephone: (734) 764-8016 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hathitrust.org/digital_library Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHJ097.

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Demographics, Evaluation, High risk pregnancy, Infant health promotion, Maternal health, Pediatric AIDS, Pediatric HIV, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Public health, Risk prevention, Socioeconomic factors, Zidovudine

Annotation: This report conveys the results of a study conducted in three states (North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Colorado) to better understand the cost of services in infant/toddler early intervention programs, and the factors that are associated with annual cost. It begins by looking at the background of similar studies and the methodology for the current one being reviewed. The report breaks down the findings by looking at program income, program expenditures, hourly service provider costs, weekly services, and the range in weekly cost of services.

• PDF

Keywords: Colorado, Cost effectiveness, Demographics, Early childhood education, Early intervention programs, Early intervention services, Infants with special health care needs, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Toddlers

Annotation: This report uses data from the 1989-91 Continuing Survey of Food Intakes by Individuals and the Diet and Health Knowledge Survey to examine various aspects of children's diets. Topics include whether their food intake varies at different times of the day, whether the source of food away from home influences the nutritional content of meals, and whether nutritional intakes vary by demographic characteristics as well as their meal-planner's nutritional knowledge. The report contains several tables and figures.

• Link

Keywords: Child nutrition, Demographics, Dietary assessment, Family characteristics, Food habits, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition surveys, Statistics

Annotation: This report presents the results of a study that examined family support programs that successfully serve families in the Latino community in the United States. The report reviews the demographic characteristics of this community and research on their culture and family structure and it considers how these factors affect this group's access to the services they need. The report describes the methodology used to select family support programs for closer analysis, details the facets of those programs that were instrumental in their being able to deliver culturally competent services, and synthesizes the lessons learned. One volume of the report contains the analysis and synthesis, and the second contains detailed profiles of the programs; both volumes include summaries in Spanish.

Contact: Global Family Research Project™, Third Sector New England, 89 South Street, Boston, MA 02111, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.GlobalFRP.org Available in libraries. Document Number: FSP no.: Lat.

Keywords: Social services, Access to care, Case studies, Culturally competent services, Demographics, Ethnic factors, Family support services, Hispanic Americans, Social factors, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This statistical compilation assesses the status of women at the state level with regard to these topics: political involvement, employment and earnings, economic autonomy, reproductive rights, health and vital statistics, and demographics. It gives baseline data women's advocates can use to improve the condition of women at the state level. The data are presented in various forms: textual summaries, maps, graphs, and tables. Appendices include information on the methodology used, terms and sources, and national resources, among other information.

Contact: Institute for Women's Policy Research, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 301, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 785-5100 Fax: (202) 833-4362 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.iwpr.org $10.00, nonmembers; $8.00, members; price includes shipping and handling; prepayment required. Document Number: ISBN 1-878428-32-2; Item no. R103.

• Link

Keywords: Demographics, Employment, Health, Participation, Political systems, Reproductive rights, Salaries, Socioeconomic status, State data, Statistical reference sources, Vital statistics, Women

Annotation: This report presents the findings of the National Pregnancy and Health Survey which was taken in 1992 to determine the prevalence of substance abuse among women who delivered live-born babies during a 12-month period. The report includes background information, describes the objectives and design of the survey, and presents and discusses the findings. Data on the following categories are included: overall estimates of substance use any time during the pregnancy, including prior to and during the pregnancy; sociodemographic patterns of use; and for specific substances: any illicit drug, marijuana, cocaine, crack cocaine, alcohol, tobacco, and substances used in combination. The report focuses at length on the design, implementation, and reporting procedures used in carrying out the survey.

Keywords: Alcohol, Cocaine, Crack cocaine, Demographics, Illicit drugs, Marijuana, Perinatal health, Prenatal health, Prevalence, Statistics, Substance abuse, Substance abusing pregnant women, Surveys, Tobacco, Women