Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to develop and demonstrate effective intervention strategies for the 10–15 year age group that can be carried out within a school-based comprehensive health care system to reduce the occurrence of premature and unprotected sexual intercourse in adolescents. More than 300 10-year-old children and their parents enrolled to receive annual health maintenance evaluations and a series of activities to enhance parent-child communication, parental knowledge of adolescent social and sexual development, and problem-solving and decision-making skills. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-133977.

Keywords: Adolescents, Blacks, Decision Making Skills, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children, Hispanics, Minority Groups, Parent Child Interaction, Parent Child Relationship, Preventive Health Care Education, School Dropouts, School Health Programs, School Health Services, Sexual Activity, Sexually Transmitted Diseases

Annotation: This checklist for youth and young adults, including those with disabilities and chronic health conditions, from ages 12-30, provides information and resources about health insurance coverage, self-care, health care transition, decision-making, and career planning and management. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Decision making, Guidelines, Health insurance, Life skills, School to work transition, Special health care services, Transition planning, Young adults

Annotation: These resources draw from the first nationally representative survey of individual state health agency workers about work force development priorities, the workplace environment, and key national initiatives. Topics include systems thinking; communicating persuasively; and change management, flexibility, and adaptability. Contents include key survey findings, access to the data and a journal supplement, an infographic, and additional resources.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link
• 2017 Survey Findings

Keywords: Attitudes, Communication skills, Decision making skills, Environmental influences, Measures, National surveys, Organizational change, Problem solving, Professional development, State health agencies, Transitions, Work force, Workplace

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to assist families in developing the skills necessary to successfully partner and engage in all levels of public advocacy on behalf of children with special health care needs. Topics include the history and purpose of advocacy; systems, laws, and entitlements; enhancing communication; developing and presenting stories to others; participating on decision-making bodies; and connecting with local change makers. Contents include an introduction, presentation slides and handouts (including pre-training slides and handouts), and materials for training-related activities.

Contact: Family Voices of California, 1663 Mission Street, 7th Floor, San Francisco, CA 94103, Telephone: (415) 282-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familyvoicesofca.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Children, Collaboration, Communication skills, Curricula, Decision making, Families, Leadership, Public private partnerships, Resource materials, Special health care needs, Training

Annotation: This booklet is designed to help parents who have children with disabilities improve their children's decision-making skills and help them help their children to make more choices for themselves. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child development, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Decision making, Decision making skills, Problem solving

Annotation: This tool includes 57 questions that are rated on a seven-point scale to assess strengths and weaknesses in collaborative practice. The purpose of the tool is to identify areas for educational and/or quality-improvement interventions. The tool addresses mission, meaningful purpose and goals, general relationships, team leadership, general responsibilities and autonomy, communication and information exchange, community linkages and coordination of care, decision-making and conflict management, and patient involvement. The tool also provides a form that respondents can use to identify what the team does well related to collaborative practice, identify collaboration challenges, and define areas where help is needed to improve collaborative practice.

Contact: Winnipeg Regional Health Authority, 1800-155 Carlton Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada R3C 4YI, Telephone: (204) 926-7000 Fax: (204) 926-7007 Web Site: http://www.wrha.mb.ca Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Communication skills, Conflict resolution, Coordination, Decision making skills, Leadership, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Relationships, Teamwork

Annotation: This manual was developed as a step-by-step guide for coordinating a Mother-Daughter Choices Program. The program format consists of a group of four to eight adult-adolescent pairs who meet together each week for six weeks to prepare young females for the kinds of decisions they will be making as they move into junior high school, high school, and young adulthood. Topics of the program include the working world, being female in today's society, and learning the skills of decision-making, goal setting, assessing values about work, career-exploration, budgeting, and assertive behavior. It provides questions and answers; an agenda for each session of activity; and includes forms, sample flyers, and written articles and ads for promoting the program.

Contact: Advocacy Press, P.O. Box 236, Santa Barbara, CA 93102, Telephone: (805) 962-2728 Secondary Telephone: (800) 676-1480 Fax: (805) 963-3580 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.advocacypress.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: 0-911655-44-1.

Keywords: Adolescent females, Curricula, Decision making, Life skills

Annotation: This curriculum guide is intended for high school teachers' use in teaching sexual abstinence to adolescents. The guide includes advice about preparing to teach, sample permission slip, sexuality myths, pressure on adolescents to have sex, risks of early sex, decision making, and role playing. Each chapter includes a section on evaluation and information for teachers. Appendices include information on school health programs, the teacher's roles, teaching strategies, a glossary, a list of references, and reproducible masters for handouts.

Contact: ETR Associates, 4 Carbonero Way, Scotts Valley, CA 95066-4200, Telephone: (831) 438-4060 Secondary Telephone: (800) 321-4407 Fax: (800) 435-8433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.etr.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-56071-525-1.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Curricula, Decision making, Life skills, Peer pressure, Prevention programs, Sexuality

Annotation: This book is designed to provide teachers with classroom activities to promote sexual abstinence as a viable option for adolescents. It contains four sections, on the areas of self-esteem, interpersonal relationships, decision-making skills, and life planning. At the beginning of each section, the book contains a subsection for teachers' information, designed to provide background information and content knowledge for the topic. The 1997 modifications were approved by the U.S. Office on Adolescent Pregnancy Programs.

Contact: ETR Associates, 4 Carbonero Way, Scotts Valley, CA 95066-4200, Telephone: (831) 438-4060 Secondary Telephone: (800) 321-4407 Fax: (800) 435-8433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.etr.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-56071-514-6.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescents, Decision making, Interpersonal relations, Life skills, Self esteem, Teachers

Annotation: This book was written for pregnant adolescents to help them understand their options and learn decision making skills. The topics are organized into three main sections, prenatal and postnatal care, making choices about the pregnancy, and making life decisions. The book includes information on prenatal care, infant care, abortion, adoption, parenting, birth control, responding to social pressure, making financial decisions, and life planning skills. An earlier edition of this publication included a teacher's guide and a study/discussion guide.

Contact: Morning Glory Press, 6595 San Haroldo Way, Buena Park, CA 90620-3748, Telephone: (888) 612-8254 Fax: (888) 327-4362 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.morningglorypress.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-885356-06-4.

Keywords: Abortion, Adoption, Contraception, Decision making skills, Infant care, Life skills, Parenting, Pregnant adolescents, Prenatal care

Annotation: This curriculum guide is intended for middle school teachers' use in teaching sexual abstinence to children and adolescents. The guide includes advice about preparing to teach, examining how affection is demonstrated, planning for the future, staying safe, being assertive, peer pressure, support systems, and final evaluation. Each chapter includes a section on evaluation and information for teachers. Appendices include information on school health programs, the teacher's roles, teaching strategies, a glossary, a list of references, and reproducible masters for handouts.

Contact: ETR Associates, 4 Carbonero Way, Scotts Valley, CA 95066-4200, Telephone: (831) 438-4060 Secondary Telephone: (800) 321-4407 Fax: (800) 435-8433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.etr.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-56071-463-8.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Curricula, Decision making, Life skills, Peer pressure, Prevention programs, Sexuality

Annotation: This book presents the art of taking the long view of decisions to be made, thinking best about the impact of your actions. It discusses how to see, most clearly, the environment in which actions will take place, and how those actions will fit with (or stand against) the prevailing forces, trends, attitudes, and influences. This method is called the scenario, a vehicle for inventing and considering several varied stories of equally plausible futures from which to make strategic decisions that will be sound for all plausible futures.

Contact: Doubleday, Random House, 1745 Broadway, New York, NY 10019, Web Site: http://www.doubleday.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-385-26732-0.

Keywords: Administration, Decision making, Decision making skills, Management, Organizational change, Planning, Strategic plans

Annotation: This teaching guide helps educators prepare adolescents in grades 7–12 to make decisions about topics that will affect their lives. It covers the skills and information adolescents need to make transitions from school to adulthood. The guide uses exercises and activities that rely on the experiences of the participants to reinforce the lesson. Chapters cover these topics: self perception and self image; personal, family, and community values; communication; relationships; sexuality; community participation; goal setting; decision making; gender roles; parenting; responding to violence; health care; reducing sexual risks, and employment. The guide includes an evaluation form and lists sources of videotapes. An earlier edition of this title was released in 1989 by the Center for Population Options, which was the publisher's name at that time. It is being revised in 2015. It is also available in Polish, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org $44.95 plus 20 percent shipping and handling.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Communication skills, Decision making, Educational materials, Employment, Family planning, HIV, Health, Interpersonal relations, Life skills, Non English language materials, Parenting, Planning, Problem solving, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Self concept, Sex role, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social values, Spanish language materials, Violence prevention

Annotation: This student workbook contains text and exercises for a course on life management. There are chapters on the Cinderella myth, financial planning, child care, and career development. The lessons are written for older adolescents and young adults.

Contact: Girls Incorporated, 120 Wall Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10005-3902, Telephone: (212) 509-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 374-4475 Fax: (212) 509-8708-1253 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.girlsinc.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescents, Curricula, Decision making, Financial planning, Life skills, Planning, Strategic plans

Annotation: This curriculum was developed to provide a model for supporting parents in their role as sexuality educators for their children. Topics include communication skills, myths, and facts about sexuality, and decision making skills. Supporting homework and handouts are provided for use within the family setting. A bibliography of books is provided for teachers, parents, adolescents, and young children.

Contact: Tapestry Health, 320 Riverside Drive, Florence, MA 01062, Telephone: (413) 586-2016 Secondary Telephone: (800) 696-7752 Fax: (413) 586-0212 Web Site: http://www.tapestryhealth.org/ $10.00 plus 15 percent shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Communication skills, Curricula, Decision making, Parent education, Sexuality education